reviews for: listing #39235 - Cape San Blas, Florida Townhome rental

Seahorse @ Barrier Dunes * Fully Loaded * (Pet Friendly)
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Barrier Dunes
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $300 /nt
    $700 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Sheer Bliss In February

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Upon our arrival, we immediately felt at home! The Seahorse Inn's beachy decor is subtle and tasteful, not like some we have seen. First impression was sunlight and airiness. Kitchen was fully equipped, for once I didn't have to buy anything. But what had sold me in choosing this unit was knowing it was recently refurnished and all the mattresses were very comfortable pillow-topped. This little comfort speaks volume for an older couple like us, as we slept so well every night!

Grace, our cream colored English Retriever had the time of her life meeting so many other wet noses, it was paradise for her. The Barrier Dunes even have dog stations here and there indicating their pride in keeping the area clean and again it re-inforces their welcome to your furry friend. Nowhere else have I seen so many happy faces. Cape San Blas has to be the best sugar white beach, uncrowded that makes a pet lover so welcome.

The owner of this unit was most helpful and any detail pertaining to our trip was dealt very efficiently. We appreciated the binder at our disposal containing information about the unit and area, even a great list of eating areas, some of them dog-friendly, (something you won't find at home)peppered with his own remarks.

All toll, one great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4


Great Time in CSB

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

This was a great weekend. The owner was nice enough to let us stay for 2 nights. We had a wonderful time. The place was very clean,. and the ac worked well.( I've been in some of the Barrier Dunes properties where the ac didn't work very well.) The place was furnished nicely with all the comforts of home. The owner was easy to work with and responded quickly to all emails.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1


Great Stay for everyone!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay! If you're looking for some peace and quiet and not an over crowded beach this is it! The owner responded to all my emails and even sent a detailed list of recommendation to places to eat. We only ate out once, while delicious we primarily cooked there. The beach is literally a few steps away, just to the back of the community, not far at all. It was literally a home away from home (as i own a townhome myself.) The neighbors were great, and quiet and plenty of dogs for my dogs to sniff/meet. Even though there's not a lot of stuff to do we were ok with that, just needed to disconnect from the world for a few days. We went horseback riding on the beach, climbed some rocks and watched the sunset, and went on a 8mi skate (there's a 9mi path one way 18mi total down the cape) and treated ourselves to some ice cream in a waffle cone and sat outside to enjoy it. We brought the bikes but were pretty worn out the final day that we just worked on a puzzle I brought, plus were both were sunburnt (yes we wore sunblock). My only concern was we left some food in the fridge (I thought the boyfriend was getting it), because of extra cleaning for housekeepers, but quickly made him aware, and this did not affect our deposit. Just follow the rules on the package he gives you and your good! If your a low maintenance, chill person who enjoys a quiet getaway, well you'll be good here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1


Relaxing, comfortable stay

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

We picked this area because we knew this was a part of Florida that is not commercially exploited and the beaches are pet friendly. We found this particular property clean and very welcoming. The interior design puts you right into the vacation mode.
There were plenty of supplies available.
The owner was very response and friendly from the start and answered all our questions in a timely manner. He gave us a ton of information on the area and the file in the den was very helpful too!
We both really loved the complex and the beach and I had a hard time leaving.
Our dogs enjoyed the beach and swimming in the water. We had them cleaned up at the boat cleaning station and dried by the time we reached the condo so that we never had any problems inside with wet/messy dogs.
The day after we returned I advised the owner of a few things we thought might need his attention and his response came the next day. He refunded our deposit that same day and we received it today in the mail (4 days after our return).
Overall we are extremely satisfied.
Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great place for family and fido

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I'm compelled to post a review to support this location as the other review isn't great. The good - VERY responsive owner (also immediately responded to all my questions via email), wonderful beach, pool, great fishing, doggies can come too, great amenities (beach items, outdoor shower, kitchen gear, towels, etc). The not-so-good - no wifi (we were able to "borrow" a neighbors wifi), no cell service for our Verizon or Sprint phones (this was really disappointing for my teen who couldn't text while we were there - which I secretly was TOTALLY fine with), no view from the room (but you know that going in) and lots of stairs, two sets in the unit. If you are looking for an affordable, family and pet orientated location (LOTS of dogs at the complex in general), this is your place! We searched for a place that would work for our family and our two dogs - this totally worked for us. Is it the Ritz? No. But, it is a comfortable, clean place when your focus is beach family time away from the crazy crowded locations otherwise found in FL.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Lovely rental in the heart of Barrier Dunes

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

After reading a prior review, I just had to comment. We had a lovely time at the Seahorse in during the July 4th week of 2011. The place was decorated in a charming manner and was absolutely spotless. The kitchen was stocked and had everything we needed, including spices and such. The laundry had soap and there was plenty of cleaning supplies to borrow. Fresh linens and lots of extra towels for the beach. I never found the dog towels mentioned but we brought our own so no worries. There really isn't a "view" here but it is right in the center of the complex so you can walk to the pools, tennis or beach in all directions quickly. My youngest enjoyed riding his bike around the complex and my tween hanging out at the volley ball net on the beach. Our dog LOVED it, and as we lost her to kidney disease in December, we were so glad ot have found a welcoming place to bring her that allowed her on the beach and in the rental. The owner was very easy to deal with, and patient with my 1000 questions. This is a very nice place to rent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Do not rent, owner doesnt return deposit

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

Do not rent....owner will not return security deposit nor will respond to emails as to when and if he will. He makes a false claim to damages but does not provide phote details to back up his claim.

Place was filthy, carpets stained from pets, roaches in kitchen, bbq was greasy and no extra toliet paper are just some issues to report.

This man is the president of the barrier dunes home owner association and gives the renting of a place there a bad reputation.

Take advice and go with a rental company to insure that you dont get ripped off.

Owners response: After this individual left, my cleaning people found a burn in the carpet in the living room and three dark brown stains in the master bedroom. They cleaned the stains, but could do nothing with the burn. I advised this individual that I would see if the carpet could be repaired verses having to replace it which was going to require me being there which would not be until sometime in October. If it can be repaired, I told her I would refund the balance of the security deposit.

I heard no complaints from her until after these issues arose. She actually sent an email thanking me for letting her stay in the condo and that she enjoyed her stay after she left. Our check-in package and rental agreement clearly indicate if there are problems to let us know. We have and will continue to quickly address problems our guests might encounter as soon as they contact us. We had over 15 guests stay with us this year and this was the only one we had problems with, not because we did something wrong, but because denies responsibility.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review