reviews for: listing #39722 - Bryson City, North Carolina Cabin rental

Far Horizon - Amazing Long Range Views from Secluded Setting
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $165 /nt
    $870 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Christmas

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at Far Horizon. As always, the drive up was an adventure, but well worth it. Not a lot of sun this time, but AMAZING cloud watching over the mountains. My nephews loved (as did the adults) riding the Polar Express and we all got bells this time. We played lots of cards and enjoyed some downtime. Thanks for wonderful Christmas memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romantic Getaway (#2)

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

Back again after our first stay 2 years ago and the view and atmosphere is still as beautiful and breath taking. We never left except for dinner at Jimmy Mac's in town (Minnesota Fats elk burger is da bomb!) ~ this time was 'alone time' in our favorite romantic location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Getaway 2014

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

We needed to get away from everyday life for awhile and enjoy each others company so we found Far Horizon. Wow!! Once we got up the mountain I realized that this was it for our new "spot". This trip was just us and the baby (18 months) but we were able to hike the national park so very close to our cabin. Discovering the tunnel and Gold Mine Loop made us hungry for more. We packed up for our last hike and ran into a wild boar! We found what we were looking for at Far Horizon. So much beauty untouched like a hidden gem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Tree House for Adults

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

A tree house for adults is the best way I could describe this wonderful cabin. Even with unexpected snow and being trapped for an extra day was worth the drive to get here. I could not ask for a better place to really get away from it all. The views were magnificent no matter which way you look. We will forever call this place our home and will definitely be returning in the near future. Let me also note that the staff at Yellow Rose Realty are also magnificent. To whoever read this, kick back, relax & enjoy your stay. I hope you never want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Return Every Year

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

My husband and I came to Far Horizon for our wedding anniversary. We sought seclusion, peace, relaxation, romance, and wonderful photograph opportunities. We found all of this in abundance!! It's quite beautiful here.We plan to return every year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oasis in the Sky

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

We could not have asked for a more wonderful and peaceful spring break! What an adventure driving up to the Far Horizon each night after long days of walking to waterfalls, enjoying Biltmore gardens and estate, hiking Clingmans Dome, and enjoying all the nature that surrounds this beautiful cabin! We can't wait to return to this oasis in the sky! Thank you for sharing your retreat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Entries

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

We have spent 4 lovely days in this beautiful area. The house is very comfortable and all one could wish for. Arriving in the dark was an experience!! Looking through this guest book, folks are continuously using adjectives like awesome, wonderful, beautiful, etc, they are all totally correct. Our first experience of the Smoky's and it will remain with us in our memories and on film.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Cabin is Absolutely Beautiful!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We fell in love with it from the moment we pulled up and have loved it all the way through our stay. A list of stuff we loved and tips:
1. The cabin & the view.
2. The beds & pillows are awesome.
3. We got to see the fireworks right from the cabin (by the way they start at 10pm).
4. If you go white water rafting use Wild Waters through Yellow Rose Reality (make sure you wear water shoes).
5. Definitely to to Deep Creek & go tubing; cheap activity that can be fun all day. Bring a picnic.
6. Go to Sylva & use their Walmart to buy grocery's; every place around here is to expensive.
7. Make sure you visit the local stores (beautiful stuff; definitely go to Bread Basket and also coffee at Mountain Perks).
I can go on and on, we loved it. The people at Yellow Rose Reality were very helpful, nice people and they made our stay even better.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Amazing Experience in the Mountains

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

This cabin was really well decorated and had all the basic amenities needed for its occupants to have a wonderful experience. The view from the cabin was spectacular!! Especially in the morning when the clouds were at a lower level. It felt like we were above the clouds and the mountains just floated on them. Finally the road leading to the cabin was an adventure in itself.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house and views! Horrible rental company!

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

We stayed in this house and it was beautiful! The views were outstanding. It is very secluded. Overall, a great house. The down side is the rental company, Yellow Rose Reality, was horrible. The day we arrived, we received a voice mail saying that the hot tub had a "small leak". We were instructed to use a garden hose outside to fill it if needed. The hose had been tossed off the deck in the grass and was not connected to the outdoor faucet. Water was in the hose and it was frozen solid. We laid the hose out on the deck and poured hot water on it until we could use it. The hot tub was leaking so much that large icicles formed under the deck. Almost all the light bulbs in the lamps were out or missing. Someone's underwear was hanging on the back of the bathroom door down stairs. The pantry cabinet had open food containers in it. We looked past all of this! We did enjoy our stay. It gets bad after we got home. We noticed a $50 charge on our credit card from Yellow Rose Reality. We inquired about the charge and were accused of having a pet at the house. We did not have a pet! We cleaned the house very well before leaving. We even picked up the rugs and beat them with a broom over the rail of the deck because the vacuum was broken. Yellow Rose Reality called us a liar multiple times. We have the emails to prove it. They stated that they had plenty of business and did not care about us not renting from them again! We would have rented this house again in the future but we will not now! Yellow Rose Reality staff were very rude. We will go back to Bryson City someday but I can assure you we will not rent from Yellow Rose Reality ever again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have worked with our management company for many years and have found them to be professional, friendly, and accommodating to both owners and renters. Cabins are well maintained and open food containers are not left after a rental. We do rely on feedback from our renters about problems with any equipment supplied in the cabin; those in the cabin are for the convenience of our guests (the vacuum cleaner has been replaced); the cleaning crew uses its own tools. Renters are notified of any known issues before their arrival (such the hot tub leak which will be repaired once parts arrive) and are given the opportunity to change their reservation. Problems that arrise during the actual rental are addressed immediately. In this particular case the renters were reimbursed for the charge that they felt was unwarranted, even though additional cleaning was required to bring the cabin back to an acceptable level for our next guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, Quiet, and Stunning!

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful remote location to get away from it all, this is the place! The cabin is warm, cozy, relaxing, and very clean. The beds are very comfortable and smelled so nice. :-) It was like falling into a cloud to sleep. Sitting in the hot tub and watching the stars in the sky or the clouds rolling down the mountainside into the valley below was very cool. We saw a beautiful red hawk, a fox, and a few large wild birds of some sort (turkey or peacock)..OH!!...and at least 3 different kinds of lizards (so cute!). The long range views are stunning....the colorful sunrises were worth getting up for: just wrap up in a blanket with a fresh cup of coffee and your camera on the porch in the mornings and shoot! Still, photos don't do it justice! The road to the cabin is a steep and winding one with only a few places wide enough to fit passing vehicles, however, there was hardly any traffic. We never met anyone going in the other direction, so it was never a problem. It *IS* paved. If you have ever lived in rural areas, you know that tar and chipped *IS* paved. There are sections with gravel and some washboarding, but I'm sure that's for traction in the winter. A good portion of the road is blacktopped. Some of the graveled areas have large ruts from being washed away by rain runoff, but we drove a car (not an SUV, truck, or 4-wheel drive anything) up and down with no problems - just take it slow, navigate the occasional rut, and you will be fine. ;-) The cabin is WAY up there! My ears popped every time we came down or went up the hill. There is a wooden one lane bridge near the bottom that you cross that freaked me out a little because it doesn't look too sturdy, but it is SOLID - solid enough to hold trucks moving cabin building materials up the mountain, right??? LOL Do NOT try to find this place in the dark. Even with directions, it's a little confusing at first in DAYLIGHT. Once you find it the first time, however, you won't have any more problems locating it. It's very close to everything in the area too, including a couple of grocery stores, The Road to Nowhere, Fontana Lake, Deep Creek, etc. The longest part of going anywhere is the drive up and down the hill. This was our first stay, it was our wedding anniversary, and my husband and I have decided that every anniversary from now on will be spent at Far Horizon. We loved it THAT much. :-) Thank you for a memorable, warm, and comfortable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Far Horizon is truly FAR HORIZON!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Our overall stay was fantastic. The view was awesome! Even woke up one morning ABOVE THE CLOUD COVER! Nice sunny at the house but when we drove down the mountain into town we were under cloudy skies.
I would definitely forewarn folks about arriving to the property AFTER DARK and also the road condition going up the mountain. It is NOT a paved road but a gravel road. A little confusing, especially in the dark when you are trying to find your way. We were pretty scared the first night driving up the mountain in the pitch black with no idea of where we were going. Especially frightful was the fact that there was no where to turn around and come back into town and spend the night and venture up the mountain during daylight hours. This was our biggest worry all week long - but after about 5 trips up and down, we got to know the road better. Very sharp curves and definitely scary at night.

Our view from the mountaintop (which is indeed where we were) was totally awesome. The sunsets AND the sunrises were spectacular. We did a little hiking around the last bit of road to see where it went and we were definitely at the top of the mountain range. Very remote and secluded for sure.

Because of the steep decents nearby, I would NOT recommend this for young children. For hikers, teenagers, romatic getaways and girls getaway, it was awesome as long as heights don't scare them. The over age 55+ might enjoy this location as long as they are in good physical shape and the altitude doesn't affect them and they can handle the drive up. Does require the use of lower gears on your transmission - would not recommend this for a manual transmission.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The cabin is on a mountain road that is used by year around residents. The lower part has to be gravel to allow them access during snowny weather. The top section, which is the steeper section, is paved all the way to the cabin. We have had all types of vehicles up at the cabin, including sports cars and manual transmissions, with no difficulties.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking View

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

Cabin amenities and view are breathtaking/outstanding. Staff at Yellow Rose are very helpful and friendly. I loved the daily hikes with my boys; we even walked/hiked round trip to Bryson City. The hot tub is awesome.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A LittleBit of Heaven

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

Thanks for the opportunity to experience something so beautiful. The views of the clouds in the morning was the most breathtaking thing I have seen in a long time. The time with family in your cabin was priceless. A little bit of Heaven.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular View

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

We happened upon Yellow Rose Realty and they led us to this beautiful cabin with the most spectacular view! My husband and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to enjoy our anniversary than here! Truly relaxing, and the drive up, just another fun part of it all…thanks so much for sharing God’s country with us…

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to Return

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2008

We loved staying here at Far Horizon. We hope to be able to return again. Not only did we love the house, there is so much to do around the area. Bryson City and her residents are so welcoming. Thanks again for sharing the cabin with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2007

What a wonderful retreat! Everything was wonderful! We enjoyed the scenery, the house, the beds, the area, etc. And – the photographs on the walls are fantastic. It was a quiet week of fun and relaxation. We hope to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2007

WOW! Everything is “Top of the line” quality! The beds – AHHH. The view – WOW! The hot tub – AWESOME! Thanks for TOP QUALITY accommodations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great reunion spot

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2007

Great reunion spot! What a magnificent view. We have loved the Smoky mountains and especially the fishing. Thank you for a wonderful break. These beds are very hard to get out of in the mornings! Superb!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

What a wonderful stay in your beautiful home! It served as a welcoming base camp after our busy days on the river or in the mountains. We loved the welcome relief from the heat and humidity of Charleston and being able to eat and star gaze on the porch. I’ve never seen so many hummingbirds. Our student from France was impressed by our mountains and this cabin. Our family enjoyed our time here and will have many fond memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Untitled

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We come to this area every year & rent a “cabin”. Have to say that Far Horizon is by far the very best yet! We have been challenged by roads quite similar to this one before. Guess that is necessary to get views as spectacular and breathtaking as this one. The house is charming. Love the window seat upstairs. Enjoyed by morning coffee there. Amazing view and a truly wonderful way to start the day. The décor and especially the photo’s add to the enjoyment of this lovely retreat. You feel as if you are the only people in the world and are so aware of God’s wonder and blessing of nature and true peace. The hot tub is a delightful bonus. A wonderful way to relax at the end of a long day of sight seeing and shopping. The view of the fireworks from Bryson City made us feel like royalty. Never again will we experience a viewing such as that…WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! Thank you for sharing your amazing home. We feel so lucky to have been able to enjoy it for the time we have. Is has passed much too quickly. Hate to leave this piece of paradise but we will definitely be back. Thank you again….just the best place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Just beautiful!

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

This is the most beautiful place I have ever been, I cannot wait to come back to it. Getting to wake up to the incredible views every morning was breathtaking. If you are scared of ladybugs, this is not for you, though, I didn't mind them. Then again, if you are afraid of ladybugs, you shouldn't be in the woods. I also bought smoking chips for the grill and we got the rare opportunity to cook our meals together that tasted fabulous at the grill. My boyfriend loved grilling our dinner that most people will never get a view like that from! :) Directions could have been a little better though. Prob would not have gotten lost the first run out if it was noted that the fork in the road is an extremely sharp right turn up what we thought was a driveway, but there was a nice young man at the bottom of the mountain that actually drove us up there, so that was a plus. Great city, great mountain, great people!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The most beautiful place I have ever been

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

This is the most beautiful place I have ever been, I cannot wait to come back to it. Getting to wake up to the incredible views every morning was breathtaking. If you are scared of ladybugs, this is not for you, though, I didn't mind them. Then again, if you are afraid of ladybugs, you shouldn't be in the woods. I also bought smoking chips for the grill and we got the rare opportunity to cook our meals together that tasted fabulous at the grill. My boyfriend loved grilling our dinner that most people will never get a view like that from! :) Directions could have been a little better though. Prob would not have gotten lost the first run out if it was noted that the fork in the road is an extremely sharp right turn up what we thought was a driveway, but there was a nice young man at the bottom of the mountain that actually drove us up there, so that was a plus. Great city, great mountain, great people!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review