reviews for: listing #39478 - Highlands, North Carolina Cabin rental

Escape to Highlands - Fall Special $1000/wk
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,550 /wk
    $3,300 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Memorable Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

This wonderful mountain home far exceeded my expectations for a peaceful, comfortable, scenic Thanksgiving destination. We found the home extremely neat, organized and clean, as well as perfectly equipped with SO many "extras". This home provides a mountain get-away feel with all the conveniences and comforts of home. We loved the closeness to Highlands (a good grocery store just a couple miles away and fun, upscale boutiques/restaurants). Yet, back at the cabin, we could enjoy the lovely sounds of a waterfall and relaxing, restorative walks along a lane that boasts marvelous mountain views---the real world seemed miles & miles away. I eagerly anticipate the next stay! Highly recommended++++++++++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fell 'in love' with the Highlands

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Our stay at this cottage was wonderful. The cottage was so comfortable and so well equipped with necessities and extras. The owners provided so many extras to make our stay enjoyable (extra towels, paper products, games, spices, information folder, fresh flowers and more). We felt so at home there. The sun room was a wonderful place to enjoy meals and look out at the woods. We loved driving past Satulah Falls every time we went in and out the lane.

We came to the Highlands to do some hiking and found so many wonderful and scenic trails all within a few miles of town. There are so many more hikes that we would like to do and some we want to do again. We recommend that anyone interested in hiking buy a 'Guide to Day Hikes' from the Highland Hiker and start with Whiteside Mountain and Glen Falls.

We WILL be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly Charming mountain retreat!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely, comfortable, perfectly-maintained mountain home (too nice to call it a "cabin!") The location was perfect, a short drive into town, very private with a waterfall right up the street! We loved the screened-in porch for dinner in the evenings. The kitchen was well-appointed with no detail overlooked - fresh flowers greeted us upon arrival! We would highly recommend this home to couples and families alike - a gem in Highlands for sure. Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we could have wanted - and more

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

This lovely home had all the extra touches - right down to fresh flowers awaiting our arrival! Beautiful location just down the street from a waterfall, gorgeous screened porch, very private, but easy to get in and out of town and around the area. All the amenities - full spice rack, two coffeemakers, high-end linens, internet, tons of cookware and dishware - even platic dishware for the kids. Everything was super-clean and in working order. We especially liked the European bath - easy to shower off the kids after a day at the lake! Christen was so helpful and hospitable, made sure we had everything we needed and could get in touch with her if needed.

Our toddlers loved playing on the porch and around the house, they especially loved nearby Cliffside Lake - nice shallow water to splash around in all day! We also liked that the grocery story was right nearby - seemed we always wanted to swing by to grab one more thing....

Highly recommend this lovely home for your next visit to Highlands. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Escape to Highlands

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

This cabin was perfect! Wooded and private, but close to town and shopping. The cabin was very clean and comfortable with everything you could need. We enjoyed the screened-in porch and having a fire in the fireplace. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great get away!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Theis was a great place to vacation! The accomodations were terrific and the cottage was well equipped with necessary supplies such as trash bags, soap, linens, etc. Great porches to njoy the cool mountain air. I would definitely recommend this cottage to my friends!!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unexpected Treasure

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

This cottage in the woods far exceeded our expectations. The photos do not do it justice! The setting in a beautifully wooded, quiet and peaceful area just outside of Highlands provided us with a wonderful get away. Everything had been tastefully done. Our host had provided everything we needed to make our stay more than comfortable. The internet service was a real plus since our cell phones (Verizon) did not work except in town. We enjoyed the shopping and some wonderful resturants. We drove over to Cashiers one night and enjoyed a great meal at the Orchard. The waterfall nearby was so beautiful and so was the whole surrounding community. Hopefully we can return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal location.. minutes from the Highlands.. a perfectly appointed mountain retreat

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

Thank you Chandler Family for our family's very memorable vacation in the Highlands. We spent a week with our 2 active teenagers hiking and exploring the numerous trails and hikes that are a short drive from 250 Satulah Falls Lane. We returned each afternoon to a home that felt just like that... home. The kitchen is well-equipped for cooking and there are plenty of board games and movies to enjoy. We slept so comfortably each evening in the cool mountain air and the high quality linens and bedding provided. The Chandlers have paid very close attention to creature comforts.
Our last night was delightful... we spotted 2 small bear cubs and their mama not far from the property. An hour later we also had the good fortune of meeting Dorothy, Frank, Christen and David Chandler. Can't thank them enough.
One final note... Christen Chandler is a delight to deal with and makes the booking process seamless!
Beth, Jim, Danny and Helen Lamm
Florence, South Carolina

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

We loved your house. It was a great location and had everythig we needed. Beautifully decorated and so clean. We loved sitting on the porch enjoying the peace and quiet. The shopping down town was great and we also loved seeing all the waterfalls in the area. We would recommend your place to friends and family.Hope to go back sometime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us. We had a wonderful time: playing golf with our son who is working for the summer at Wildcat Cliffs Country Club, going hiking and seeing the beautiful falls and scenery, and going for a pontoon ride at Lake Glenville. Everything we needed was in the cabin. In response to a prior comment about the coffee maker being too small, a family member arrived during our stay with a bigger coffee maker. You are very responsive to your guests needs. The screened in porch was awesome and whenever we stayed home to cook, we ate out on the porch. The cabin is located just far enough away from Highlands that makes it serene and relaxing after a long day of hiking or golfing. Thank you so much for your hospitality, we all didn't want to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Beauty of Highlands Found Here

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Our stay at your cabin was much more than I expected!! The setting is absolutely gorgeous and the cabin was perfect for our family vacation. The screened porch was our favorite place to gather for late afternoon/evening refreshments. We all enjoyed the short walk down to the waterfall. The cabin was very clean and well equipped. When we return to Highlands, we will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the house!

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We loved your house in Highlands. It was beautiful, spotless, and it have everything we wanted. It was up to date with modern amenities, but very charming too. Loved the way it was decorated, and we really enjoyed all the little seating areas around the house. There was plenty of space for our family of four, and we never felt on top of each other. You thought of everything we could ever need or want, and the house looked just as it did online. The only surprise was the basement space and bathroom downstairs. We had no idea it was there until we checked in. The European bathroom was very interesting, and my two boys thought it was so neat. The flowers and beautiful candle waiting for us when we arrived were a great touch. Checking in and out was so easy and convenient. We would definitely recommend this property to others.
We loved sitting on the screened porch, and the waterfall right down the street was beautiful and so fun, especially for our kids. They loved climbing around in there. We visited Kilwins fudge shop several times, and it was a great place for ice cream and sweet treats. We loved Little Sliding Rock, about 15 minutes East of town, and we took a nice hike on Whiteside Mountain. Your binder in the house was very helpful with suggestions of places to visit.
My only small suggestions would be to clear some cabinet space in the kitchen in an easy to reach spot for the dry pantry items we brought. I felt bad leaving them on the counter because the kitchen was so tidy. We are also big coffee drinkers, and the coffee maker was a little small for us. Otherwise the house was perfect and we would love to stay there again. We didn't want to leave, we felt so at home. Thank you!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the suggestion on the larger coffee pot and clearing some cabinet space. Our guests comfort is our #1 priority so we will certainly make those changes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Words cannot describe how much we enjoyed staying at your cabin. We hate to leave! We truly loved being here—close enough to downtown Highlands, but far enough away for a quiet, relaxing evening on the porch with a nice dinner and glass of wine.

Thanks for the wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

What a treat! When we arrived at 250 Satulah Falls Lane, we knew immediately that we had made the right choice of a vacation cottage. Everything about this retreat was “first class”. Our hosts seemed to think about every little detail.

*trout fishermen and nature lovers-check out the upper Chattooga river at the Iron Bridge on Bullpen Road-some of the best trout fishing and natural beauty you’ll see in this part of the country!

Thanks for the best time we have had in a long time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

This was a wonderful vacation. Highlands is such a beautiful place. We enjoyed hiking, fishing, canoeing and just exploring around town. Your cabin is a wonderful place to stay! Very comfortable and cozy. Thanks for the great book full of info-it reelly made our stay easy and pleasant. We hope to come back here sometime soon.

Thanks for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was a wonderful vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This was a wonderful vacation. Highlands is such a beautiful place. We enjoyed hiking, fishing, canoeing and just exploring around town. Your cabin is a wonderful place to stay! Very comfortable and cozy. Thanks for the great book full of info-it reelly made our stay easy and pleasant. We hope to come back here sometime soon.

Thanks for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a treat!

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

What a treat! When we arrived at 250 Satulah Falls Lane, we knew immediately that we had made the right choice of a vacation cottage. Everything about this retreat was “first class”. Our hosts seemed to think about every little detail.

*trout fishermen and nature lovers-check out the upper Chattooga river at the Iron Bridge on Bullpen Road-some of the best trout fishing and natural beauty you’ll see in this part of the country!
Thanks for the best time we have had in a long time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Words cannot describe...

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Words cannot describe how much we enjoyed staying at your cabin. We hate to leave! We truly loved being here—close enough to downtown Highlands, but far enough away for a quiet, relaxing evening on the porch with a nice dinner and glass of wine.

Thanks for the wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review