reviews for: listing #39448 - Kailua, Hawaii Studio rental

KaiStudioAloha2- studio vacation rental
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Enchanted Lake
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $63 - $69 /nt
    $427 - $477 /wk
    $1,430 - $1,580 /mth

sort by:

Very Lovely Home-Style Studio

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2010

We stayed one week at the studio and had a wonderful time! The use of the bicycles, beach mats, beach towels, boogie boards and charcoal barbecue was so nice~! We couldn't have found that at a high-rise in Waikiki! The area was so quiet and so convenient to restaurants and shopping (Macy's!), literally minutes away! I want to Thank James for providing us his lovely home - but we only met him briefly on our arrival. The place is much larger and prettier than the photo. The internet worked very well and we enjoyed the many tv channels. There was a medium sized refrigerator, microwave, rice cooker, hot plate, coffee pot, coffee and filters, salt and pepper, plates,bowls, utensils and a handy large sink with a scrubby and dish soap to wash them up with. The towels were large and fluffy - even the dishtowels! We will definately stay again! We used the washing machine once ($2.00 wash/dry). What a lovely, affordable plave - felt like our own home for a week! Perfect for two people maximum. We enjoyed eating at Mokes and Teddies for burgers. Highly recommended!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for being such wonderful and considerate guests! We certainly enjoyed sharing our home , kayaks, bikes, boogie boards etc. with such friendly people. We're so glad you enjoyed Kailua so much, it's like heaven on earth to us and we're happy to share it with you! Much Aloha!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Excellent value for quaint, cozy and mellow

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

Accurately listed and met our expectations! No, it's not the Hilton with room service and plastic surgery, but this cute little place we would definitely recommend to our like-minded friends and family. It had everything we needed - even things we didn't think we'd need, all neat and tidy. And you can count on the host to get back to you quickly, which is nice to have a trustworthy and helpful owner within reach. Mahalo for sharing the aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thank you very much, Jen. We do our best to have all the neccessities of home! We enjoyed having you! We do agree that it is an excellent value at a decent rate. Thank you for being realistic and commenting that you do not get the Hilton for our economical rates?.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Safe place to walk, close to stores, clean.

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

We didn't stay at this unit, but ours was similar. Very affordable, clean, and good hot water. Very enjoyable stay. Air conditioning and ceiling fan worked well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Simple and Cozy

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2012

The house was in a nice & quite location, everything was within a 5-10 minute drive from the unit. The bed was okay but was not a major concern as we only used the room as a place to stay at night when we were not out exploring the island. The owner was accessible and responded quickly in regards to our initial inquiries.

The overall experience was good and would highly recommend the properties to others wishing to vacation within the east side of the island. We can't wait until we have the ability to come back out again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Little Studio! Great for 2 people!

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

This was a great little studio. My boyfriend & I are from San Francisco, CA. We stayed here for a 1 week in spring. The photos & descriptions provided are very accurate. It has a nice bathroom, AC, little TV, mini fridge, and small table w/ chairs. The studio was very clean. They also provided a change of bed sheets and beach towels as well as free access to their beach gear like boogie boards. The price was very affordable. The location was great, right in Kailua. Just a short 5 minute car ride to the beach. If you're not renting a car, you could definitely walk to the beach in 15 minutes and take a nearby bus to the stores. The neighborhood is nice & quiet with no tourists around. There was a Whole Foods & Down to Earth grocery store also close by. The only downside was the old mattress left my back sore, but other than that, things were great. There is a washer and dryer in the garage that you have access to. I would DEFINITELY stay here again. I was originally very weary of using a rental website and transferring money through PayPal, but it turned out to be very convenient and safe. We never saw the owner during our stay. We just picked up the keys in the mailbox, found our room, and stayed settled in. Then upon departure, we just cleaned up a bit and left the keys for the owner. We also got our deposit back within a timely manner. This little studio in Kailua was sooo much better than staying in busy Honolulu. If I ever get the chance to return to Oahu, I will try and book this place again. THANK YOU very much for letting us stay here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lived like a local boy

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

If you want to live like a local then this is for you. I'm a 25 yr/old male that decided to travel to Oahu on my own and this arrangement was perfect. I wanted a real experience; not the whole "tourist" thing or to stay in a hotel in busy Waikiki; like I did when my family first traveled there. The Kailua studio was just what I needed. The neighborhood was quiet and it was incredibly close to downtown Kailua's shopping areas and amazing beaches(Kailua and Lanikai).

The house was really easy to get to from the airport as well... Pretty much 3 roads. The room had a small fridge, microwave, a small SD TV (you shouldn't need to watch it much...you're in Hawai'i), window a/c, ceiling fan, tile floors throughout and a great bathroom. The walk in shower was great...and it had a hand-held shower head :). Many cooking utensils were provided too.

It was a great place to base my operations from due to its location to Kaneohe, Waimanalo, and freeways. I could hang out with my buddies in Kaneohe, come back to change, and then head to Honolulu for a concert.

I never saw the staff either, but that was fine with me. They trusted me to do what I needed to do and I respect that.

If you want the "local" experience at a good price I suggest going this route.

It's the best feeling to walk out the door to your car in the morning and have the mountains greet you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for your very nice comments. We appreciate it very much as we work hard to make your stay a pleasant experience. We have a nice location ,3 blocks town side of Enchanted Lake shopping Center , so it's convenient to restaurants and Safeway. We try to anticipate and provide everything we would like when we're on vac. Thank you very much. We enjoyed having you visit. Aloha! :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value, very clean, private

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

It was wonderful to find really clean, decent accomodation in Kailua for an excellent price. We stayed for two weeks here and are impressed at how well thought out this studio was-with everything we needed including bikes and kayaks. The owner always responded quickly to any questions we had. This studio had no one living above or below and felt like a private cabin. Kailua was a real treat with an incredible beach, shops and great walks. In comparison, Honolulu seemed like a traffic nightmare with overcrowded beaches and shopping. We certainly recommend this suite for anyone seeking decent, cheap, basic accomodation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, quiet & comfortable

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in Unit 3 and was very pleased. I liked that it was in a working class, residential neighborhood. The room was well stocked, & clean. Seriously, you can't go wrong with accommodations that provide a hot plate, microwave, dishes, utensils, pots, pans and my personal favorite, a coffee maker. The tv was a little small, but we really didn't watch it much anyway. Free WIFI and free off street parking is a true value added bonus in a world that charges for the little things. I have already begun telling my friends about this little hideaway and maybe one day we will get an opportunity to stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much, Robert. We enjoyed having you. We work hard to keep it super clean and equipped with as much comforts of home as possible. Much aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a great deal! friendly helpful owner. close to shops.

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

i couldn't believe I could find anything in this famous neighborhood at such a resonable price! it was a great deal. We drove to the beach each day.about 4 min. We rented kayaks one day and a kitesurfer another day. it was worth the expense. Rode around the neighborhood on James' bikes, old but worked well. Better than renting at $25/day which lots of other tourists in town do. We come 2-3 times a year and this is the best bargain. Newly renovated bathroom and comfy queen bed. Very clean. Knowledgeable owner with fun info. Helps that he has a couple units so 1 is avail when I decide to come at a short notice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much. Kailua is a great place to live and vacation in! I enjoyed sharing my knowledge and try to help as I travel myself and appreciate inside information! And thanks for treating our home as your own and keeping it so clean!! Much aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent value & clean

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this studio apartment for a great price. This place is a short drive to the beautiful Kailua Beach and Lanikai Beach, close to restaurants and shops. It is well maintained, clean, bright and air conditioned. The room is small but clean and excellent value for the price. The bathroom is huge, new renovated and very clean. The kitchenette is well stock with basic necessities for a quick meal or BBQ. The owner James is a real pleasure to deal with and very accommodating. We highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!! Mahalo James. Alan & Megan, Vancouver, Canada

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words Megan! We appreciate it very much. I enjoyed speaking with such friendly people! WE do our best to keep everything is the best order and provide amenities we anticipate everyone would enjoy having. It's so wonderful to know that our efforts are appreciated. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

June

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

smaller than the pictures seem. adequate if you're on the go a lot and only need a place to sleep. kitchen amenities awkwardly arranged so not very convenient. very clean, generous use of boogie boards was nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: This is the size of a regular Hawaii bedroom. Not large, but a lot bigger than many of the budget hotel rooms here and ie., Europe. Please don't expect luxurious space at this super price! Some hotels do not even have a small refrig like we do. And we try hard to provide all the dishes, utensils, pots, pans, and small appliances you may need.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Studio, Convenient Location

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

The studio was perfect and had everything I needed. Microwave, toaster, hot plate, plates, cups, utensils, a small frig/freezer combo that worked perfectly. There were lots of towels, a big closet and a small table with 2 chairs. The bathroom was a good size and the toiletries were such a nice touch.

Being able to do laundry ($1.25 to wash/$0.75 to dry) was a plus. Having parking on the premises is great. The studio is close to shopping and restaurants. It was nice to come home to after a day at the beach or sightseeing. I even used the 2 Boogie Boards that were on the private patio.

I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Ridiculously cheap and clean. Not super comfy.

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

"I'm really torn. It was soooo cheap. Especially when I found out what other places in Hawaii charge. I mean the place was SPOTLESS. It was close to Starbucks. However, I feel like I would be doing a disservice to not truthfully review the pros and cons of this place as from the previous reviews, we thought we were getting something a little different...

If you are looking for bare bones, absolutely no frills whatsoever lodging, then this is great!

Pros included, plenty of hot water, extra towels, (though they had a perceptible odor), multiple cable channels (on a 13" tv), and a great, cheap washer and dryer. Fast too! Only $1.75 to wash and dry! Boogie boards were great! Off-street parking! Nice shower!

Cons would include the following: The bed: the mattress and pillows were so incredibly old, I can't even describe how they are actively held together. Their age creeped me out a little. The environment: You can imagine my disappointment when we pulled up to a paint peeling facade with grass growing through the concrete. It's not important though, if you don't mind. Quite a few and variety of appliances and cooking implements provided, but in our particular unit I have no idea how or where you would use these. I have also been lead to believe that previous renters are responsible for cleaning these items so you kind of have to trust that the previous renters did an adequate job.

Not entirely important but should be noted: Interior hollow-core doors used as exterior doors led me to worry initially about security, but after a couple days there, I realized it was a VERY safe quiet area. Not so quiet however, was our unit as the first night, without the air conditioner blasting, you could hear loud snoring from the unit next door. This was rectified by cranking the air conditioning to maximum every night, but then it was too cold and there was only one thin, worn blanket provided. So take your pick: listen to snoring or be a little chilly. The bikes were rusted heaps that we never took anywhere. The beach is pretty far away. Also, no smoke detector? Really?

So, all in all, if you're cool with all these things, this place is a bargain and perfectly adequate. If you're expecting a comfy or cozy little vacation rental you will be disappointed. I don't want to be too harsh, 'cause the for the price, you ARE getting a bargain, but I just want people to be aware of what they're really getting for such a REASONABLE price."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Yes. This rental is a great bargain. We are in the process of doing constant improvements. Sorry about the grass. We try to keep it trim but it was raining for a week so it grows fast and we can't use cut when it's wet. The insides have all been upgraded and new bathroom upgrades. Our cleaners do all the cleaning and laundry so we are thankful they do a good job. This is Hawaii and we still get salt breezes so while the bikes look rusty, they are safe and functional-the utility belies the looks. So are still making improvements so it keeps getting better. We ask that if you are in need of anything please let us know at the time. We will add extra blankets. Glad you enjoyed the bargain. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

We really did have great time.

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

I want to start by saying the accomodations were entirely adequate for the purpose intended & price paid. For that I would give five stars. We had a really nice stay. I am a little confused about how many units there really are. Looks like @ least 3 & maybe more. The draw back is that the exterior is a little unkept & has a car sitting in the yard ( it did leave about half way through but the mark left in the yard suggest that is probably it's home). The Lanai is so small it is pretty much unusable. Doesn't matter though because you won't be there very long. We were dissappointed when we first drove up, however, after we realized we would only be there @ night & the unit is more than adequate we decided it would be O.K.

Just wanted the people who rent this to understand that you get what you pay for.

All in all, if you are looking for a reasonable price with no frills this will be for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the 5 stars for the purpose and price, I think that's the main criteria. Sorry about the grass, the weeds grow fast after a little rain and I didn't get a chance to cut it...but I try to get to it asap. Don't be fooled by the exterior...I think the most important thing is the interior where you' ll be staying and they have all been upgraded!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing place

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

We only stayed here for 3 nights and wished it was more. We enjoyed the cozy room with everything one might want. The bathroom was very spacious and very clean. The location was perfect for exploring both local beaches and going to the north shore for a day trip. Great and safe location and an amazing sushi restaurant within walking/biking distance. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends and relatives. Thank you James!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, thank you for being such nice friendly guests. Please stay longer next time. I usually recommend 10 nights for those 1st timers to Oahu. There is sooo much to see and do on this wonderful island, from the famous Diamond Head, Punchbowl, Pearl Harbor, hikes, Hanauma Bay snorkeling, kitesurfing at Kailua Beach, eating shaved ice (snow cones) at Island Snow. You can do a lot or nothing at all, just rest at the beautiful beach!! Aloha, James

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect little get away

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This place is the perfect little home away from home. We had everything we needed while we were staying here, and could go anywhere in our car. There were also bikes available, if you wanted to use them, and a great little coin-operated laundry area, which was so convenient. We ran/walked every day to the beach, so it was nice being so close. The place was super clean, quiet, and perfect for a single or couple to come home to after a day of adventure. And James was SO nice upon our arrival and departure! I would definitely come back and definitely recommend this place to others!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much, Sarah. I also very much enjoyed having such kind, friendly and respectful guests. We will be glad to welcome you back anytime. And be sure to mention that you get a return visitor discount when you make your reservation. Aloha! It was a pleasure! James

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic stay in Kailua!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

This little apartment was perfect for our three-week stay in Kailua! Being in the neighborhood really made us feel like locals and not tourists. The town of Kailua is great, and everyone is so nice and welcoming! We never got to actually meet James but he was super nice and helpful over the phone. The apartment is just as described, and looks even nicer than in the pictures! Sure it's tiny, but how much time are you going to spend inside in Hawaii?? The bed is big and comfy, the towels are soft, and it was nice to have all the shampoo, soap, and dishwashing things so we didn't have to buy that ourselves (even though Safeway is only a 10 minute walk away). It was nice to be woken by the sun every day and head out for walk on the beach (about 25 minutes away if you're strolling - be sure to stop by Island Snow for some shave ice on the way). The weather was perfect, we never needed the air conditioning, just left the windows open and it was perfect; and when it rains it's very brief. The room is really clean, and you never really hear or see anyone else (apart from the neighbor's dog in the morning) so it feels very private. The bathroom was really nice and big, and it's good that it has it's own door so you don't have to bring your sandy stuff into the bedroom. It was also nice to have such easy access to the laundry room (coin-operated). The wi-fi is fast and pretty strong, only faltered when using Skype, but for all other web stuff it was really fast, we even downloaded a couple movies on our Macs with no problem. The neighborhood is nice and we felt comfortable walking around at all hours. You're right near the elementary school so there are lots of parks and playgrounds nearby. And having access to the free parking was great when we rented a car for a weekend, but FYI the bus stop is super close!

All in all, this was a great place to relax and use as a home base when exploring Kailua - we didn't want to leave! We'll definitely be staying here again when we return to Kailua someday :)

Oh, and stop by Moke's for breakfast, Teddy's for burgers, and Great Harvest for fresh-baked breads every day. The Thursday Farmer's Market is also a fun stop!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much. We enjoyed having you here and were sorry we were so busy at work we weren't home at the same time to actually meet. But it was very nice talking to you. We are happy that all our efforts to have the studio comfy and relaxing and with all the necessary amenities are appreciated. We appreciate your great rating as we make every effort to keep your visit affordable, comfortable and convenient. We are happy, mellow people and are very happy to have visitors who are likewise. Aloha and mahalo (thank you)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Small, but comfortable.

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

The room is small but had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. Shower was great with plenty of hot water. There was a washer and dryer that we could use. And James was a very helpful, and mannerly host. We were close to everything we wanted to do. We had parking off the street. It was a nice place to come home to. It wasn't fancy, but we were out alot and didn't want to pay for a fancy room.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your kind words. We enjoyed having such a wonderful couple stay with us. We are in a very convenient location and am glad you were able to enjoy the amenities, use the washer and dryer and bikes, and the offstreet parking. Mahalo and much aloha.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

comfy home like atmosphere

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Had a nice two week stay. The unit had everything we needed and I sure liked staying in Kailua away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu and Waikiki. Was nice meeting James the owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Alaskaman! It was nice meeting friendly people like you too, it makes it a friendly, worthwhile experience. We love our home and are happy others feel at home too. Aloha! :-)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It was just as described and a great bargain.

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

It was clean and well maintained. It had all the amenities we needed. We went to Kailua beach 4 days to see what the Obamas enjoyed..it is really a beautiful beach. We were 2 blocks from shops and restaurants. Our favorite was the Food Company, great food and price, recommended by the owner. James was very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time and want to go back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much. Joey and Dot were great guests, neat, fun and considerate....they had the aloha spirit!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great location. Comfy place. Friendly owner.

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2006

I had a very nice time from this great location. It is near shopping, the Food Company-a gourmet, fast food, local style food, McDonald's for a quick breakfast or snack, The Shack for burgers. One day, I caught the bus, 1/2 block away, $2.50 for Sea Life Park and Makapuu Beach for body surfing.
The description was very accurate, it had all the amenities necessary. It was very clean and well maintained. There is parking on the property. I couldn't believe how nice it was for the great economical price. Last year, I stayed at one so I could walk to the beach--it cost 2ce as much. But this place was just as nice, but it was a 3 min. drive to the beach but worth it for the money I saved. The owner was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I had a great time and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Cindy, Thank you very much for being such a great guest. We enjoyed having you and are glad you found our place so convenient and handy. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review