reviews for: listing #394198ha - Holualoa, Hawaii rental

Ultimate Kona Vacation Home on Acreage
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 3,850 - $ 4,550 / week
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

A dream vacation!

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

Once in a lifetime, 3 generation family vacation, was awesome. The island is wonderful and this location is perfect. The house is magnificent and the pictures really are great, but the house is even better once there.

The pool is a resort on its' own...we loved it. We would stay here again, no question!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House Does Not Disappoint

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

I wanted to say thanks for making our recent vacation quite enjoyable. The house worked out great for our large, multi-generational family. The pool, in particular with its large shallow shelf, was perfect for our young kids. The house comes stocked with a good supply of pool and beach toys as well. The backyard also includes a large grass area for kids to play in. The owners are very nice and accommodating. They even provided a high chair and pack-n-play for our youngest child. The house location is very convenient as well. Magic Sands beach is a short walk away and it is great for swimming and playing in the sand. Restaurants and shopping are a short drive away. This house is an excellent find.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Tropical Getaway

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Wow! Was what came to mind from the moment we entered the house. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ahinahina Hale, with its luxurious interior and world class saline pool. The surroundings were beautifully landscaped and completely private. The beaches are lovely in the area, but we chose to stay mostly around the pool as it was so peaceful. Although there were few, any needs were quickly met by Zac the manager.
We cannot say enough about our wonderful time at this house and look forward to a longer stay next time. Maholo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Would highly recommend!

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

I wanted to take a quick second to leave some feedback for this please. I have to say that I have been to HI many times. None of the places I have stayed have even came close to this place in comparison. There was more than enough space and we never felt crammed. We went with 4 other couples who all loved it as well. Location is far away from thing that you don't feel the pressure of crowds but close enough to get to some place fun if you want to go out. If I had only two complaints they were minor. The bedroom with 2 separate beds is kind of unclear on the size compared to the other rooms. We all drew names and the couple that drew that room was in shock when we got there. It was plenty big and nice but not near as big and nice as the other rooms. Only other thing that we had a issue with (that is very fixable) was the jets in the master bath tub didn't turn off. So we would have to turn them breaker on and off to use the tub. Other than that the house was perfect. I would recommend this property to anyone and plan on making another trip back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury in Paradise

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

We recently returned from this exquisite property and had a wonderful trip. We were party of a group of 25 that stayed in multiple places in Kailua-Kona and this property was "party central" for our family reunion. The house is beautiful, private, quiet and very well equipped. It's much larger than you can gather from the photos. The pool is spectacular - I've been to resorts with smaller pools. There is plenty of seating for a very large groups. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen is fantastic. The property is clean and well-maintained. It has everything you would want in a kitchen for a large group, storage containers, wrap, foil - even a rice cooker. There are plenty of dishes, glassware and cookware. There is also a nice "pay it forward" approach to the spice cabinet - oil, vinegar, a nice variety of spices, etc. They provide ample towels and linens, including beach towels. This is a fantastic property - great view, well maintained, easy access to town, a great grocery store nearby and a great spot for a relaxing vacation. The owner was helpful, answer all of our questions and very responsive. I would highly recommend this property - its a good value for the price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Holiday Home

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

If you are travelling with a big group to Kona, look no further, this is the house for you!! It is everything the pictures show and more!! We travelled with our family and were privileged to stay for 8 nights. It is a great family home with lots of room to spread out! The pool is amazing and we enjoyed watching the sun set each evening. The house is in a great location, close to town, but has loads of privacy!! If we have the opportunity, we will definitely be back!!! Mahalo Zach for a wonderful place to holiday!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This has been the best vacation home that my family has rented so far. It's like having your own mini resort to yourself. The pool is amazing and warm. It's very spacious even for our party of 10. We had 6 adults and 4 kids ages 8 to 11. The house is much larger than it appears in the pictures. There are great beaches within minutes drive from the house and very convenient to downtown Kona shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

This house is an absolute vacation paradise! My friend found it while searching online and emailed Zackory the owner immediately, he could not have been more accommodating to us, excellent customer service answering our many questions. We traveled from Maine in a group of 10, 2 families with our grown children and it was absolutley a dream come true. The house is even more beautiful than the pictures if you can believe. Very clean and updated, more than ample space everywhere, bedrooms, bathrooms, living area, outside pool area...just gorgeous! The accommodations fit us perfectly, just enough bedrooms and bathrooms for our large group, very comfortable and relaxing. The location is perfect as well, quiet and secluded but just minutes from downtown Kona which is loaded with restaurants and shops. In spite of our very long flight from Maine I would return in a minute as long as we could stay in this house again! Can't say enough!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What You See Is What You Get

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We just returned from a week's vacation at this house. It was a great house. The rooms are exactly as shown in the pictures. Our traveling companion was amazed that we got such a great rental for the price. The kids spent a lot of time in the pool. There are pool toys and other items available for use for kids or adults. The location to multiple beaches was really great and the short drive to the center of town was a prime benefit. There are 3 green lawn areas where kids can play within sight of adults and the only noise you hear are your kids running around having fun. Each unit and the main living area has it's own private A/C control (and outside) unit so each occupant can have their room set to their desired comfort level. Made use of the laundry room for all those towels they use up swimming and going to the beach. We'd rent this house again, if we're ever back to Kona.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Space and comfort for all. What a find for a group!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This impressive home is located in a gated community right off the coastal road, Ali’i Drive. It’s far enough off the road to be very quiet and yet it’s just a short walk to La’aloa Beach (also called Magic Sands) for easy access to boogie-boarding, snorkeling and general beachy fun. Kailua Kona is a short hop away to the north.
The first thing you notice upon arrival is a carport the size of a small hangar. There is plenty of room for four cars in the shade so you never have to scald your sun-deprived, mainland legs on hot upholstery.
You enter the house at the closed end of a horseshoe. The main wing is on the left and comprises a large living room, dining area, kitchen, two master suites and an extra half-bath, all looking out onto a massive lanai. The wing on the right contains three more bedrooms. Between the wings are a narrow grassy courtyard and a roofed dining area (dining area #2).
The house is built on a grand scale. It was such a hike from the main living area to our room -or, rather, rooms- at the end of the main wing that every time I thought about heading that way I made sure I had a compelling reason for the journey.
The house is elegant, the furnishings comfortable and homey. The grounds are immaculately manicured and very tastefully landscaped.
Outdoor activity centers around the 25 meter salt-water pool (max depth 5’). A table and ample chairs provide poolside dining space for a large group (dining area #3), while a coffee table, easy chairs, a couch and some very nice chaises longue make it hard to be anywhere but outside. It’s very easy to just camp by the pool until the sun drops into the ocean beyond the palms and your relatives start crying out to be fed.
I like to cook and was delighted by the amount, quality and variety of cookware, utensils and extras, like spices, baggies and foil. The kitchen really is unusually well supplied for a rental house. If I may pick one tiny nit it’s that the knives might have been sharper; but this was really no problem since I always travel with my own (Geez, what a snob!). We beefed up the glassware supply on a trip to Pier One, so the cabinets are now bulging with tumblers, highball glasses and Champagne flutes.
The manager of the property, Zac, is very responsive and happy to do anything that will make your stay perfect. You can rely on him.
The eight of us who shared this house are unanimous about it; we’d stay here again in a Hawaiian heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise found

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

The house, pool and grounds are amazing. We were very pleased with everything about our stay. The property was nicer than advertised. It was close to restaurants, beaches, shopping etc. but we spent a lot of time enjoying the pool and home. We ranged in age from 6 months to 50 yrs. plus and all enjoyed the holiday, the kids loved the pool. The owners live close by and are more than happy to answer any questions and address any concerns, although we had no problems with anything. I would recommend this property to all, the bedrooms are private, each with a full bath, a fully stocked kitchen and nice patio with bbq plenty of chairs, loungers etc. to enjoy the beautiful Hawaiian days and nights. Absolutley would return. Excellent for groups of 10 plus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

My family stayed here for a week and loved every day. The home is much nicer than the photos. It is comfortable, luxurious, and well-stocked. We were eight people, three generations, and we did not even use all of the house. The location is ideal, since it is a short drive to shopping, restaurants, and a large grocery, and a short walk to the beach. We had one small issue when we arrived (the air conditioner was not working), but the owner came out and fixed it the first evening. He made it clear he was available for anything that might come up, but since nothing else came up, we did not see him the rest of our stay. Overall, my family thoroughly enjoyed staying in this amazing house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream House

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We just returned home from a fabulous 2 week stay in this home.I know it's hard to believe but this home is even "nicer" than it is decribed online.
So nice, at times we didn't want to leave the house to go to the beach.
Everything you could ever need is here.
The pool was "picture perfect",and the yard was very well maintained.
The house is layed out so every bedroom has it's privacy and a beautful bathroom.
The "property managers" are wonderful, friendly people,and were very helpful in answering our questions. We will deffinately be returning. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home and family with us, We will definately recommend this home to all our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Island Paradise Awaits

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

This home is perfect for large or multiple familes. The home is ideally situated in a private gated community near the Whitesands Beach - just a short drive to Kailua-Kona. The home comfortably accomodated our party of 10 with plenty of room to roam. The main house has 2 master bedrooms and the "guest wing" had three large bedrooms - each with their own bathroom, large closet, and individual temperature controls. The pool is very large, impeccably maintained, and surrounded by lush tropical plantings. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect for the large family wanting to get away for the week

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Beautiful & spacious property with a very private setting yet close to Kona. This large ranch had 5 large rooms, each with private bathrooms and a 25 meter pool for the kids.

The property was clean, well maintained and we met the owners while visiting. They could not have been nicer to my family. My children were 10, 8 & 7 at the time of our stay. It was so easy to stay at this property with kids this age. Each had their own room. No stairs & the pool deck was right off the kitchen. I slept in, had full internet access to my office, excellent cell service and cable TV for my football games while the kids did whatever on the grounds and in the pool.

Easy access from here to Kona city, incredible snorkeling nearby, world class cycling/running and a short hop to airport. Rate was fair. Definitely a repeat location. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Exceptional

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

I highly recommend this property! It is impeccably furnished and maintained. The owners have done an outstanding job creating an environment that is both classy and an authentic representation of the Big Island. Some of my highlights were: a spacious "great room", large kitchen area with top of the line appliances, comfortable beds, swiming pool ... the list goes on. We will definitely stay here again. Outstanding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review