reviews for: listing #39317 - Gearhart, Oregon House rental

Land Ho!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $325 /nt
    $1,350 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

The perfect beach get-away home for our family

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

This is the second year we have used this house for our family time at the beach. We all love it, from 4-year-old Violet to 69-year old Gramma O. With two bedrooms upstairs for our two younger families of four and the master bedroom for Grandpa and Gramma O, we fit perfectly. Everyone loves to use the bathtub with jets in the Master Bath and/or the large walk-in shower. It's fun for the younger generation to spy on the adults from the second level through the see-through railing or maybe send paper airplanes down.

For meals we used the gas grill two nights out of three for steak, hamburgers, hot dogs, veggie burgers and corn on the cob. Gramma O especially loved the quality of the furnishings in the kitchen with lovely stoneware dishes, heavy silverware and great quality pots and pans. The kitchen is stocked with numerous spices and other necessities for cooking. The large side-by-side refrigerator and freezer easily held the food we needed for our stay.

The older children loved riding their bikes on the quiet cul-de-sac while the younger ones happened to find friends from another vacationing family to keep them busy at the same time.

We used this house as a base to explore the North Oregon coast and beaches. The location in quiet Gearhart is definitely preferable to the busyness of Seaside or the multitudes of tourists in Cannon Beach.

I'm sure you can tell we are very enthusiastic about Gearhart House. Out thanks to the owner, Amy Haskins, for seeing to our comfort in every way. Oh, did I mention that the house is very kid-friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for the lovely note. We are so pleased that our home has worked so well for your family! Reading your review makes us want to get on a plane and visit the Oregon Coast right now! Thank you for choosing Gearhart Home for the 2nd summer in a row! Again, we appreciate your glowing review!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

well-suited to children and families

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Dear Amy,
Wanted to tell you how much everyone enjoyed your wonderful home. Three of our kids, with two families, stayed on Chinook and my husband and I, another daughter, and my sister stayed several blocks away. Your home, which was so well-suited to children and families, was the gathering point. Besides being beautiful, well-equipped, and comfortable, the house had plenty of room for adults to be downstairs while kids napped upstairs, space for people to get away for quiet time inside or out, and proximity to the ocean, which was the best playground of all. Thank you from all of us for providing such a lovely space. Have a wonderful summer,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place is AWESOME!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This is a GREAT house to stay in for your vacation on the Pacific Northwest. Very nice, comfortable and well equipped. I can't say enough how great of a house this is. Great deal for what you get! Local attractions abound, from the Evergreen Air and Space Musuem (Spruce Goose, all sorts of historic aircraft and spacecraft) Tillamook, the Maritime Musuem, all are really close by. And thats not even mentioning Cannon Beach and all the stuff to do around there. Our next trip to this area we will without a doubt stay here again. I give this house my highest recomendation to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Last minute get-a-way

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

First off, the owners were great to work with, we literally booked the same day as our arrival due to a short window of oppurtunity. The house is modern and clean, it's in a great location for ex[ploring the north Oregon coast, 5 minutes from three golf courses, fishing etc. the home would easily accomodate two families. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautifully Appointed Home in Gearhart

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We stayed in this home in late July 2011. As you can tell from the photos, the home is lovely. The kitchen is very well stocked with anything you could possibly need and it is beautifully decorated. The bedrooms are quite large for a rental property and the master bath is amazing. There were thoughtful details like bathrobes and toiletry items as well. The back patio is nicely protected from coastal breezes and a nice spot for lunch. It is a little farther from the beach than we might have preferred, but it would be a perfect ride on bikes!

The town of Gearhart is small and very charming. There aren't a lot of dining options, but the Pacific Way bakery and restaurant are both amazing! It's a pleasant walk to town for either the Pacific Way or the ice cream parlor.

I would definitely recommend the property to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy, well equiped and extremely well maintained

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

The home exceeded our expectations, the photo's did not do it justice. We felt as if we were staying in someones full time residence........it did not have the feel of a "rental". It is extremely well equipped, very, very clean and well maintained. My wife and I have rented homes at the Oregon coast for the last 10 years and this is our favorite place so far. We have become friends with some of the neighbors and we love the neighborhood itself. The owners have been terrific to deal with in every respect. I would recommend this to anyone without a single reservation.....the Oregon coast is one of our favorite spots, now we have a favorite place to stay when we go!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review