reviews for: listing #395798vb - Playa Junquillal, Costa Rica rental

Spectacular luxury beach villa 'Woodbox,' a once in a life experience
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 550 - $ 1,785 / night
    $ 3,500 - $ 12,500 / week
    $ 14,000 - $ 18,000 / month
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

Our family stayed here to celebrate our kids high school and college graduations.
The house is amazing, every bit as beautiful as the photos,and super clean. The kitchen is well equipped if you wish to make your own meals. The house manager Fabrice was very helpful arranging all kinds of activities and services and with any questions about the house and surrounding area during our stay.We had arranged the welcome package (dinner and breakfast first day) from Chef Pas Cam prior to arrival which was a great way to start our vacation. The food was very fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. We enjoyed the meals so much we arranged another dinner by Pas Cam later in the week.
The house is close to the beach, Playa Blanc, a short walk and it seems like a private beach. During the week we had it to ourselves most days. Its a great beach for shelling and sea glass collection at low tide and fun for bogie boards (which they have for use at the house) at higher tide. At the top of the bluff over the beach is a hotel which is the best place to watch a sunset and have a cocktail.
The pool are is beautiful and there's lots of comfy outdoor furniture for lounging. The kids loved the hammock and I like that there was a covered area by the pool for sun protection.
There are tons of activities in the area...we did a hiking trip at the volcano Rincon which included two waterfalls and then a trip to hot springs for mud bath and soak. We enjoyed the trip but it is a strenuous hike so be advised (not for small children).
We also took an ATV ride lots of fun! We saw howler monkeys on that trip (which we heard from the house sometimes). We went to Playa Avellenas, another beautiful beach with a fantastic restaurant that looks out on the beach. There were some local crafts being sold on the beach there too.
Theres another fantastic five star restaurant in Playa Negra Villa Deveena that we enjoyed on our trip.
We walked and biked (they have four at the house) into the little town (about 10 mins) to Amigos Restaurant and to get a few things at grocery.
I would absolutely recommend this house to friends and family and would love to return ourselves someday! Thank you Fabrice, Patie, Pascal and Camille and Dulce too for a great vacation!

Owners response: Thank you very much for the comments and for staying at our home. We are so happy that your family enjoyed Costa Rica and that Casa Woodbox was your home for a week. We hope to see you back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A&F Carassco

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

I don't know where to begin on this vacation. Our whole family went for our 10th Anniversary. However, let me say that this house was amazing. Everything was just sparkling beautiful. The house was very well maintained and the grounds where AWESOME! Fabrice, took care of all of our needs an arranged all our excursions for us down to the smallest details.
One night we arranged for the Chef PasCam to come in and make an anniversary dinner, which was AMAZING!!!!! If you can get the chocolate tart pie, it was delicious!!!!
All I can say is if you want a trip of a lifetime, with a beautiful place to stay with the most helpful and nice people go to WOODBOX, you and your family will fall in love with it.
A HUGE THANKYOU to Michael, Fabrice, Pattie, PasCam, Camille and last but not least Dulce for making our family trip a memory we will never forget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wendy:

Thank you very much for staying at our home in Playa Junquillal!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time and hope to see you back very soon!

Best regards,

Michael Mettler

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Perfect!

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

We just returned early this morning from a 10 day stay at Casa Woodbox and it was fantastic. We were 3 couples in our 50's. The house was perfect for us. Each couple was on a different floor with their own en-suite. We actually had an unused bedroom. Throughout the rental process and vacation preparation both Michael and Fabrice were very helpful. Once we arrived Fabrice and Patie saw to our every need. The beds were very comfortable, the pool refreshing. A quick walk and we were on a beautiful beach often all by ourselves. I would go back in a heartbeat!
The howler monkeys and the birds were our alarm clock in the morning. Two sweet dogs visited daily and kept us from missing our dogs to much. The countryside was beautiful. I highly recommend having Fabrice help arrange an overnight trip to the Arenal Volcano region. I just can't say enough about how comfortable and well taken care of we all were.
I would recommend renting a car at the airport, there are lots of neat restaurants and beaches in the area.
One of our favorite memories will be releasing baby turtles with a turtle conservation group, you can walk to that!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Cynthia: Thank you very much for bringing your group to our home! We are so glad that you enjoyed the villa and all of the wonderful activities and restaurants in the area. Please let us know when you will joining us again!

Best regards,

Michael & Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Woodbox House and can not wait to return in the future. The house was perfect for our group of nine including 4 kids between 3 and 9 years of age.

There were so many beaches to explore in the area that we could have stayed forever. It was great to be able to jump in the pool after a day at the beach or just spend a relaxing day at the house with our family. The house had everything we needed and more.

I suspect this will not be our last visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Woodbox Wedding

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We could not have asked for more. A beautiful home, beautiful country and wonderful people all combined to make for a perfect destination wedding for us and our group. Patie & Fabrice provided for every need without ever overstepping. It truly was like visiting old friends. We cannot thank them and Michael enough for helping us create our dream wedding. The home served perfectly as a venue for our reception and the folks at Villa Deevena worked with Patie & Fabrice to transform it into an intimate, elegant setting that was truly ideal. This is our new home away from home and we will be back to celebrate our anniversary next year! All the best to the Casa Woodbox family!!! -R&M

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wedding at Woodbox

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

Much to our delight, from the advertised listing to the brief video that provided a virtual tour of the property, everything about Casa Woodbox was exactly as stated and/or described. We were a party of 8-10 from California, who traveled to Costa Rica for my son's wedding. From the minute we walked up to the door to the moment we departed, our stay was absolutely amazing. Thanks to the efficient and thorough services provided by staff members, included in the rental cost, all of our needs were provided for and our expectations were more than met. Suggestions for dining in (or out) included a choice of meals from a menu prepared by French chefs or a selection between the daily catch of lobster and/or fresh fish. The fully furnished gourmet kitchen made the preparation of our meals a breeze. Speaking of breezes, the house opened up on all three levels to let fresh air in all day, and closed up to enjoy the coolness of air conditioning as we nestled beneath clean sheets each night. Our guests enjoyed a full array of activities, thanks to the amenities of snorkeling equipment, surfboards, and bicycles provided with the house. Pack light, because even though we didn't use them, a washer/dryer are included for your use, as well. Besides the breathtaking view of the ocean from the third level of the home (which doubled nicely as my son and daughter-in-law's private honeymoon suite), a short 2-minute walk to the Iguanazul offered an even more spectacular view of the ocean while dining on a delicious meal selected from their daily specials board or from their established menu...you can't go wrong, either way. In summary, if you are considering Casa Woodbox and have questions or need clarification, don't be afraid to ask. The owner and on-site staff are more than eager and willing to ensure that your stay at Casa Woodbox is a once in a lifetime experience. Ours most certainly was!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME HOME

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Thank you Mike and Laura for sharing your home with us. What a great house! From the soaring ceilings, openess and breathtaking views to the relaxing pool and patio. You do not have to go anywhere to enjoy this beautiful home. All of the amenities of home are here to enjoy. Plenty of space for everyone, great decorator touches as well as state-of-the-art kitchen and bathrooms. Just go grocery shopping and have a great bbq or Fabrice the Conceirge can have a meal catered. Some of the best food is to be found in this area of Costa Rica. Recommend a rental car to get around.We had fun zip lining at Pura Aventura and Lolas is very cool. Many beaches are within walking distance and we used the provided boogie boards daily.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christi's birthday weekend!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

We spent my birthday at WoodBox with three couples and it was wonderful. The house is very spacious. All of the bedrooms are great. The decor evokes relaxed luxury in the tropics. The kitchen is well equipped and several people can be in there comfortably. There are several comfortable lounge areas inside and out. Nice pool. We found it hard to leave just to go to the beach across the street. Loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This IS THE House to visit if you are in the Negra and <junquillal area.. divine.

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

As a property manager, real estate broker and rental agent, I deal with quite a lot of higher end property at the beach in this area. The woodbox house immediately stood out in terms of furniture, style and comfort. The pool area is well decorated and has lots of space for relaxing, the furniture by the pool and throughout the house is top quality and very comfortable. The beds are 5 star and everything down to the shower heads were well thought out.

I would recommend this home to anyone who is interested in a private, quiet and serene vacation spot at the beach in Costa Rica.

-Lock Cooper
RPM Services/ Real Estate
Playa Tamarindo, Langosta

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

what a place!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Great house at a great place! Birthday weekend with fresh lobster from the fishermens, on the huge bbq the place have. Great to enjoy nature and the beach just a drop from the house. Hope to repait that soon!!

Owners response: Thank you very much for staying at Casa Woodbox for your birthday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review