reviews for: listing #39708 - Sunset Beach, California Condo rental

Cape Catalina 'A': Luxury, Oceanview, Executive Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $575 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $16,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful home in a perfect location

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We decided to take a memorable vacation before our youngest son graduates from high school this coming school year. We brought our three children to this wonderful beach house on beautiful sunset beach. We had a great time and hate to leave. I cannot say enough about this home. It is the perfect vacation spot. There is plenty of space to spend some downtime from the normal rigors of life. The house has all the amenities I wanted. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. The owners are very easy to get along with. I'm pretty sure there will be another visit here for us in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Last Parents paid California vacation

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We spent a week at Cape Catalina with our graduating university children and thier partners as a final send off from mom & dad's payroll. The place is fabulous! It fit just what we were looking for. Space for 6 adults to move around, close to the beach and it was clean and tidy. We were able to watch dolphins and surfers from the living room and roof top deck! The house is very nicely appointed and having boogie boards and bikes was great. The oweners were always responsive to our inquiries and provided some great tips on things to do in the area. We had a great time and would go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love, love, love!

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

We had a blast at Cape A, and we can't wait to go back again! The upgrades and top-notch finishes throught the house (bedrooms, bathrooms, KITCHEN, living room)... I now want to remodel my own home to match! What a beatuiful home, and you can't beat the beach just a stone's throw away.

Also, the owners are a delight to work with... overall, an amazing experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous House!

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

LOVED the house! Nicest house we've ever rented while on vacation. Had a very fun and relaxing stay. Gorgeous and huge kitchen, with everything we needed for cooking a real meal (and arranged in a way that made everything really easy to find). Super pretty view from the top floor and roof level. Loved being able to look at the beach from the roof with a book and a coffee in the morning (roof also has a bbq and table/chairs).

Also loved being able to walk right down to the beach. Overall, the house has pretty much everything you could need, right down to a couple of beach cruisers in the garage. The place was super-clean, and the owners were great (very responsive to emails when setting up the rental). It would be a terrific house for a mellow group or a big family--there are bedrooms enough so that everybody would have a comfortable place to sleep, and the place feels very spacious.

Would definitely recommend! And would love to stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific Place in Sunset Beach

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Cape Catalina and were blown away by the location, the view, and the house itself. First off, the pictures do not do the house justice...the house looks brand new both inside and out and has terrific views of the ocean from the master bedroom, guest room, and the upstairs kitchen/dining room/living room area (not to mention the rooftop deck). We spent a relaxing weekend watching the waves crash on the beach, cooking some delicious meals in the well equipped kitchen, and rocking out to the whole house music system.

The beach is steps away from the house and is amazingly chill. I grew up in the area and picked Cape Catalina for its location in Sunset Beach as the beach was a favorite of mine growing up because of the fun surf and mellow atmosphere. My return visit did not disappoint.

The house was well equipped with a bbq, lounge chairs, and so forth up on the roof. The master bedroom was amazingly comfortable and the master bath steam shower with multiple shower heads and body sprayers was amazing. The house is well equipped for a lazy night in after a day spent hanging at the beach and is close to some local restaurants and such should you prefer to go out.

The owner answered all of my questions and was very responsive. I cannot recommend Cape Catalina enough. I hope you all enjoy your stay as much as I did!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cape Catalina Beach Rental

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

This was the nicest vacation home we have ever rented. The house is even more beautiful than the pictures. It is very clean with many upgrades and provides a home away from home for vacation. We have 3 children who loved the house. It is right on the beach with easy access. Very close to many of S. CA attractions and yet you feel like you are staying in a small town. Great pizza place and restaurants near by. Also Kayak rental about a block away.

The owners were so easy to deal with and provided everything we needed for a great stay. They were professional and kept us up to date with emails and made it very easy to get into the home.

We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Our Vacation

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We rented this home first week of August 2010. We split it with another family. Great Place.....walk right to the beach, had all the amenities we needed. Had an issue with the BBQ Grill....the owner replaced it the next day.....Great home if yuo choose to rent

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 13, 2009   Date of arrival: May 13, 2009

This home was absolutely amazing! There really are not enough positive things I could say about this house. It really surpassed all of our expecatations. There were 9 of us who stayed for a week at this rental home - 6 adults & 3 children - and we all fit comfortably. Everything is top of the line - from the oven to the bathrooms! You could have fit all 9 of us in the master bathroom! This house is conveniently located to so many things - including the beach - only a few steps away! Disney was only a short drive away, as was the Long Beach Convention Center which 2 of the people we were with needed to go to. If we ever go back to this area you can bet we will be staying at this house. I also need to say that even though I never met the owners it was such a pleasure dealing with them via email...they were fast to reply to any email and able to answer any questions/concerns we had.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 12, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This is a beautiful home. Tremendous view of the ocean, steps from the beach. The house was equiped with everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The roof-top patio is great. We not only could see the ocean but saw the Disneyland fireworks from the other direction. I would definitely recommend this location to travelers near and far. Our large family had plenty of room to relax. The beds were very comfortable. We were so pleased with our choice.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Vacation!

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2008

We thought the pictures and home description were awesome but it was even better in person and absolutely spotless. We are already talking about returning to enjoy this property again. There is so much to see and do we did not have enough time there.

Everything promised in the listing was delivered and more. Local information and detailed instructions on all the important workings. The location is quiet, safe and as stated steps from a wonderful beach, walking distance to Bolsa Chica State Beach and Ecological Reserve, convenient garage parking, BBQ on the rooftop deck, and the fantastic open plan made our family holiday perfect. Very clean and well fitted out, all the bathrooms are big as are the bedrooms. It was perfect for our family vacation and traveling with 7 including 3 small children as the home was wonderfully suited. We found it exactly as described. I cannot recommend this property more; it is certainly worth every cent.

Every day we enjoyed one of the loveliest sunsets from the balcony overlooking the ocean.
Marnie and Robert saw to our every need and were very accommodating with any requests. We have rented properties very often and around the world but this was by far the loveliest.
Dining: we found many good restaurants nearby that delivered and left the menus and information with the owner. We'll be back!
DJ, Minnesota

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review