reviews for: listing #39286 - Santa Monica, California House rental

Last-Minute Deal! Exquisite home, Minutes to Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $230 - $260 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Warm welcoming LA oasis!

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hideway for a week in August, and without a doubt will definitely return. James was an outstanding host, extremely generous and responsive to our needs. The space was clean, cozy and in a great neighbourhood, very close to Venice Beach.

Our kids loved the backyard, which was stunning and had an incredibly fragrant lemon tree. It was the perfect blend of urban and an oasis for the busy-ness of LA!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beethoven's Hideaway is the place for respite and rejuvenation.

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

The property is as clean and beautiful as the photos display. The hospitality of the owner is felt in the property and his immediate response to any question or need. The beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen very complete. If you want a place to relax, recuperate, rejuvenate or celebrate, this is it! Everything you need is there. We took the bus a few houses away and arrived in Venice Beach within 10 minutes. We walked to several restaurants and had take-out, as well. We never had to drive. We spent every minute possible on the deck with complete privacy.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hideaway is a true gem!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

The property is charming, spotless, comfortable, quiet. Beautifully decorated, and very homey. My husband and I were visiting family in Santa Monica; this location was very convenient, easy to drive wherever we wanted to be. James was attentive and promptly answered our questions; we are sorry we did not have a chance to meet personally. We look forward to staying here again when we return and would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favourite place to stay in LA!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

We've now stayed at the Hideaway three times over the past couple of years. It's a real 'home from home' and a truly peaceful retreat in a wonderful part of LA. The apartment is beautiful and spotlessly clean. It is wonderfully decorated and has a gorgeous balcony overlooking a pretty and peaceful garden with lemon and orange trees plus gentle fountains trickling away in the background. Sitting on that balcony always gives you real feeling of peace! James is a faultless host and sees to any need you may have, should you need to contact him. The Hideaway is only a few minutes drive from Venice beach, about 10 minutes drive from Santa Monica and well-situated to get into more central parts of the city. It's within walking distance to a good selection of shops and cafes.
Cannot recommend highly enough to anyone. If you are thinking of staying here, have no worries - you'll love it. I'm sure we'll be back many times!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Little Gem! Best vacation apartment rental in Los Angeles!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We had the best experience at this darling apartment! It is super clean and homey! Very close to Venice Beach and Santa Monica. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us the evening we arrived and we enjoyed it on the charming balcony off of the living room. The kitchen is well-stocked with everything you need to feel at home and settle in easily. It exudes charm and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The landlord couldn't have been more accommodating and made us feel so welcome. He was very patient and kind to my elderly mother and showed her where everything was and even laughed at her jokes ;)! My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! I have been remiss in not getting this review posted earlier because it was a great experience and I can't wait to go back for another visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy and charming upstairs cottage

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

We've stayed in lots of VRBOs before but this is one of our favorites--very cozy, homey and spotlessly clean. Loved having a piano and made good use of it. Enjoyed all of the owner's travel memorabilia and artwork--much nicer than staring at blank walls! Also loved the view of the garden from the balcony--made me wish I lived there year-round. Used the bikes and the washing machine--all worked beautifully. Owner was out of town, but the property manager was super nice and responsive.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

This apartment was perfect for a stay with two small children. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The deck was lovely with orange and lemon trees and bright flowers. The apartment is exactly as described and even better--comfortable and spotlessly clean. The location was perfect to visit both Venice Beach and Santa Monica, and the neighborhood is completely safe. When we arrived, a bottle of wine and an extensive binder about the area and restaurant recommendations were waiting for us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I highly recommend the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beautiful apartment near Venice Beach

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Thank you James, for renting us your lovely apartment. You made the arrangements, which were last-minute, so easy. The apartment is spotlessly clean, completely equipped with tasteful items everywhere, comfortable, and well located for a visit to Santa Monica, Venice Beach, or any area in Los Angeles. We only wish we could have spent more time there.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

James, thank you for an incredible experience on the West Coast! We were able to explore the local beach scene while still fitting in time for some sightseeing. The house was perfect for when we needed rest after a busy day. We had a great time here, thank you so much and we can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Recharged my batteries

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

I was beyond exhausted with a busy job and not being able to take vacation for 2 years with other family commitments, so took a last minute trip to the ocean for a week, but was dreading it in one way in case the Hideaway proved to be a big let down, or dirty or noisy or something. My fears evaporated when I arrived ..... just bliss! Really clean, wonderfully quiet, and very conveniently located for the beach (I cycled to either Venice Beach or Santa Monica, depending on what mood I was in, there's a different vibe at each). Also, I realized that going in the other direction, I was only a couple of miles from the main Los Angeles freeways, so driving over to Hollywood was really easy, and up to Huntington Gardens in the Valley (top class botanical gardens and amazing art collection) was only a 45 mins drive, so I spent a dreamlike day there too. I found James was such a kind and considerate host! And I am very grateful to him for helping me plan my first couple of days, because I could hardly think straight when I first arrived! A week there and I really felt my batteries got fully recharged, so I'm making it an annual destination. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

We'll Definitely Be Back!

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful home twice before, the last time was in May for a conference in Santa Monica. While I normally I don't bother writing reviews for websites, after reading what the guest from England wrote in his 3-star review, I felt compelled to write something. I can't imagine what neighborhood this guest was talking about, but it did not sound at all like the lovely one we stayed in on Beethoven Street. My wife and I walked everywhere, mostly to our favorite restaurant, the nearby C&O Cucina, and never once did we not feel completely safe,-- many families live in the area with a park and schools and golf course nearby, along with many trendy cafes and restaurants. The Hideaway itself was immaculate and clean and, as my grandmother used to say, "you could eat off the kitchen floor." To boot, the owner also enlivened our arrival with a nicely place bottle of wine and a welcome note. We felt at home right away.This fellow should stop whining, and next time reserve a generic, corporate-owned hotel and never leave his room! Anyway, thanks for letting me put in my two cents.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Just like home

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 22, 2013

Thank you, James!  We had a wonderful second home-y time here at the Hideaway -- we love all the art and artifacts!  They make this seem so personal (compared to sterile chain accommodations) -- so charming and warm.  The bedrooms are roomy, the kitchen is well equipped, and the dining table is a perfect gathering spot. We love this area and hope to return many times.   -- Sherry, Samantha, Nicole and Alec (Illinois and San Diego) 

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

I stayed for a week at the Hideaway on this property with my family of 4...and we absolutely loved it! It is a very comfortable size for 4-5 people, if you're only renting the top floor "Hideaway" unit (many more people can stay comfortably if you were to rent both floors). We LOVED the Hideaway. A good size kitchen for our family that does a lot of our own cooking, beautifully furnished and decorated rooms, a gorgeous little deck with table and chairs and a lovely view, a comfortable and cozy living room...just divine! The backyard was beautifully landscaped and offered a lovely place to spend a few idle hours outdoors. We found our unit clean and in order as soon as we got there and there was a thoughtful and helpful guidebook that the owner left that helped us figure out things like the internet, how things work, etc. The neighborhood is quiet and lovely and I felt very comfortable taking early morning runs by myself each morning. The property is a short walk from a big grocery store, as well as within walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants that we enjoyed while staying. The owner is a lovely man and I would definitely recommend this property to anyone. Enjoy!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Family group

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The property was very comfortable for our family group and we appreciated the opportunity to experience a home away from home. Furnishings and equipment levels were very good and clean. I was a little disappointed that we were so far from the beach and so far from Santa Monica. As they say when it comes to property the three most important things are location, location, location. I thought from the description it would be closer to the beach and Santa Monica but it was a 10 min drive to the beach and then a search for a parking space. Santa Monica was even further. It is out of the question to walk to either and the bicycles provided needed some TLC before they could be safely used.The area around the property was downbeat and felt somewhat unsafe for pedestrians. Parking at the property was difficult too. It was very tight even for an average sized car and careful reversing was necessary to get out of a tight driveway and through a gate without scraping the car and then onto a road where you have to have help to safely exit.
I must admit I expected more and left a little disappointed after our stay. I would stay right in Santa Monica next time.

Owners response: As Gary said in his review, "location,location location!" and we LOVE our location! We happily reside near the border of Santa Monica (about 10 blocks away) and the beach itself its just 7 minutes by car straight down our street, past the famous Venice Canals. We're in a quiet, safe and very family-friendly neighborhood -- if it were not perfectly safe and family-friendly we would hardly have folks returning two or even three times to stay with us! Happily too, we are within easy walking distance to over 15 cafes and restaurants yet not too near the traffic congestion of the beach. Our guests can simply walk a half-block to our corner and hop on the green and clean beach bus, which they love for the convenience. As for driveway parking, we can easily accommodate normal-sized cars, and we let all our guests know that if they are driving a large SUV, which Gary was, they may find it easiest to park curbside on the street as our historic Craftsman home/driveway was built years before SUVs were even invented! It's great that Gary loved the Hideaway itself but we wish that like so many of our other guests he loved our convenience and friendliness and our location, too. As another saying goes, it's impossible to please everyone!

Helpful votes: 3 / 9

 

Charming

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

A great place for 12 -- of course we rented both the top and bottom units. Everything was clean. I was a bit surprised that there was a unit in the back that we needed to share the garden with. It turned out that the two different residents were okay with our "crowd" since we were gone a lot. I was also a bit nervous about mixing up the dishes since there weren't enough in the downstairs for all 12 to use. Maybe make the silverware and some of the "oddball" glasses more obvious for us to sort at the end of our stay. Our entire family worked hard to keep things straight! Other than those two issues it was a wonderful weekend. Convenient location and in a nice neighborhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Cute and Quaint

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

The property was a walk up unit and off road parking was available,. It was comfortable with all of our needs met for cooking ect. There is a Washer and Dryer available. The shower pressure and head were great. Some small personal items but you should bring your own toiletries. We had a hard time finding restaurants and the parking all around the area was not what we were used to. Don't just wing it. READ THE BOOK the owner leaves for you. It would have saved us some trouble and confusion.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Anniversary celebration with friends

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had in your cozy and beautiful rental. We were all pleasantly surprised by how well maintained and clean your house was. It had all the amenities of a regular house...plus more! It's a perfect size for 4 people to comfortably stay there. In addition, the location was perfect for us out of towners. We are definitely planning a return trip, and it is our expectation we will rent both the lower and upper levels next time so we can invite more friends to join us.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Nana7

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

My husband and I rented this property with our daughter and 2 small children for a little weekend getaway. Much nicer than a hotel. Scent of fresh flowers everywhere!! Pleasing decor, interesting art, and comfy beds. Relaxing weekend even with the kids. The kids loved it! We ate in on Sat. night. The only reason I didn't give it 5 pts is because of the limited parking area. The 2nd night we parked our mid-size SUV on the street. If you are used to limited parking, no problem. If you are bringing a very large vehicle, you should double-check with the owner, or be prepared to absolutely park on the street (narrow of course). This property reminds me of the Cameron Diaz movie "The Holiday" with this property being the little one, of course. Hopefully, we will return and then I'll bring my smaller vehicle.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming Hideaway "Cottage" -- Great location

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

I have rented a number of homes through VRBO and have always been very pleased. In this particular case, I was delighted to find that the cottage was even more charming than what the pictures could capture. When we walked up the stairs, the wonderful smell of jasmine filled the air and a lemon tree framed a pretty outdoor seating area. The kitchen was larger than I expected based on the size of other beach rentals we've stayed in. On the dining table there was a binder filled with useful information about the area along with a bottle of red wine. Overall, the cottage was very well maintained and adequately stocked with kitchen utensils, linens, etc. We briefly met the owner on our way out to dinner and he was extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in the Venice/Santa Monica area of L.A.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home Away From Home, but better!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

This classy bungalow brought our family together in such a memorable way with two teenaged daughters and us (the parents). We beat a path from Venice Beach to Beverly Hills to Hollywood and at the end of the day we would retreat back to this haven on Beethoven. Easy access to highways, beaches, shops and peaceful too. All the comforts of home, but better. Eight thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Adorable tree top cottage

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

This little gem was perfect for my mom and I for our get away trip to Santa Monica and Venice Beach with two spacious bedrooms and one cute little bath. Can't beat the location and there was always plenty of off street parking. The kitchen has everything you need plus a blender for smoothies. We thought it might be noisy because it's on a fairly busy street but it was quiet every single night. If you turn left out of the driveway and stay on this street until it becomes Rose Ave, you run straight into Whole Foods Market. If you keep going past Whole Foods on Rose toward the beach, you'll find Cafe Gratitude, the most wonderful, healthiest place to eat on earth. Also check out Juliano's Planet Raw and Andrew's Weil's True Foods, both also nearby. We'd love to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Looking for a bit of Paradise?

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by a beautifully furnished residence with our own private deck overlooking a yard straight out of House Beautiful. The fully equipped kitchen was immaculate and had everything we needed to cook up a feast. Our bedroom was decorated so tastefully and with a real eye to detail. The second bedroom was just as nice and so spacious. Although I gave it a try, I couldn't make music on the piano that was occupying a special nook in the second bedroom. The month we stayed was absolutely fabulous. Did I mention the best part? It was James, our host. What a special person! He helped us to find the best restaurants and local highlights. He was so gracious and generous to us. We will be back James and we can't wait!

Owners response: It was a privilege and a pleasure to be able to host you, Cheryl and Terry. I hope we will keep in touch, and your appreciation and consideration will not be forgotten. Best, James

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A comfortable sojourn.

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

A convenient location which met our requirements. The property was well appointed clean and comfortable as was illustrated in the advertisement. The owner met us on our arrival and explained all that was necessary to assist us enjoying our stay at the property. We would certainly recommend this to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home Away From Home in Venice, CA

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your property in Venice. We enjoyed our stay there very much, I actually am missing it right about now as I'm sitting here in work dreaming about Cali, and looking at your lemon trees. Thanks for the bottle of wine, that was very nice and thoughtlful after flying 3K Miles. Hope to get out there again soon, and if so we would like to stay here again, it was great. We liked the location, close to many of the LA attractions. Although not within walking distance to the beach, it was still right on the trolley line, It was a perfect home away from home. The house was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great location

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Beethoven's Hideaway was a wonderful place for a home base as we traipsed around the area. There are good restaurants within walking distance (Pitfire Artisan Pizza has fabulous pizzas), short trip to get to the beach, and it is very close to the offices of Amazing L.A. Tours (great way to see L.A.). James has been all over the world and his very interesting decor reflects it. Take the time to check out the apartment.
We enjoyed our stay and meeting James!
Leon, Susie, and Kay

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Very nice!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We felt very "at home" at this nicely located, well maintained, and charmingly decorated flat. All was as described and photographed. Everything was clean and well maintained. It exceeded our expectations, and we have raved about our stay there to our friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A charming place with garden outlook and quiet but near enough to the sea and the buzz

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at your place, it was exactly the right location. It had character but was in a peaceful setting - a really charming little place. Great to have the terrace, local shops nearby and away from the hurly burly but easy to walk to the sea and all the goings on down on the front - we found some quiet by roads and wended our way down. What I wouldn’t do to have a break there now!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A Bastion of Tranquility

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Clearly the previously posted reviewer took a decidedly wrong turn and entered an altered reality - where charm and accessible warmth are viewed with a jaded contempt and disdain. As I sit here in the Dacha on the final night of our stay, a profound sense of melancholy hangs palpably in the air, driven by both my fondness for L.A. and the "second home" nature that James' blissful retreat has provided us over the past 4 years. I suppose that if the sterility and antiseptic nature of a cookie-cutter hotel room is "your thing," then perhaps the gentle embrace of this apartment is probably ill suited. However, if a warm and inviting Venetian oasis tucked down a friendly side street that's within a stone's throw of Venice, Santa Monica and Marina del Rey sounds like your cup of tea...then I can recommend no place more inviting than the Dacha, nor any host more genuinely caring than James.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

We loved it! Super-friendly and charming -- everything as promised

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Our family of 5 loved our stay at Beethoven's Hideaway. When we arrived, James
# was there to greet us personally and show us all around the apartment, setting
# the scene for a most delightful stay in Santa Monica! While we had our itinerary
# pretty much mapped out, James offered us lots of suggestions for places to eat,
# and places to explore in the area. The care he has taken is this beautiful and
# clean art-filled apartment is evident on ever all wall and book, and we
# appreciated the welcoming touches such as the complementary wine waiting for us,
# and a entire booklet together with maps and info of all the beach neighborhoods
# and recommended places to dine. We highly recommend C&O Cucina down the street
# and we were happy to use the free bikes on the property to get there (and work
# off the pasta biking home). We hit the hiking trails in the Will Rogers Park and
# "did" most of the beaches, and especially enjoyed Topanga Canyon. Every night we
# appreciated coming "home": to our comfy, cozy and super-clean apartment that was
# so beautifully cared for. Thanks James for making us feel so much at home-- we
# will definitely return! Miroslav Mládek Prague, CZ
#
#
#

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Some problems

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

First of all, the apartment is not in Santa Monica or Venice, it's in Mar Vista. The neighborhood isn't terrible, but it's not great either -- not that close to the beach, lots of automotive uses, and we were awoken by the neighbors next door fighting at about 3 AM. The apartment is *tiny* (we brought two kids, and use of the fold-out bed for our younger son meant we couldn't use the TV and had very little room to move). The washing machine seems to have a chronic mold problem, the off street parking was blocked by the downstairs tenants, and the bathroom is so small that you can barely sit on the toilet without banging your knees on the sink cabinet.

James himself is responsive, which is to his credit, but it didn't really make up for the rest.

Owners response: Goodness me! After more than 30 gratefully positive and sometimes joyous reviews for our Beethoven’s Hideaway, I suppose it’s only the law of odds that we now get what my beloved grandma would call “a stinker in the bunch.” I’m afraid poor Peter and his wife seemed vexed the moment they set foot in this lovely home. Nothing we could say or do could mitigate their rather constant complaints (several texts and numerous phone calls, in fact.) We needn’t burden the reader with reciting all of our responses here, but a few inaccuracies by Peter do merit response. First, we are right between Venice and Santa Monica – a very convenient location that locals call “Mar Vista” but others just refer to as, well, either Santa Monica or Venice. Second, the apartment is hardly “tiny” at 1000 square feet, which doesn't include the 100 sq. ft. patio deck flowing out from the den that overlooks the backyard and fruit tree. There's a spacious kitchen and two large bedrooms, both with sitting areas and both measuring 12 x 16 square feet! Third, the new sofa bed in the den doesn’t preclude anyone from using the TV (unless folks are otherwise distracted from watching TV by whatever activity they are doing on the sofa…one does need to inject some humor here!). So many guests have slept in the den and comfortably watched TV that, again, I'm perplexed by this complaint. Fourth, our four-month old washing machine is cleaned regularly and has no mold either on it or in it; I told Peter he may have gotten a whiff of a pile moldy fallen leaves next to the laundry cabina following our series of recent rains, leaves which I quickly raked up. Fifth, there is room at the end of the driveway for two cars to park side by side, but if someone parks in the middle of the driveway and forgets to make room, then others can’t park to the side and must park behind him. Sixth, the toilet leaves quite enough room for even my 6’3” nephew to comfortably sit without “banging” anything -- though I did bang my own head trying to figure out what precipitated all these complaints...Well, dear readers, there you have it. One meets all kinds in this fascinating profession. I would rather have had Peter and his wife enjoy their stay, appreciate the artistry of the apartment and the care and concern we take for our guests, and I truly regret that he did not. The next time you are in town, Peter, let us help you unwind at a very friendly local bar – the drinks are on us!

Helpful votes: 3 / 11

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week in this lovely top floor apartment at the end of a busy business trip and we could not want for any thing better. Everything was perfect, clean as a whistle, and exactly as described, if not better. Many amenities and places to visit easily reached, I had good fun exploring on the bike. You can really tell the quality of care anywhere when problems arise, on our first morning we had a minor plumbing issue, a quick call to James and a handyman was on site before I had finished my coffee. James said 'just leave it to us and do whatever you had planned' and when we got back later in the day everything was sorted, one can not ask for more.

Breakfast on the deck with the humming birds, delightful.
We have already told colleagues and friends about this fantastic place and if things go to plan we will be back in LA in 2013 and would stay no where else.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome Beethoven St Cottage

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We loved out stay at this cottage. It is certainly the only rental I have experienced that comes with a piano and a 2-volume Oxford English Dictionary. The décor is homey and tasteful at the same time. The patio with overhanging lemon tree adds wonderful ambience. It was such a pleasure to accommodate grandparents, parents and children in a relaxed home-based atmosphere with kitchen facilities, convenient to beach and other amenities. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Birthday Celebration Weekend

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We really enjoyed this retreat. The neighborhood was quite and the four of us (two couples) happily toasted a great day of seeing Venice Beach and the canals while enjoying the view of the Santa Monica mountains and excellent weather on the deck.

The retreat was very clean, James personally ensured that upon our arrival. Our master bed was very comfortable and the walk in closet was an unexpected delight. The other bedroom's bed was a bit stiff for our friends, but we added an extra available cozy comforter for them to sleep on, and that worked like a charm.

The pictures of the unit are very accurate. James gave us some great recommendations for places to eat in the neighborhood, just around the corner. We loved the quick walk to each and thoroughly enjoyed the quality food and friendly service (Wagner's rockin bakery and the Firepit pizza).

We certainly loved visiting Abbout Kinney street! On the first Friday of the month, all of the food trucks arrive for dinner....we had 20+ to pick from and found some excellent Indian food on one and a fantastic cupcake bakery on another. Quite the festival atmosphere. We visited the Getty Museum and the Huntington Library since we were so close and enjoyed the fantastic art and gardens at both locations.

Thanks James for setting the "stage" for a great birthday weekend! Cheri

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Books Cover

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Though it remains true that you cannot tell a book by its cover, you can tell a VRBO by its books. No cheap thrillers or junk novels here. Some of the best fiction and non-fcition ever written. And there is a fabulous piano ( a bit out out tune).
My wife and I spend over 90 days a year in VRBO housing. This is one of the very best. The owner discovered when showing us around that the refrigerator did not work. A brand new one was delivered and installed within 24 hours together with his sincere apologies. How can you ask for more? The neighborhood is not trendy, but it is very handy to everything and is quiet and relatively safe. The rooms are bright and cheerful. There is a pizza place to carry in from and a great bakery for morning stuff within two minutes walk.

This delightful apartment beats any hotel at the five star level. It is perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Excellent Property

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. The location is excellent with easy access to the freeway. A supermarket is only minutes away. James met us and explained where everything was located including the washer and dryer (located outside...would not have guessed that!!). We are a family of 5 and my daughter slept in the pull out couch. I think this place is ideal for a family of 4 rather than 5. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed the Dacha and would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very cool, happening place

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We felt like we really lucked out in finding such a coo place close to the airport, the beach,etc. I was able to pick a couple of limes right off the tree for drinks. It is really an intriguing apartment. So much more fun staying here than in a hotel. We loved it. Just wish we had been there longer, but we plan on returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Place to enjoy Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We loved our stay at The Dacha in the Sky. The apartment has a wonderful, cozy, bohemian feeling and was very comfortable for 3 of us to share for 4 days. Great, well appointed kitchen - I wanted to shop the Santa Monica farmer's Market and cook but we were too busy shopping and eating on Abbot Kinney at places like Gjelina - everyone's favorite restaurant and Robert Graham for stunning shirts for men and women. The apartment is a homey, comfortable, stylish sanctuary and we will definitely recommend it for friends & family and plan to stay there again. The owners have great taste in music, books and film - there's an embarrassment of riches to peruse, you cannot want for entertainment .A+ for cleanliness, prompt, helpful advice and charm!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect Place to enjoy Santa Monica and Venice Beach

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We loved our stay at The Dacha in the Sky. The apartment has a wonderful, cozy, bohemian feeling and was very comfortable for 3 of us to share for 4 days. Great, well appointed kitchen - I wanted to shop the Santa Monica farmer's Market and cook but we were too busy shopping and eating on Abbot Kinney at places like Gjelina - everyone's favorite restaurant and Robert Graham for stunning shirts for men and women. The apartment is a homey, comfortable, stylish sanctuary and we will definitely recommend it for friends & family and plan to stay there again. The owners have great taste in music, books and film - there's an embarrassment of riches to peruse, you cannot want for entertainment .A+ for cleanliness, prompt, helpful advice and charm!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Our weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My family and I we make a good choice to spend our weekend there because we spend a graet time with each other . and the owner was friendly and he made us feel like we are at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great time & peaceful flat

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our time at the Dacha, it was an oasis in the LA area. Having had 2 weeks travelling around the Colorado plateau beforehand, it felt like a culture shock to be in a conurbation, so the Dacha proved tranquil. It was very useful to have some pointers to key things to see and we appreciated the personal touch needed for our arrangements, otherwise it could have been overload as to where to go/ what to see or not! Venice, Sta Monica, Beverley Hills, Bel Air., Paradise Cove, Will Rogers' home and park......all very different from each other and interesting to see, some well known from the TV and others to be seen for the first time. We would certainly recommend the Dacha to others.
Thank you Ged, Grace and Carey Anne x

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

My husband, daughter, and I spent a delightful 4 nights over Thanksgiving week at this cute apartment in Santa Monica. Our host was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed the decorator touches and other thoughtful amenities throughout. Would definitely recommend to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great Thanksgiving Stay

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Dacha in the Sky 11/24-29/2010. The apartment is very comfortable and appointed nicely from complete kitchen with table for 6, wireless Internet/cable TV to sunny deck with table and chairs. Our singer/songwriter son stayed a couple of days and enjoyed playing the piano-in-the closet and reading/ looking through everything Italian that James has so eclectically provided his guests. Very close to Abbot Kinney Blvd. and canals/strand of Venice, 25 min. to downtown LA and Malibu priced fairly and MOST IMPORTANTLY brain-damage free working with James. Looking for safe, fair, friendly, interesting, comfortable accommodations....look no further. Want white-wall-boring in an antiseptic setting without personality?.....this is not your style. Happy traveling; ask James, he's BEEN there DONE that!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Thank you for a very pleasant week in Dacha!

Review submitted: July 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

This Dacha is perfect for a family of 4, very cosy and individual where you feel like home. The beautiful lemontree with its big lemons hanging over the balcony and all the colorful flowers contribute to the lovely ambiance of the house. The neighbourhood is calm and we percieved it as quite safe and secure. The location is also good since its pretty close to the beach and downtown Santa Monica. As a family coming all the way from Sweden, we can warmly recommend this dacha!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Four days in Venice Beach

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

I stayed at the Dacha apartment with my daughter for a four day break. It provided a perfect retreat when we wanted to just rest from the hubbub of L.A. It was so much better than returning to a hotel room, and
the outside terrace area was a wonderful oasis.The apartment was clean, light and airy, with lovely furnishings.We look forward to a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Dacha in the sky was by far the most charming and artistic place we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We would recommend it to anyone staying in the Santa Monica/Venice area.
The only problem with this rental was suffering from interior design-jealousy.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Comfortable, clean, quiet...a golden address"

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

Such a lovely apartment, top floor of a house with a terrace surrounded by greenery. Parking is in the driveway. It's very easy to find thanks to mapquest, not too far from Santa Monica, comfortable, clean, cute, quiet, easy
access, the nearest beach is 5 minutes by car, it is cleaner and quieter than Venice itself where you can park
free in the street with a little luck, rent bikes, rollerblades. James is friendly and discreet. A golden address! -- Catherine Bellemere, Paris, France

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Everything was provided...extremely courteous"

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

We came from London and stayed at the Dacha for 2.5 weeks in July and had a wonderful stay in the Mar Vista area. Everything was provided for down to internet access and James was a lovely host - extremely courteous and helpful. We already think back fondly to relaxing times on the beautiful terrace and highly recommend Dacha in the Sky for a vacation in the area. Thank you. -- Tim and Zara H.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"An absolute treasure....it reminded us of Europe"

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

We'd like to thank James Ulmer for a very fabulous and comfortable stay at his "Dacha in the Sky" on our recent trip to Los Angeles. This welcoming and charming apartment was a wonderful refuge for our somewhat emotional stay, as we were settling our son in as a freshmen at Loyola Marymount University. We were six minutes to the campus, as well as being so close to Santa Monica, Venice, shopping and fabulous restaurants. This elegant apartment with modern conveniences, internet access, beautiful artwork, backyard garden and fruit trees is an absolute treasure and reminded us so much of apartments we have rented in Europe. James is an incredible host and we feel blessed having made his acquaintance...we look forward to staying at the "Dacha" on future visits to Los Angeles. It's a must!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We loved the location and your warm hospitality"

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

James: Thank you again for a wonderful week in the Dacha! Susan and I loved the accommodations, the location, your warm hospitality and especially our stimulating conversations. We would highly recommend the Dacha to all. Well done and we hope to return some day. -- James and Susan Z.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

Hello James! Stacy McKearn is my daughter, and we got to have a wonderful tiime at the "dacha." One of the smartest among a lifetime of smart moves Stacy has made was to rent your place instead of staying at an impersonal hotel. And so close to me!! Which helped a lot when we forgot that special pan, or the coffee, or whatever. It was terrific -- and what a beautiful view, too. The lemon tree reminded me of the one in my grandmother's garden in Pozzuoli (near Naples). Anyway, we had a wonderful time. It's a great place.

Have a great New Year!

Micole Mercurio

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

Hello James,

Just a short email to let you know what a wonderful stay we had at the Dacha. We appreciate very much that you allowed the extra person to stay with us in our party!

It was wonderful to be able to have our family together in such a nice setting.

Thanks again, James.

Ann and Alan Weissmueller
Des Moines, IA

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 14, 2009   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

The Bungalow on Beethoven is just the right size for 2. It's homey, quaint and has a "feel" of old CA. We totally enjoyed our stay. Just minutes from Venice Beach, shopping, neighnborhood eateries and the Boardwalk. Don't miss this delightful escape for 2 in CA. Thanks, James, for a wonderful stay!
Anni & Ralph

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 2, 2009

James: Thank you again for a wonderful week in the Dacha! Susan and I loved the accommodations, the location, your warm hospitality and especially our stimulating conversations. We would highly recommend the Dacha to all. Well done and we hope to return some day. Best Regards, James and Susan Zenner.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Hello James, thank you for your kind email and more importantly, thank you for being such a great host!! We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and the accommodations. The Bungalow worked perfectly for us. We have already spread the word among our friends and relatives, so who knows, you may get some referrals!!! Thanks again and hope to see you on the next visit. Have a great summer!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2008   Date of arrival: October 29, 2008

I recently had the opportunity to stay
at the Dacha in the Sky apartment as
well as the Beethoven cottage. They were both unique and very nice homes
away from home. Thank you James for
the wonderful retreat.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2008   Date of arrival: September 11, 2008

We'd like to thank James Ulmer for a very fabulous and comfortable stay at his "Dacha in the Sky" on our recent trip to Los Angeles. This welcoming and charming apartment was a wonderful refuge for our somewhat emotional stay, as we were settling our son in as a freshmen at Loyola Marymount University. We were six minutes to the campus, as well as being so close to Santa Monica, Venice, shopping and fabulous restaurants. This elegant apartment with modern conveniences, internet access, beautiful artwork, backyard garden and fruit trees is an absolute treasure and reminded us so much of apartments we have rented in Europe. James is an incredible host and we feel blessed having made his aquaintance...we look forward to staying at the "Dacha" on future visits to Los Angeles. It's a must!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: August 21, 2008   Date of arrival: August 21, 2008

We stayed at the Dacha for 2.5 weeks in July and had a wonderful stay in the Mar Vista area. Everything was provided for down to internet access and James was a lovely host - extremely courteous and helpful. We already think back fondly to relaxing times on the beautiful terrace and highly recommend Dacha in the Sky for a vacation in the area. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

Appartement très agréable, étage supérieur d'une maisonnette avec terrasse entourée de verdure. Place de parking dans la contre allée. C'est très facile à trouver grâce à mapquest, pas trop loin de Santa Monica, confortable, propre, mignonnet, calme, facile d'accès, la plage la plus proche est à 5 minutes en voiture, elle est plus propre et calme qu'à Venice même, on peut s'y garer gratuitement dans la rue avec un peu de chance, louer des vélos, des rollers. James est sympathique et discret. Une adresse en or.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 22, 2008

We have stayed, my woman companion and I, at James' Datcha for a full week. The appartment is very charming, clean and comfortable, with all of the amenities we expected. The neighborhood is friendly and Beethoven Street calm, though it connects with main boulevards, which is important. The location is exactly as advertised, near the beaches and easy to reach from any place in Los Angeles. And the terrasse of the Datcha is great for the apéritif(s)! Everything was positive, and James is a great host.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 10, 2008

MY WIFE, 2 TEENAGERS & MYSELF HAD AN AWESOME TIME STAYING IN THE "DACHA IN THE SKY" IT WAS SO CLOSE TO THE BEST BEACHES, ENTERTAINMENT AND SHOPS WE WENT TO. WE LOOKED FORWARD TO COMING BACK IN EVENINGS FOR A RELAXING TIME. JAMES HAS AN EXTENSIVE COLLECTION OF MOVIES AND BOOKS. THE KITCHEN HAS EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO PREPARE FRESH FOODS FROM THE NEARBY MARKETS. MY SON THOUGHT IT WAS REALLY COOL TO BE ABLE TO PICK LEMONS FROM THE BALCONY. WE ALL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WANTING TO HAVE A GREAT TIME

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 2, 2008

I stayed at James Ulmer's "Dacha in the Sky" with my son and daughter for an extended weekend. Most of our time was spent at multiple events all around the LA area; the prime event was a nephew's graduation from USC. "Dacha in the Sky" provided a perfect spot for the three of us to dart off to an event and then come back for comfortable relaxation. The accomodations, from internet access to the nice open-air deck, from engaging artwork to the convenient kitchen, were just right for our comfort. And for the record, James you were a fine host- just the right interaction and availability.
Thank you very much James,
Steve Ben and Becky Crosby

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: May 6, 2008

I have rented apartments in New York and Los Angeles for short term stays but nothing quite as charming as James'elegant apartment overlooking his backyard garden and fruit trees. Everything was neat, clean and welcoming and conveniently located to shops and restaurants and the beach. I especially enjoyed the patio deck overlooking the garden and backyard (and all the lemons!). What a lovely and spacious vacation hideaway -- I hope to come again next year."

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

I just wanted to add how much we both enjoyed our stay and we felt really spoilt and relaxed, discovered that the sea and shops were just down the road, and everything really close, we both recommend this lovely little apartment wholeheartedly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 28, 2008

"Dacha in the Sky" is a jewel in the heart of L.A.'s beach area.
Venice and Santa Monica are a quick jaunt and markets and cafes are
just blocks away.
The interior is spacious, warm, and decorated with remarkable artistic
flair. James' talents and collections provide delights for the eye
and the intellect.
As well, he is an excellent host. Relax on the terrace or in the den
and enjoy your stay here. Thank you James!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review