reviews for: listing #39787 - Jacksonville Beach, Florida House rental

4,500 Sq. Ft. Luxury Home, 1 Block from Ocean, w/ Pool!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $650 /nt
    $2,800 - $3,000 /wk
    $10,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

90s relic - overpriced

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

This house was clearly built and decorated in the 90s and has been poorly maintained since. The front door keys didn't work, I had to buy the fish food for the tank the second day I was there because none was stocked, the second fish tank promised was not working. The fish tank that was working was so dirty that someone had to come clean it while we were there - it smelled like rotten eggs the rest of our time there. The pool got cloudy 4 days into our 7 day stay and smelled. Sure - the owner called the pool guy out a day early to come clean it but with average use it seems weird that it got cloudy to begin with. There were towels stuffed into the recessed lighting cans in the shower - possible fire hazard?? And no lights were functioning in the shower. The towel bar in the master bath was broken, as was the jet action on the tub. All the TV's were those big CRT ones - you cant even buy those anymore. The surround sound didn't work and has no auxiliary input for and mp3 players. The house wide speaker system is also a 90s relic and has no auxiliary input. I paid a sizable cleaning fee just for the owner to tell me that he is keeping my additional security deposit for some cigarette butts he found outside. I paid a lot of money for something easily swept up - it's ridiculous. This house is outdated and poorly decorated (unless you are really into sponge paint and bulk pier one commercial crappy art). Not worth the money and it was embarrassing to have people over

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wedding Rehearsal dinner & family stay for wedding

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

What a great place!!!!!! VERY nice. JR was a WONDERFUL host. Stayed there for my daughter's wedding. Me, my wife, son & his wife + 2 grandkids. Plenty of space. Incredibly nice inside & out. Had a rehearsal dinner there, 40 people, at the house. Used kitchen to have entire meal cooked & served. Great kitchen!! Real nice neighborhood for walks to the beach (1 block). Plenty of room for everyone to eat & enjoy. Crow's nest gave a great view of the Atlantic. Super pool, couldn't get the kids out. Amenities have to be seen - they were great!! Pool table & steam room were well used and real nice!! If you see this - rent this! I live just outside DC and we all loved it. We'd go back anytime!! My son & wife loved hitting the entertainment & bars nearby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

It just doesn't get any better!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

The Surf Shack is amazing! It is definitely a luxury home; the pictures don't do it justice. The house was spotless when we arrived and well maintained.

We were a party of 10 women; 50+ years old, enjoying a girls getaway. We left the house to go to the spa, run to the grocery or walk to the beach. Otherwise, we were thrilled to hang out and enjoy this wonderful home. Open the triple sliding glass door and let the ocean breeze through the house. It is perfect for entertaining. The pool is inviting, although the water was too cold to enjoy. Plenty of beach toys in the garage.

This is a great place for families with teens as both floors offer a kitchen, family room, bedrooms and baths. 1 - 3 couples would find this house a great place to vacation together as there is plenty of room and privacy yet great common areas. It is perfect for a girls getaway. Trust me, we will be back.
The Surf Shack would accommodate families with disabilities or elderly that have a difficult time with stairs due to both floors being fully furnished.

In my opinion, it just doesn't get any better. Thanks, RJ! You Rock!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW !!!!!

Thanks Terri for your kind words !!

You guys were great guests and left the place spotless !!!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR CHOOSING THE SURF SHACK AS YOUR TRAVEL DESTINATION !!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

It just doesn't get any better!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

The Surf Shack is amazing! It is everything the pictures indicate and more. We rented the Surf Shack for a girls getaway. 10 women, 50+ years old. We left the house long enough to go to the spa on Saturday, run to the grocery store and go to the beach. Otherwise, we didn't want to leave the beautiful surroundings. This place is great for entertaining! Multiple decks, terraces and balconies. Open the triple sliding glass door and let the ocean breeze through the house. It would be great for families with teens, 1 - 3 couples, family reunions or a romantic getaway. RJ goes the extra mile to make everything perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Amazing!!!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Our family of 8 had an amazing vacation at the Surf Shack! The house is beautiful! The location was perfect, There was plenty of room, the house was very clean, the view from the crows nest was breathtaking! Everyone loved the pool and the game room! And the teenage boys enjoyed the gym! The owner went out of his way to accommodate our group and made sure we had everything we needed for a dream vacation! I would highly recommend the Surf Shack to anyone!!!! We WILL be staying there again next summer!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Amazing!!!!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Our family had a wonderful vacation @ the SURF SHACK. Everything was amazing! The house was very clean, the views from the crows nest were breathtaking, and the location was perfect! The owner went out of his way to accommodate our group, and made sure we had everything we needed for a dream vacation! We would highly recommend the Surf Shack to anyone!!! We WILL be back next summer!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review