reviews for: listing #3921 - Fripp Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Amazing Oceanfront Fripp Island Villa - Tuscany by the Ocean
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Hampton
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $175 /nt
    $600 - $1,000 /wk
    $1,000 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Amazing view and then some

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

We had a bit of trepidation about our rental of this condo, based on a review that we'd read. When we opened the door to the villa, all our fears were allayed. The view off the balcony was fabulous! And, after scoping out the place, we were more than happy that we'd taken a chance and rented it. We saw the sunrise every morning over the ocean and dolphins, thru' our binoculars in the bay in front of the condo every morning that we were there.

The villa is tastefully decorated. There is one full bath and one half. There could be a bit more closet space - the closets are mostly full of linens and the like, but that's a small quibble - the overall experience was so positive. We ate at restaurants in Beaufort, hiked thru' Hunter Island Park, walked to the beach across the golf course from the condo, cooked in occasionally. Wonderful star-gazing off the deck and comfy couches to lounge on for watching the nice-sized TV in the living area.

We really feel like we got our money's worth and would recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ohio couple

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Very disappointed in this rental property.

Upon reaching your front door we were "greeted" by the ugliest
screen door we have ever seen. The screen is almost completely torn out
and the bottom "decoration" of the door is bulging out of the frame of
the door. And the door is filthy.

The BR closets are so fully packed with supplies, blankets, TVs,
pillows, vacuum cleaners, etc, that there was hardly room to hang any of
our clothes in there. An extra pillow in the closet that we were going to use had blood stains on the cover – disgusting. We borrowed a clean pillow from our
neighbor.

The kitchen drawer where the silverware is held contained garbage
such as bottle tops from beer bottles, broken handled silverware, old
ketchup packets, salt & pepper packets (some opened), food crumbs, etc.

The items left behind apparently by other clients were jammed
in kitchen cupboards - there was no room for anything else. These items
consisted of opened bags of chips, crackers, flour, sugar, peanut
butter, etc. etc. Many other items had expired.

There was a huge bug in the bath towel that was stored under the
bathroom vanity. It fell out while using it after a shower.

TV remote control in the bedroom does not work properly, even after
installing new batteries. This has been dropped and damaged previously.

The photos on the VR listing show a leather chair and a glass coffee table. No such furnishings were there. The coffee table was a beat up, worn out table that we wouldn’t donate to charity. It was awful.

It took us 3 weeks to get our security deposit refunded and that was only after we e-mailed the owner and asked where it was.

We had stayed at another condo in the same building twice before with a very positive experience.

Owners response: All of the items you have referenced as issues have been completely addressed. Please reconsider a discounted stay or remove this very negative review. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 15 / 17

 

Our Trip to Fripp

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

This was our first visit to Fripp Island. What a beautiful place. The accommodations we found made the trip even more special - a beautiful small villa with amazing unobstructed views of the Atlantic, which is less than 50 yards away!!! Being at the pool at this place was like being at the beach without getting sand on everything, the water was much cleaner, and anything we needed was right upstairs. The villa is fully equipped with anything we could have needed or wanted while we were there, and the owner is very friendly and responsive. It is very likely that we will return to Fripp in the future and, when we do, we hope that this rental property is still available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most enjoyable & restful vacations

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Hi, Michael

We have had one of the most enjoyable & restful vacations ever this past week. It is so peaceful here. The villa has everything we could have needed & the location is fantastic. Sitting by the pool here is like going to the beach w/o getting sand all over everything, the water is clearer & anything needed is right upstairs. I think it is highly likely that we will be back at some point.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Week

Review submitted: May 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

The location is fantastic - in a 'gated golfing community', with a pool just down stairs and beautiful, unobstructed view of the ocean off the balcony. The area is safe for children, we had no problem with letting our son ride his bike 'around the neighborhood' without us.
While nobody in my family golfs, the community is a stones throw from Hunting Island with its unpolluted sub-tropical maritime forest, great nature center, fishing pier, well marked hiking trails and pristine beaches.
The villa is close enough to allow for day trips into Savannah, GA and Charelston, SC or Hilton Head Island.
The villa's kitchen is fully stocked and then some. While our stay was pretty early in the season for local fresh shrimp, we did visit local fisheries for fresh oysters and grouper to take back and cook up.
Highly recommend this place. Working with the owner was easy and quick via email.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review