reviews for: listing #39010 - Austin, Texas House rental

South Austin Serenity House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Onion Creek
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $450 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,800 /wk
    $3,200 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Christmas at Serenity House

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

This property is just a 10 minute walk from my mother's house, which made it so convenient for our visit. We were already familiar with the area, and it was a joy waking up each morning and being able to walk out onto the large deck and enjoy the quiet peace of the golf course. There was ample sleeping space in the 4+ bedrooms for the 7-8 of us that stayed there, plenty of towels, and the convenience of a washer & dryer, but it was the large living areas that were so attractive to us. We hosted our family Christmas dinner there, and there was plenty of room for the 20 of us that sat down for dinner. We loved having the double ovens for cooking, and the owners provide plenty of cooking and dining gear for a group. With a living room and a den, as well as the kitchen & dining room, there was a place for the large group to gather as a whole, and plenty of places for more private conversations. Kathy and George were a pleasure to work with, & even went so far as to decorate the house since we were using it for a family Christmas gathering. The home's decor was comfortable and interesting, so I really did feel like I was at home. I would absolutely recommend this property, but you need to bear in mind that it is away from hustle and bustle of downtown Austin. However, there is easy access to I-35. We enjoyed it because it was exactly where we wanted to be (in Onion Creek), and I will definitely look into renting it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas at Serenity House

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

This property is just a 10 minute walk from my mother's house, which made it so convenient for our visit. We were already familiar with the area, and it was a joy waking up each morning and being able to walk out onto the large deck and enjoy the quiet peace of the golf course. There was ample sleeping space in the 4+ bedrooms for the 7-8 of us that stayed there, plenty of towels, and the convenience of a washer & dryer, but it was the large living areas that were so attractive to us. We hosted our family Christmas dinner there, and there was plenty of room for the 20 of us that sat down for dinner. We loved having the double ovens for cooking, and the owners provide plenty of cooking and dining gear for a group. With a living room and a den, as well as the kitchen & dining room, there was a place for the large group to gather as a whole, and plenty of places for more private conversations. Kathy and George were a pleasure to work with, & even went so far as to decorate the house since we were using it for a family Christmas gathering. The home's decor was comfortable and interesting, so I really did feel like I was at home. I would absolutely recommend this property, but you need to bear in mind that it is away from hustle and bustle of downtown Austin. We enjoyed it because it was exactly where we wanted to be (in Onion Creek), and I will definitely look into renting it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not A Good Time

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

Our family, from Arizona, needed a place to stay in Austin because a chronically ill family member was in the hospital and had been admitted into the ICU. We typically plan Austin trips weeks in advance because we have toddlers, but this was an emergency visit. The female owner of the house couldn't have been nicer when I first spoke with her and finalized the trip details
*Wednesday: arrived at the Serenity House & completely baby-proofed the house
*Friday evening:downstairs toilet completely backed up and sprayed sewage (poop/pee/toilet paper/dirt)like a fountain all throughout the downstairs bathroom, hallway and into the living room. My husband immediately turned off the water to the toilet and we grabbed every towel in visible sight to clean up the mess. Water infiltrated the areas stated above about 1"-2" in depth. We were basically walking, barefooted, in sewage, trying to clean up the owners' house so the baseboards did not become saturated with sewage, and so the living room furniture and throw rugs were not ruined.
*After an hour+ to clean up the 'sewage spill', my husband and I got ready to leave to get something to eat. I think one of us used the UPSTAIRS bathroom before leaving, and the same DOWNSTAIRS bathroom erupted again after the upstairs bathroom was flushed. Keeep in mind, the water was turned off at the downstairs toilet. So, here we went again with the clean up. We used EVERY SINGLE towel, sheet, rug, blanket, hand-towel, etc...to clean up the mess the second time. In total, we spent about 2.5 hours cleaning up this disgusting mess.
*Husband calls the owner (woman). He tells her everything that happened. She says this has never happened before, she's been all over the world and never heard of a toilet doing what hers did, etc...My husband concurred. He is a real estate investor, owns many rental properties, and had never seen anything like this either.
*Owner said she would call a plumber and get the situation checked out. In the meantime, we could not turn on any water at all because my husband's theory was that something was going on with the outside sewar line b/c even though the water was turned off to the downstairs toilet, it still gushed if other toilets were flushed, when faucets were turned on, or the laundry machine was running. So, we had to leave the house with sewage still on our hands, arms, feet and legs until we could find a place to clean off.
***Please go to next comment...

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

What a georgeous spot for a vacation!! This house has it all! It was very spacious & in a quiet, peaceful neighbohood. It was close to the airport and downtown Austin. A very short trip to the hill country of Texas and the grounds around the house were so tranquil and beautiful. I would definitely use this house again! The owners are very friendly and warm and I felt right at home here. I just can't imagine a better place for relaxing and enjoying the opportunity to get away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Try this rental once and you'll be hooked!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review