reviews for: listing #39407 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

The Dunlin - Beach and Waterfront One Bedroom
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $189 - $250 /nt
    $1,195 - $1,695 /wk

sort by:

Mission Beach Charmer Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

My family stayed at this lovely vacation rental for two weeks in August. We were delighted with the property, location and owner. The listing is completely accurate and even better upon arrival. This clean, well-maintained dwelling is so delightful. The owner was most helpful with any questions we had and gave great recommendations for activities, shopping, restaurants, etc. Everything that you could need is available in this rental. We enjoyed Mission Beach, Old Town, and Seaport Village while we were there which are all very close to this rental. We would recommend this rental to our friends and families for sure! (Sea World is also very close - enjoyed nightly fire works from the patio)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having you and your family and it was such a pleasure to get to know you and see you have such a great time at the beach. San Diego is such an amazing city and you seem to really get the essence of what is has to offer. Thank you also, for the great review of our property The Dunlin. We really truly care that you are getting the best we can provide and are 100% satisfied.
Come again anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay - Central location - Nice Accomodations!

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week at the Dunlin. It was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation rental property! The location is perfect. The patio looks right out onto Mission Bay. You are away from the hustle and bustle of the beach side, yet it only takes a few minutes to walk across Mission Blvd. if you want to make your away over to the ocean/beach side. We did a lot of sight-seeing and it only took us 10 - 15 minutes to drive anywhere within the San Diego area. If you stay, you have to make the 10 minute walk down the bay and go to The Mission restaurant. My favorite in San Diego for both breakfast and lunch.

The rental itself was totally clean and comfortable. Cyndi and her husband are so friendly and make you feel very welcome. Everything you could possibly need for your stay is provided. Fully stocked kitchen, a grill on the back patio, beach towels and chairs. We felt like we were at home. I would highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kim,
It was great to have you both stay as well. It an honor to provide vacationers with the accommodations that they expect and more.
Our one bedroom, does work great for couples or small families and has that great beach right outside the front door.
I do appreciate your high praise and welcome you back anytime.
Best to you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun in Feb

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

My teenaged kids and I had a great time in this rental. Cyndi was very helpful and a gracious host. We enjoyed the beautiful mornings on the patio eating our breakfast and BBQing our dinners at night. Everything felt like it was close by and it was great to have a parking spot. I think that is a must if you have a car and are planning on staying in Mission Beach. The cooler and chairs made our trips to the beach that much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return myself sometime.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Wendy, for your great review. It was nice having you and your family stay with us at The Dunlin.
We love families and really enjoy seeing them have fun and spend the great connection time that comes with a stay at the beach.
The bonus for us, is that you chose our beach vacation home to do it in.
Best Regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

My daughter and I had a great time in this fun area of San Diego. There are bars, restaurants,stores and the beach just minutes from the door. We also enjoyed Trader Joes and some of the fun beach shops minutes from the condo. Lots of activity up and down the boardwalk.Great place to walk and see the beautiful scenery. We didn't want to leave. Loved having breakfast and cocktail hour on the patio. Great view!
We had a car and did lots of sightseeing to the Safari Park, Zoo, Padres game, Escondido, Carlsbad, La Jolla(see the harbor seals up close),Del Mar and much more. The time went too fast. Upon our arrival, Cynthia is there to give a big hug! I would say that Cynthia has all the things someone would need except a cooler for the beach(we made do). I would suggest a guest book, so your guests can put ideas of restaurants and places to see. I hope to be back in the near future! Thanks, Cynthia for making our trip to San Diego enjoyable and relaxing.

Owners response: Well, thank you so much Janie for this great review and yes, a small cooler might just be in order.
The Dunlin is in a great local area and great proximity to lots of restaurants and cafes and was great to see you and your daughter having such a fabulous time exploring San Diego and the beaches. We love the diversity that owning and managing our vacation rentals brings to our lives.
I do hope you will come again Janie and as a fellow buckeye and kentuckian, I love the midwesterners....
Thanks again and we welcome you anytime.
Best to you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GREAT PLACE

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

This place is even better than it looks. Sitting on the patio in the warm sun drinking our morning coffee soothed our snow weary bones. The condo was well equipped,even a discount card for the local grocery store. Cynthia, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful.

The area offers unlimited things to do. The big beach is a 2 minute walk.There are walking and biking paths everywhere. The city itself is right over the bridge. I would recommend any of Cynthia's properties to anyone.

Owners response: Thanks Susan for the great review.
It was lovely having you both stay here and lots of fun to see how excited you were to explore all the sights that San Diego has to offer.
The "bike adventure" will one for the books.
Come again anytime as The Dunlin is awaiting your return!
Best
Cyndi

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We had the most incredible stay in this beautiful and clean beach front rental. Cynthia is a very caring but also very low key host.

The apartment itself is laid out well and equipped with everything you can think of: fully equipped kitchen, books, a BBQ, beach toys, beach chairs, beach towels... all you need!

We stayed there with our 9- and 4-year old daughters. They loved it too. The neighborhood is also great and very safe. The families around us were so welcoming and nice. We made a lot of friends during our short stay of 6 days. We could have stayed for ever!

The bayside of the peninsula is laid back, quiet and sheltered. The water is calm and shallow. Perfect location for young children! No harsh winds or surf. And totally quiet at night. Oh - and fireworks from SeaWorld EVERY single night! We loved it!

There are many fun things to do - kayaking, biking, rollerskating, swimming, surfing, jogging, visiting Sea World or the board walk. You can walk to a nice selection of restaurants. Parking spot provided for one car.

If we travel to SD again, we'll definitely try to rent this place again!

Imke & Thorsten from Berlin, Germany

Owners response: Wow, I am completely honored and grateful for this review for so many reasons and on so many levels.
Its always my goal to present a vacation rental that is everything I have advertised it would be and more. We take great pride in the rentals and our goal is to provide an experience as the one described above.
Seeing this review fills my well for another exciting year of providing the best vacation rental experience possible.
Thank you again for choosing our rentals for your stay in the USA at Mission Beach.
We welcome you back any time.

Best Regards,
Cyndi

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

Posted on Homeaway ad for this same property
Martin Westholm Stockholm, Sweden
Review Submitted May 3, 2011 Date of Stay March 31, 2011
First of all Mission Beach is an absolutely lovely place for a vacation and we really found a great place to stay in this apartment on the bayside. The location was perfect, with a great view of the bay and the boardwalk/beach right outside the patio. We found it better to stay on the bayside than the oceanside because you got a little bit more privacy, it's very busy on the oceanside boardwalk. It' s only like a 300 ft walk to get to the beach on the oceanside. The apartment was well planned and nicely furnished and also very clean and in good condition. The location is great, in a quiet part of Mission Beach but with only a short walk to different restaurants and shops. The owner, Cynthia, was very friendly and provided all the service you could ask for! We would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a one bedroom in Mission Beach, in our opinion it can't get much better. When we go back to Mission Beach we will definately contact Cyntha first and try to get one of the places she manages, in the best location in Mission beach! /Martin & Emma

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Tourists without a Car , Sightseeing , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Owner Response: Well, what can I say, with great vacationers like the couple I just had stay for a month, its a pleasure to be in the business. Having vacation rentals, when done with passion and experience is very rewarding. We take such pride is providing a pleasurable experience in every way. We are blessed to have an amazing location and the ability to provide great rentals at great prices too. In the 20 years of my business, I have met many wonderful and interesting vacationers. I look forward to many more years of meeting more people just like this couple to add richness to my life and work. Kindest regards to you both! Come again soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A spotless apartment with a beautiful patio view!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

First of all Mission Beach is an absolutely lovely place for a vacation and we really found a great place to stay in this apartment on the bayside. The location was perfect, with a great view of the bay and the boardwalk/beach right outside the patio. We found it better to stay on the bayside than the oceanside because you got a little bit more privacy, it's very busy on the oceanside boardwalk. It' s only like a 300 ft walk to get to the beach on the oceanside.

The apartment was well planned and nicely furnished and also very clean and in good condition. The location is great, in a quiet part of Mission Beach but with only a short walk to different restaurants and shops. The owner, Cynthia, was very friendly and provided all the service you could ask for!

We would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a one bedroom in Mission Beach, in our opinion it can't get much better. When we go back to Mission Beach we will definately contact Cyntha first and try to get one of the places she manages, in the best location in Mission beach!

/Martin & Emma

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well, what can I say, with great vacationers like the couple I just had stay for a month, its a pleasure to be in the business.

Having vacation rentals, when done with passion and experience is very rewarding. We take such pride is providing a pleasurable experience in every way.

We are blessed to have an amazing location and the ability to provide great rentals at great prices too.

In the 20 years of my business, I have met many wonderful and interesting vacationers. I look forward to many more years of meeting more people just like this couple to add richness to my life and work.

Kindest regards to you both! Come again soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our beach cottage on the bay!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time! Your condo was perfect and located in a great part of the beach. It had everything we needed and more, such as beach towel, beach chairs, beach toys for the kids. We love all the little extras, you provided in the rental and felt so welcome in your rental. You thought of everything we might want in the rental. It was also a bonus to have your expert input on what to do and see while we were in San Diego for fun different things that San Diego offers. We can’t wait to come back for another visit to the beach with our kids. Thank you for all your personal service.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A truly peaceful spot!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

We stayed at avacationbythebay.com and had a wonderful time. It was so quiet and peaceful! The sail boats in the bay and fireworks every evening visible from the patio were just perfect! Lovely place, all you need is food and clothes. The condo is so much like home you forget your are in a vacation rental! The people are friendly! I will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Sherry for choosing our one bedroom, The Dunlin, for your family vacation in Mission Beach and the great review.
Having wonderful people, such as yourselves, makes owning and managing vacation rentals a joy.

We invite you to come again and look forward to having you stay at any of our rentals.

Cyndi

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

cannot wait until we return

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

Our family of 3 including a son who was 6 stayed at this cozy 7 day retreat in June 2008. We walked out and our backyard was Mission Bay. We spent hours on the bay side with our son playing in the sand. We would walk across the street and there was the ocean. We enjoyed the calmness of Mission Bay side and the excitement of the ocean side. There is a wonderful paved sidewalk right outside the door, a neighborhood grocery store within walking distance and major grocery store a short drive away. It was easy to find all the major attractions as well. The Condo was well stocked with all the amenities needed, very clean, wonderful landlords We cannot wait until we can return again!! I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Weekend-Get-Away

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 19, 2008

We had a great week-end stay, enjoyed coffee on the bay side deck. Right on the way of their 12 mile walk from the bay to the ocean. Great fun watching the activity and close enough to enjoy ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review