reviews for: listing #39370 - Huntington Beach, California House rental

Beach Cottage "#2" steps from sand, shops & nightlife.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $250 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Perfect cottage

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

Just came home from spending 5 days in this lovely cottage. The location is perfect close enough to the beach and main street but just far enough where your not bothered by the crowd. I was with my two young adult sons and they were even impressed. Shirley the owner has put a lot of thought and consideration into her cottages it was clean and the little extra amenities like coffee, paper towels, toilet paper, shampoo, spices , etc were appreciated. There was also a binder there with information on what to do and driving directions to several locations. I would recommend this cottage to everyone I am definitely coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent cottage

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We thought this was a really excellent holiday cottage and we would highly recommend it. The description is very fair & the property was pretty much as expected. It is compact but perfectly OK for a family of four with full sized teenagers! The standard of the equipment & linen etc is high, and pretty much everything we needed was there. We loved the outside shower & I want one at home but the climate isn't really quite the same! Given the location it was really peaceful. Having the entrance in the alley rather than on the main road helps - once you've found the cottage! The town is perfect. It was lovely to meet Shirley at the end of our stay, and she responded really quickly when we had a tire blow on one of the bikes. Great to have all the equipment - bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels etc, made ALL the difference. Many thanks to the team.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent cottage

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We thought this was a really excellent holiday cottage and we would highly recommend it. The description is very fair & the property was pretty much as expected. It is compact but perfectly OK for a family of four with full sized teenagers! The standard of the equipment & linen etc is high, and pretty much everything we needed was there. We loved the outside shower & I want one at home but the climate isn't really quite the same! Given the location it was really peaceful. Having the entrance in the alley rather than on the main road helps - once you've found the cottage! The town is perfect. It was lovely to meet Shirley at the end of our stay, and she responded really quickly when we had a tire blow on one of the bikes. Great to have all the equipment - bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels etc, made ALL the difference. Many thanks to the team.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great cottage

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We thought this was a really excellent holiday cottage and we would highly recommend it. The description is very fair & the property was pretty much as expected. It is compact but perfectly OK for a family of four with full sized teenagers! The standard of the equipment & linen etc is high, and pretty much everything we needed was there. We loved the outside shower & I want one at home but the climate isn't really quite the same! Given the location it was really peaceful. Having the entrance in the alley rather than on the main road helps - once you've found the cottage! I'd agree with the previous reviewer about the US Open - great fun, but a little livelier than perhaps we were anticipating (see the news reports...), but other than this exceptional event, the town is perfect. We recommend surfing with Tommie out at the Huntingdon Surf and Sport, 3801 Warner Ave (out along E Pacific Coast Highway, in the state park). He was delightful. It was lovely to meet Shirley at the end of our stay, and she responded really quickly when we had a tire blow on one of the bikes. Great to have all the equipment - bikes, boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels etc, made ALL the difference. Many thanks to the team.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We spent a week with our family in this extremely well located and tended cottage in Huntington Beach. Everything was there as advertised, from the kitchen supplies to beach towels, surf boards and umbrellas and beach chairs! The pace is very comfy, clean, and strategically located near the shops and restaurants of HB. We were very pleased and enjoyed our stay the whole time.
Owners are very sharp, replaced the BBQ gas tank very quickly when empty.
Highly recommendable place.
Only caveat, which has nothing to do with the place itself: if you want to have a quite time in HB, don't go during the US Open of Surf, which I believe takes place in HB every year in July... Very exciting but busy and almost crazy...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute little Beach Cottage

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

We LOVED staying here. It was the perfect location, right next to main street and very close to the beach. It had everything there including towels, boogie boards and even a wagon to pull everything in to the beach. The cottage was loaded with everything you needed from kitchen utensils to shampoo and conditioner. We will definitely stay here again. We had so much fun.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyable stay & great lcation!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

I would highly recommend this cottage. It is the perfect location for the beach, bars and shops. The cottage is cosy, comfortable and very clean, however as our stay was for 9 nights it would of been useful to have some cleaning products left for us to use throughout our stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed making use of the bikes and body boards available in the garage. The yard is lovely and sunny in the morning to sit out and enjoy breakfast, it does loose the sun in the afternoons but it didn't stop us making full use of the fantastic BBQ! Overall we had a great holiday and we will defiantly be returning to Huntington Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House for our Family of Four!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Everything was perfect! From the communication with the owner prior to arrival, to the smallest details to make us feel welcome - our stay was perfect! We are a family of four with two young children (4 & 9). The house was fully stocked with beach towels, beach toys (including bikes, boogie & surf boards, beach chairs, wagon and the list goes on and on!). As a clean freak, I was so please with the extreme cleanliness of the home! Just spotless!!! Having a washer and dryer, and dedicated parking space was such a blessing for tired and dirty kiddos! Thank you so much! We are already talking about our next stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

We loved our stay at this little cottage. It was the perfect size for three adults and two children. Terrific location within a block from the main strip of restaurants and shops, and just a couple blocks from the beach. We spent most of our time at Disneyland and California Adventure (convenient location to both), but wish we would have had time to stay longer to enjoy the neighborhood more.

Very pretty and comfortable linens on the beds. Plenty of comfortable seating in the living and dining rooms. Sweet and peaceful porch for your morning coffee (and stocked with coffee!). Kitchen with all that you need. Plenty of towels and paper products.

We highly recommend this cottage. Thank you so much, Delia & Shirley!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

I've been a member of an online message board for over 10 years and many of us have met each other and become good "real life" friends through those years. I've had the opportunity to meet people from other countries who have visited the U.S. This past October, one of those friends who lives in Huntington Beach had a get together for a weekend at her home. Quite a few of us attended and because her place is only so big, I decided to see what I could find close by her. I found this cottage and then asked a few others who were planning on coming out if they would like to split the cost to stay in the cottage. I wasn't looking for something "great" as we weren't planning on spending a lot of time there anyway. I just wanted something close (it was less than a mile from friend's) and clean. However, I got even more than that. It was homey feeling and bright and clean and private in the backyard, sitting at the patio table or the on the porch chairs. The owner was very nice when I needed to touch base with her because she was a new owner (I had actually booked it through the previous owner). The next time I come out to Huntington Beach, I plan on booking this rental again. And although, I didn't come out for the beach or any of the surrounding attractions, I have to say the cottage is perfectly located for them. If you've never been to Huntington Beach before, you MUST eat at Ruby's Diner on the pier. Also, I loved that IHop was just around the corner.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love Huntington!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Had a great time at the cottage and the only negative is that we couldn't stay longer! The cottage had everything we needed, we just went to the grocery for food! It was quaint and very clean which I appreciate. The location couldn't be better. It's less than a 5 minute walk to Main Street and the ocean. I run in the Surf City Marathon every year and this was the best place we've stayed in the last 3 years - walked right over to the start and the finish line was just around the corner!! Shirley was lovely to deal with and very accommodating. She responded to my texts very quickly! Thank you so much and we WILL be back!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We’re had a lovely week staying here.

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We’re had a lovely week staying here. It’s been VERY VERY HOT, so it’s been great to retreat to the house for the afternoons after time on the beach. The location has meant we can just pop to the beach……have a stroll on the pier….or food out. The boogie boards have been good and my four years old son has dug huge (dangerous) holes on the beach with the spades!

We booked a week here as my stepson married a girl from Westminster in Huntington Beach park. The wedding was absolutely beautiful and we have had a lovely time here. The rehearsal dinner was at Ruby’s dinner at the end of the pier……as the sunset over the ocean – beautiful. The house is great….with everything we needed – and appreciated. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The location of this cottage is perfect

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

What a great week, the entire family had this week. The weather was absolutely beautiful! The location of this cottage is perfect. The Tuesday Night Street Fair and the beach being 2 blocks away made travel easy. To add to a whole day of fun at the beach, we walked around all the surf shops that were all within 5 blocks. The outdoor shower was a great touch to the cottage – since all of us were sandy and hot from the beach. Thank you so much for the cottage and we can’t wait to be back next summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything it's advertised to be

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Had a great time in the Huntington Beach cottage. Owner has gone out of their way to supply the place with amenities and was very helpful. And the location (2 minute walk to the beach, 1 minute walk to the main strip of Huntington Beach) can't be beat. Would definitely stay again. Thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, great price!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

This cottage is in an ideal location, you walk one block and you are on Main street with lots of restaurants, shopping, etc. You walk another block and you are literally right across from the pier and the beach. I felt very safe in the area. The cottage was cozy and small, but clean and had some great amenities. Loved having the bikes, beach chairs, etc. I loved that they had a new (sealed in the package) sponge in the kitchen sink, a new bar of Lever 2000 soap and new large bottles of Suave shampoo and conditioner in the shower. There were plenty of washcloths, towels, beach towels, hand towels, and bath mats. The washer, dryer, and iron were nice to have. We didn't use the grill and patio, but a great addition! Cons: The bed was not super comfortable (but to be fair, it might just be because I am used to my Temperpedic) and the couch was really firm. The bathroom is really small and uncomfortable to get ready in and it does not have a fan so it gets pretty steamed up. The two bedrooms share a wall and they both connect to the bathroom. So, to get to the bathroom you have to go through one of the rooms, then lock the door to that room and lock the door to the other room so they don't walk in on you, then when you are done you have to unlock both doors again. The walls are also really thin so it was awkward using the bathroom. This would not be an issue at all for a family used to sharing a bathroom or a fun girls trip with some roommates where everyone is very comfortable with each other. But, I wouldn't suggest it for a couples trip unless you are very comfortable with each other and aren't looking for privacy in both your bedroom and bathroom. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely return here with my husband for a getaway for a girls trip or with a small family, just not a couples trip. Thank you so much, we enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location! Great Cottage!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

We had a great time in this cottage for a short vacation to Huntington Beach. We were a group of six graduate students and were pretty comfortable in the cottage, given the size. There isn't a ton of room, but everything that you could possibly need is there. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating, and the house itself was great. It was absolutely AWESOME having a grill and a patio where we could enjoy the mornings and evenings. The property is VERY close to the beach and main street--a prime location! It was great having the equipment the owners included (beach chairs, bikes, etc.) although it was a little too cold to use the surf board and boogie boards. Overall, we had a great time and if we ever find ourselves in HB again, I know where we will be staying!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Location is Unbeatable!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at this cottage. In January, no less - perfect weather. The place was comfortable, had everything we expected and was located a block from Main Street just like it advertises! We arrived, parked and then were able to walk to all the restaurants, shopping and the beach. We had absolutely no issues. The owners are very honest and pleasant and obviously want their guests to have a great stay! We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect spot!! Immaculate cottage!

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

My daughters, grandaughter and I usually stay in one of the big hotels on huntington beach for our yearly "girl trip" but this year decided to try renting a cottage, Best decision ever! this cottage was beautiful, great location,super clean and had everything we could need for our stay. The bikes were so fun to have and take to the beach which was a two minute walk at most, we will definitely be back!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great little getaway

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

Great place - well furnished for cooking in. Close to beach, great restaurants and shopping!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, all amenities

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

We stayed at the cottage for a week this summer and enjoyed it very much. It's clean and offers everything promised in the description. The owner is very keen to make sure the guests have everything they need. It's great to have the owner live next door - he's very helpful !

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Location

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Our family enjoyed being close to the heart of the city and the beach. Never needed to use the car unless we were traveling to other cities. The yard and BBQ grill made it nice to eat at home and save some money.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

We took a trip to southern california with multiple family members and my mom, aunt and uncle stayed at this cottage. Although small, it was just enough to fit 3-4 people comfortably. The owners couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The location is excellent - just steps from the beach and downtown Huntington.
Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We just returned from HB. This was a relaxing way to follow several days at Disneyland. We were able to walk to the beach and the pier, even with two small children in tow. We especially enjoyed riding bikes along the beach.

The flag lot was very quiet and the fenced yard perfect for our little ones to play and blow bubbles in.

Ramiro was extra helpful by loaning us some hex wrenches to put my daughter's new bike together. We'll be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful cottage in superb location

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

This cottage was perfect for our family of 4. It was homey and comfortable and the owners have thought of everything to make your stay just right. They provide bikes, boogie boards, beach bag, chairs, towels, everything!! They also give you a binder with very helpful maps and directions to other tourist attractions in the area. This was our home base to see San Diego and L.A. as well as the closer towns & beaches. The location of the cottage cannot be beat, you are only a few steps from both Main St and the HB Pier and beach. Sunsets were amazing. Don't miss Tuesday nights when Main St is full of vendors and musicians. You won't want to leave this special town!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

Very nice home for our stay in Huntington Beach. Very comfortable and nice decorations. Certainly coming back soon. Family for France. Note: This family has stayed 4 different times.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We had an awesome time here! The place is so nice, clean and very cute! It was perfect. Great location and the patio is great, perfect for our BBQing and some down time. Thank you for all the necessities and the bikes were a blast. Perfect for the teenagers. The weekend was so nice here sunny with blue skies. It was the perfect cottage. Thank You so much! We are definitely coming to stay very soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

What an awesome location. We had a blast. We certainly put the cottage to many tests 3 adults and 3 kids and it coped beautifully. what fabulous memories we are taking back home with us to New Zealand, Oregon and Washington DC. We will be spreading the word about your beautiful oasis and all it has to offer. A perfect place for a family reunion. Thanks again for the hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

This coastline is paradise in the country. This house is perfect. We love it and had an amzing time. We had a perfect number of beds. with the fold out couch, which made things really comfortable. the backyard patio was perfect for hanging our wetsuits in the sun and eating some BBQ which we cooked on the grill out there. More than anything we loved the short distance to the beach and Main St. We were able to go back and forth whenever we wanted for surfing, volleyball, shopping, and eating!Thanks alot for the place, it was great!God Bless from Medford Lakes, NJ

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

We have visited Huntington Beach many times before but this visit was the best by far. We took the bikes down to Newport along the coast, beautiful scenery! We attempted to surf in the ocean but settled for boogie boarding insted. We enjoyed fresh berries and cookies at "surf city nights". The local entertainment on Main St. was really good!!! We enjoyed breakfast at "Sugar Shack" and then took a stroll down to the pier to say our goodbyes to the sounds of the ocean. Heading back to New Orleans makes leaving here really hard. But we will be back again some time next year. Thanks for Everything

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Very cozy, clean and comfy! We enjoyed our stay in your cottage. I was my birthday wish (age 72) to stay by the beach and we did! Enjoyed the walk on the pier, Tuesday street fair and drives along the cost. Thanks for your recommendations to the beauty shop and restaurants. Thanks for all from Prescott Arizona

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

Carol and Ramiro, Many thanks for everything, we have had a wonderful time staying at your cottage. It was absolutely perfect for our needs. Huntington Beach is fantastic and your location is ideal, will definitely recommend your cottage to anyone and everyone! We came here for Lacianne and Kyle's birthday and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Sadly, we must now return to reality. If we ever make it back to LA, we are coming to stay again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

Ramiro and Carol,
Our family really enjoyed our stay here in your cottage. 17 days here was so special to us, it doesn't seem enough! My birthday and Halloween was spent well too. I highly recommend your cottage with our co-workers and my family. For sure we'll come back someday, especially with the hospitality you gave us. The kids loved it so much, they are always excited when we go to the beach. Thank you so much it was a wonderful break for the whole family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

We had a great time in your cottage. First of all, you guys thought of everything. thanks so much for the coffee, the bikes, the boogie boards, the fresh towels, the dish network, the beach toys, the kitchen supplies and the overall appearance and comfort of the cottage. Also, the location was awesome. We were conveniently located within spitting distance of the beach and the shops. We really appreciated the binder full of information with maps, hotspots, must reads and magazines. Thanks so Much

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

We really enjoyed the time we spent at the cottage. Much nicer than a hotel. The location was great, walk to beach and downtown. Everything was as described. Property was clean.

Although pets are not allowed, there was evidence of dog in enclosed yard of cottage. Steps at back need repaired, my 7 year old nearly fell through. There was garbage in cans in alley that wasn't bagged. Not sure if cans are shared or if someone is just dumping.

Liked that we had washer and dryer but had to buy laundry soap as it wasn't included.

Dinner at BJ's was great. Really liked the spinach/artichoke pizza.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review