reviews for: listing #3900 - Fort Walton Beach, Florida Condo rental

Sunset Cottage - Cozy Beach Cottage - Come Enjoy the Beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Okaloosa Island
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $220 /nt
    $580 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful vacation again.

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We just got home and are unpacked. Washer and dryer made coming home with clean clothes so nice. Also saved on packing so much for a week. Wonderful place to stay. Saved a fortune with a full service kitchen at my disposal. Froze up so meals in advance. Close to beach and with a pool steps away, made keeping the kids entertained so easy. The place was clean and all photos and details are just as pictured. My husband was able to go play golf in the morning, while I read a good book. Teens slept in. Lots to do. We did the beach, pool, movies, shopping, eating out and sight seeing.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!!

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

This was our first family vacation in 18 years of marriage. I was very hesitant on where to stay with 2 kids and a pet. I wanted it to be a fun and relaxing week. I was beyond pleased with our cottage. It had everything we could have needed. I was able to cook several meals and save on eating out. I loved being able to sit on our back deck to watch the kids in the pool. I have no complaints. Thank you!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

nanny

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

It was a nice place to get away!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset Cottages

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

Great location and great rental! Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay at Sunset Cottages. It is a cute rental and even nicer in person than in the pictures. It is so close to the beach and is stocked with just about everything you need to be comfortable during your stay. We made a quick trip to the grocery store and hardly had to eat out anywhere. I was also able to keep up with laundry which was a great help! Kevin was very accommodating and friendly. We are hoping to come back again next year and would love to stay in the same rental again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: It great you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Cottages - If you decide to return for another adventure - PLease contact me as I am happy to try to make your time as fun as possible.
Regards Kevin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfy Cottage!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Very comfortable and great kitchen. We had a enjoyable time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Great place just around the corner from the beach! Cute cottage

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Condo Needs A Lot of TLC

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

The location of the condo is convenient to beach access, which was very nice. However, the condo itself needs some TLC. The description says the condo has a new loveseat and sofa-bed. However, the loveseat is very worn, with holes in it. The sofa-bed is also very worn, and the pull-out bed is broken. The floors were dirty with a lot of cracked tiles, and there was an old bag of donuts under the bed. We didn't run the ceiling fans because they were so wobbly, we thought they might fall. One of the ceiling light fixtures in the kitchen was barely hanging on. The eating utensils in the drawers were dirty, and even though the refrigerator wasn't on the highest or lowest setting, it barely kept the food/drinks cool. The exterior patio doors were completely rusted. Luckily, we had 2-1/2 days of sunshine, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the condo itself. Unless the owner does some major touch-ups, I would not recommend this condo to a friend or relative.

Owners response: The condo issues in part were cleaning issues - I was not made aware of them or I would have had them corrected immediately.. I have replaced the cleaning company just this week for similar reasons. - Its not likely they will get fixed if I don't know about them.
Complete set of new energy efficient appliances were installed July 31st 2013. (Stove, Refrigerator,Microwave and Dishwasher) Most condos in this complex don't have a built in microwave to start with.
A new Refrigerator,Microwave, self cleaning oven and dishwasher. The patio door did have rust on the outside as it was originally metal - I replaced it July with a aluminum/vinyl door, New flooring is ordered and will be installed in Nov when the season slows down. A new couch and chairs have already been replaced . Total renovation was about
$11000 and the place is looking new again .
Next time I would ask you contact me the owner while your there and most of these items could have been corrected rather than write a bad review first thing.
Regards Kevin H
Regards Kevin H

Helpful votes: 22 / 25

 

Great first ever beach stay

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Condo was very clean and exactly as described. It was perfect for our family of four. My six and nine year old loved the bunk beds. The very short walk down a sidewalk to beachfront was very convenient for us. My husband would have liked to have wifi but we easily enough used a neighbors. This was a great place to stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to relax

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

My husband and two of our friends decided to head down to Fort Walton and wanted a place to stay that wasn't a hotel. This place worked out PERFECTLY!

We simply wanted a space for all of us to sleep that had a full kitchen, parking and that was within walking distance to the beach.

This place nailed it! We really enjoyed our stay and would absolutely consider booking it again in the future.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guest from AL

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

LOVED it! Conveniently located within walking distance of the beach. I love the layout of the condo complex around the pool. My family had a great time. Would definitely rent again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Breaker

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Had a little issue when we arrived. The condo hadn't been cleaned yet. As it was a little later in the evening when we arrived, I found another place to spend the night.
Contacted the owner and he had it resolved in a couple of hours. As a result of my incovenience, the owner mad restitution to me for the night stay elsewhere.
While the issue might be thought as a negative, I count it as a positive for working through the issue and meeting me on expenses.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Awesome place!

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Our stay at Sunset Cottages was wonderful. The condo was just right - no problems at all. The condo was light, airy, clean, & easy access to the beach. The description about the condo was spot on and the owner worked with us so well. We enjoyed The Black Pearl restaurant - I highly recommend an evening meal there at sunset!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Not What I Expected

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

From the pictures on the listing and for the amount of money spent, I expected to be right on the beach. While there was somewhat of a beach view, the main view was of the condo between Sunset Cottages and the beach! Other issues included 4 days of cold showers until we figured out there was a switch that had to be flipped daily to get hot water. It would have been nice if that information had been provided to us in advance. There were no sheets provided for the sofa-bed which my daughter slept on.
And finally the non-stop hammering was quite annoying! Sorry I couldn't be more positive, but there were just too many things to put up with.

Owners response: The pictures of the condo were taken by myself and are actual views.
I would mention that my listing does say "Gulf Views" not "Gulf Front" there is a difference and I further might add I do have a Gulf Front unit in Destin for those that desire direct Gulf Front Views. WWW.Vrbo.com/19888.
The cold shower issue was a timer that had jamed and was in the off position and was fixed without further issues and not something that must be adjusted at all during ones stay in the condo. This was the first time anyone mentioned it in 3 years of the timers use. It saves power by turning off power in late night hours until 6 am when it turns back on.
The sheets should always be on top of the washer/dryer but if not there could have easily been provided. This was not mentioned to me at all. The repairs are all complete now and were necessary. Regards Kevin

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Good Time

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The condo was exactly what we needed. It had everything we needed and room for all 4 adults on our trip. We enjoyed our time and the location was PERFECT! My only complaint is the ongoing remodeling at the condo itself, noise, and guys in the way.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your review - I was informed that the exterior remodeling would be postponed until after peak summer but apparently it was not . I also had my building repairs completed a year ago and was unaware I had any further work to be done on my "stack".
Repairs are however a part of owning property at the beach and like the weather not alot can be done about it.
Regards Kevin

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Williams family from Northeast TN

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

My stay was above my expectations. The property was clean, the ocean & pool were very enjoyable. There was a lot to do. Wish we could hav stayed even longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Great Vacation Location - the beach was fantastic and harly any crowds

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Our stay at this condo was all we had ecpected. The weather was perfect and we had a great time fishing and the pool was all our as no one else was at the pool even in June. We were able to enjoy our stay and the property was in great condition.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review