reviews for: listing #39033 - Marathon, Florida House rental

OceanFront Luxury "MAR AZUL"
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,150 - $2,650 /wk

sort by:

Welcome to your own private paradise!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

We spent the 2nd week of February 2014 at Mar Azul, and absolutely loved it! The home was very well kept, and had all the amenities as advertised. We spent the week there with another couple, with relaxation as our main objective, and Mar Azul did not disappoint! The master suite on the top floor was fabulous, with a large bathroom, walk in closet, and a nice sitting area for watching TV or just gazing out at the ocean. The decks on each level were great for enjoying morning coffee and catching beautiful photos of the sunrise. The half bath on the main floor is very convenient, and we also used the washer/dryer to freshen up a few things while we were there. The two main bedrooms have attached bathrooms, making it very easy to share this home with another couple or family. The Olympics were going on during our stay, and the many TV's in the house made it easy to keep up on the action in the evening. The pool and patio area was absolutely heavenly. As mentioned in previous reviews, the pool is not large, but is big enough to provide a cool reprieve after basking in the sun on the lounge chairs. There are ample chairs, tables, and shaded areas in the pool area to meet everyone's needs. We spent a LOT of time down there. The nature walk through the mangroves to the dock is also beautiful and quite an adventure. I was able to photograph a number of birds, iguanas, and even a jellyfish down there. We also spent a day at Sombrero Beach, kayaking and stand up paddleboarding, which was great fun. I would recommend Bob at Keys Kayak - he delivered the equipment right to the beach and picked it up as soon as we called - very convenient! We had dinner our last night at the Sunset Grille by the Seven Mile Bridge. The sunset was amazing and the food and service were excellent. They also had a gentleman playing guitar all night, and he was very entertaining and easy to listen to. All in all, our stay at Mar Azul in Marathon was absolutely fantastic, and we would definitely consider going back again or to Lisa's other property in Fort Lauderdale. She was very easy to work with, and had our security deposit check back to us in under a week! I suggested a couple of minor additions to the kitchen utensils (we did a lot of cooking at the house), and she has already added them. It is obvious that she cares about her property and her guests. This home is everything it is advertised to be. Check it out!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very, very much for your highly detailed review - I'm sure your information will help future guests, too! We really appreciate your time and care that you gave to such a wonderful review! Enjoy the upcoming Spring - we look forward to having you back soon! All the best, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation of our lives.

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My husband and I, as well as our best friends, spent a week at Mar Azul - we were celebrating our 20th anniversaries. From the moment we closed the gate behind us, we were in our own little bit of heaven. The home is gorgeous, and one of those rare cases where the reality is actually better than the website pictures. The view from the decks is like nothing I've ever seen, especially the master bedroom view....wow. As for the rest of the house: well decorated, very clean, beautiful kitchen, gorgeous master suite with a huge walk in closet and huge master bath with a lovely shower, WC and jet tub. But again, all this is dwarfed by the views!! It's hard to even notice much with the jaw-dropping ocean view right there. The men used the fishing poles supplied by Lisa and had fun catching small fish off the dock. The wooden path to the dock is like a little 20 second adventure through a rainforest jungle. Lisa has thought of every detail....there was nothing lacking. When our blender died (something she could not have anticipated) Lisa had a new one delivered within the hour! (Admittedly, I did tell her it was sort of an emergency.) She also patiently answered all of my text-inquiries about the best places to eat, the best beaches, etc....and all her recommendations were spot on. We returned more than once to a couple of places she recommended. She also recommended a retired fisherman to charter the men for a day. One large mahi mahi caught (would have been two but someone ran over the line of the second one.) When we were leaving I actually got teary, I didn't want to leave. I am still missing it, even home 8 days now. Mar Azul is close to everything (lots of restaurants / KMart / Walgreens / delis / ice cream shop / bait stores / beautiful beaches and of course the famous and much-loved Old 7 Mile Bridge for those sunset walks or morning jogs. DO NOT MISS BAHIA HONDA BEACH! What else can I say? It was probably the best one week period of my life, and I know my hubby and friends would say the same. I only hope we can return someday. You will thank youself a million times over for choosing Mar Azul! Thank you Lisa!!!!

Owners response: Thank you very, very much!! All of us that are involved with Mar Azul work very hard to provide a wonderful vacation experience and we are so happy you enjoyed yourselves! We hope you will make this an annual Anniversary vacation and look forward to your next stay!! Enjoy the rest of the summer and keep in touch!! All the best, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Mar Azul is a dream home! We expected it to be nice, but were in awe of how beautiful this property is. The pictures are accurate, but really don't show how lovely the house is. It is immaculate in cleanliness, and complete with absolutely everything one needs to be comfortable and feel at home. Owner Lisa is an amazing hostess, so easy to work with. She made sure everything was in order for us, and called to be sure we had no problems, both on arrival and as we prepared to leave at the end of the week. She is a very caring hostess! We enjoyed the privacy that Mar Azul offers, and even though there are neighbors, the beautiful trees and landscaping around the property give you complete privacy. Grocery stores and pharmacies are very near, as well as many really good restaurants. Marathon is a great place to stay, because the other islands are all good distances for day trips. The greatest challenge we had was trying to decide to stay in and enjoy the house and meals at home, or if we went out to eat, choosing which one of the many restaurants that are so appealing! Just a note - the Dolphin center is a bit pricey, but very entertaining for all ages. Worth the cost. Overall, we want everyone to know that Mar Azul is a wonderful vacation home and not only do we recommend it to others, but we plan to return! Thank you Lisa!

Owners response: Thank YOU!!! We are thrilled you had a fantastic time at Mar Azul and very much look forward to your return - please keep in touch! Have a wonderful summer and take care!! All the best, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Best Vacation!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This property is great! Lisa was wonderful and very helpful. The description was accurate and the photos don't even begin to describe how beautiful it is! The property was very clean and well-maintained. We would definitely recommend this to our friends and family. Annette's Lobster and Steakhouse was excellent food and for good food and GREAT atmosphere we would recommend the Sunset Grill and Raw Bar. For breakfast definitely the Stuffed Pig. Wonderful time and great memories!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you VERY much, Stephanie! We enjoyed having you stay and look forward to you and yours coming back! Take care and have a wonderful summer! All the best, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Great place , very private, clean and safe. We had 4 adults and 4 young children and had plenty of room. The pool was great for the kids and when there you truly feel like you we're at your own private resort. The dock was amazing and we caught multiple fish off it. Lisa was great and very accommodating. Sombrero beach was very close and a day trip to Key West is very doable. Really no complaints, house was immaculate and had every amenity we needed. Would definitely stay here again.

Owners response: Thank you very much - we really appreciate it!!!! Take care! Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Our Favorite Place

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

This was our seventh trip to the keys, we always stay in Marathon and our favorite place is Mar Azul.
The house is in a nice quiet location with lots of privacy. We enjoyed lazy days around the pool, fishing off the dock, and just relaxing. The house is beautifully furnished and everything you need is there. The master bedroom is wonderful, every morning waking up to a beautiful view of the water, such peaceful surroundings, you'll never want to leave. If in Marathon be sure to book a fishing charter with Chris Johnson at Sea Squared Charters, have been out with him several times and always have a great day and catch lots of fish, this time we managed to catch the first sailfish of the season, raised three and caught two, what a day! Also have breakfast at the stuffed pig, doesn't look like much but the food is really good, and be sure to have a chilli cheeseburger from Burdines Waterfront, the view alone is worth going. We love staying at Mar Azul, Lisa is wonderful to work with, very accommodating and has done everything to make it feel like home. Don't think you will be
disappointed.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you SO MUCH for your wonderful words!! We also appreciate your time in letting other would-be guests know about area Restaurants, too! Hope you two have a fantastic upcoming Holiday Season - all the best to you and yours! Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just exactly PERFECT for us!

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

My husband and I rented this property in Marathon for a week of fishing and relaxation and invited two other couples to join us. It was absolutely everything we all wanted it to be! The property is amazing – totally private and beautifully appointed – exactly as it appears in the photos – and actually maybe even better, because the photos do not represent how totally comfortable and easy-living this home really is! Every room is tastefully decorated with lovely furnishings, comfortable beds and everything was sparkling clean - especially the kitchen, which was spotless! Everything you might need for the perfect week of relaxation is included. The extraordinary views of the Atlantic Ocean from the upper decks are astounding, and the grounds are a true paradise; the huge back yard, beautifully landscaped and totally private, makes the property feel resort-like. Add all that to the fact that you can have a rental boat (from a local rental company) delivered to the property’s dock, and it was like a dream come true for my fishing-crazed husband, who felt like he finally found “his” place. We loved it so much, as did our rest of our group, that we ALL will be repeat guests! Thank you Lisa, for such a lovely property and for making us feel so welcome! We can't wait to plan our next visit to Mar Azul!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memories for a Lifetime!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

It's been one week since we returned home from Mar Azul. I went there with my wife and three adult children (ages 18, 24, and 27). When I made the plans for our time away I was hoping for something really special, since it had been nine years since circumstances had allowed us to all be together for a week's vacation. Now looking back on it on a chilly Sunday morning in Wisconsin, I realize it could not have been more perfect. Mar Azul is just amazing. The pictures on this site look incredible, but it's another thing to see it and to feel it for real. We are Midwesterners and have vacationed in the Keys, other Florida locales, the Bahamas, Dominican Republic and other Carribean settings...but we had always stayed in resorts or high-end hotels. I know thousands of people rent vacation homes every year, but we were frankly nervous about getting scammed. The proprietor, Lisa, answered my many inquiries at length and with kindness. In the end I needn't have worried, because Lisa and Mar Azul either met, or over-delivered on, all promises. For our part, we treated the home as if it were our own during our stay (you get the feeling everyone does), and our security deposit check almost beat us home! I can be a critical person at times, but Lisa and the home didn't give me or my family anything to complain about. We liked Marathon Key too. We have stayed in Key Largo and Islamorada before, and Marathon compares favorably. We've snorkeled the reef off all three islands, and the one off Sombrero Beach in Marathon offered as great an adventure as the others. I could go into more detail, but you should probably experience it for yourself. Just please leave a week in March or April for us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The best place to stay in the Keys!

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Mar Azul was such a pleasant surprise! The pictures on this site don't do it justice. Lisa was wonderful, she was pleasant and prompt. By far, the best experience we've ever had with vacation rentals. Absoutely no (bad) surprises.
I could have spent every hour of our vacation by the pool or on the spacious decks.

Thank you Lisa for beautiful spot to vacation.

Henry
Bothell, WA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much!! We truly appreciate your time and effort in sharing your Mar Azul experience! It was our pleasure to have you stay and certainly hope to have you back down again soon! All our best wishes to you and yours, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Home, Great Location, Attentive/Helpful Owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This home matched the description, was VERY CLEAN and met all expectations.
Lisa was extremely helpful prior to the trip and responded immediately to a question we had while at the home. She also was very prompt in returning our deposit.
Ocean views beautiful; great access to go fishing, snorkeling or head out on a sunset cruise
All-in-all - great place to spend your vacation!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

College Graduation Trip

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

My husband and I took our two sons and their girlfriends to the Florida Keys for their College Graduation gift. Although we have taken very nice family vacations throughout their childhood, both said this was the best trip ever! Mar Azul was the perfect place to stay. It was located in a quiet neighborhood with a beautiful private pool, relaxing outdoor grilling area, and excellent balconies on the second/third levels. We cooked almost every evening in the fully equipped kitchen and enjoyed the view from the second floor balcony as we dined. We loved relaxing and lounging by the pool several afternoon and evenings. There were nice chaise chairs around the pool, very comfortable table and chairs in the grill area, and a large table and chairs just outside the kitchen on the second floor balcony. This home is as beautiful inside as outside and it is immaculately maintained. Since we had a keen interest in the NBA playoffs, we found the living area very comfortable for all six of us to watch a couple playoff games. The master bedroom was extremely spacious and my husband and I felt pampered staying there. The other two bedrooms were very nice, as well. It was so nice to have the convenience of a washer and dryer so we could wash a few things before starting home. Since Marathon is centrally located in the Florida Keys, we enjoyed the short drive to Key West to take in the beautiful sites there. As many have mentioned, Lisa was so responsive, attentive to details and accommodating when our travel plans were pushed back several hours on our day of arrival. We all are looking forward to returning again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you VERY much, Penny - we truly appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to having you and your family back again - Have a great summer over there! Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

College Graduation Trip

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

My husband and I took our two sons and their girlfriends to the Florida Keys for their College Graduation gift. Although we have taken very nice family vacations throughout their childhood, both said this was the best trip ever! Mar Azul was the perfect place to stay. It was located in a quiet neighborhood with a beautiful private pool, relaxing outdoor grilling area, and excellent balconies on the second/third levels. We cooked almost every evening in the fully equipped kitchen and enjoyed the view from the second floor balcony as we dined. We loved relaxing and lounging by the pool several afternoon and evenings. There were nice chaise chairs around the pool, very comfortable table and chairs in the grill area, and a large table and chairs just outside the kitchen on the second floor balcony. This home is as beautiful inside as outside and it is immaculately maintained. Since we had a keen interest in the NBA playoffs, we found the living area very comfortable for all six of us to watch a couple playoff games. The master bedroom was extremely spacious and my husband and I felt pampered staying there. The other two bedrooms were very nice, as well. It was so nice to have the convenience of a washer and dryer so we could wash a few things before starting home. Since Marathon is centrally located in the Florida Keys, we enjoyed the short drive to Key West to take in the beautiful sites there. As many have mentioned, Lisa was so responsive, attentive to details and accommodating when our travel plans were pushed back several hours on our day of arrival. We all are looking forward to returning again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You, Penny & Ron! We hope that you'll have a wonderful summer and hope you'll consider Mar Azul as Your place in the Florida Keys! We'd be honored to have you spend your family vacations at Mar Azul! Thanks again for your kind words, we really appreciate them!
All the best to you and your family - Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW, what a great place to stay, realx, and enjoy the Keys

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here for the month of February. We were with my wife's parents and can not say enough about how much we loved this home. The pool area is very private and quiet plus the pool was perfect for my wife's elderly parents to safely enjoy!!!! And there was plenty of sun and/or shade, your choice!!!

We loved starting our day having breakfast at the table on the deck outside the kitchen enjoying the water view. Plus the view from the master bedroom was simply amazing and we often would just go upstairs to look out and sit outside on the upper deck. The beautiful water view changed hourly!!!!!

This is a very clean and well maintained property that exceeded our expectations. Lisa was very, very friendly, helpfull, and she certainly had our complete satisifaction in mind!!! Eveything was perfect!!!!

There are plenty of great restaurants close by or we often stayed in and cooked diiner on the grill and then ate outside on the deck!!!

Thanks Lisa..........for being so easy to work with, we will certainly return again for another month.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you SO much!! It's great to hear from you and we certainly look forward to your next stay - Enjoy summertime up there! All the best, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Key West Family Vaction

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We love, love, love the Florida Keys!!! The weather, the fresh fish, sunsets, cool breeze and relaxation. All were part of our family vacation to Mar Azul. Our children are in their 20's and we were very excited to find this awesome house for our trip, You will never tire of the view when you wake up in the morning! Absolutely breathtaking :). The trips to Key West, snorkeling, jet skiing, deep sea fishing and spending time with each other is still all we can talk about. Having a pool in the backyard was an added bonus. Mar Azul is the perfect place to stay-it was for us. Lisa-you were great to deal with. Thanks so much for all your help. One thing we did forget to bring and that was music. I would of liked to listen to Bob Marley-Margaritaville throughtout the day. Instead I had to sing!!?? :)
Thanks again Lisa,
Jack & Rita

Owners response: Thank You, Rita and Jack!! We are so very happy you had a great time - we enjoyed having you and hopefully you found the "boom box" that could accompany your songs?! Have a wonderful spring and summer and hope to see you next year! All the best - Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW!

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

The first day I woke up in the master bedroom and looked out at the view, I could not stop saying Wow! The pictures you see here on this website are great, but to be in the house and experience the serenity and beauty of the ocean and sky, with the warm ocean breezes coming into your bedroom through the large open balcony doors, is a feeling that will give you sweet contentment. I sat out every morning, drinking my coffee and slowly immersing myself in the surroundings. My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at Mar Azul and were very sad when the week ended. There is so much to do in this area but we spent most of our time enjoying the home, heated pool, cooking out on the large grill and fishing off the dock behind the home. We caught several kinds of fish off the dock as well as a blue crab. We also saw several blue jelly fish that looked like royal blue balloons floating on the sea grass. Lisa, the property manager, set us up with a private fishing charter for a very reasonable cost and we caught alot of fish, which we brought home and cooked on our grill for dinner. How fun is that??? Thank you Lisa! Do you want to have a sweet time? Then spend a week or a month at Mar Azul and tell Lisa that Nick and Angie sent you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mar Azul stay

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

Just a short note to thank you for the wonderful stay at Mar Azul. It was so lovely and relaxing, I had a fabulously lazy and restful time!

The house is so clean and tastefully decorated I felt comfortable right away. And the neighborhood is quiet and peaceful.

You were amazing! Helpful and kind. I can't tell you how much I appreciate that. A person like you can make all the difference. :) I look forward to staying at Mar Azul again next time I am in The Keys.

Thank you so much again, Lisa. All the best to you and yours.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Sher! It was our pleasure - we look forward to having you back! All the best - Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Mar Azul! We encountered great fishing right off the dock, and some great bonding with a resident iguana who likes to sun on the dock. The house is laid out perfectly for a family or couples with lots of privacy and room to move. We enjoyed a dip in the pool after day trips to the beach and snorkeling and found EVERYTHING to be in pristine condition. You will not find a more accommodating person than Lisa, who handled all the details of our booking and you will not enjoy any hotel or home as much as mar azul.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

Mar Azul is fantastic in all respects! A backyard/pool area like a Garden of Eden surrounded by palm trees. Quiet neighborhood. Fabulous house and BBQ grill. Perfect location in middle keys with shopping quite close by. And, the Property Manager, Lisa, is absolutely wonderful. Responsive, caring, accesible and totally efficient. She is a pleasure to deal with. be sure to look for Sarge the turtle near the pool. Great ocean views. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

We just loved the home. It was well appointed and just perfect for me, my husband and my two teenagers. You can fish right from the dock! They have a beautiful barbeque grill and lovely decks. We live in Miami which isn't that far away, but I can tell you for us it felt like we were a million miles away! Cannot wait to go back!

Owners response: Thank YOU!!! It's our pleasure - we look forward to having you back!!-Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 19, 2009   Date of arrival: September 19, 2009

*****Perfect Private Paradise!!
SO MUCH BETTER THAN A RESORT!! We spent our 25th Anniversary celebration here and had the time of our lives! We truly enjoyed the beautiful home, secluded back yard & pool, wonderful lush tropical landscaping, and the gourmet outdoor grill. You can pick up some steaks at Pulbix grocery store or fresh seafood at the nearby Keys Fishery to make a superb dinner! Mar Azul's middle-of-the-Keys location makes day trips to Key West, John Pennekamp State Park (great snorkel trip), and Bahia Honda State Park (great beach) just a short drive away. Thanks so much for a superb vacation! We look forward to returning!
Carole Schlenker, Holland, New York

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

Just wanted to drop a note and tell all who are interested in renting this property...you can't go wrong. It was very clean and comfortable. It has all the ammenities you would want in a rental, and more.... The entire family truely enjoyed our vacation, we can't wait to come back! Thanks for a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

This vacation home was just amazing.
We truly loved the home the pool and the docking for our boat. We will return again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 20, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

Wonderful, very relaxing, peaceful secluded setting. The pool and patio areas were very nice and the ocean dock perfect for morning coffee and some fishing. The home was very clean and quite comfortable great for family and friends. We truly enjoyed our stay here and definately will recommend this home to friends looking to stay in the Keys. Only 45 minutes to Key West, what a fun time!!!
Dan and Connie Sizemore

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 21, 2008

This is a wonderful home and was perfect for our family of three who love the warm weather and boating. We didn't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review