reviews for: listing #39585 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

16th Fl. Condo 1 Block From Beach with Views of Diamond Head
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Waikiki Banyan
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Watch out for exterior renovations!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

We recently stayed in this unit in Waikiki Banyan. The unit was exactly as described, clean, bright, spacious and in an ideal location. There was just one BIG PROBLEM. Renovations to the exterior of the building meant that the lanai door was sealed shut. There was no way to open it or get out onto the lanai. The small bedroom windows must also be closed to allow the work platforms to go up and down AND be prepared to have workmen staring in at you from a hanging platform when you open the curtains in the morning. The only way to keep the place cool is to crank up the air conditioning. If sitting in a sealed unit listening to AC and construction noise is how you want to spend your holiday, then this is the place for you! Notices in the elevator and in the unit indicate that the work outside these windows began on December 11, 2013 and will continue for "at least 2 months". So my advice to you is to check before you part with your money. Guidelines for reviews will not allow me to include the email address or phone number of the Waikiki Banyan Condo administration, but I'm sure you can find it online. Relaxing on the lanai is part of what I look forward to on Hawaiian holidays. This condo was not a relaxing place to wake up in or return to after the day's activities. When I pressed the point I was offered a 5% refund - apparently this is what the Aston is offering. It's not worth it. Make sure you get a unit that is not sealed shut.

Owners response: Currently the renovations to the exterior of this unit are projected to be completed by February 17, 2014. Waikiki has much, much, much to offer beyond a 4'x10' lanai.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, comfortable and convenient

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

The unit was very clean, well equipped amenities, quiet, roomy and nice atmosphere, We would probably stay here again. It was nice to relax on balcony in afternoon because the unit is facing east, toward Diamond Head, away from strong afternoon sun beam. Being in 16th floor was great, no need to worry about bugs and mosquito (People near the ground level had to deal with street noise and bugs). In-room Wi-Fi was very fast, and almost always able to park my car near the elevator.
Since many of my relatives live in Aina Haina, Kahala, Waialae and Kaimuki area, being near Diamond Head side of Waikiki was convenient. Easy access to Kapahulu Ave. was a plus for my daily activities.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CM

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

we did like this condo, it matched the listing descriptions and our expectations. The condo is located within a short walk to the beach, restaurants, etc. One feature we really liked was the included car parking. I would stay here again and will recommend it to a friend or relative.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feedback

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The description of the condo was totally accurate. The location was great, close to beach, Safeway and bus service. Stephen was helpful and answered our e-mails promptly. All in all it was a pleasant experience. Would recommend this property to friends and family. The restaurants we enjoyed the most were the Town, La Tour and Bubba Gumps. We do a lot of walking so getting to the places was no problem.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Waikiki Banyan

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We stayed here about a week and had a great time. Its within walking distance to Waikiki beach. The pictures are accurate. Room was clean. Had room to put our stuff, WIFI and the best was the free parking. Could have used a cooler, beach mats, 2 more chairs and a stronger umbrella to take to the beaches though. Great deal for the money spent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Please note that our condo is not advertised to include beach accessories or beach toys. There are occasions where previous guests will leave behind beach accessories that they have purchased during their stay. In this case our guests are welcome to use these items at their discretion. In addition there are dozens of local vendors located on Waikiki Beach who rent beach equipment for very reasonable prices.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good honeymoon.

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Room was clean, lots of room, and had everything for our living needs. Great location to the beach and an excellent view!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Deal In Waikiki

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Steve, Had a great time in your convenient, well appointed condo. Everything we needed and you advertised met our expectations and more. Beach chairs, boogie board and especially parking pass were pleasant unexpected additions. The addition of beach towels would have made it complete. Thanks for arranging the King Kamehemeha parade and Pan Asian Festival for our visit. The street fair and parade were fabulous. Quieter end of beach near zoo was great as was access to H-1 highway. Would recommend this property to anyone who wants close beach access at affordable price.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

liked!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

i really liked the place, we had a great stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THANK YOU THANK YOU

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

What a great condo, just like the pictures, well maintained, great view, We loved that it was close to eveything. Beach, bus service that went to the mall and Sam's, Walmart. The Bus as it is called is only a dollar for seniors showing your medicare card, drivers are so helpful. Restaurants close and very good. The Shack which is a bar at the waikiki trade center which you can take the bus too or walk has $2.00 maui fish tacos on wednesday which are excellent. Loved the pool and the food that you could get from the snack bar that was right by the pool. Great chicken with rice and salad with a sweet chili sauce on it. They also made a excellent fried rice. Stephen was most helpful when we had a maintance problem, which Thomas took care of and was very nice about giving us other info about the area. All we can say is what a great condo and that the Banyan is a great place to see everything in Waikiki or just be lazy on your lanai, or by the pool. We are so glad that we found Stephen's condo on vrbo. Thanks again Stephen for you condo.
Kitty and Paul, North Carolina

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Waikiki Wonderful

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

Location was fantastic, just a block a half from the beach and a 1/2 block from great pizza at the outdoor restaurant on the way to the beach. Accommodations were clean, well maintained, and just like the photos. Our friends were staying at the Sheraton Princess at more than triple the rates for this condo, and they wanted to spend their time at "our place". Really loved the convenience store and coffee shop in the lobby. Owner is great to deal with and easy to work with. Being Canadian, always looking for landlords who take credit cards as drafts/money orders/etc are not convenient to get and then you have to rely on snail mail. Thanks Stephen.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

Great place to stay. Conveniently located, a block and a half from the beach, walk to shops and restaurants, parking at condo easy and free with the parking pass, wireless Internet strong, nice accommodations at affordable price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

great clean place to stay

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

The unit was very clean and exactly as depicted in the photos. Everything about our booking and stay went smoothly. We would definitely stay at the Banyan again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location for a family!

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This condo is centrally located-- close to lots of great food and attractions (zoo and aquarium within walking distance), plus just 2-3 blocks from a very child-friendly part of Waikiki Beach. Kid-friendly, but not quite baby proof (glass coffee table and kitchen table). Great size accommodations for a great price. The owner was very professional and made us feel welcome. Definitely recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Close to Waikiki

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the condo, the condo was just as shown on the pictures. The condo had a view partial view of the diamond head, access to internet, the amenities were accessible, walking distance to transit, Waikiki beach & shops. The property was well maintained & clean, Stephen was great in responding to emails and phone calls in a timely manner. It was our first time on the island and we enjoyed the beaches, shopping and nightlife in Honolulu. I would definitely come back to this condo and recommend it to friends and family. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

We stayed for 11 weeks and have enjoyed it so much that we could have stayed forever! We found the apartment very confortable, spacious,nicely furnished and clean and on the cool side which was very pleasant.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Vacation

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

I throughly enjoyed my stay at your condo. The room was clean and comfortable. I was also happy to discover that your condo had wireless Internet connectivity! Your condo location is great in that it is just a few blocks from Waikiki Beach. It's walking distance to many of the shops, places to eat and even a 24hr Fitness club!

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Trip for Moms 80th

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

This was a great place to stay! It was a great deal especially with the parking pass, and everything looked just like all the photos. It was spacious enough for the three of us and close to everywhere we wanted and needed to go!! Stephen was so informative and helpful in every way, and Bob was there when we needed a new security and parking pass. We went for Moms 80th birthday and we had a blast and even got to spend some time by the pool and walk a block to the beach to watch the 4th of July fireworks!!! Can't wait to do ti again!! Mahalo once again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THANK YOU....THANK YOU....THANK YOU!!

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

HI Steve,

We want to thank you again for helping us make my parent's 60th anniversary trip a great vacation. They had a great time. Your condo was neat, clean, and perfect for them. All of your suggestions for dinning, shopping, and sightseeing were outstanding. The convenient location made it nice for them to be able to walk everywhere......Thanks again!

Jennifer

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Thank you,

We have had a great time everything was perfect but, we are not looking forward to returning to the snow tonight.

Rob & Kristen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

Hi Stephen,

Well we are back in the cold and rain and wish we were still in Hawaii. Had a great 5 weeks. Thanks for everything. The internet worked great. I took several of your cards to pass on to friends.

Winnie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thank you for the lovely accommodations

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

Hi Stephen,

We just wanted to thank you for the lovely accommodations that we had in your condo. Everything worked out perfectly-after we found the parking pass-the weather, the ocean conditions, the condo with the lovely lanai. Our vacation was super and the wedding went off without a hitch. We learned our way around the island and even got used to the crowds.

Thank you again.

Mike and Vicki

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you for the lovely accommodations

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2008

Hi Stephen,

We just wanted to thank you for the lovely accommodations that we had in your condo. Everything worked out perfectly-after we found the parking pass-the weather, the ocean conditions, the condo with the lovely lanai. Our vacation was super and the wedding went off without a hitch. We learned our way around the island and even got used to the crowds. O'ahu is definitely a change from Maui, our regular vacation spot.

Thank you again.

Mike and Vicki

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2008

Hi Stephen,

Well we are back in the cold and rain and wish we were still in Hawaii. Had a great 5 weeks. Thanks for everything. The internet worked great. I took several of your cards to pass on to friends.

Winnie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

Thank you,

We have had a great time everything was perfect but, we are not looking forward to returning to the snow tonight.

Rob & Kristen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review