reviews for: listing #39309 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Beachfront Luxury at Inner Island Price
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Florence II
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $360 /nt
    $500 - $1,700 /wk
    $2,100 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Great location, nice condo! Read for tips.

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

The Florence II was a great stay for our family of 5. We went during spring break 2014. We have 3 young kids and didn't have any issues with the many spring breakers there. We would go back again and would keep a few things in mind when staying:

Pros: Amazing view, simply amazing. 180 degrees of oceanfront. The balcony is not huge but roomy enough for 2-3 to enjoy coffee. The sliders are great; we kept ours open most of the time. Can view kayaking, windsurfing, etc from the living room. The beach access is right there, super close. The beach was chilly and windy during our stay, but our boys loved shelling and playing in the sand. I could stay with the baby and watch them out there with daddy from the living room! Excellent! The decor is nice, closets spacious, we felt very safe where we were. iHomes in the bedrooms were a nice touch. The pool is heated and was a must for us. Assigned parking was nice, space was tight. Most toiletries provided, as were beach chairs. We brought our beach cart - a must for us. Owner/management had good communication by email.

Cons: Umbrella was sadly broken and we really needed this for our baby. Many cons are no fault of owner... outdoor jacuzzi jets did not work although it was warm. No washer/dryer in unit, we didn't use the building ones (bring plenty of beach towels). Water pressure poor. Tap water tasted bad, glad we brought those concentrated flavor squirt things. Did not have extra trash bags or toilet paper, things I didn't think to bring. Finishes are nice here but it didn't appear professionally done, but that doesn't affect your stay (or the view!). Internet was spotty and we lost connection a few times while trying to look up activities/restaurants. FYI there is no front desk/information area as in a hotel, and the building amenities aren't as much as a some, but we didn't miss them.

Dining: The blue marlin grocery is close and has everything you need. Burger Fi restaurant was really, really good, as well as Blackbeards. We thought Shimp Haus (by the waterpark) was just eh.

Activities: We enjoyed the sea turtle nature center, a dolphin watch boat ride, schlitterbaun water park, and a little shopping. And of course, the beach, pool, and hot tub.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

End of the Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

Nice place and great view of the Gulf. Biggest drawback is no washer and dryer in the unit. There is a shared washer and dryer but it needs a bunch of quarters. Great that they have the beach chairs & umbrella to use. Kitchen was well equipped and everything was nice and clean when we arrived. Jacuzzi by the pool was not working properly. Overall, we had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

July 2011

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

This is a small quiet property, the condo is very very nice and very clean. The view is wonderful and we spent alot of time enjoying it from the balcony. Everything you could possibly want is in the condo...including blenders for drinks ect. The beds were very nice and comfortable I slept well. I would definatly stay again and hope to soon! The only negative I have is that there is very low water pressure in the showers

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 16

 

BEST at the beach!

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

My May, 2011 visit to SPI was the 3rd time I have stayed in this property. I love where it is located on the beach, the easy access to the beach and the VIEW!!! I was pleasantly surprised this time at the wonderful updates that had been made to the condo! You feel so at home in a beautiful setting! My only regret is not being able to book it each time I want to go to South Padre. . .obviously others have discovered how GREAT it is!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Florence

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

The condo was very nice and had a lot of room. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything that we needed. We took food to cook so that we did not have to dine out every night. The bedrooms were big enough to fit all of us and had tv's in there as well. Pool and hot tub were awesome. Andy does a great job with these condos and is very involved if you have any questions he is always ready to assist and help. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative. Hope to stay there again....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

First Time EVER!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This was our first time ever to vacation in a place like this... first time to rent a condo, first time to be in South Padre, first time on a real vacation. The place was exactly as it showed in the pictures. It was clean, made your feel at home. It had everything you needed, you just had to bring yourself! You could sit out on your balcony, it was very relaxing!!... The view was of the ocean was absolutley beautiful, you could see the pool from your balcony too... Our children LOVED IT! I would recommend this spot to my friends and family as long as they are not going when we book again!! Besides having the beach and swimming pool, we went Parasailing at Parrot Eyes, Dolphin Watching with the original Dolphin Watching Company, My husband and sons went bay fishing with Danny Boy Fishing... Everytime we visited any restaurant or shopping place everyone in South Padre was so nice, so laid back... Thank you Andy for helping us make this vacation a lifetime memory for me and my family...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Wonderful Condo Rental Experience!!!

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

This condo is beautiful! The pictures on the website show exactly what the condo is like inside and the view from the balcony is absolutely gorgeous!!!

We had a total of 8 people (4 adults, 3 teens, and one child). There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep. The two bedrooms each had their own bathroom which was great. There are lots of drawers and cabinets in the bedrooms and bathrooms to put your clothes and personal items. The condo was very clean and had nice decorations; we really felt like it was our own summer home. :-)

The condo is right on the beach, you walk out of the gate downstairs and you're on the sand! The pool is a perfect place to hang out when you are tired of the salt water. The hot tub (which is actually hot!) felt great after a day of wake boarding and surfing!

Cynthia, the property manager, is great! She made sure everything was top notch for our arrival!
Andy, the property owner, did everything he could to insure our satisfaction in the condo was met.

My family and I stayed in the Florence July 2-5, 2010 (yes, right after Hurricane Alex!). We were supposed to stay in the Florence starting July 1st, but the hurricane brought lots of seaweed and flooding to the Florence condo area. Andy accommodated us by putting us up in another one of his condos (The Summit - which is incredible!) for the night while the Florence was being cleaned up.
(Remember, this is July 4th weekend when most people have their own plans/parties/etc - even condo owners!) Andy kept checking with us to make sure we were doing alright and that we were happy with the arrangements. Amazing!!!

We definitely recommend this condo, condo owner and property manager!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

Nice condo- and we have stayed at many on SPI. Andy & company offered the best service we have experienced on the island.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 16, 2010

This condo was absolutely perfect, especially the oceanview from our balcony and also the perfect place to watch the sunset and sunrise. Andy was very helpful in making sure that our stay there was pleasant.We will definetly stay here again and recomend this to anyone looking for the perfect beach vacation! Thanks Andy for making our vacation memorable!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

It was just what we wanted. This was the first time I made this type of reservation over the internet and was very happy that it was as advertised. It looked just like the pictures. The beach was lovely. Thanks, Andy, for all the listings you provided. That really helped in our getting around SPI. We will definitely stay there again. The only thing is (this is true for most condos) we need a sharp knive.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 7, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

The location of this property is perfect. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the coastal waters and the area was not in full sun but just right to enjoy sitting there most of the day. The condo is lovely, well furnished and clean. The parking was convenient and safe. It was quiet and relaxing. The rooms are good size and we didn't feel cramped. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 17, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

This condo is nicely decorated and has a great view of the beach. Looking forward to returning next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

We just returned from this great condo! My husband and I, along with my elderly Mom enjoyed it all! Close to the beach, beautifully furnished and everything we ever needed was there. Especially nice touches are the great tv's, beach chairs and covered parking. Beach wasn't crowded, weather was great and we all enjoyed some R&R. Thanks Andy!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 5, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

Hello, I have been working digintley for 5years straight not able to take a vacation. Once my wife graduated from college i promised i would take her for a little vaca. Little did I know once walking into the Florence, that this vaca. was no little one. It was a perfect setting, view and set the standard. Andy was great in working with us to make sure everything was taken care of and made sure the stay was perfect. This is a perfect place and will definitely be going back. Thanks again Andy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

What a perfect vacation! My husband hates to go on vacation since we have had so many bad experiences but within 30 minutes of walking into Andy's Condo he wanted me to reserve it for next year. My kids were thrilled to stay right on the beach and have such a nice place to stay. I actually came home relaxed from this vacation. Thank You Andy for providing such a nice place to stay, keeping in touch with us and also checking to make sure we arrived ok and to see if we needed anything. You went way above what is expected and raised the bar way above everyone else.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

We liked Andy's condo at the Florence II so much that we booked it again this year, so we have been there two years in a row. We really enjoyed it the first time, and didn't think there was much room for improvement, but we were surprised to see new decorative additions and small touches that really made this condo stand out from all rentals we have used in the past, and which show that Andy really cares for his condo and the comfort of his guests. As other commenters have noted, there is no need to lug heavy beach items to this condo, Andy has thought of almost every possible thing one could need on a beach vacation and has gone out of his way to provide them... We had a truly wonderful time and look forward to many more returns and working with Andy in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

We loved our stay at this condo. It had everything we needed and the view from the balcony was beautiful! The pool was always clean and the access to the beach was perfect. The condo was decorated beautifully and the flat screen TV's were used by everyone in our family since there were TV's in every room! This was our first time visiting South Padre Island and Andy provided us with very helpful information. I am so thankful we chose this condo for our family vacation and would highly recommend it to visitors for their stay. You will be very pleased and more than satisfied with Andy's professional service.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Great place to stay. We had everything we needed and were particularly impressed with the really big TV's, comfortable beds, lovely bedding. The fact the condo faces east is a big plus, because you wouldn't want that hot Texas sun heating up the balcony all afternoon. By noon it was in the shade, and with the ocean breezes a great place to sit and relax with a book and a beverage - even in 90+ degree temps. We would definitely go back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

We really enjoyed this condo! We could not be more pleased. Andy's condo had everything we needed. I couldn't believe the detail. Everything was thought of. We had a great vacation and would definitely stay in this condo again. You will not be disappointed with this place. The beach access was great, the condo was perfect, the kids loved the pool, and the view was incredible. Thanks so much Andy for the great condo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 19, 2009   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

This condo is just as described on the website; even better! The ocean view is amazing. Everything was super clean; even the elevator and garage area. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. You really only need to bring your clothes and get food if you plan on cooking. Everything else is there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

What a great week! We just returned yesterday and thoroghly enjoyed our stay at Padre. Andy's condo is the perfect combination between a hotel and your own private home. We had breakfast and snacks at the condo and ate out for dinner. The view from the living room couch is AMAZING! The comfortable beds and numberous TV's were a nice travel treat. Would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

We spent 6 nights at Florence and really enjoyed our visit. Andy (the owner) is very helpful and communicates quickly on reservations and payment information. The condo is well decorated and very pleasant. You will enjoy your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Florence II and were very pleased. It was just what we were looking for with it's casual elegance and beautiful view. It was very clean and Andy has thought of everything that you could need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We greatly enjoyed our morning coffee out on the balcony with the ocean waves working their magic. We would definitely go back - thanks, Andy.

Sincerely,

Mike and Tammy Mair

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Get Away

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 31, 2009

My family really enjoyed our stay in this South Padre condominium. To begin with, the view at Florence II was incredible; we really enjoyed being just footsteps from the beach, the pool and the hot tub. We were equally pleased with our private parking and the artfully decorated living accommodations. Andy's unit was absolutely gorgeous and helped us feel right at home. I'd definitely recommend this unit to anyone headed to South Padre. By the way, when in SPI, check out Louie's Backyard for a great meal, take a dinner cruise on the Wave, and do some four-wheeling on the north end of the island. Believe me, you won't be disappointed. The Sea turtle Rescue Center was also noteworthy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Andy's place in Florence II unit at South Padre was just what we were looking for--we had convenient access to the water, amazing views, and comfortable accommodations. Working with Andy was also a dream. I couldn't ask for more, he was great to work with and made us fell right at home. Thanks a million!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 26, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Andy is truly the finest owner and manager anywhere. We have stayed in a number of luxury condos and homes in Hawaii, Sun Valley, the Oregon coast, the gorge, and others and he sets the standard for attention to detail and customer relations. We will be back. The condo and location was perfect for my son and I to enjoy a few days of warm water kiteboarding. As an owner and manager of apartments and office buildings in the Portland metro area, I believe Andy's service is second to none.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Four of my best friends and myself just returned from South Padre. Andy's condo was great! It's lovely, has an awesome ocean view (sunrise is beautiful), is only steps away from the beach, has garage parking, and best of all a concerned owner. Andy called on the day of our arrival to welcome us and wanted to make sure everything was in order. Even before our trip, he always contacted me right away when I had questions. He really wants his guests to feel comfortable and enjoy their vacation. We appreciated his attention to detail. We will definitely recommend his rental to others planning a trip to South Padre.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This is an absolutely pristine condo, very clean, modern appliances and electronics throughout, perfect view of the ocean, easy 75 foot acess to the beach, easy access to keys. The pictures don't do this place justice. We had a fantastic memorable vacation and will be back to this unit without a doubt next year for a longer trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We have been going to South Padre for last 8 years and have stayed at many condos. This time the condo we had booked was damaged due to hurricane and we booked Andy's condo. When we walked in, we were expecting something similar to what we had been renting for years, a standard condo with beds and furniture. Let me tell you, we were surprised the moment we walked in. The condo was incredible. It was far superior to any place we had stayed before. Furnishing, bedding, towels etc. were of the highest quality. The owner has thought of every little thing we would want on the vacation. All we needed to bring was food and clothes. The condo even had beach chairs, beach umbrella and boogie boards. I was surprised that there was a balancing base for the umbrella so it does not fly due to the wind. Such attention to detail was remarkable. The view was incredible. We felt like we were on the beach even from inside the condo. We enjoyed drinking margaritas from the balcony. On the scale of 1 to 10 I would give this condo 20. Andy, thanks to you we have discovered true treasure on the island and we hope to visit you year after year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation Stay at Condo

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

We just had our vacation stay at Andy's condo at the Florence II building. The condo was great!! The view was awesome, everything was so clean and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed for our stay. My son especially enjoyed the flat screen TV in our room to play his video games once we were back in for the night. I would highly recommend this condo for anyone looking for a great place to relax. The beach and pool area were not crowded and I especially loved having my own parking spot and not worrying about searching for parking spaces. My family and I will definitely be back to Andy's condo next year. (Also, Andy was very courteous and always took the time to answer my questions, thank you so much Andy.)

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

My family just returned from our vacation at this property and I must tell you it was fabulous. The view from the balcony was spectacular. The condo was equipped with everything we needed and wanted. The ocean was beautiful and the beach never crowded. The pool/hot tub were very relaxing....We will be back next year. I highly recommend this condo and I plan to return next summer....thanks Andy!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Hi Andy, we just want to tell you what an absolutely fabulous stay we had at the condo at Florence II, it was truly so comfortable and special. The location is excellent, the view from the condo is just what the doctor ordered, the beach isn't crowded, the pool was refreshing and the ocean swimming was so much fun! The first night when I pulled back the comforter and snuggled in to the comfy bed, soft pillow and high quality sheets, I just knew I was going to come back again. Everything was perfect! You truly thought of everything. I was so impressed with our trip that I wrote about it on my blog here: beckyflores . com and click Becky's Blog. If you want more information, I'd be happy to personally answer any questions. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

What a great place to spend a vacation! The view from the terrace couldn't be better and the feel of the breeze off the ocean is just another reason that we will be using this condo in the future. You have a beautiful property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 12, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

When we arrived at Andy's condo on the 3rd floor of the Florence 2, we did not know exactly what to expect, since we had been staying at another property for years. Let me just say that Andy's condo exceeded all of our expectations. It was immaculate, and decorated beautifully in nautical decor. Andy has truly paid attention to every detail that guests might want, right down to blow driers and shampoo and shower gel dispensors in the baths. My daughter even commented on the quality of the linens on her bed, saying that she "felt like home" while at the beach. The kitchen was equipped with every convenience one might need, from a blender to a smoothie maker. There were even lawn chairs and an umbrella to take to the beach. The view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful. Since we have teenage girls who spent alot of time in the hot tub and pool,it was especially nice to be able to just look over the balcony railing to check on them periodically. The beach in front of the condo was never too crowded, as it gets in front of some of the larger complexes. We will definitely come back and stay at Andy's place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 21, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

If you are looking for a relaxing condo with a magnificent beach view, this is the condo for you.

We just returned from a long Moms & Daughters weekend. It had been over 10 years since any of us had been to South Padre. We absolutely fell in love with Andy's condo at the Florence II.

The decor of the condo is exactly what I would want if I owned my own condo. It is beachy, but classy.

Everything we needed was right there in the condo. Dishes, tupperware, cookware, 4 beach chairs, an umbrella, plenty of towels, wireless internet, tvs in every room - the list could go on. Andy even thought of the little things like a door holder to keep the door open while you are wheeling your luggage in / out. In addition, the condo property has 2 luggage carts available that really make moving in and out of the condo a breeze.

We ended up having a slightly cooler, cloudy weekend and really enjoyed the heated pool located right downstairs. The entire complex only has 16 units and we never had to fight for pool space or a spot on the beach right in front of the property.

By day 2 my mom was already asking me to look up the condo's availability for our next visit. Thanks again Andy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

this condo was absolutely beautiful. me and my other guest felt at home once we stepped foot in the condo. Everything was so clean and neat. We had a wonderful view of the ocean. Kitchen had everything we needed to do all the cooking we wanted to. I highly recommend the this place to anyone who wants to have a romantic getaway. I forgot to mention the flat screen TV's and the free wireless internet. We will definitely stay at this place again. this condo felt like we were living in a five star hotel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

My family has just returned from a weeklong wonderful visit to South Padre Island. We spent 5 nights at Andy's condo in the Summit. The other 2 nights we spent at his newest condo at Florence. Although we enjoyed our stay at the Summit condo (which was just beautiful), the condo at Florence is wonderful. The balcony from the 3rd floor is just steps away from the beach. You actually walk off the back patio with a beautiful pool and hot tub onto the beach. My husband and I loved to sit on the balcony and watch the sun come up, drinking our morning coffee. At night we enjoyed sitting on the balcony and listening to the waves and watching the sky full of stars. You can actually sit at the dinning room table and watch the beach while you eat, or relax on the leather sofa or oversized chair in the living room and watch the waves as they flow onto the beach. We enjoyed walking the shoreline hunting for the many seashells that come in with the waves. The water is the most beautiful color I have seen in the states, and is a joy to watch as the colors change during the course of the day. Andy has again made us feel at home. He has thought of everything you could possibly need for a wonderful vacation. The decor in the Florence condo is brightly painted and decorated with an ocean scheme. We felt so much at home, and didn't have to pack our whole house, just clothes. The condo is within walking distance of stores and restuarants, yet very peaceful and quiet. Andy is a wonderful host and is just a phone call away if you need anything. We enjoyed ourselves so much and had such a wonderful experience with so much to see and do, we are going to go back in October and wouldn't dream of staying anyway else except Andy's condo at Florence. If you want a dream vacation that will not cost a fortune, with so much to do for both the young and old, or if you just want to relax by the ocean, we highly recommend Andy's condo at Florence. It is Super!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review