reviews for: listing #39250 - Fort Walton Beach, Florida Condo rental

Yards from the Sugar White Beaches of the "Gulf of Mexico"
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Island Sands
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $260 /nt
    $895 - $1,695 /wk

sort by:

Great Condo in Beautiful Okaloosa

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We recently stayed at this property in July 2014. As other reviews have indicated, the condo is gorgeous, the beach is simply breathtaking and the owner is very caring and thoughtful. As for the property itself, it’s simply stunning. The decorations and furniture are well thought out and the owner goes above and beyond to make sure the basics are stocked upon your arrival. There is still DVDs and books made available to the guests as well as several beach chairs, an umbrella, masks, boogie boards etc.

There are 2 LCD TV’s in the house (one in the Bedroom and one in the living room), however the owner does not appear to have HD service for these, so you are left watching in the old SD. Again this is no big deal, as you should be on the beach anyhow, but fyi in case this matters to you. Also we found the Wifi to be very spotty. It was very slow for some reason and we had to constantly reboot it. As another reviewer mentioned, there is still no Wifi password enabled, so it is open to the world. The owner really needs to lock this down IMO, it’s probably a low risk issue here, but just for peace of mind and to keep other inhabitants of the condominium off of it, it should be locked down. These are just minor issues that don't detract from your stay, but you should be aware of them.

One thing that that pictures don’t show well is that there is now (as of July 2014) a giant sand dune behind this condominium (and pretty much all of the properties on the island). It basically wipes out any view of the beach and coastline that the first floor units once had. While you can just make out a sliver of deep water over the dune from this unit, those hoping for a view of the beachfront or coastline will be disappointed, you HAVE to be 2nd floor + for that. For us this was not a huge issue, we spent most of our time on the beautiful beach itself anyway. This also makes it quite a trek to the beach (you have to use a wooden crossing that goes through the dune and out to the beach) when your carrying everything, it wore us out for sure.

PRO’s
First floor – no stairs (Except to access the beach)
Beautiful condo, well maintained and very clean
Wonderful owner
Feels like home
Free beach equipment provided by owner
Okaloosa simply can’t be beat

Con’s
No beach view (All views blocked by Sand Dune)
No beach service (The chairs provided are not nearly as good as the beach service chairs}

Otherwise, we LOVED our stay!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello All,

First, I want to thank and encourage everyone to write a review. I want to do whatever is possible to make everything as delightful as possible.

We do have HD channels, but they start at 1000. So if you are watching channel 325 you just go to 1325 and it is in High Definition. Detailed directions are provided in the bedroom and the living room so our guests don’t have to guess how to use the equipment. I will look it over and make sure it is clear.

Addressing the WiFi: It is password protected, unless I'm missing something. I supply the password instructions along with the access code before you arrival. I will research this further and see if there is something else I should be doing. I want everyone to feel comfortable using the Internet. Also, we pay extra for the highest speed internet service that Cox offers, so ours should be the best available. We also offer Blu-Ray players for both HDTVs for playing movies and for internet services on the TV. As far as the signal going in and out, I'm unaware of this, but one of the reasons I purchased in this area was the limited public traffic. We are near the end of the public access on Okaloosa Island, and the military owns the land at the end of the Island. This may have something to with the signal going in and out during the time these guests were there.

Beach view: It is true that since the video was taken we have built up the dunes to protect the area from any rising water during sudden storms. I will re-due the video as soon as possible to make sure you can see exactly what you are getting. You can still see the coast line, but if you are sitting on the patio the beach view is limited, but the panoramic coastline view is amazing.

No Beach Service: I have used the beach service in the past and I my guests have found that the chairs were too close together which doesn't give you much privacy, and the lounge chairs are wooden which makes them very uncomfortable. It just seemed like a better fit to supply a high quality umbrella and plenty of lightweight rust proof beach chairs for my quests.
In the video, I walk off the trek to the beach from the back porch to the crossover bridge, which is less than 100 feet, and then it drops you right into the “Sugar White Sand” of Okaloosa Island. The bridge is for “Island Sands” guests only, so it is really a privileged convenience.

Thank you so much for the review.

Darlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ah-mazing!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Our stay over 4th of July week was a blast! Not only was the condo BEAUTIFUL and clean, the location was absolutely perfect! Even better than the pictures! Not overcrowded and the beach was right out the back door! I LOVED the decor in the condo! The kitchen was stocked with just about every little extra you could need! Darlene was very nice! Her recommendations of restaurants and things to do were very helpful and greatly appreciated! Plus she she had stacks of brochures and with all sorts of info and coupons! We had a great time! We would definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful visit. Such a gorgeous location. Very relaxing and peaceful. Everything you need is provided, from beach towels to snorkel gear.
We had a great time at Hog's Breath located in Destin as well as the Dolphin and Shelling cruise by Destin Snorkel.
Highly recommend staying here. We will definitely come back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week. By far the BEST vacation we have ever had. The condo was immaculate and the location, WOW! We will never go to the Atlantic coast again, the Gulf is a whole new world. The water is crystal clear and the sand is soft and white. The condo is located on a quieter side of the island, there were very few people on the beach even, but on the opposite side of the island by the pier there is plenty to do and see, all very close to the condo. The best of both worlds, and only minutes away from Destin and Fort Walton Beach if your looking for a more touristy experience. To say that the condo was fully stocked is an understatement. Trust me, you don't want for much of anything. Darlene was also easy to communicate with and was very helpful. Would definitely love to stay again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect place!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in celebration of her 40th birthday. She had never seen the ocean in her life and so this was an extra special trip. Let's just say, she was already planning her return after she got there. The condo is perfect, clean, well supplied and just ready for your arrival. Darlene keeps in touch and checks in with you upon your arrival. Very attentive, very easy to communicate with and has just a great space. Being able to walk out onto the beach is by far the best perk, but being an end unit also has many advantages including lots of natural light. We will certainly be returning and are happy to recommend. Thanks Darlene! You helped make a very special time in our lives that much more enjoyable and memorable.

Owners response: I appreciate the kind words and attention to details. I will try to treat each and every guest with this same thoughtfulness and respect.

Darlene

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

After many years of friends telling me how gorgeous the Emerald Coast was - I finally succumbed. It's a shame I waited so long! Plus, I lucked out with this extraordinary property that was EVERYTHING I was looking for in a small condo.

In this area, it is difficult to find a 1BR/1BA condo on THE FIRST FLOOR. When I saw this one and read about it, I knew it was for me. It was exactly like the pictures (if not better!) and with the little video the owner shot - I was actually able to recognize the building right away from the street. That was a BIG help. Property was super clean and very well maintained.

And the fact that is in Ft Walton Beach and on Okaloosa Island is a bonus! Away from the crowds and the craziness that this area can be in season. I was there off season but I kept imagining how it must be in season and was glad I chose this.

With this condo, clearly the owners took great care in the decoration and the details. I so appreciated the instructions from the owner not to mention that everything is labeled. All the light switches, all the cleaning supplies - that made it so much easier to locate everything. Plus there were books to read and DVDs to watch and the condo has TWO TVs.

Each morning, within 20 steps, I was on the most beautiful beach in Florida. I opted to pay for my beach chair and umbrella each day but the property comes with chairs and umbrella if you want to forego the expense.

Owner was super friendly before, during and after my stay.

I ate out almost every night and one of the best meals was right in FWB at Staff's - so I recommend that one for sure.

My only suggestion to the property owner would be to lock your wireless network and provide a password. It's too easy for hackers to access it when it's unlocked and get into your visitor's stuff. I actually used my own wi-fi hotspot while staying there.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this property to everyone. And make your rezzies early because I'm sure it stays occupied.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our October beach vacation

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in the condo. Very relaxing and quiet
and every amenity was available.. It was excellent.
We would definetley stay here again... Thanks! Darlene

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is nice to get a review from guests that travel after "Labor Day".
The weather is perfect at this time of year, NOT TOO HOT AND NOT TOO COLD.

Thank you,

Darlene

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time here. This condo is very nice and super clean. Everything is provided for you, all you need is your food.. Location is awesome! My family and I had a wonderful time and this place is highly recommended !!!

Owners response: Thanks for the review.
The location is awesome!!!
We try hard to make sure the condo is super clean.
Besides, the regular deep cleaning, we make sure the comforter, rugs, and shower curtain is replaced every time.
Nothing left undone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We loved the location of the condo--corner unit was nice as we could see sky, sand and water from the living area--and the 1/2 bath in the master made it easy for our family of 4 (2 teenagers) to be comfortable. also, the keyless entry system was awesome. Had most cookware we needed as well as other pantry items. Close to Tom Thumb for quick needs and close to Publix for full groceries. We rode our bikes to Beasley Park for some good shelling, and the bridge over to Destin is a quick drive. Suggestions: True Blue for pontoon rental--cheap rates, nice, new boats, and less traffic than the harbor. Go out in the bay and find dolphins (we found them in Poquito Bayou); Marina Cafe-amazing food and a great harbor view; Mobile Sports for banana boating; and we did a private sunset sail with Capt. Brian of Sail Away Destin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Some great ideas here for upcomimg guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Okaloosa Island

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We just got back from Okaloosa Island and it was great. Darlene is wonderful to work with and she went beyond what any host would! We loved the condo and the beach is wonderful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Fantastic Beach Vacation

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our experience with this beach house has well exceeded our expectations. Location was imporatnt for us and we have stayed many other condos on high rises, fancier settings but, this was the best. Building itself is well cared for, cando was very clean, decorated cleverly to suit the needs. We quickly became friends with others who loved being at this spectacular beach. We enjoyed well stocked DVD collection, although I brought my own lap top, there was one available. We also like having boogie boards and snorkelling gear. Kitchen was wonderfully stock with coffee, spices, jams, detergents, laundry soap, sponges, dishes and various types of glasses for water, juice, wine, martini. We like cooking so, blender, mixer, all the cookware was needed was stocked. Darlene was very helpful to send all the necessary paperwork, entrance codes. We love the keyless entry and never used the keys. At night we have taken the flashlights and seached for the sand crabs. Wild life here is amazing, seagulls, sandpipers, great blue herons, stingrays were fantastic. I took 2-3 hour walks daily and did my photography. I took super shots of the moon, sun and the skies. Kids had a blast. They too agree, this was the best vacation we took as a family. When the wheather was windy and the sea was too rough, I took the kids to Ocalooso State Park which is 5 minutes away from the cando and located the otherside of panhandle left side of the street as you drive towards destin. There is no waves here and shallow all the way. Perfect for kids to seek after Hermit crabs and fish. Best place to seek for shells are beach entrances towards the Destin on the right. You can park the car and walk towards the military facility. The land here was filled shells from another location. You can also meet interesting people here. I met a turtle tracker one morning, we end up traking together and found the nest. Harborwalk Village also wonderful for kids and adults. They have fireworks and shows every Thursday and Saturdays they also have live concerts. Crab Shack is a great place to sit on your high stool, watch the ocean and eat crab cakes or fresh grouper. If you love beach and you don't want to deal with the elevators, crossing streets this is an awesome spot to vacation. I have seen and photographed almost every sun set and sunrise and each have been spectacular. We are definatelly going to return next year. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our experience with this beach house has well exceeded our expectations. Location was imporatnt for us and we have stayed many other condos on high rises, fancier settings but, this was the best. Building itself is well cared for, cando was very clean, decorated cleverly to suit the needs. We quickly became friends with others who loved being at this spectacular beach. We enjoyed well stocked DVD collection, although I brought my own lap top, there was one available. We also like having boogie boards and snorkelling gear. Kitchen was wonderfully stock with coffee, spices, jams, detergents, laundry soap, sponges, dishes and various types of glasses for water, juice, wine, martini. We like cooking so, blender, mixer, all the cookware was needed was stocked. Darlene was very helpful to send all the necessary paperwork, entrance codes. We love the keyless entry and never used the keys. At night we have taken the flashlights and seached for the sand crabs. Wild life here is amazing, seagulls, sandpipers, great blue herons, stingrays were fantastic. I took 2-3 hour walks daily and did my photography. I took super shots of the moon, sun and the skies. Kids had a blast. They too agree, this was the best vacation we took as a family. When the wheather was windy and the sea was too rough, I took the kids to Ocalooso State Park which is 5 minutes away from the cando and located the otherside of panhandle left side of the street as you drive towards destin. There is no waves here and shallow all the way. Perfect for kids to seek after Hermit crabs and fish. Best place to seek for shells are beach entrances towards the Destin on the right. You can park the car and walk towards the military facility. The land here was filled shells from another location. You can also meet interesting people here. I met a turtle tracker one morning, we end up traking together and found the nest. Harborwalk Village also wonderful for kids and adults. They have fireworks and shows every Thursday and Saturdays they also have live concerts. Crab Shack is a great place to sit on your high stool, watch the ocean and eat crab cakes or fresh grouper. If you love beach and you don't want to deal with the elevators, crossing streets this is an awesome spot to vacation. I have seen and photographed almost every sun set and sunrise and each have been spectacular. We are definatelly going to return next year. Thank you!

Owners response: I really appreciate the time this guests took to describe the surroundings and adventures they encountered.
Thank you so much.
Darlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My family just returned from our stay. It was wonderful. The easy access was wonderful. We just walked right in from the beach. The water was wonderful. The owner is great to work with. I would definitely recommend this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

HappyTexas

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Perfect accommodations for my birthday getaway! I would recommend this vacation rental to my family & friends without hesitation & I look forward to my next stay here!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation spot

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Just got back from staying here. Great location, quiet beachside community (even with it being spring break). Really nice condo with great amenities. Definitely would stay here again. We are looking forward to that ASAP!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2012 March visit

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We (family of 3 w/5 yr old) recently stayed at our 1st condo and found the experience excellent. Darlene did a great job of preparing us for the visit and even provided a video which gave an exact description. The condo was clean and modern and in an ideal location right on the beach. The extras included all the appliances, wifi, and a selection of DVDs. She even provided us with listings of things to do which the restaurants suggested were perfect.

My wife and son's first visit to Destin and they loved the white sandy beaches and crystal blue water. Definitely plan to come back.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nothing but THUMBS UP !!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

You can't beat this place. The condo itself is the best place I have ever stayed. My wife and I felt completely at home as soon as we walked in the door. The floor plan is very spacious and inviting. And all of the interior decorations are displayed with a simple elegance (and elephants, see if you can find all of them).

This condo is rented by owner (not a management company). She is most pleasant to talk to and very easy to contact; including before you arrive, during your stay, and after departing. She even called us to verify that we had arrived safely and to see if our accomadations suited us.

The location of the condo is the best in the whole building. Ground level on the corner. The beautiful white sand beach is only a minute from your feet. The beach itself is sparsely populated. Basically just your neighbors. All of whom were very considerate, and some of them we made our friends. My advice to you is that once you stumble upon this place in your internet search: You Stop, Book It, Check In, and Check It Out

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We absolutely loved the condo and the area. Very quiet and easy to get around. We enjoyed our stay and would consider visiting the area again. Sunsets are beautiful! Darlene was a pure pleasure to work with and I would consider this condo and owner very professional. Thanks for making us feel like we were at home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Island Sands Condos

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

The property was VERY clean and Well Maintained, with Many Amenities.
Property Comfortable in every way, with easy access to the beach!..Owner provided a list of local happenings,Good Restaurants,places of interest nearby..
Owner contacted us after check in to see that everything was as we expected..assured us if there were any problems,to notify her and they would be corrected immediately..
This was our first time renting a Condo..Thankful for an owner who made it such an enjoyable experience!!..Would MOST CERTAINLY Recommend this property (and will) to Our friends/family..

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach in your backyard!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

The condo was lovely and was just as is pictured. It was so nice to basically just bring clothes and have everything else on site. Walking out the back door and having the beach just a few steps away was just wonderful. We would go out in the morning, set up the beach chairs and umbrella that was on the back patio and just hang out all day. We had never rented a condo before but now can't imagine vacationing any other way. We'll be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Our stay was perfect. The condo was very comfortable and nicely decorated. the location of the condo was great it was so close to the beach, close enough to restaurants to get there easily, but also felt secluded enough to really relax. I was glad to have read the other reviews, it was helpful to know all the things that are there at the condo, like the beach chairs which made our stay easier. Working with the owner Darlene was also great. She was so accommodating and helpful. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time in Okaloossa

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at location, condo, beach, restaurants nearby, etc. Located between Fort Walton and Destin.
The only thing that we didn't expect was the price that was charged for the umbrella and chairs on beach. Full day is &25.00 for (1) chair. 1/2
day &20.00 for (1) chair. This can get expensive if you are there several days and you need them.
We would recommend this condo for any age.
Will return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to hear from my guests, and it gives me ideas for making your stay much better.

You don't need to pay for the services on the beach, such as beach chairs and umbrella. I do supply beach chairs and an umbrella, not to mention beach towels.

Keep in mind that I supply many other things such as; (2)snorkeling gear, a boogie board, air mattresses, (2) flashlights for ghost crabbing, and several other items.

The kitchen is fully equipped and I also keep such things as baggies, foil, salt, pepper, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, and other spices, so you will want to check the condo before going to the store

Here is a video I did a couple of years ago, it isn't very good but it will give you an idea of what you are getting.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkPwKxHe4vU

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Ft. Walton Location!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We have stayed at this condo on 2 different vacations and have really enjoyed it. It is right on the beautiful white sand beach. The property is very clean and nicely decorated. It is perfect for a family or couple wanting to have a relaxing beach week. We love how close it is to Destin and the wonderful restaurants. Our favorite places to eat were definitely The Boathouse and Hog's Breath. The home owner is friendly, helpful, and responds quickly to requests. We are looking foward to going back again and again.

Owners response: It is always great to hear that my guest have a splendid time.
I do my best to make to meet all their needs. As an extra, I supply many things such as; beach chairs, umbrella, (2)snorkeling gear, a boogie board, air mattresses, (2) flashlights for ghost crabbing, and several other items. The kitchen is fully equipped and I also keep such things as baggies, foil, salt, pepper, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, and other spices. But the best thing of all the is incredible sugar white sand just out the patio door.

Glad you enjoyed the condo.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Stay

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

This place was AWESOME! My family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. It was nice and clean, the neighbors weren't noisy, as a matter of fact, I didn't even realize we had neighbors until it was time to go!! We were right on the beach and just minutes away from the real world. Every morning would we go out to the beach and just lounge around. The owner went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed, I even got a chance to meet her briefly. We took advantage of the dolphin cruise, it was excellent. Everything was just great for a family getaway. We look forward to doing it again next year!! Missing Okaloosa Island.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when everyone has a great time.
I truly want to make sure my guests have a vacation to remember, with no worries.
Okaloosa Island actually is an amazing place that you must see to believe.

Request a video.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Stay....

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

This place was AWESOME! My family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. It was nice and clean, the neighbors weren't noisy, as a matter of fact, I didn't even realize we had neighbors until it was time to go!! We were right on the beach and just minutes away from the real world. Every morning would we go out to the beach and just lounge around. The owner went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed, I even got a chance to meet her briefly. We took advantage of the dolphin cruise, it was excellent. Everything was just great for a family getaway. We look forward to doing it again next year!! Missing Okaloosa Island.....

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Experience All Around

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This was the first time we had rented a place from Homeaway.com so we were unsure about how smoothly it would go. I can assure you that the owner made sure that everything went absolutely smoothly, up to and including calling us the say of our arrival to welcome us.

The location was wonderful and the home was very clean. We are people who consider cleanliness the highest priority since we have two young children who play extensively on the floor. We were very happy with the condition of the home.

The beach is literally right in your back yard. The beach was never busy when we were there over Memeorial Day weekend. There were never people closer than 15 feet away from us. There is an open lot next to these condos, so that provided a great buffer.

If you bring kids, they will love the sand. It truly is like sugar. The water was wonderful though on occassion there was some seaweed blooming from time to time. IIt sis not detract from the trip at all. We saw all sorts of fish, stingrays, and dolphins. We even managed to catch a starfish.

The home has all of the little things that you never think about (corkscrew, sale and pepper, sugar) and even some things you would not expect (coffee, pocorn,).

I can wholeheartedly recommend this place based on its location, cleanliness, and the owner herself. Have a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when everyone has a great time.
I truly want to make sure my guests have a vacation to remember, with no worries.
Okaloosa Island actually is an amazing place that you must see to believe.

Request a video.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Satisfied customer

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the condo. The property description was very accurate, the condo was nice, clean and very well maintained. the owner provided extra amenities such as coffee, sugar, beach chairs & umbrella. The bed was really comfy and everything in working order. The property is very close to Destin, Pensacola and shopping.
I would recommend this to couples who want a quiet getaway and honeymooners. I enjoyed my mornings sitting on the patio drinking coffee and listening to beach waves. The pictures of the property is very accurate. Also the owner gave a list of emergency numbers in the area in case it was needed. the owner provided excellent customer service and my deposit was returned in a timely manner. I would not hesitate to rent from this owner again as well as recommend to friends and family. I would like to thank the owner for extending a well maintained property to us for the week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: May 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

This is a great place to stay - clean and well equipped with everything you'll need to make your vacation effortless. All the beach gear is provided which made it so much fun for the kids, and the building and surrounding area is quiet and peaceful. The beach is spectacular. Thanks Darlene!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

If you are looking for clean, modern, up to date Condo & furnishings & all the outside amenities you can think of- this is it! especially the OCEAN at your back door,it's within (non-tireing walking distance) literally - its like walking to your neighbors to borrow a cup of sugar and instead you are walking to nature to borrow a slice of Paradise. Your feet are htting the warm sand within 2 minutes and soon you find yourself strolling down the beach in search of seashells.. and then soon making piles to pick up on your stroll back to the Condo, with the most Gorgeous purple, blue & orange sunset you have ever seen, you will find your self running to the Condo to get your camera & back on the bridge to take photos. (There's a place to wash your feet off in fresh running water at the bottom of the bridge (Condo side) that took you over the dune to the water.
Ft Walton Beach: Quaint little town, downtown is picturesque- Great places to shop, if you like Antiques and or quaint little shops for gifts and unusuals. Ft Walton has it all within a few miles of the Condo. FOOD: The BEST Pizza in the world (except for my Moms Pizzareia when I was growing up & thats saying alot!) You will be talking about the Pizza when u go back home like folks still talk about my Moms after 40 years! so you know thats awesome pizza. I will definatley go back! The people that own this are awesome- all in all- its well worth every minute of your vacation to go here. Its hard to explain until you have experienced it. Definately will go back again and again. Very fair price for a Fabulous, Exquisite Condo-compared to far less you would get with many other rentals on this same islalnd of Okalooska- Florida!
Enjoy yourselves! I did and will again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Island Sands

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We have stayed here twice this year and feel right at home when we arrive. The owner is great to work with and provides great customer service by suggesting area attractions and things to do. This property has great updates and everyting we needed to cook great family meals. The view and location right on the beach is priceless. We would recommend this to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I always love to hear from my guests.
I constantly strive to make their vacation memorable.
If there is something they think they need, I will always try to get it for them.
Thank you Kay J.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

This was a great rental! Anything and everything we needed was there. This was a very last minute vacation so we didn't expect to find something so wonderful. The owner made everything so easy and I felt I could call with any questions. The beach was close and beautiful. We really didn't want to leave, but unfortunately all great things must come to an end. The whole way home we talked about going back. I definitely recommend this rental!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed trip and I do hope to see you again. I really try to give my guests that little extra, it makes their trip memorable.

Thanks again,
Darlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

june 12, 2010 visit

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We had a great stay and vacation with great weather, warm, clear water and some fantastic seafood. The condo was perfect and had all the amenities needed to make our stay comfortable. The access to the beach was only steps away and the condo parking was very convenient. The pool was great and the proximity to restaurants and attractions was perfect. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and vacation-friendly condo, this is it. The condo owner was very accomodating and called us upon our arrival to make sure everything was acceptable. We will be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach-front Condo

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

Our stay was fabulous! The condo decor was perfect. We were only about 200 feet from the beach and could listen to the sounds of the Gulf from our patio. The condo was fully stocked and all that we had to supply was the food. We plan to return. It was like having a private beach. The owner was very helpful and made our stay as pleasant as possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of the best vacations!

Review submitted: March 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

I stayed at this condo twice last year. Once for a girls trip and once for a family vacation. This condo is perfect! From the decor to the amenties that are included, you really couldn't ask for more. Not to mention that it is just a few steps from the beach. I can't wait to go back this year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Could not have asked for more!

Review submitted: November 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

This is an excellent condo with an excellent location. I cant say how much I enjoyed morning coffee listening to the surf and looking at the white sandy beaches. The owner was more than accommodating and the condo was well furnished. We packed everything we thought we could possibly need and ended up only unpacking half of what we brought. The property had anything and everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. I am recommending this condo to all of my friends and family and I hope you check it out as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Florida Trip 2009

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 25, 2009

We had a wonderful time in the condo. It is a beautiful location. The ocean is right outside your back door. It was very clean and well maintained. The condo is decorated very pretty also. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, in fact we plan on returning! During our stay we went Deep Sea Fishing on the Good Times boat, we caught loads of fish and saw dolphins up close, it was a blast. At night we would go crab fishing in the ocean and collect sea shells and sand dollars. A couple of times we went fishing on the pier. We didn't really eat out much but cooked ourselves. We also went shopping at the Outlet mall in Destin, this was a great Vacation for the whole family!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review