reviews for: listing #38999 - Michigan City, Indiana House rental

Kairos Cottage a Lake front property where time stops!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $650 /nt
    $3,700 - $4,700 /wk

sort by:

Excellent Spot For Large Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Kairos Cottage was a superb home for a week long vacation of fifteen extended family members, including six kids all 10 years old and younger. The place was clean and bright and has a nice open living room for gathering in the evening. Other highlights included: magnificent panoramic view of the dunes and the lake out the back windows; direct access to the beach via a short trail leading straight from the back yard; a huge deck with a grill that was great for eating outside; a family-size dining table on the inside around which we could fit the whole family; a room in the basement with bunk beds for six kids; a nice hot tub; and lots of space to spread out. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Spot For Large Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Kairos Cottage was a superb home for a week long vacation of fifteen extended family members, including six kids all 10 years old and younger. The place was clean and bright and has a nice open living room for gathering in the evening. Other highlights included: magnificent panoramic view of the dunes and the lake out the back windows; direct access to the beach via a short trail leading straight from the back yard; a huge deck with a grill that was great for eating outside; a family-size dining table on the inside around which we could fit the whole family; a room in the basement with bunk beds for six kids; a nice hot tub; and lots of space to spread out. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

It was a girls get away weekend to catch up, relax and, of course, shop. We loved the house and had a great time. The house is bright and spacious and had plenty of room. It is close to the beach and shopping. We did notice that the water pressure was low and we all had to charge our cell phones more but those problems were easily workable. Thoroughly enjoyed our time there and we plan to come back with our families on future trips as there was that much room.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gr8 Time

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Our stay was great! This was the second year our family rented Kairos Cottage. Last year it was my brother's 50th. This year, it was my wife's 40th. We had good reason to celebrate each time.
The owners were very friendly and allowed us an early check-in. This allowed us to hit the beach earlier and enjoy a great weekend of Labor Day weather.
The cottage was neat, clean, and very inviting. It has all the ammenities that you could ask for in a home away from home. Except, for a blender to make Pina Coladas. But we made up for it in other drinks.
Maybe we will see you next year, yet another milestone birthday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kairos cottage

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This cottage is very clean and comfortable. The decor is very unique and fun. We had 12 adults and easily could have had room for more. The hot tub was being professionally cleaned when we arrived and they stated that they were there weekly. The rooms are spread out in a way that makes the cottage seem more spacious. The location is perfect. It is very convenient to shopping and casino, but we did not want to leave-we were having too much fun!

I would recommend bringing your cell phone charger- we all had issues with our phones needing charged more quickly than usual.

We will definitely be returning! We will have wonderful memories that will last a lifetime!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kaiors Cottage -Disappointed this year

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This was the 2nd year to rent out this cabin. We had no issues last year.This year when we arrived the hot tub was still being worked on, which had to be emptied out later and refilled. The grill cover was broken upon arrival the place was a mess and still being cleaned from the previous renters. Someone did apologize for the mess and all the problems. The water pressure was very low all weekend.

We still made the best of the weekend. Unfortunately I emailed the owner about the grill and water pressure; I never heard back. A few weeks passed and I emailed again about my security deposit and was informed that it was not being returned. I emailed the owner again but NEVER heard back. My security deposit check was cashed. TOO BAD WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: As a family we have loved and owned this house for over 20 year. We love opening our home to families and individuals who are there to enjoy the beauty of the beach and the serenity of the environment. We try our absolute best to address any issues that come up before, during and after a stay at Kairos Cottage. The house is under constant up keep and care. Some of that up keep this past year has included a new, beautiful hot tub. Nothing is better then being in that hot tub after a long day at the beach. We also replaced the grill, which was no fault of any renters, rather a manufacturing issue. A new shower head was purchased after it was broken by a renter and is working wonderfully. If there is an issue during any renters stay we try to correct the situation in a timely manner.

The house is also cleaned professionally before every renters stay. The renters stay begins at 4 pm, Central Time, unless discussed explicitly with the owners. Therefore if a renter arrives before 4 pm without consent from the owner the house is not guaranteed clean. It generally takes 5 hours to prepare the house for a new renter.

We do ask that every one renting from us signs a legal contract outlining the conditions and terms of their stay. And though this has happened only a few times in the years we have been renting, actions are taken if the terms of that contract are not maintained by the renters. Just as we hold the renters accountable, we hold ourselves accountable and understand the terms of the legal agreement from the owners side. We want your stay to be the most enjoyable and relaxing that it can be. It is a wonderful home that holds a special place in many families hearts.

If any new renters have any questions about the issues brought up during this review we encourage you to please e-mail us. We would love to have you come stay with us and enjoy the beauty of Lake Michigan as many families have done happily before you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Time of our lives....almost

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

A group of college friends and their significant others spent the weekend at Kairos Cottage and had a ball! The home was beautiful and just perfect for spending time together; enjoying the lake front; the beautiful deck overlooking it; sitting by the fire; eating meals that we were able to prepare in the well-equipped kitchen including sipping wine stored in the wine cooler; and many other things too numerous to mention. Of course, the women were able to squeeze in a little shopping at the outlet mall while the guys were enjoying collegiate football all day. The only thing that would've made this the TRUE time of our lives was if we'd been the same age we were when we first met! We hope to return for more fun in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Kairos cottage

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

My family and I have been renting Kairos Cottage for 3 or 4 years every August.
Long about March we start talking about our plans to gather on the shore of Lake Michigan. The adults love it because of the hot tub and swimming pool across the road.
The grandchildren love it because it is an easy walk to the Lake and lots of room downstairs for sleeping and board-game playing. WE granparents love it because there is
room to spread out, the mattresses are very good and restaurants are nearby.
The Calandra family is very warm and welcoming. The cottage itself is very, very clean
and the owners are nearby if we need anything.
We don't plan too many activities as we appreciate the downtime of summer by the lake in a large, well furnished, comfortable setting...Kairos Cottage.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review