reviews for: listing #39247 - Gulf Shores, Alabama House rental

DIRECTLY on the beach, GulfFront Home 2 Pools WiFi, Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Dunes
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,390 - $6,190 /wk

sort by:

Untitled

Review submitted: August 12, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

This home is a perfect family vacation home. The bedrooms are large with private baths. There are two large decks which are great for eating, sunning, and hanging out and watching the ocean. The beachfrint location is fabulous!!! You are at the end of the beach and do not have to fight crowds for a spot in the sand!! We had 2 families and gramma and all had plenty of space. Thanks again for sharing this home with us!! Hopefully we will be back!!

Helpful votes: 14 / 17

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

The house was very nice. It was tastefully decorated and plenty of room for all of us. We had 14 people.....7 adults and 7 children. It was an easy walk to the beach and easy for the children to come and go. I only wish you had a covered porch so you could sit out when it was raining. We had three days of rain when we were there!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great stay

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

The house was as advertised. It was the perfect space for the 12 of us. Quick and easy access to the beach. Comfortable accommodation. Fully stocked kitchen was nice. This house was a great place for us to unwind and relax for the week. Unobstructed view overlooking the gulf out two levels if balcony was my favorite amenity.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this very nice beach house that had everything we needed! The house is well furnished and the layout was perfect for our large group.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CELEBRATING OUR 50TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Great Accommodations. My wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at this home along with our son and daughter-in-law, daughter and son-in-law and our 5 grand children ages 19, 17, 16, 15, & 8.
The home was a perfect fit for all, plenty of room for sleeping and entertaining. Large dining are was perfect 11 of us could sit at one table. Great deck facing the gulf that is in the shade from 10:00 AM throughout the day.
Access to beach requires a short walk on boardwalk which was very convenient and easy to walk on.
We would rent this unit again if we return to Gulf Shores.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Charlotte S.

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our family of 16 Had a lovely stay at the Tropical Dunes. We enjoyed the pools, the ocean views and the spacious house to spread out in. The kitchen had every item you would ever need and we got to share a meal as a family in the huge kitchen. The rooms were large, beds were comfortable and each separate family had there own space and bathroom which was very nice. There was something for everyone we were ages 2-67. Any beach item you would need is provided. The views from the deck
Were spectacular and we spent lots of time out there enjoying the dolphins. Our vacation could not have been better and neither could this house. Thanks for the use of your beautiful home and thanks for allowing us to make some memories with our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Family Vacation House

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This house was a good choice for several families to stay together. We each had our own space and a bathroom to ourselves. The bedrooms are arranged far enough apart that we could not hear the other family members; babies crying during the night, young adults staying up late and old folks getting up early. The web listing is accurate as to the distance from the beach and well worth the walk to be on a beachfront that wasn't overcrowded. The two decks were nice to hang out on with plenty of chairs and a table. The house was well equipped with plenty of kitchen items, tv's, games and beach toys. We enjoyed the pool that was available for our use a short walk from the house. It was nice having a full size washer and dryer to do our beach towels and swimwear. The kids had a great time the day we went in to town to ride go karts and play putt putt. I would recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Nana!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Our family stayed at Tropical Dunes last year and we were all so excited to return. This home offers so much in amenities. The home is very pretty and well appointed. It is located on the beach and offers two pools if that is your pleasure as well as an exercise room. We like the privacy of being a little farther out since we are there to gather as a family and we have five grandchildren all under the age of 7. I read some of the comments and I am sad for the owner as we have just not experienced the issues that are being written about. Anyone who knows me, knows I am a stickler for cleanliness and this home has always been clean when we arrived and stocked with everything and anything you would need for the beach and in the kitchen. We look forward to many more annual beach trips to "Nana's Blue House on the Beach". Sorry, Carla - that's what the kids call it. As for me, I thank you Carla, for taking such great pride in your home and giving us a great home to gather each year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everthing we wanted without the crowds

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

This was a perfect get away for 5 couples not interested in crowded beaches. The house was lovely with plenty of room. There were more games and toys than we needed, yet we managed to take advantage of them. I would have given this an "Excellent" rating if the grocery, etc. wasn't such a drive; however, the remoteness was exactly what we wanted. The staff certainly deserves an "Excellent" because we accidently left a travel jewelry case that the cleaning staff found and shipped to us! Their honest and integrity is rare in the industry. It is teams like this that make VRBO a great company to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not horrible, just very disappointing

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The first thing that had to be done when we arrived was wash down all the countertops. There were crumbs on the surfaces. Then it rained really hard our first full day, and we had to use our towels to mop up the deluge of water coming in around the windows in both the dining room and living room. Then to top it off, we fought ants all week. First they came in around the doors then they started coming in around the electrical outlets. The pictures on the web are out of date and misleading. You cannot walk out directly onto the beach, you must use the boardwalk which takes you down about four houses before you turn back toward the beach. In fact, you can't even see the street level from the beach because of the dunes. It at least doubles the distance to the beach if not more, especially if you sit up your stuff in front of the house. This also means that you can't sent your young children to the house alone to use the bathroom because you can't see them get there. You have to get up and go with them. They also do not mention the view of the drilling platforms. That wasn't exactly my vision of the beach, and it certainly takes away from the beach experience. Not to mention that we paid $2000 more for this place than we've been paying in Destin. It was our hope to find a place that we could return to year after year, but this place isn't it. It certainly wasn't worth it, and we won't be back.

Owners response: Unfortunately, it rained for 7 days straight during this family's stay. We understand that it’s hard to be in a good mood when you spend your entire vacation in the rain, and it comes across in their review. We have rented this property for 10 years. I have NEVER had a review like this before. We have almost 80 reviews – all positive! This is almost a record at the VRBO site!
I would like to point out that we did not receive a single phone call or email from this guest during the entire stay! If we had been contacted, we would have done everything within our power to help make these guests more comfortable.
1. The rain and wind came from all directions during 7 days. Gulf front properties are totally exposed to rain and wind and ALL of them will have leaks of some sort when it rains this much. We have spent more than $10,000 on preventive work, but nothing is 100% bullet proof.
2. Ants and potentially other insects will look for a safe harbor with so much rain. We pay monthly for pest control services. A simple phone call would have taken care of this issue immediately.
3. Misleading pictures: if you look at our VRBO site you will easily see that our main picture of the house shows the boardwalk right in front of it! So I am not sure how our pictures can be misleading. It might be possible the guest inferred something that was not there? This is a gulf front home. A simple Google map search would have shown that clearly. I am puzzled by this comment.
4. The house is located at the Dunes Subdivision, it says as much in the VRBO site for the house. "Dunes" are piles of sand which are higher than compacted sand. Yes, they do obstruct some of your view at ground-level! Walking your children to the house is at your total discretion. We have a 9 and 11 year old and are totally fine letting them do that. But other people are entitled to think differently.
5. Anyone who has ever spent a vacation in Gulf Shores is aware of the fact that there are natural gas rigs on the horizon. We do not advertise that fact but do not hide it either. A small research on the subject or a simple question would have revealed that.
6. Perhaps what this family did not like about Destin is what drove them to change to Alabama in the first place. If that was not a good choice, I do not see how we should be blamed.
Summing up I would say most of these comments show a disappointment with the weather and the location, rather than our specific property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

All of our grown children live far from us and while we see each other during the year never all together at the same time. My husband and I have talked about renting a Beach House and inviting all the kids and grandkids and our dream finally came true! After saving and planning, we found this home right on the beach. I was so hoping that it was everything pictured and it was! The home is lovely. Beautifully decorated and most important - CLEAN! The description is accurate, the owner was very easy to work with and it was a week of fun in the sun! Weather was great and the location was perfect for us as we had grandkids age 2 mos. to 6 years of age. Not a crowded beach yet close enough to town to enjoy the amenities available. I would definitely recommend this home. As a matter of fact, we are booking it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Happy Family

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We traveled from south central Illinois to celebrate our 50th Aniv at Tropical Dunes, along with three adult children, a son in law and four grandchildren ages 1-1/2, 3, 7 and 9. We were all very pleased with all aspects of the home and surrounding community. Everything was as good as advertised. The weather was spectacular and the beach is very clean and uncrowded. Dolphin watching was a daily treat. We never locked the doors during our one week stay. We will definitly recommend Tropical Dunes to our friends who may need this type facility. Thanks to Carla for her understanding and help answering the many questions we had during the rental process.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fun!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stay. There were two families, total of 8 people (4 adults, 4 kids) and the house fit us perfectly! In fact, we had more than enough room. The kids stayed in the bunk bed room and loved it. In fact, if you are bringing kids, leave the beach toys at home, the owners provide PLENTY of fun beach toys including a kite! The house is beautifully decorated and the air conditioner is unbelievable! All appliances worked great. It really felt like home away from home. We loved the area which is about 18 miles from Gulf Shores - far enough away from the crowds, but close enough for shopping and restaurants. We all agreed that we would gladly stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great 50th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had a great week with the married children and their 5 children (our grands) ages 2 to 13. The arrangement of bedrooms was excellent and we put all the children in the dorm room with bunk beds. The kitchen living area was conducive to family gathering and the beach was only a short walk away. The area is quiet and away from all the Gulf Shores traffic. We used the ferry once and found it to be an excellent way of avoiding all the exiting traffic and is only a few minutes from the house. Visit Fort Morgan while you are there. The guided tour is excellent and it is only minutes away. We brought most of our food with us and only went out for ice etc. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and utensiles. Carla has been a pleasure to work with and I would recommend this house for a large gathering when you want a secluded atmosphere and a quiet place to vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

4th of July on the Beach

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our three generation family stayed at the Tropical Dunes and we were very pleased with the house. It is a short distance from the ocean and the beach is wonderful. Our grandchildren spent most of the day at the beach and the pool. The fireworks on the beach was fabulous. We had plenty of hot water for showers and laundry. Plenty of towels. The kitchen is well equiped with everything you need for cooking. There is only a charcoal grill and we used it several times. The distance into the main Gulf Shores is about 20 miles but our families enjoyed the more peace and quiet of the beach without being elbow to elbow with many others on the beach. We stocked up with groceries at Walmart and made a couple of trips to eat out in the main Gulf Shores Strip. Our weather was wonderful not as hot as the Mid-west. I would recommend this house to a large family. One of the places we ate was the Hang Out. What a fun place for everyone. We went early so no problem getting a place to sit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

property 30655

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The house had a wonderful floor plan for our large, three generation family. The kitchen & dining area was large with plenty of storage, working, and eating space. The bedrooms were separated enough for privacy with plenty of bathrooms. TVs everywhere helped entertain when needed. The back porch was full of chairs and we used them all.-mornings and evenings were so pleasant with the nice gulf breeze. The house is a long drive from the Gulf Shores activities, but for our group, that was okay. We enjoyed the quieter, less congested beach and pool. We brought a lot of water toys for the kids, but found a huge selection at the house. The baby 'pack and play' and highchair were in very good condition. The grill was charcoal, not gas, but it made some great hamburgers. There was more than adequate parking space. The laundry room set up was convenient. We found the outside shower door had been damaged and should be repaired. The house smelled very clean when we walked in but we found a few minor issues with the cleanliness. We recommend this home to families and we had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I appreciate the comments. Unfortunately guest did not report any of the minor issues during the stay, otherwise we would have taken care of it immediately. The minor issues regarding cleanliness have been addressed with cleaners.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

B/D MO

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our large family stayed at the Tropical Dunes and everyone had a wonderful vacation. When we arrived everything was very neat and clean. It was fun staying right on the beach and see the Gulf right outside our window. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes. The grandchildren also enjoyed the pool when they weren't boogy boarding. The owner was very wonderful to work with, which is always a plus. We would recommend this property to family, friends or anyone who wants to get away for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We stayed at Carla's beach house at the end of May 2012. The pictures were accurate and we had a great time. The house slept 3 couples, one single adult, 3 girls and a 15 month old easily. The girls loved the bunk beds and the two back patios provided great views. There were plenty of beach toys available for the kids in the downstairs area, as well as kites and a charcoal grill. It's a moderate walk to the water (for us adults, that is -- the kids didn't mind a bit), however this is due to protected dunes, but there is a boardwalk that will get you around them and on the beach in a matter of a couple of minutes.

We took the ferry across and the beach house is literally a 2-3 minute drive as soon as you pull off the boat. If you do not take the ferry, take advantage of stopping by the Wal-Mart before getting on the Ft. Morgan drive. It's a 20 minute drive but that's the price you pay to get away from all the noise! There are some smaller shops as you drive in, however you'll pay for the convenience ($$$). Also there is a bar called Tacky Jack's across the street which appears to do charter boating. We made the mistake of not checking that place out until our last day, and we could have saved quite a drive on the day we did deep sea fishing. Live and learn, we will definitely be paying Carla's house another visit in the future!

Thanks, Carla!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gulf Shore-Rookies, Family of 13

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

My husband and I along with our eleven children, ages 7 months to 16 years, vacationed in Gulf Shores for the first time and chose this property solely by internet. Totally unfamiliar with the area, we were unsure of what we were getting into but trusted the vrbo website listing. We were very pleased with our choice! We had a delightfully restful vacation staying at the "Tropical Dunes!" The owner was non-hesitantly accommodating and the house was spacious, clean, and attractively decorated just as the vrbo photos had portrayed. It was stocked with plenty of beach chairs and toys that I didn't have to pack and haul. We prepared most of our meals in the well stocked kitchen. The kids also enjoyed swimming in the pool which was close to the house. My favorite part was being located right on the beach. Nothing beats the ease and relaxation of sitting on the deck enjoying the beauty of the Gulf! I would recommend this property to all my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We had a great vacation in Fort Morgan two weeks ago. The house was fantastic for our two families. We had four adults and six kids (middle and high school age) and were very comfortable. We loved everything about the house - the bedrooms were great, the balconies provided shade when we needed it and a perfect place to watch the sunrise. We loved that we were so close to the beach and hearing the waves! The kitchen had everything we needed and it was a great area for us to be able to eat, cook and spend time together - there was enough room for lots of us to be able to help out! We saw dolphins every day - which was a big hit! The beach was perfect - not crowded at all. We took the ferry from Dauphin Island on our way to the house - which was a lot of fun! It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had and we would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family stay at Tropical Dunes was delightful!

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We brought four generations of family with us to stay at Tropical Dunes. The house is spacious enough that we could spread out for private time (when needed). The common areas are big enough for us to all hang out together to eat, watch tv, etc. There were enough toys to keep our 4 year old busy all week at the beach. We ended up bringing all of our own baby stuff, but the house has a pack n play, utensils, etc.
We hired a beach photographer to come out, and the beach at this property photographed beautifully!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

fun week

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Everything was as advertised, wonderful time. Weather couldn't have been better. Thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great vacation!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Our stay at Tropical Dunes was so enjoyable. We had a total of 7 adults and 2 children. I felt the pictures were a bit deceiving d/t the walk to the beach. Because of the dunes between the house and the ocean we had to walk down to a boardwalk that went over the dunes. This was ok but just not what we expected. We thought we were going to be right on the beach and 'yelling' distance to those next to the ocean. Everything in the house was great. Everything described that would be there pretty much was. However, there was no gas grill. We used the charcoal and that was fine with us. The tv in one of the main masters went out on Tuesday night. I emailed on Wednesday morning and it was replaced Friday afternoon. There was also food left in the pantry from previous renters. Through the very minor inconveniences this was a very nice vacation and we would probably stay there again. Tropical dunes provided the privacy we wanted. The added touch of waking up with dolphins playing in the ocean that we watched from the balcony was a nice touch. We will recommend this place to others wanting a relaxing vacation in a touristy area without the tourists!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Tropical Dunes is a gulf front property. There are no streets between the house and the beach. It is located at the Dunes subdivision. The dunes are protected because of the turtles and beach mouse. The boardwalk is adjacent to the house. It actually makes it for an easier walk than climbing the dunes. We also provide a wonder wheeler. You can literally load it with toys, towels and chairs and pull it with one hand while holding a child's hand. We always mention this to our guests and the boardwalk actually appears in several of the pictures. It was not our intention to misguide anyone.
For years we have provided a gas grill. However, guests not always refilled the gas tanks or cleaned it. So the next family always felt a little short changed. To avoid these problems we moved to a charcoal grill. Guest was warned of this prior to check in.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Week with all my children and Grandchildren

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

Loved it, 14 of us were there for a week and loved every minute of it. I would stay there again. The price was reasonable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Fun

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Our stay at Tropical Dunes was fun and enjoyable. There was ample space for all of us (8 adults & 5 children)
in the living/eating area. The deck provided many hours of enjoyment for all of us. The baby items that were provided were most helpful to the ones who needed them. Also, the two upstairs walk in closets substituted for bedrooms for the 2 babies who had to sleep in the rooms with their parents. We enjoyed being on the quieter end of the beach. We enjoyed our week there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for kids!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Tropical Dunes was a wonderful place to spend our family vacation. There was ample space for all of us and the balconies were so great! The best part of the stay for us, though, was the supply of kid-friendly "stuff" that was already at the house. The high chair, booster seat, safety gate, pack and play and dishware that we didn't have to worry about breaking were such a great feature for our two nineteen month olds. We were able to enjoy the balocony with the kids without worry, too. We hope to return to enjoy the beach there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Alabama the Beautiful

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Tropical Dunes was the setting for our family vacation last week on Alabama's beautiful gulf coast. We felt right at home with plenty of room for our group of 8 adults and 4 kids. The whole house is comfortable and pretty, but our favorite spot was the spacious deck which looks out at the beautiful beach and water. Between the beach and the pools, we had the best of both worlds! Lovely home, every convenience, beautiful view, good fishing, beach fun in the sun, privacy when needed, togetherness when needed, and the smiles of our grandkids - what's not to love? Great family vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation at Tropical Dunes. Everything is as described or better. This is our fist year to stay in a home....and it will not be our last. We enjoyed the privacy offered by a home as well as room to spread out. The children had their own area and loved the games. We had plenty of towels, kitchen tools and beach equipment. We had a question and Carla emailed the answer promptly. Great time had by grandparents, parents and grandchildren!!! Thanks again for sharing your home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation May 2011

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We had a wonderful trip to Fort Morgan during the first week of May. We had 10 adults and 3 children and had plenty of room in the house. The house is well equipped with everything you need. The kids loved all the beach toys and boogie boards. The beach was beautiful and not at all crowded. We didn't spend much time at the pool because the kids loved the sand. We are hoping to go back again in 2012.

I would recommend taking the ferry from Dauphin Island to get to the house if it works into your travel plans. It drops you off just a few miles from the house and you avoid all the stoplights from Mobile down to Gulf Shores. The kids really enjoyed that part of the ride also.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break 2011

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this home over our Spring Break. We had 3 families, with 6 adults, 5 children. This home fit our needs perfect with beds/baths and very open kitchen area. The weather cooperated nicely too! Time on the beach was maximum for us, and that included plenty of dolphin sightings! The only drawback for this place is the distance to town. But we planned ahead with groceries well and it all worked out nicely. Carla is a gracious host and aims to please.
Karen - Madison, WI

Owners response: Regarding the distance to town ... it is a 20 minute drive to the largest grocery store, Bruno's and WalMart Supercenter. We do add that information in the guest check in package so nobody is taken by surprise. Also, the house is located right across from the Gulf Shores Marina. This is a new development with a family restaurant overlooking the Mobile Bay, a bar with karaoke twice a week, small store, fishing boat cruises, bicycle, boat and jet ski rentals.
2 miles from the house on West Plaza, there is a Mexican restaurant, pizza delivery place, small grocery store for last minute items and a package store.
Fort Morgan is a low density area. Nature is gorgeous and you do not share the beach with large crowds from condo buildings. This is an ideal spot for a relaxing family beach vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Making Memories

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

What a wonderful way to make memories. The weather was outstanding. We were on the beach day and night. Kids were able to swim in ocean, fish, surf, hunt shells and crabs and make sand castles. The sunset was spectacular every night. This was a Christmas present to my children and grandchildren. One I know they will never forget. Lamberts Restaurant was a highlight for everyone. Kids loved catching the rolls. And old grandma enjoyed Old Time Pottery and the laughter and smiles on everyones face.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tropical Dunes Fort Morgan

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We spent the week of Sept 25th at this wonderful home. The floor plan is well layed out and allows for a large group with nice spacing between the bedrooms. This beach view is wonderful. My children loved spending time at the pools. The home was clean and packed with everything you could need. Are group ranged from 11 months to 70 years old. Carla was quickly available to answer questions. We had a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Beach Vacation Ever

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Our family is spread out over Arkansas, California, Washington, and Alabama so we don't all get together often enough.
We all love the beach and could not have chosen a better place than Tropical Dunes for this get together!
Having stayed in many Gulf Coast Condo's over the years I am now totally spoiled after this stay.
House was clean and very comfortable, very well laid out with the large Kitchen/Dinning/Living area facing the Gulf. Great views from both decks.
Beach was great! We love the fact it is away from the crowds. Pools were great too. we also had perfect weather. Side trip to Pensacola to catch the Navy Blue Angels practice and see the Naval Aviation Museum was a hit with the boys, who also went to the USS Alabama in Mobile while the girls explored the Tanger Outlet Mall.
Plus just days playing in the sand and waves.
We highly recomend Tropical dunes and hope to come back again soon.
Thankfully the oil spill has had very little impact on this area, and in no way spoiled our vacation.
thanks Carla!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great family vacation

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

We're still talking about how much we enjoyed our Gulf Shores vacation at the Tropical Dunes home. We had several families, and there was plenty of room to accomodate us all. We put all the kids in the one bedroom with bunk beds, and the adults were able to have their own rooms. The home is comfortable, clean, and accurately represented in the pictures.

Tropical Dunes is equipped with everything including sand toys, beach chairs, and luxurious bath towels. Be advised to stop for supplies and groceries before coming out to the property because the nearest big store is 20 miles away. The marina across the street in walking distance, and was helpful for the little things needed. The Beach Club down the street (10 miles) was nice for a lunch/dinner out, and they also have carry out pizza.

The property was very appealing because it wasn't crowded like the downtown Gulf Shores area is on Easter break. The white sandy beaches and dunes are breathtaking as you sit on the porch and look out at the dolphins. We were fortunate to have high 70's-low 80's weather while visiting in early April.

We took a dolphin cruise from the marina across the street, which was fun. We also went to LuLu's and The Hangout with the kids. The Wharf area has some stores, a movie theater, a ferris wheel, and restaurants. My suggestion would be to go there late afternoon, early evening.

All in all, if you're looking for a relaxing beach vacation, this home in Fort Morgan will not disappoint.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

Our stay at this great beach house was hardly at peak season (Oct 17-21, 2009). But that didn't keep four old friends and wives from having a wonderful stay. The house looks just like the pictures, well appointed, and arranged to promote "togetherness". The bedding is very comfortable and everyone has their own space. The beach and water is right there in front of you. The deck is a wonderful gathering place for morning coffee or evening happy hours. The sunsets and sunrises will water your eyes. You will enjoy the dolphins who are regular guests in the water directly off the deck. Thanks Carla, we hope to return someday.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

This was our third year staying in one of Carla's properties. But it was our first year at Tropical Dunes. We enjoyed ourselves completely. There are 14 of us with 6 children 7 and under. We were all very comfortable in this house. Our weather was beautiful and the beach was wonderful. Carla takes very good care of house making it seem like home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We recently stayed in this property with our 3 grown children, their spouses, and 4 grandchildren. The floor plan was ideal for our family size and also each family had their privacy. The house is very well stocked and maintained. We enjoyed our week there very much. The beach is very nice and private, especially tat his time of year. I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

Stayed week of Aug 8 - 15, 2009. Had a great time. My family of 7 was there the whole week. Plus my 87 yr old mom, 71 yr old mom-in-law, and sister-in-law joined us for a few days mid-week. House was plenty big enough for all of us and location/beach is fantastic. Don't even have to worry about bringing up your beach items (umbrellas, chairs, etc) off the beach each night. Nobody bothers them. House was very clean and loved the outside decks to just sit and relax. Carla is fantastic to work with. Had one issue with DVD player and sent her email. She quickly responded with solution that worked. Can't get that kind of service at most high-end hotels. Thanks Carla for a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

We spent a wonderful week with our grown children and their families - 12 of us. The house was so comfortable, well-equipped and clean. Everyone commented on how much they liked the house. The view was beautiful, and we loved being right on the beach. We enjoyed delicious seafood at Tacky Jacks and especially liked grilling hamburgers and hot dogs on the gas grill. The children loved their bunk bed getaway room. Even the two-year old slept there. The beds were extra comfortable and the house is so well insulated, we all got a good nights sleep every night. The a/c worked great too. Pools were nice. We had a great time! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

We had a great time. The house was very nice and comfortable with plenty of room. I am always concerned by how old the posted photos are, but they were up to date and a very accurate description of what you actually get. House was clean and well appointed as well. Karla was always responsive and friendly before and after the stay. I expect she would have been during our stay as well, but again, everything was in place and we did not need to contact her. Thanks

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

Tropical Dunes was the perfect place for our family vacation--2 grandparents, 2 couples, 3 children. The view from the deck was beautiful! The kitchen was well-stocked; the large table allowed all of us to eat together. The king beds were comfortable and the walk-in closets gave us plenty of space. The upstairs was so quiet--I never did hear if anyone else was up and about, and I was usually the last one to wake up. There were lots of books, movies, games, and beach toys as well. We loved it and will certainly consider going back. Carla was great to work with, too.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

Exactly as described. Believe the pictures! This is a great vacation venue. It's very child friendly. We had a great time. The kitchen was well equipped. The beach toys perfect. The high chair and pack and play came in useful as well. We enjoyed lunch on the decks and watched the dolphins playing. The sound of the waves at night was the highlight of our vacation. Carla was great to deal with. Thoroughly recommend this- and did I mention it's right on the beach!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Our extended family came from all over to enjoy this fabulous spot. We would make the trek again in a heartbeat. Carla was helpful and accommodating. The house was impeccable, the beach was gorgeous and far from the crowded commercial beaches close to town. The layout was ideal for us - each of the four couples had a beautiful, spacious king bedroom and bathroom, and the kids got to be together in one room. There was plenty of room for us to cook and eat together. The covered decks were amazing for coffee and dolphin-watching. The kids loved the easy beach access, and the complex pool and basketball net. Something for everyone. Perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Tropical Dunes. The
house is well equipped and felt like home. We really
enjoyed the remote location of this development. It
was fun to have the beach "to ourselves". The
community is well kept and the pools and hottubs
were great! Carla is easy to work with and
dependable. We hated for our trip to end!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 19, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Our trip to your fabulous beach-front home last week met & exceeded our expectations, especially the warm, sunny weather. Our family group included 6 adults and grandkids aged 18, 15, 11, 4, and 2. The house worked very well for us--lots of space in the living, kitchen area giving us ample room to eat together and "hangout." We also enjoyed the large windows for beach viewing as well as the well-equipped decks. The nicely decorated large bedrooms and baths allowed everyone ample privacy and a good night's sleep (house seemed to very sound-proof as we had a variety of sleep patterns with us and we all slept). We really appreciated the wide variety of beach/pool items available for our use. We found everyone in the neighborhood to be very friendly and helpful--the area is definitely family oriented.
We enjoyed spending time of the beach--watching dolphins, shore birds, pelicans, crabs, picking up shells, playing in the sand, etc. Other fun outings included lunch at Tacky Jack's (excellent food), tour of Ft. Morgan, ferry ride (take vehicle), Gulf Shores, playing golf to name a few.
Our family had a wonderful time and highly recommend this property to any family or group.
Thanks again, Carla!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 18, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our week. Your home was quite nice and pleasant, and also well equipped. There were 15 of us including 6 children age 7 and under, so the nice living area and deck were wonderful for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 27, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

The house worked very well for our families, six adults, three kids. We like cooking, eating and just hanging out together, and the open kitchen, big table and family area was just right. Bedrooms and bathrooms met our expectaions, there were no surprises. I was nice to have a crib and high chair there for the little ones, as well as the beach toys. Great location on the beach, loved facing the Gulf. We also enjoyed the pool which was close by. Ft. Morgan was interesting, rode the ferry, sampled boiled peanuts (not my taste). We slipped our vacation in between Fay and Ivan and had a great time. We did keep an eye on flhurricanes dot com for a while. Thanks for your help there. Glad you came through undamaged.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The house was very comfortable and VERY clean. Everything worked as advertised and we were very happy with the vacation. We will definitely consider staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Carla,
We LOVED your place, and we really appreciated your follow up and follow through. It meant a great deal to me that you called us that first day to be sure we were in. What a great home and lovely location. This was the first visit to Gulf Shores for two of the families, and we fell in love. Your accommodations made this a really wonderful trip for all of us. Thanks for having such a kid-friendly home. We were all comfortable and there was plenty of room for the entire group of 15.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 4, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Carla - We just got back to reality - yuk! All 15 of us had a great time at your home on the beach. Everything that we needed was right there at Tropical Dunes! It was great working with you and the kids and grandkids thoroughly enjoyed it. The guys played golf, the girls relaxed at the beach and pools. The kids had a good time being kids. Some of the grownups discovered Tacky Jack's. I would recommend visiting the Fort - the grandkids really liked it. Thanks again for making the Kennedy Vacation 2008 a great experience. Sally Kennedy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 30, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We found the home to be beautiful - the location was wonderful and the beds were a dream. We would definitely try to rent this house again on our next trip down to Gulf Shores. Thanks for your prompt attention.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

For starters, this house is awesome! The location is perfect! The view is fantastic! The room (space) is more than sufficient! My family and friends had a great time. We loved stying right on the beach especially with small kids. The outside shower was perfect to get the sand off before heading in. The balconies were perfect for a relaxing read and drink while peering off into the gulf occassionally. We will visit this location again and again. OM

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

nice house good beach great for group
would rent again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We gathered with family and friends from Georgia, Alabama and Louisiana and had a wonderful stay at Tropical Dunes. The great house, beautiful beach and friendly people made this an excellent choice for our New Year's beach trip. The owners are very hospitable, responsive and a pleasure to deal with. We look forward to returning soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We went to the beach with five couples and this house was PERFECT! There was plenty of room for everyone (4 king beds and 1 queen bunk), we could all sit at the table and eat together, and the owners are very easy to work with! We hope to make this a tradition!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Carla: Tropical Dunes was outstanding. The bedrooms/bathrooms' layouts could not have been better for our family, the kitchen/living area was just great, plus the deck. The children were able to play in the sand under the deck which made it easy to keep an eye on them. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.
We used the pools everyday. The location was ideal--my sons even got to know Tacky Jack's.
My entire family had a wonderful time and we just stayed at Tropical Dunes
and enjoyed it and the amenities. As we were all leaving to go back to our
various locations (California, Chicago, Indiana) they all wanted to know when we were doing this again. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 23, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Our group of 15, ages 4 to 75, ALL enjoyed the house
and all that goes with it. We can recommend it to
anyone. It was all we expected and more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable our large group was in your house. The home is decorated beautifully. We really enjoyed the large front porch with generous seating. I loved the large table to accommodate evening meals and the kitchen was very well stocked. Everyone found the beds very comfortable. Everyone really appreciated the TVs in each room, and the kids loved the game box. We look forward to renting your home next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 7, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

My extended family of 11 just had a great stay at Tropical Dunes. We have rented several beach properties and this was our favorite by far. Everything was beautifully decorated, location was ideal, and anytime we needed anything (kitchen utensils, beach toys, etc) it was right there. We saw dolphins every morning. We will definitely return to Tropical Dunes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

June 2, 2006 We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Sunset Hideaway. We had 10 children and at various times 7 adults. The gulf was beautiful and clear, no seaweed, weather glorious, sand perfect for the young ones, few people around Memorial Day week. The house is great and in excellent condition. Would love to return some day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

We enjoyed this beautiful home with two other families. We had 8 children aged 13 and under and the house was plenty big enough. Dolphins outside the windows at dawn and dusk were amazing! The home itself was beautifully decorated and contained everything we needed...including pool/beach toys. The week went too fast! Our week at this lovely home will not soon be forgotten..one of our best family vacations yet! :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Carla....our stay was fantastic. Your home is beautiful and is exactly as pictured on the website. You have truly thought of everything for every age! Everything, including the beds are top quality and very comfy. We had four families come together from 2 states and we are already planning for next year. It couldn't have been better, suntanning on the beach, swimming at one of the pools, watching the dolphins out in the gulf as we ate breakfast around the massive dining table, early morning shell searching on the beach or the relaxing sunset from the deck!!! Glorious home, glorious vacation! THANK YOU

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

Carla,
The week in your lovely home was terrific. Everything worked well and we had everything that we needed. You seem to have thought of everything. The family is now thinking about when we might be able to return. It is is equal distance from our Texas and Kentucky kids and an easy flight for us -- so perfect. The kids where on the beach and in the water for hours each day and even the babies had a good time bonding with each other and
their grandmother!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful Tropical Dunes property with us. Your decorating was great and we loved all the bright colors-our eleven year old grandson even commented on it. It was also nice that every bedroon dad it's own bath.

I think the kitchen was the favorite though. The bar seated all our grandchildren and left the dining room for the adults. It was a focal point and great for conversation while preparing meals.

When we arrived the children thought there had been a huge snow storm-sand was piled everywhere. We had to be a little careful of the debris between the house and the beach; but by week's end the sand shift had almost completely taken care of any/all impediments. We also enjoyed the use of both pools and were fortunate enought to view dolphins on several occasions.

The highlight of our stay was our daughter getting engaged on the beach while finding three perfect sand dollars on the same walk. Must have been for good luck.

Tremendous facility, thank you again for sharing it with our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

We had a family reunion at Tropical Dunes where we celebrated my father's 80th birthday and the 50th birthday of my sister and sister-in-law. The house was ideal with enough room for our five families. A relaxing and refreshing time was had by all. I would highly recommend this home for any family gathering.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 17, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

We and our children and grandchildren get together every two years for a weeks vacation. WE stayed ay Tropical Dunes this June and had a WONDERFUL vacation. Everything on the web page is accurate... rooms are decroated so beautiful and you just feel the warmth the momentyou step on that welcome mat. We had a one year old in our family with us and the entire house was child proofed. The beach, house and all the ammendities were outstanding! We all would highly recommend this home to anyone! Carla is such a great person to work with! Thanks for the memories!
Darlene and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

This house was wonderful. The pictures on the website are very accurate. It was so nice to have king beds for all of our party. The living and dining area is very spacious and we enjoyed cooking most of our meals at the house. We found wonderful fresh shrimp at Billy's Seafood. We also took advantage of the chair rental at the beach which was nice, but the boardwalk has been rebuilt and it is very easy to take your own chairs and umbrellas to the beach. The owners have beach chairs, toys, kick boards and other things to use in the storage area. The beach was beautiful. The pool was also very nice. I would recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

We had a wonderful time at Tropical Dunes. We Spent a week with our family and enjoyed every moment. The home was spacious and just as beautiful as the pictures show. The view of the Gulf from the porch is breath taking. It was great fun to see the dolphins playing right in front of the house and
the Shrimp boats were a treat for the kids to watch. We highly recomend this home and plan to come back in the future.Carla was great to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 7, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Fort Morgan. It was an awesome experience. The house was perfect for the family. There were 8 adults and three small children and we were accommodated perfectly.

Ivan has been through and the affect that I saw is that much of the foliage is replaced with sand. So now not only is the house on the beachfront it is a part of the beach. I thought the change was great. In my opinion the house is in the nicest community in the area. You will not be disappointed

Parkers-Indiana, New York, New Jersey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2004   Date of arrival: November 1, 2004

We just returned from a stay at Tropical Dunes, and can't say enough good things about our experience. The house was beautiful, well maintained, fully equipped and the setting and location could not have been better. We had 9 adults and plenty of room. The house is very spacious, and the kitchen/dining area is the perfect setup for a large group that wants to cook together and hang out together. The decks are also very spacious and overlook the water. Each morning over coffee we got the added joy of watching the dolphins. We were a little worried about possible hurricane damage to the house, but the owners took great pains to repair anything that had been damaged. I can't say enough good things about this place. I do quite a bit of traveling, and this place ranks right there towards the top!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 2, 2004   Date of arrival: November 1, 2004

Carla,
We have just returned from our week at your beautiful place in Gulf Shores, the first use of the home post-Ivan. All was in perfect shape and I can only echo comments made by others: decor is very attractive; setting spectacular; very well-equipped, especially the kitchen, which has everything! Our family has had 22 years of rental experience on the NC Outer Banks. We all agree that Gulf Shores, and Tropical Dunes in particular, is our new destination of choice. Thanks for helping make a great trip possible.

Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 25, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

Carla,
Thank you so much! My family and I enjoyed ourselves in your beautiful home. To anyone interested in renting this home, you will not be disappointed. The home is awesome. Plenty of room and the amenities are great. I will definitely be back. Thank you again Carla and family.
Best, Steve

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Carla, thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to stay in your home. This was the 1st time that my family (grandparents, aunt's,uncle's and cousins)has spent a family vacation together. You and your family made that possible. With all the beach supplies as well as the kitchen being fully equipped the house proved to be far above our expectations. It was a week of sharing old memories and stories while making new ones for our own children. We laughed and cried while remembering what family is all about. Thanks again, Trisha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

This is the perfect house for a wonderful get together vacation. 4 families reunited after 15 years, a total of 16 people (8 adults & 8 kids) and we are so glad we picked Tropical Dunes! Everyone was very comfortable and the house had everything you could possibly think of. Beach toys, chairs, umbrella and even boogie boards! The kitchen has everything you need to accomodate any meal and the gas grill was filled and ready for us to cook the fish we caught! The seating was perfect, it accomodated all of us! We were able to enjoy our meals together! It was a great vacation to remember. We highly recommend Tropical Dunes.

The O'Connor's, The Napier's, The Schacker's and The Moore's
From New Jersey, Ohio and California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 15, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

We had three generations of family in this beautiful home. From toddlers to teens to grandparents - all had a great time. The owners made every effort to anticipate the needs of the guest. (I wish my own kitchen was as well equipped!)
In all my years of beach going I have never seen anything like the sealife that was on Fort Morgan. We saw a school of 30 stingrays within three feet of the shore. I have never seen so many dolphins.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 25, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

Tropical Dunes was truely the perfect getaway. The decor was soooo uplifting and energizing, everything we needed was at our fingertips. Carla and Rimos so kind, making sure we had everything we needed. We could have stayed for weeks. Great for family and friends, we WILL RETURN.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

The house was wonderful. We had three families with a total of four kids- two infants. The house had eveything for older kids as well as the infants. Beach is beautiful and very often empty. The house was very well equippedand very comfortable. The Fort Morgan Marina is right acroos the street- has a great restaurant as well as convenience store for small grocery shopping. Everything was wonderful - will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2004   Date of arrival: April 1, 2004

The perfect house for the perfect vacation!! 2 families (4 adults, 5 children and 1 enfant) stayed in the house with room to spare. The colors, decorations and furnishings were great. The kids went swimming in the indooor and outdoor pools every morning, played on the beach every afternoon, and spent the evenings playing with the supplied X-Box. The adults were also out at the pools, on the beach and jet skiing. The marina (with a restaurant) is just across the street. Their were dolphins playing in the ocean right in front of the house every single day. Perfect vacation!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 29, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

The Tropical Dunes is a beutiful vacation retreat. Everything imaginable is provided. The house is setup to facilitate group interactions, but also allows for private individual space. The location and setting are beautiful and just a short ride down the road you can have all the commotion and excitement you desire and then can blissfully retreat to peace and quiet. This is the best of both worlds.The owner is very interested in making sure you have a very good experience in her beautiful beach home. I definitely recommend this home for a top notch vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 28, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

We just returned from our vacation at Tropical Dunes. It is a wonderful house, large and full of light! Everything was like new. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook great meals and there was ample room for everyine to sit down to dinner. We watched dolphins every afternoon from the balcony and the beach as they swam by right off shore. We loved having the beach so close and spent most of our days shelling and playing in the sand. Though it was spring break, we often had the beach to ourselves. Tropical Dunes was a great location for our family vacation. Thank you, Carla, for being so thoughtful and making sure everything was just right for stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 6, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing vacation! This well furnished house offered us a great base for our day trips and other adventures. The beaches are clean and inviting. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 3, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

This house combines the practicality of a comfortable new home and the wonders of the nature. Wonderful location, right on the beach, and what a beach!! Crystalline green waters on "white sugar" sands, that can be seen not just from the porches, but also from the living room, kitchen and some of the bedrooms. Calm and peaceful, awesome sunsets and sunrises (both on the ocean!).The house is well equipped and just remodeled (it looks brand new!), accommodates large groups of people with comfort and elegance. For sure the best beach house for a relaxing vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 3, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

This house combines the practicality of a comfortable new home and the wonders of the nature. Wonderful location, right on the beach, and what a beach!! Crystalline green waters on "white sugar" sands, that can be seen not just from the porches, but also from the living room, kitchen and some of the bedrooms. Calm and peaceful, awesome sunsets and sunrises (both on the ocean!).The house is well equipped and just remodeled (it looks brand new!), accommodates large groups of people with comfort and elegance. For sure the best beach house for a relaxing vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

I have rented a number of homes on the beach and this house is the best so far for a relaxing vacation, watching dolphin from our balcony and exploring the nature reserve next door. The ferry to Mobile is easily accessed for an afternoon outing. The house has new furnishings and I LOVED their choice of paint colors - very upbeat. Glad I found this one! I'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

I loved everything about the place, the house, and "Dunes" is certainly a very exclusive place to spend your vacation. The view from the house is just amazing and I haven't seen more beautiful sunrise and sunset than there... This place is definitely a must go next summer!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2003   Date of arrival: November 1, 2003

We just came back from our USA annual vacation. Our last stop was in Gulf Shores,AL, we stayed a few days in this magnificient house facing the ocean and enjoyed the quiet and peacefull surroundings. This was a wonderfull last stop on our trip. We will come back !!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review