reviews for: listing #39093 - Lake Martin, Alabama House rental

Peace Serenty Space Wifi,home theater, pool table game room
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Martin
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $500 /nt
    $1,575 - $3,500 /wk
    $6,500 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Fun filled anniversary weekend

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We rented the house for my parents 50th wedding anniversary weekend and it was perfect! We found the house to be clean and neat, the owners were wonderful to work with and everyone had a fantastic time. The house has lots of room for everyone to spread out in and lots of things to do even though it was December and we could not use the lake. Thanks so much and hopefully we will find a time in the warmer months to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Terri, I am so glad you hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at my lake home. I really appreciate the time and effort you have taken to leave this review. Thank you Kamala

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

birthday bash

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

The home was welcoming and beautiful! Perfect location and fantastic atmosphere. There was excellent communication by the owner and she answered all of our questions. Would definitely stay here again. Look forward to our return! Thanks again for a perfect weekend:)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Joan (Thorsby, AL

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

My sister and I choose this beautiful lake house for our annual family reunion and it was a delight. It takes a large house for our three generations (us with spouses, children with spouses and grandchildren) and this house definitely fit that requirement. There was plenty of room for sleeping, eating, cooking and just visiting. The water front was just as nice as the house -- shady area close to the water, shallow area for the grandchildren, nice pier for boats. The owners were very gracious to us. They tried to do everything they could to make our stay perfect. Ask questions, they answer; need something, they will try to provide it for you.
I would definitely recommend this awesome house for a wonderful visit to beautiful Lake Martin!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for helping my future renters by leaving this wonderful review. It is easy to have a wonderful experience with clients as awesome as you. Please come back soon. Kamala

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

We loved our choice for accomodations at Lake Martin this year!! We had our family of four along with grandparents this year for our annual baseball tournament in Alex City. The downstairs pool table, poker table and movie room became the home to several of our 17 and 18 year old baseball players for the week. The second kitchen was perfect for them! The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully appointed and serene! We will definitely return to this home again! The upstairs kitchen was fully stocked and we used it PLENTY!! The views were wonderful and the atmosphere in the house was so peaceful. My husband would have preferred a TV in the main living room but I enjoyed the peace and quiet. The owners were a joy to work with during the entire process. I would recommend this lake house to anyone looking for a 5-STAR retreat!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Joan for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I am so happy that you and your family chose my home for your very special family time. I love to create an environment that it conducive to family time and entertainment. It was a pleasure to deal with you and your family and you father was just a sweetie. I hope you come back to spend time at my home again any time you have the occasion to vacation in beautiful Lake Martin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MAGNIFICENT !!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We had a family reunion here ( 14 people) and things could have not been more PERFECT !!! The home is a JEWEL (and I have stayed in many ni9ce vrbo homes!). Words cannot describe how AWESOME this home and location are !
It has EVERYTHING and much more than you could ever imagine ! The GOURMET cooks kitchen is FABULOUS and we cooked a lot since it was such a JOY to be in the kitchen and family room with the GORGEOUS lake views all around, as did most EVERY room.
The Owner was the BEST also, answering all our questions PROMPTLY (some were dumb too). She was MOST GRACIOUS ALWAYS !!!
DO NOT MISS AN OPPORTUNITY TO STAY IN THIS LAKESIDE PARADISE !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Patricia for taking the time to write a review for me. I really appreciate it. And like all my guest I feel you are a part of the family now. Pleae come back soon to enjoy the beauty of Lake Martin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MAGNIFICENT !!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We had a family reunion here ( 14 people) and things could have not been more PERFECT !!! The home is a JEWEL (and I have stayed in many ni9ce vrbo homes!). Words cannot describe how AWESOME this home and location are !
It has EVERYTHING and much more than you could ever imagine ! The GOURMET cooks kitchen is FABULOUS and we cooked a lot since it was such a JOY to be in the kitchen and family room with the GORGEOUS lake views all around, as did most EVERY room.
The Owner was the BEST also, answering all our questions PROMPTLY (some were dumb too). She was MOST GRACIOUS ALWAYS !!!
DO NOT MISS AN OPPORTUNITY TO STAY IN THIS LAKESIDE PARADISE !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for sparing your precious time to do a review for me. I really enjoyed our chats and non of your questions were ever 'dumb'. I really hope that you come back to stay again and than next time we can get to meet not just chat on the phone. You were a perfect guest. Kamala

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic House!!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

I am from Los Angeles - and have not spent much time in Alabama. This is a huge find; it was absolutely perfect for our needs. My son goes to UA, and so my husband and I decided to to rent a house there for the Iron Bowl and spend the Thanksgiving weekend with my son and a few schoolmates not headed home for the holiday.( Auburn is a good 50 minutes away on a football weekend). The downstairs with two TVs ( one 52 inch!), 500 movies, poker table and pool table let the guys hang out and watch football while I cooked in the KILLER kitchen upstairs. I love to cook - having two kitchens ( with three ovens, two microwaves, two refrigerators, rice cooker and coffee grinder even) super helped for the holiday buffet. The closest store (5 minutes) happens to be a gourmet market and for someone like me who is all about the food it couldn't have been more perfect. The main level has no TV ( fine for most people, but I sorta like cooking with a program on in the back, or something ; bring an Ipod and portable system, if I had that would not have missed the TV). The TV looked a little out of focus, was a little nervous to tweak it, but it was a huge football weekend, so I felt the need. I emailed Kamala about it and she actually got a cable guy to come in and fix it Friday on the holiday weekend! Talk about service! Right then I absolutely confirmed I had chosen the perfect house.

Beds super comfortable, lots of pillows. GREAT showers - and lots of them, all good!

Being a city girl at times it was almost too quiet for me ( my husband looked at me like I was crazy). It's crickets only - the lake was pristine and silent. Pretty epic in the morning and early evening. If you're the creative type, I think you could write the great novel here. But I can only imagine this in the summer, when everyone is down there -- all out barbecuing ( two grills at house!) and a boat rental, and really getting to enjoy the water -- would be so much fun!! I would absolutely, positively go back. Husband and college boys agree! It couldn't be a better week in Alabama. ROLL TIDE!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post this awesome review. I am so delighted to have your feedback. I think I can solve the problem with the absence of TV in the kitchen. I have a really cute small flat screen that I can put up there. I will just have to find a good location for it. With feedback like this I can make the appropriate changes that hadn't ever occurred to me. I don't cook so I didn't think about a kitchen tv. Thank you so much. Kamala

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a great place!

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Spent a relaxing Thanksgiving weekend here, with husband, college age son and his friends. the boys loved the big TV , game room away from the parents. The kitchen was well equipped and a pleasure to work in. Very peaceful and super quiet. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Owners response: Thank you for the review Tracie. It certainly was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. I really appreciate the additions to the kitchen and I'm sure my future guests will too. I hope you come back to stay some time soon. You were a pleasure to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family wedding

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

I can't tell you how wonderful our stay was at your WELL EQUIPED home! We really lacked for nothing except a little less rain!!!! However, my family found plenty to do just the same. What was really nice was that we had a couple of unexpected guests to arrive for the wedding of my daughter and we had plenty of room for them to stay with us.
I can speak for my whole family in saying, "Thank you, Kamala, for making our little reunion so perfect!"
With much love,
Stacy's mom.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: There is nothing better than to hear that my home made such a wonderful event go so well.
I am grateful that you let me know how well it went. It's sometimes a hard job to keep everything just the way it should be but when I get reviews like this it makes it all worth while. Thank you Kamala

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You feel like you are in your own home!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

This home and it's owner are very accommodating! The home is cozy and very well stocked with anything you could possibly need. Big things to my family: It was very clean, lot's of fresh towels and sheets! The kitchen had everything to whip up a gourmet meal- pots, pans, cookie sheets, good knives, very high-end appliances and even an ice-maker!!!!! And if that is not enough- there is another kitchen downstairs- we used it when we cooked out and played pool and enjoyed movies downstairs. Another great thing about this house- the lot is pretty level with the lake and dock. You do not have to "hike" down to the lake-the property has a slight decline down to the water. Overall the house will meet your needs. It is in need of a little repair on its exterior and some plumbing issues on the interior- but neither really affected the quality of our stay. I would highly recommend this wonderful and happy home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Dana for such a gracious review. I appreciate it very much. I hope that you will return again many times to enjoy wonderful Lake Martin. Kamala

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

The house was even nicer than the description - spacious bedrooms, great play areas for the children, most everything you'd need for cooking (except there were no 10" baking pans for making cakes!). The house was very clean, and there were more than an adequate supply of sheets, towels, etc. The owner was very gracious, and replied quickly to all questions we had. Great swimming in the lake off the docks. All had a great time. We would certainly recommend this home to anyone looking for a quiet place to rest and have fun.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to have you stay at our Lake house. I hope you return many times.
Thank you so much for your review. Updated 1/9/2012 just purchased 2 10" cake tine and
a muffin pan because you were so kind to let me know we were short in the baking area and another client discovered there was no bunt pan and she donated one when she left. So things getting better in the kitchen for the bakers. Thanks again for paying attention to detail in your review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review