reviews for: listing #39775 - Nags Head, North Carolina House rental

Fishful Thinking
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village at Nags Head
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Funtastic vacation

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Very nice and clean, had everything you need to get away from it all. There were 7 of us that stay in the house comfortably. Close to everything the ocean, shops, grocery store. Val was very nice and helpful in making our stay as pleasantly possible,m with helpful hints in the email communication as well as having information posted on the refrig. If I were to come back to Nags Head I would diffently stay here again. Enjoy the hot tub every night of our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Peaceful Haven In Nags Head

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The house was ideally situated close to beaches, The Sound - (we watched the 4th of July fireworks from there) and restaurants. There was a fully equipped kitchen and everything was nice and clean. There is a supermarket close by that you could walk to for groceries etc.... I recommend joining the Beach Club as there are Life Guards on duty and you have the choice of the beach or the pool. There were 2 teenage boys with us and the location of the house meant that they could go off on the bicycles and explore as we felt it was a very safe area. I would be happy to recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Outer Banks Haven in Nags Head

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The house was ideally situated close to beaches, The Sound - (we watched the 4th of July fireworks from there) and restaurants. There was a fully equipped kitchen and everything was nice and clean. There is a supermarket close by that you could walk to for groceries etc.... I recommend joining the Beach Club as there are Life Guards on duty and you have the choice of the beach or the pool.
There were 2 teenage boys with us and the location of the house meant that they could go off on the bicycles and explore as we felt it was a very safe area. I would be happy to recommend this property to friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonder location and great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

This was our first time staying at Fishful Thinking and we could not have been more pleased. The location is perfect for those that are looking to have easy access to various activities and shopping wihtout being right in the thick of things. The community was clean, peaceful and a very short distance from the beach. Also, having access to the Village Beach Club was awesome and made our stay so much nicer. It was so convenient for the days that we spent at the beach and the shuttle service was a very nice touch.

I would definitely recommend this location and I plan to come back as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This was a great place to relax while remaining close to great restaurants and shops. Home was clean and very welcoming.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Asome place for a getaway! House was nice, quiet & had everthing we needed! I reserved at the last minute and the owners were very accomidating! They made sure we had everything we needed! Great rates & a great place to stay! We would love to stay again!

Sarah & Scott

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you to all of our renters who have graciously submitted a review on our cottage! As we close another busy rental season at Fishful Thinking, we also realize how fortunate we have been to have had such conscientious and respectful renters througout the season. As newlyweds and young parents, we often dreamed of owning our own place in Nags Head. Fishful Thinking is our dream come true, and we love to share it with other Nags Head lovers! We hope to have not only new families visit our cottage in the coming months, but as always, we love our "return renters" too!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Was Just Perfect!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

Let me start by saying, the owners of this property are awesome! I had the unfortunate week, the week of Irene. They kept me up to date as to how the conditions were in OBX and the earliest time that tourists could go back onto the island. Once we were finally cleared to go, we were there! Found the house very easy to find and in a PERFECT location! I have a 1yr old that loves to ride his powerwheels and just be outside in general. The culdesac was perfect and so was the entire neighborhood. We were able to ride the bike with ease without the fear of cars speeding by. The house is located with-in bike riding distance of a Food Lion, Outback, Hospital, Tuesday Morning and a few other stores, which is nice if you forget something or just wanted a bite to eat. The Beach Club was close, right across the Bypass, and perfect. If you wanted to swim in the pool or the ocean, you had both. The beach access was right at the Club. I cannot comment on the Park where the Kayak is kept because it was flooded out while we were there. The house looks just like the pictures. It was absolutely perfect for us! The only downside for me, was there really isnt any cabinet space to put non perishable groceries so we left them in the cooler we brought them down in. Not a deal breaker for us! I would highly recommend this house and already have to a few friends. I hope you find this review helpful!

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Very close to the beach! It was an easy drive, less than 2 minutes. Beach parking access with bath rooms and outside showers (great)!. The cottege is very homie. Kitchen a little tight but do-able. I really enjoyed sitting out on the back porch in the morning reading and watching the golfers go by. If you take a left out the front door it's an easy walk to the sound. Our dogs loved to swim in the sound and catch the ball because the sound is only 3 feet deep. Beautiful sunsets on the sound side and a nice breeze at night. Loved to watch the kids crabbing with their crab pots down by the sound. Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Time at Fishful Thinking

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My family and I have never rented a beach house and we were very excited when we arrived and found a beatiful home located in an area handy to everything. We especially enjoyed our days at the beach and at the Village Beach Club and it was wonderful that the owners provided boogie boards, coolers, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. Our nights were spent relaxing at the house playing games or soaking in the hot tub. We also enjoyed an evening at Nags Head Pier located very close to the house watching the surfers and fishing. I would definitely recommend Fishful Thinking and am looking forward to being able to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW....What a great place to stay!!!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Wow what a great place to stay. This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and will definetly not be our last. My daughters and I really enjoyed our stay. The house is exactly like the pictures and in excellent shape..Val is easy and wonderful to rent from..so much easier than a rental agency. The owners have certainly thought of everything...All you need to do is bring clothing and some groceries...and speaking of groceries...the Foodlion is just a short walk away...no need for a car. The beach club is wonderful for those that do not care for the salt water and sand...and want that country club experience. Everyone was so friendly...If you like to fish, swim, sun bath, climb the dunes...or just relax in the sun this is the perfect house for you...no need to look anywhere else...we will certainly be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Time at Fishful Thinking

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

I have stayed at Fishful Thinking twice. We had a very pleasant stay at this home both times. The deck has a nice view overlooking the golf course. You can enjoy the hot tub on the deck while watching the occasional golfer go by. I would say the bedrooms look exactly like the pictures on the website. The neighborhood pool is oceanfront and only a short drive from the house. The house is in a nice location in Nags Head on the Sound side. We walked to Outback Steakhouse one night from the house.
When I rented this house it was the first time I had rented directly through an owner and not used a rental agency. I am so glad I took a chance and tried this house. It worked out wonderful for my family. I was nervous about how it would go since there were no posted reviews. The owner is very easy to deal with and I would stay at this house again.
I would also highly recommend visiting the Blue Moon Beach Grill while on the Outer Banks.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review