reviews for: listing #39639 - Dominical, Costa Rica Villa rental

Don't miss this Oceanfront Luxury Villa. Wow, what a View!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dominical
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $425 /nt
    $1,875 - $2,975 /wk

sort by:

Paradise, As Advertised

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Flying Toucans in early June. We are a family of 4, including 9 and 11 year old girls. It was an experience of a lifetime! This property is spectacular and immaculate. It offers relaxation, incredible views, a wonderful pool, and every comfort you could wish for. There is an abundance of wildlife which is entertaining in itself. It's obvious that John and Mary have gone the extra mile. Daryl was a fantastic resource, and Joiner did a splendid job keeping everything in top notch condition.
Every previous review rates it a 5-star, with good reason. I second every positive comment that others have left.
Here are some extra tidbits that may help enhance your experience.
We had every intention to prepare our own meals, but quickly discovered that the local restaurants were fabulous and very reasonable. Specifically, Porque No, Exotica, and Parcella. Be sure to find these places in the daylight, as finding them at night can be tricky.
We flew in and out of Liberia, a 5-hour drive. The roads were surprisingly good, much better than I expected. Road signs could have been better. I recorded my rental car inspection as a precaution, just to avoid any unpleasant surprises when I dropped it off at the airport. We rented a Yaris, which was adequate for the driving we did.
The Whale's tail and horseback riding were fantastic. Lounging in the pool and admiring the views filled out our week.
A splendid vacation all around!
Thanks John and Mary! We've recommended Flying Toucans to our friends, and hope to visit again some time.

Owners response: Thanks Nick! Wonderful to have you as guests. Next time fly into San Jose(SJO) if you can as it's only a three hour drive through beautiful countryside and great roads.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Go Ahead and Do It!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Yes, it's exactly how it looks in the pictures. Wonderful, private,immaculate home. John and Mary have dedicated a lot of thought and pride into this home and it shows.Sometimes descriptions seem too good to be true. Not the case here. My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I've rented in Central America for over 10 years and this home is a gem. Go ahead, book it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mark for staying with us and finding Flying Toucans a wonderful place to stay. Hope you can return soon.
J&M

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

absolutely fantastic

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

It is really hard to write yet another review without repeating what other reviewers have said.

The property itself is immaculate, way above anything we have ever rented (we almost always rent a house on our vacation). As many have already stated, you could just stay there for the entire week, without going to the beach or taking trips and your vacation would be wonderful. Sipping cocktails by the pool while watching monkeys and listening to the ocean, all in absolute privacy (jungle is literally all around you) was fantastic. That said, we did the obligatory horse riding, zip line, beaches and restaurants - it was all very nice, but we were always so glad to come back to the house and jump into the pool.

We can't wait to come back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Yes, it is all that, and more.

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

Flying Toucans has so many positive reviews; I feel I would be beating a dead horse to simply list what everyone else has already written. Especially when you consider they are all true. Yes, Flying Toucans lives up to the hype. Rarely do you find a place that does, but everything there was amazing. My wife, sister, brother-in-law and I went February 1 – 8, 2014.

The house is as described. It is beautiful and is perfect for two couples (or one couple). It is very private and secure. There is covered parking and a lockable entry gate. You cannot see another neighbor, and you feel like you have the jungle to yourself. We saw amazing wildlife while lounging around the villa, from monkeys to toucans to a million butterflies. Though we did not get to see a sloth, there was always a parade of wildlife to keep us entertained.

The layout of the house works very well. The kitchen, outdoor living area and pool are seamlessly integrated. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and preparing cocktails of choice. The bedrooms are upstairs and each is large with an amazing bathroom. There was no need for us to “flip” for the best bedroom, as both were great.

The view is unbelievable from anywhere. Yes, you will find yourself staring at it, completely lost in your own world.

Darryl and Donna were great. They helped us with everything we asked for and provided us with great tips on what to do, see and eat.

We didn’t venture out much, so I am really not one to comment about excursions and such. We just hung around the villa and enjoyed the view, each other’s company and the wildlife. That being said, Café Exotica was great, and Road Shack has amazing sandwiches.

We will definitely return.

Owners response: Thanks Eric and Stephanie for choosing Flying Toucans. We are always excited for our guests when they book knowing what they will find and then hearing that they found it even better than they thought!
Hope you can visit again some day,
:) John and Mary

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Best vacation ever

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

My wife and I typically stay at luxury all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. After much research we decided to stay at Flying Toucans, everything looked perfect and it was! All the photo's, guest comments could not have prepared us once we were there in person, my wife cried as we entered the gate and saw the pool, ocean views and the villa. We were greeted by a Sloth hanging from the same tree that the toucans like to visit and eat berries from. The entire week the monkeys just hung out and swung and jumped across one side of the jungle (house in the middle) to the other. This was a regular daily show in the afternoon. We named the home "flying monkeys" but there were also plenty of toucans, pizotes, butterflies, colorful birds, humming birds and some very unusual critters that you have to see to believe. Really hard to believe that someplace like this exists anywhere in the world...WOW. The villa was designed perfectly, totally private from all neighbors, open aired, great weather and climate, and views from every room. One thing we noticed right away was that there were not any bugs or mosquitoes. The views of both the sunrise and sunsets were spectacular, we have never been anywhere in the world that had both. The pool was just the right size with beautiful turquoise tile that blended with the ocean below and the jungle, the infinity edge accentuated the endless ocean views. We as well did not want to ever leave the villa nor the pool, perfect temperature night and day with the best views of everything. The weather was great even though we stayed in November, a few downpours but sunny every day as well. We loved exploring the local beaches to many to mention, but especially enjoyed the Whale's Tail. The managers Daryl and Donna were very helpful with activities, restaurant recommendations etc. and they are very close by which was comforting. could go on and on (you say I have!) but we will be back. thanks John and Mary for the best vacation ever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I know it took you guys years to pull the trigger and get down to CR. So glad you finally made it and had the time of your lives!
John and Mary

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

I couldn't ask for anything more!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

The first thing you see is the view...Breathe taking. Pictures just don't compare to the real thing. The house is very private, other than the monkeys, toucans, parrots that make regular visits to the feeder. We enjoyed and saw more wildlife at the house than at the national parks. Very peaceful at the house, a great place to relax! We could have stayed at the house every day and had a wonderful time!
Great location, 10 minutes from a town (food, banks, places to eat) also near several waterfalls, lush jungle, and many beaches.
The house is very well maintained, very clean, the grounds are beautiful and the pool is amazing.
People ask me if I would stay there again...Yes!
Loved every minute of the trip and house just made it all that much better!
We actually had the privilege of meeting John (the owner) wonderful man with great advice about things to do and places go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jonathon for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed the beauty of Flying Toucans. Wish we had experienced it at such a young age as you guys!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely wonderful!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The pictures of this villa does not even do it justice, the place was absolutely wonderful!! We arrived at the end of the wet season in November. We planned several excursions throughout our week long trip, but found ourselves wanting to go back to, and stay at the house the majority of the time. The wildlife around the home is spectacular! Multi-colored toucans arrived on our second day while we were lounging by the fantastic infinity pool. Lots of humming birds, and howler monkeys also accompanied us a lot of the time. On our third day we even spotted a sloth in a tree nearby the house. There are numerous beaches within walking distance and even a water fall! We loved this fabulous Oceanfront Villa appropriately named 'Flying Toucans' and we definitely hope to return as soon as we can!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Catherine and Winston for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. When we lived in Dominical we enjoyed meeting our guests in person, but now living back in the US we miss having that opportunity. It too was a privilege to meet you wonderful Texans (my wife's family is from there) and we're so glad you enjoyed the beauty of Flying Toucans.
John & Mary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jungle Paradise!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We searched for a long time for the perfect spot that had the wildlife we were looking for and a great view. The moment we saw Flying Toucans we knew this is where we wanted to stay. The villa was amazing and the pool was very refreshing. Having a beautiful ocean view and a zoo in your backyard what more could you ask for? We were visited daily by monkeys, toucans, parrots and many more critters. Viewing all the incredible wildlife right in your backyard made our stay magical. I never knew I could enjoy bird watching so much but Costa Rica has so many beautiful birds to look at. We took a couple tours that Daryl recommended and we found them to be very enjoyable. The Tico people are so friendly and we loved the fact it was no pressure sales. I could not have picked a better place. Thank you for making the vacation of our dreams come true!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfection

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Wow. I can't even imagine how this could have been better. We stayed for two full weeks and wish we could haved stayed for the rest of our lives.

It's truly hard to even leave the property. It has it all. We saw more wildlife on the property than we saw anywhere else. Adult sloth in the back yard, baby sloth in the front. Toucans and monkeys every day. Hummingbirds, lizards, macaws, butterflies, iguana, crabs, all kinds of birds, even the insects were interesting.

The property managers were great and very helpful with suggestions. Also a lot of information available when you get there by reading the guest books and the binder that includes some lovely maps.

What fun taking a shower with the windows open and looking out to see a monkey, toucan, and sloth all watching you!

Dominical and Uvita are both close, good grocery stores in Uvita. The local fruit is heavenly.There is a fresh fish stand next to La Macha and we got some shrimp and took advantage of the wonderful kitchen and cooked at home many nights.

I could go on and on but I guess I'll stop. If you're considering this place, book it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Surely one of the most beautiful places on earth!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

There may be other places that are just as beautiful as Flying Toucans but when combined with the constant parade of wildlife and the quiet and peaceful setting, we think it is unbeatable. We have read, and wholeheartedly agree, with all the other positive comments from past guests. Our stay was for the Month of February, 2013.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfection in every way....

Review submitted: January 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

We had been dreaming of coming here for a long time and all our expectations were surpassed. The beauty and tranquility of Flying Toucans was just what we needed to de-stress and relax. We didn't do a lot beyond sitting in the sun and enjoying the pool (which was sublime with a view beyond your imagination). The house is out of the way and secluded, but we felt very safe. Every amenity you could want is here. The kitchen is both huge and modern (with full size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and all the cookware you need) and looks out into the open-air living room and pool. The living room area has plenty of seating and is quite comfortable. Everything here is done in a classy way. The bedrooms have fans, and BEAUTIFUL bathrooms with showers that open to the lush jungle. The master bedroom had a very comfortable bed and a TV for watching one of the many DVD's provided. The second floor terrace is HUGE and has a wonderful double hammock for afternoon naps. While this home is gorgeous and pristine, you won't believe the wildlife that surrounds you. Howler monkeys, a sloth family that lives in the tree right off the master bath, white-faced monkeys, AMAZING toucans, hummingbirds, dragonflies, lizards, crabs, are just some of the wild life you will see. If you decide to spend any time away from the villa you will find the charming and fun surfing village, Dominical, just a few minutes away. Some fun bars and shops, even a lovely Catholic Church we attended can be accessed easily. Watching the surfers from the bar/restuarant Tortilla Flats was fun and the locals are always entertaining with their crazy stories. You must, must have dinner at least once at a fabulous place called Exotica in Ojochal. The food is so sumptuous and the husband-wife-chef-hostess offer a great place for romance or family fun. If you like horseback riding don't miss Nauyaca Falls Riding trip. Really fun. We loved FT so much we are coming back for our honeymoon in April!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Exotic Dream Vacation!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We (Husband/Wife with 5 year old) stayed at Flying Toucans over Christmas 2012. It was a vacation like no other that we had experienced before.The wildlife was the most memorable (monkeys and toucans). We only left the house once a day and usually for a short periord of time. Nate, the 5 year old, preferred never to leave. The attention to detail was impressive. Everything for every day living was there which was very different from other houses that we have rented. Costa Rica in general requires that you are adventureous by nature. The time share/ all inclusive crowd need not apply. Driving is sketchy from American standards and there is a lack of signs. We found the driving fun though. The other reviews discuss many things that we concur with. We had fun driving to San Isidro and experiencing what regular Costa Ricans do. Playa Hermosa was nice and drive up ceviche was good and cheap. Fishing and snorkeling with captain Isidro was a highlight. Daryl, the manager, was an irreplaceable resource and completes the deal.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our family's 3rd visit to Flying Toucans

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

At this writing my family is enjoying our 3rd visit to Flying Toucans. If you never leave the villa while visiting, that would be just fine.

Yesterday was a good animal spotting day and we never left the villa. In the morning a troupe of howler monkeys made their appearance and hung out with us for most of the day. Later white-faced monkeys visited us. A mated pair of toucans has been with us since our arrival. On our previous two visits we heard about the sloth that frequents Flying Toucans but never saw him. Yesterday he arrived and is still with us today.

Flying Toucans is literally minutes from dozens of beaches. Yesterday we walked the "Whale Tail" when at low tide the beach appears and look just like a whale tail. We invested a couple of hours looking at ocean creatures left behind in the tidal pools. Today we are off to Hermosa Beach with great waves for swimming and body surfing. We also want to return to Parque Marino Balleno when at low tide you can climb over the mountain to Playa de Arco, which is very remote with dramatic cliffs.

On this trip we went white water rafting for our first time on the Rio Coto Brus, which was a lot of fun. Every year we ride the horses at Don Lulu's where you ride into the jungle to a waterfall and for the brave, can climb the waterfall (with assistance) and dive into a pool below. Tico breakfast riding in and lunch riding out. In other years we've ridden ATVs, zip-lined, etc. Lots to do here.

The local Tico restaurants are called "Sodas" and are ran as an extension of a local’s home and staffed by family. Sodas are quite common where we enjoy "casados" which in Spanish means "to marry" which means they marry a great piece of fresh fish (or pork or steak) with a nice salad then with beans and rice for $6-7. Great food and very safe to eat.

2008 was our first visit to Flying Toucans, which was a great adventure and something we though was behind us. Then in 2009 we couldn't stand the thought of not going again so we booked ourselves back to Flying Toucans. With our kids now in college, a few years passed and we thought a 2012 visit might be one of the last family vacations before they started their own families so we are back again.

Daryl and Donna, who manage Flying Toucans, have become familiar faces and always helpful with any questions or plans that you would like to make while at Flying Toucans.

Something tells me we will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We wanted a relaxing vacation for my wife's 60th birthday and Flying Toucans was more than expected. We have been all over the world and we both agree that this was the most relaxing, beautiful vacation we have ever taken. The views, sounds, tropical flowers and animals were so surprising, entertaining, and enjoyable. We spent 10 wonderful days at Flying Toucans and did not want to leave. We are so happy that John and Mary shared their tropical paradise with us. We can't thank them enough for the wonderful memories we have taken with us. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This house exceeded our expectations and was amazing

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

First let me say, if we had not stayed at this house we never would have seen all of the animals on my "must see" list! We took three guided tours and still saw more animals from the house then anywhere else. Being able to just hang out all day and see the toucans, howler monkeys, white face monkeys and more just from our living area was incredible. How can you beat that? The kids had fun playing in the pool and we all enjoyed the daily animal entertainment. Regarding the house, it is a wonderful design and you can't beat "living" in the outdoors. The owners and property managers were all extremely helpful as well. I just can't say enough about how wonderful this house and location are. I would highly recommend this to everyone, you will love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulouw, Amazing!!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

What a vacation, everyday was a new and exciting experience in Costa Rica. From the moment we arrived, the entrance of Flying Toucan welcomed us, to the wake up call in our comfy beds from the resident toucans, or the Howler Monkeys announcing the dawn, the birds, the humbingbirds, the pool view, the view of the humpback whale in the bay in from of FT. Everying was amazing, John and Mary have made this a vacation home you will feel welcome, comfortable, and will be planning your next visit before you leave. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Best Week ever!
My wife and I booked FT early this year. We were looking forward to daily adventures, hiking, zip-lining, etc. Then my wife broke her foot a month before we came down. Though she was out of the boot by the time we arrived, we were worried about what to do. We shouldn’t have been.
Mary was in the area, so when we arrived, she let us in and gave us the grand tour of the place. You can just tell the pride she has in the place. The setting was unbelievable! The view was amazing. The pool was a little warm (tropics) at times, but generally refreshing and very accessible – and there was an outdoor shower. We used the kitchen a little and mostly ate out, but the kitchen was well-equipped and should be fine for most people. The outdoor seating was fine, but Mary said she is getting new furniture, which should be great. It was the middle of rainy season and even though we didn’t wear bug spray and got maybe five mosquito bites all week. BRING SUNSCREEN!!!
Upstairs, you have two master suites. Each had individual A/C (not window) that worked very well. The bathrooms each were great with beautiful walk-in showers that opened up to the outside. One of the rooms had a futon that we didn’t use. There is a LARGE deck off the master bedroom with a hammock and some chairs. The beds (queen) were fine but nothing special.
We ended up not wanting to leave the place to go on adventures anyhow. We just went to the many good local restaurants.
The beaches down the hill are a bit tricky to get to in the rainy season, but were beautiful. Puerto Nuevo Beach is gorgeous, but try to go at low tide. Make a point to hike to the whale’s tale in Marina Ballena Park in Uvita.
Every morning my wife woke up at 5 with the howler monkeys carrying on. She spent hours each day pacing the property, taking pictures of howler monkeys, white faced monkeys, a sloth, toucans and aricari, vultures, hummingbirds and probably most everything you’d see if you went on a hike at Manuel Antonia. We were constantly amazed at the wildlife. Coco the howler even visited and checked out the kitchen. Fortunately we had no food out, so she just left, but not after giving us a “hurt” look as if she expected us to feed her lunch.
I could go on for pages. Just book the trip already.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Peace in Paradise

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Flying Toucans more than lived up to expectations and we felt right at home from the moment we walked down the garden path and took in that stunning view of the ocean across the infinity pool. Everything we could wish for had been provided and being surrounded by an abundance of nature's spectacular plant and animal life all made for a truly amazing, memorable and wonderfully relaxing vacation. In addition, the comprehensive arrival briefing and excellent service and advice provided throughout by the property managers, Darryl and Donna, left nothing to chance and made the Flying Toucans experience all the better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely the Best Vacation Ever.

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Perfect in every way. The weather was a little rainy but who cares? We had the pool, the ocean, the wildlife, the plants, the villa and of course Melanie. This was a beautiful villa. Surrounded by beautiful, lush greenery and plants, monkeys, toucans, coati's, raccoons, hummingbirds (Yes we saw all of these and more) we couldn't have asked for better. The pool and the view were fabulous. The people are very laid back and know how to really enjoy life. It's a wonderful break from the fast-paced rat race here in the U.S. They are very accommodating also. We do not speak Spanish but they always did what they could to help us. I would highly recommend Flying Toucans in Dominical. Allow yourself to be spoiled for awhile. You won't regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Perfection! - off the beaten path"

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

So, we stayed a week - wish it had been longer. so peaceful and so full of life. the house was incredibly well maintained. John and Mary really out did themselves. a view of the pacific to die for. wildlife almost within reach. monkeys, sloths, coatimundi, toucans - every day something new and fun! if you go, and need a shopper/chef, ask for Diana - she took great care of us. many thanks, we look forward to a return trip

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"Monkeys, Sloths, Toucans, oh my!!"

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My husband and I relaxed at the Flying Toucans for a week in July 2011 with one other couple. All four of us agreed that excluding our honeymoon's, this was the best vacation we had every been on. This place is amazing!!! The pictures show exactly what you will find at the Flying Toucans. They barely do it justice.Make sure you get to the house with daylight! We were delayed in leaving San Jose due to loss of luggage. Traveling in the dark and rain to find the house was a little daunting.Update your GPS with maps for CR or rent one.The packet of information/directions that the owners provided beforehand is crucial. At the FT there is an information binder along with guide books. The binder had detailed reviews restaurants, info about the house,hiking,attractions,etc.The hotel restaurant down the road was pricey, but had great views and food. Just bring a flashlight, it was a really dark walk home. No need to pack one, they provide them at the house.We really enjoyed Tortilla Flats in Dominical for breakfast.Ladies, the attire is very relaxed. Bring your breathable fabrics and leave the dressy stuff at home.This was our first time to Costa Rica.The restaurants/groceries were more expensive that we had anticipated.We have spent a lot of time in Mexico (Playa Del Carmen, Cozumel, etc) and thought prices would be similar to there.There were higher here in Costa Rica. The fact that you can drink the water and not get sick, scored more points for Costa Rica.The highlight was the wildlife at Flying Toucans. We saw two different types of monkeys, sloths, toucans, raccoons, lizards, hummingbirds, etc.You will not regret a stay at Flying Toucans!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Unbelievably Exceeds Expectations

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This is a really special place. It is rare (never) that there isn't something about a vacation that I would change but Flying Toucans exceeded my high expectations by leaps and bounds. The house is immaculately maintained. The woodwork practically glows and there was not a single cobweb to be found under the eaves in the outdoor living area. Also how is it possible that there are so few mosquitoes? The view is of course mesmerizing. We were entertained with a constant flow of wildlife: howler monkeys, capuchans, toucans, 3 toed sloth, hummingbirds,... All in all an amazing experience. I really can't say enough good things about Flying Toucans.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

More fantastic than advertised!

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

We have traveled in Costa Rica for six different years. Stayed in many luxury villas but none compared with the cleanliness views,pool, animal & Bird-life, upkeep of the villa and grounds all in total comfort. We are already booked for two weeks in 2012.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Wow. Wow. Wow. There is really not much else to say. We had the best vacation ever at Flying Toucans. We haven’t stopped talking about it since we returned a few weeks ago. The home is immaculate and inviting. A perfect vacation home.

From the yard, we saw lots of Toucans, Aracari, Hummingbirds, a huge frog/toad, lizards, whales, land crabs, Coati, and, of course, MONKEYS! We saw and heard Howler Monkeys every day. At least one a day hopped through the trees above us. They all were close, but never intruded and just went on their way eating leaves. Except for one…we assume it was the infamous Coco. She visited twice and tried to make herself right at home. She was easily "shoo'd" away. On our last day, there were at least 15 in the tree above the yard! Including two babies! That was a special treat for all of us, especially the kids. I guess they were saying good-bye…

The location is what sets this place apart from anywhere I have ever been. And there are NO mosquitoes! It's a rainforest! And I left with a never-opened bottle of repellent! Also, we NEVER saw a commercial airplane in the sky—and we had a huge,panoramic view of the sky! Not even a cloud trail from a plane – no sign at all. It was like flight paths were restricted over Dominical/Southern Pacific. It made it so peaceful. We also did NOT see any jet skis, parasailing, cruise ships or pleasure boats. A huge benefit in our books. The only craft we saw in the view in front of us was a small fishing boat every night…one little light off in the distance. And let me also add that my children, 9 & 11, never complained ONCE that they were bored or that there wasn’t any TV or video games….truly a miracle. They loved the pool, as did my husband and I. Perfect temperature, especially for evening swims! We ventured out on a few activities (Don Lulu's Horsback Ride to the Waterfalls is a MUST!) & visited the gorgeous, deserted beaches, but, everything you need is at Flying Toucans! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in St. Lucia in a private villa on a resort. We were looking for a similar experience in Costa Rica and, by chance, came across Flying Toucans as a result of a search engine search. We thought if it was 1/2 as nice as the photo's, we would be happy. Let me tell you it was better than the photo's!! Private, quiet and comfortable. As many folks have attested, we went thinking we would do lots of exploring, but everyday would slip by spending time looking at the beauty of the many flowers, hummingbirds, butterflies, sloth and her baby, monkeys, toucans, and gecko's! What we didn't recognize, we looked up. Couple the scenery, the fresh air and sound of birds with comfort and killer blender and fresh seafood, and we had no reason to leave! Anything we wanted was cheerily provided by Darryl. Inshore fishing, offshore fishing, masseuse to come to the house (oh that was divine!), etc. It was truly spectacular and my husband and I are counting down the days until we can return to paradise! Favorite restaurant: the Weber grill in the backyard! Favorite bar: the blender in the kitchen! Favorite Beach: the pool! From Sunrise to sunset, all of God's Glory can be seen from this one location!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

My family and I (3 adults, 2 kids aged 5 and 7) stayed at Flying Toucans from February 26 to March 5. Flying Toucans was perfect in every way. The view was incredible, the house was immaculate and Dominical is one of our favorite places on earth. It was hard to get our children to anything but splash around in the pool all week, but when we were in the mood for adventure, we were able to more than fill our week with activities that were within 30 minutes of Flying Toucans. The house was perfect for our family and would have been great for just a couple as well. I can't say enough good things. We travel frequently and this was not our first trip to Dominical, but we can't wait to go back to Flying Toucans. And just and aside for you that might share some of my fears- there were NO bugs!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Week

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Our stay at the Flying Toucans was amazing. We saw howler monkeys, white faced monkeys, sloths,squirrels,toucans, and numerous kinds of hummingbirds all from the fantastic pool. Daryl the manager met us at the Villa and he was great. It was a perfect week no problems at all.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We had an amazing experience at "Flying Toucans" in august. We have traveled quite a bit all over the world and this house quickly became a favorite for places to stay. It is just as beautiful as the pictures on the website. The views are incredible! If you are a nature lover this is paradise. We saw more wildlife at the house than anywhere else. I will never forget waking up to the call of the Howler monkeys every morning. Several times the whole family came through the yard to our delight! The White-Faced Capuchins also came by. We absolutely fell in love with the Toucans. They were there every day, sometimes four at a time. Tarzan, the sloth hung out in the trees and in the evening, Alan, the giant toad graced us with his presence. As a bird watcher, I counted 20 different species in one week.The house has a brilliantly designed open living space. It is a beautiful home that has everything you could need and it is very comfortable. The pool is delightful and the gardens bring the hummingbirds and the butterflies. John was happy to answer all questions and provide more information. There is a manager down the road that is just a phone call away that will assist you with anything that you need. Should you decide to venture out, in just a short drive you will find grocery stores, a bank, great restaurants and sodas, and fantastic places to explore. I highly recommend "Flying Toucans"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic vacation at Flying Toucans!

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

We had a fantastic vacation at the Flying Toucans. The villa is perfect for 2 couples, although we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves. The wildlife was everywhere! We saw Tarzan the sloth as well as toucans and white-faced monkeys. At the beach we saw some howler monkeys...and boy do they howl!

The view at Flying Toucans is amazing, such a wonderful place to wake up every morning. I also cannot say enough about the infinity pool, such a great place to lounge and take in the beautiful surroundings and view. The excursion to Don Lolo's was so much fun and worth every penny (cheap at $50/pp including breakfast and lunch!). The beaches at Dominical are very laid back and a great way to spend a day.

We only had one regret and that was that we did stay for longer! Thanks to John and Mary as well as Donna and Daryl, job well done on an outstanding vacation experience.

Allen and Rebecca

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just a wonderful vacation home in every respect

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Right from the point I first inquired about the availability of Flying Toucans we knew the house would be special. The owners John & Mary responded to our questions promptly & with great friendliness.
The approach to the property is great, along a little track with tropical woodland all around so you don't get to see the properties greatest feature too soon. Once parked, you walk through beautifully kept gardens containing all manner of plants strange to people from the UK! You see the infinity pool, and beyond it a view to die for across the bay, to the 'Whales Tail' and beyond to the Osa Peninsula. Our teenage boys, usually keen to get out and about to do things said 'it's so nice here, can we stay at this house?'
The house itself suited our needs perfectly - the bedrooms are lovely, the upstairs terrace got plenty of use (especially the hammock!) we swam in the pool several times a day (even during heavy tropical downpours) and just sat in the outdoor living area (a great novelty to us) soaking-in 'that view'. My favorite time of the day was early morning, as the sun rises over the hills behind the house, its rays are emphasized as they shine through the spray created by waves breaking on the rocks below.
We enjoyed the wildlife (one of the primary reasons we selected Flying Toucans) - Coati's visited most mornings, White Faced Capuchins on several occasions, and Howlers woke us with their shouts each morning. On 2 occasions they settled in the trees next to the house providing wonderful photo opportunities out of the shower-room windows.
No review of Flying Toucans is complete without mentioning the Chestnut Mandibled Toucans who were daily visitors, along with their smaller cousins the Fiery Billed Aracari's. Lovely, characterful birds and so much fun to watch.
Daryl and Donna, our local contacts, went out of their way to ensure our stay went smoothly. We cannot wait to return.

Ian, Sue, Tim and Cam
West Sussex, UK

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Honeymoon Imagined!

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Vibrant colors always nearby, kind and helpful management, wildlife like nothing we’ve ever seen: Mike and I couldn't have imagined a better place to have spent our honeymoon together! I'd say we are quite the adventurers, but even so there wasn't as much of a need to go off and explore every day, considering all the wildlife and beauty your house in itself provided. We spent many days just lounging around the pool (if it was possible we probably would have taken that home with us!) or going to close-by beaches, and this alone created so many humorous stories and wonderful memories for us. The views are breathtaking and we took over 2,000 pictures, the majority being the awe-inspiring scenes your villa provides. In particular, it was important for us to experience a sense of seclusion and privacy, without stealing from the significance also of a warm and characteristic atmosphere – your home easily captured all of these hopes we had, while fulfilling so much more, as well! Thank you wouldn’t even remotely describe the gratitude we both feel for the fact that Flying Toucans allowed us to have the best honeymoon we ever could have had. -Mike and Diane, Worcester, MA July 2010

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Everyone talks about the view at Flying Toucans and seeing is believing! It is amazing; you can look out and never get tired of what you are seeing. From the waves crashing down below, to the Toucans flying and the howler monkeys jumping from tree to tree. My children (ages 21 and 24) would just stare out from the pool to the view. They did not use a cell phone, TV or laptop during the entire visit! The house is amazing as well, the kitchen is well equipped and we made many meals (fresh seafood purchased up the road) and ate on the dining room table located outside.
Thank you so much for giving my family the opportunity to see nature up close. There were times we thought someone was filming for National Geographic! This is Paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely stunning!

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

This place exceded all expectations as the photos don't do it justice. We had such a great honeymoon here July 2010, it is definitely a cherishable time to never forget. Thank you so much John and Mary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We searched high and low 3 years ago for the best possible accommodations on the pacific coast of CR and now we are returning to the place we found 3 years ago for the 4th time. My family always wants to see and experience something new, so when I say that we are returning for the 4th visit that says alot. The thought and planning put into the style, positioning and decor of the home is truly, I believe God inspired. From the shower that opens up to a view of the ocean to the location of the infinity pool that seems to melt into the ocean.

We asked the owner on our first visit what tours we should take to see wildlife. He told us we would see more wildlife in our back yard than on any tour and he was so right. White face monkeys, howler monkeys. Toucans, slouths, eagles, parrots, hummingbirds, just to name a few, made this home a virtual wildlife refuge. Not to mention that you are viewing all this while swimming in the pool, lying in a hammock or standing in the shower, not exactly the "man vs. wild" episode you see on the discovery channel.

We have now visited in the dry and what they call the rainy season. A couple of things I liked about the so called rainy season was that everything was cheaper, airfare, rental cars, hotels in san Jose and even Flying toucans. From my experience the rainy season consists of days that it rains and its sunny all in the same day. Things are lush the way you expect them to be in the rain forest. So when ever you have a chance to go to Flying Toucans is the best time to be there.

I look forward to our trip there this fall and I hope I have inspired you to take advantage of this dream home on your vacation. The only difficult part of writing this is that I want to make sure there is always room for me at Flying toucans and they are not always booked up, but you just cant keep this one a secret.
Enjoy
The Carlisle family, USA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Wow! That's what it's like to stay at Flying Toucans!

We particularly enjoy the beautiful spectacular views of the close and distant ocean, the whitewater, the birds every day who fly by and some stay, the tranquility of the home is like being in Paradise (a very private one)...

The Infinity pool is just the right size and is just awesome when you're in it looking at the beautiful view.

The open living areas are just amazing. You never feel like your enclosed like in a normal home... It makes one feel like there is no walls to keep out the fantastic views and the lush surrounding plants and wonderful tropical flowers.

The Toucans and white faced monkeys, the sloth (named Tarzan), the Pelicans, the Eagles and so much more are always present to keep your interests occupied for hours...

And the closeness to the small town of Dominical with it's quaint shops and great restaurants and the great roads make this a No. 1 for vacationers who want the best and have it all at one place...

We love John and Mary too... It's always great to see them and talk story as they share insight on Costa Rica.

Time for you to book your trip now... Relax and enjoy the best of Costa Rica at Flying Toucans... We can't wait to get back there soon.

Art and Deborah Mazano
Maui, Hawaii

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

"Although my wife and I always spend weeks researching and planning our vacations, never has it paid off like this time! After looking at hundreds of possible rental villas in a dozen locations throughout Costa Rica, we finally settled on Flying Toucans based on the photos on their website as well as on various comments on on-line travel forums. We figured that if it was even close to the way it appears, we couldn't lose. As it turned out, the pictures don't do it justice and the comments, although right on, don't go far enough. Everything was perfect.
From the welcoming illuminated carport (we arrived after dark) to the stunning landscaping and magnificent views we were continually amazed that a place could be so perfect. The beds were comfortable; the linens, top quality and the kitchen was appointed with beautiful appliances (including dishwasher,) granite countertops, and an open counter looking out over the bay. Everything we could imagine needing was provided including condiments, small appliances, charcoal and lighter for the grill and excellent pots and pans. The knives were also razor sharp! Every morning the Toucans woke us and, although not every day, we did see lots of monkeys and a sloth even hung out in one of the trees next to the house for a couple of days.
The house is very convenient to everything, supermarkets, beaches and restaurants. In fact, there is a wonderful restaurant at the Cuna del Angel hotel walking distance from the villa!
The owners' manager even helped us with directions, advice and booking of tours, restaurant reservations (there are several outstanding restaurants in the area) and even helped with a little problem with our rental car.
We are spending the second week of our vacation traveling around Costa Rica but if I had it to do over again, I would have opted for the entire time at Flying Toucans. Although we generally go somewhere different every year, I know that this is a place that we will return. "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

My sister, Tamara, has given your house and property the ultimate recommendation. She has been struggling with what to come back as in her next life ... a beach dog or a whale. Well, now she's decided to come back as your home! ... We have rented 7 houses in the area over the past 10 years and Flying Toucans is at the top of our list.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our best vacation ever!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

Although my wife and I always spend weeks researching and planning our vacations, never has it paid off like this time! After looking at hundreds of possible rental villas in a dozen locations throughout Costa Rica, we finally settled on Flying Toucans based on the photos on their website as well as on various comments on on-line travel forums. We figured that if it was even close to the way it appears, we couldn't lose. As it turned out, the pictures don't do it justice and the comments, although right on, don't go far enough. Everything was perfect.
From the welcoming illuminated carport (we arrived after dark) to the stunning landscaping and magnificent views we were continually amazed that a place could be so perfect. The beds were comfortable; the linens, top quality and the kitchen was appointed with beautiful appliances (including dishwasher,) granite countertops, and an open counter looking out over the bay. Everything we could imagine needing was provided including condiments, small appliances, charcoal and lighter for the grill and excellent pots and pans. The knives were also razor sharp! Every morning the Toucans woke us and, although not every day, we did see lots of monkeys and a sloth even hung out in one of the trees next to the house for a couple of days.
The house is very convenient to everything, supermarkets, beaches and restaurants. In fact, there is a wonderful restaurant at the Cuna del Angel hotel walking distance from the villa!
The owners' manager even helped us with directions, advice and booking of tours, restaurant reservations (there are several outstanding restaurants in the area) and even helped with a little problem with our rental car.
We are spending the second week of our vacation traveling around Costa Rica but if I had it to do over again, I would have opted for the entire time at Flying Toucans. Although we generally go somewhere different every year, I know that this is a place that we will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

We searched high and low 3 years ago for the best possible accommodations on the pacific coast of CR and now we are returning to the place we found 3 years ago for the 4th time. My family always wants to see and experience something new, so when I say that we are returning for the 4th visit that says alot. The thought and planning put into the style, positioning and decor of the home is truly, I believe God inspired. From the shower that opens up to a view of the ocean to the location of the infinity pool that seems to melt into the ocean.

We asked the owner on our first visit what tours we should take to see wildlife. He told us we would see more wildlife in our back yard than on any tour and he was so right. White face monkeys, howler monkeys. Toucans, slouths, eagles, parrots, hummingbirds, just to name a few, made this home a virtual wildlife refuge. Not to mention that you are viewing all this while swimming in the pool, lying in a hammock or standing in the shower, not exactly the "man vs. wild" episode you see on the discovery channel.

We have now visited in the dry and what they call the rainy season. A couple of things I liked about the so called rainy season was that everything was cheaper, airfare, rental cars, hotels in san Jose and even Flying toucans. From my experience the rainy season consists of days that it rains and its sunny all in the same day. Things are lush the way you expect them to be in the rain forest. So when ever you have a chance to go to Flying Toucans is the best time to be there.

I look forward to our trip there this fall and I hope I have inspired you to take advantage of this dream home on your vacation. The only difficult part of writing this is that I want to make sure there is always room for me at Flying toucans and they are not always booked up, but you just cant keep this one a secret.
Enjoy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than I could have imagined!

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

Seldom does reality live up to one's expectations but Flying Toucans renewed my faith. From the moment we arrived to take in the breathtaking view (the picture is true!) to the morning of our reluctant departure, everything exceeded our expectations! Once we could tear ourselves from the view, we began to appreciate the beautiful tropical decor (the living/dining area is completely open!) and thoughtful touches like the local guide book with restaurants, shopping, beaches and all sorts of interesting information on the area that only a local would know. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and the knives, razor sharp. The location between the two towns Uvita and Dominical put us close to all sorts of restaurants, but mostly, we just wanted to stay close to "home." I could not recommend Flying Toucans more highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spread the word about Flying Toucans!

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

I want to complement you on providing not only one of the most beautifully designed and decorated houses with of course that "in the rain forrest" feel, but for keeping it spotlessly clean and providing excellent service for any of our needs.
It indeed is a dream of a vacation to stay in your place. Where else can you look out your shower window at the slough playing and the monkeys climbing. Where else can you have your morning coffee overlooking the animals, and waiting for the afternoon visit by the Toucans, all the while keeping cool with the breeze of your fans and the tepid water of your pool? Its up to us to enjoy ourselves, [and we did] but you provide everything to make it possible.


Thanks,


Jim and Barb from San Diego

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply the Best

Review submitted: February 7, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I live in Hawaii and Flying Toucans even exceeded my high expectations for beauty, wildlife and adventure. Want to go back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truly Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: March 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This place is top notch... excellent in every respect. Highly recommended. We plan to be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review