reviews for: listing #39867 - Hermosa Beach, California House rental

Bright Oceanview Walkstreet "Casa Del Sol"
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $275 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,925 /wk
    $3,500 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We loved it! It was so close to the beach and the kitchen had everything u need to prepare a meal. We had a great time and we would love to come back but i missed my dog to much i think i would have to find a place were pets are welcome. But I love this place and the neighbor Gabriella was so nice. Would definitely recommended this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Anthony, so glad you enjoyed your stay! I understand about missing your dog, we are the same way with ours. All the best to you & have a lovely rest of Summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to visit

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

This has been a great place to visit the area. We enjoyed the convenience of close beach
walking and bike riding on the Strand. The unit was clean and Shawn checked to see if any
we had any additional needs. We enjoyed the added convenience of having Netflix and Pandora
music available to us. The sunset view from the unit was enjoyed every day here. We highly
recommend this to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Location in Hermosa Beach

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

I recently had a group of friends come out and visit us in Hermosa Beach and I had them stay at this property. They had a a great stay over the long weekend, it was the perfect setup. The location is amazing, steps from the strand, walking distance to both Hermosa and Manhattan Piers and a close drive to LAX, Venice, Santa Monica, Palos Verdes and other local attractions.
The apartments (we rented both the 1br and 2br units) were clean, comfortable and had great ocean views. They are not ultra luxurious or overly fancy which makes them perfect for a beach getaway. The kitchens are fully equipped and the bathrooms are clean and nice. The outdoor space is very large (which is hard to find in a lot of places around here) and the BBQ, jacuzzi and bikes make the stay even more fun.
I am looking forward to recommending both the 1br and 2br units to future guests who come out to visit us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

KIm and Jan

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

What a great place to stay...beautiful views of the ocean. Close to everything---just steps from the Strand.

Shaun (owner) wants you to have a great time....very good person to rent from.

Recommend this to family and friends. Hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a great home-base in hermosa

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

split-level and spacious with a pretty great top-floor (third storey) view of the beach, found everything i needed here. it's a 10-minute walk to the hermosa pier, 20-minutes along the pedpath to the pier in the more-sedate manhattan beach. a corner store's at the corner (no veggies but most in-a-pinch necessities), ditto a popular and airy breakfast-and-lunch spot (martha's 22nd street grill). the full kitchen is well-stocked with utensils, the wifi's dependable, the commodious couch is really comfortable and the fireplace works like a charm (though, at my visit, was strangely poker free). i found it a great place to ease into the beach and beach-town rhythm, and a note on the property manager, shawn -- he gave me a call once i was there to welcome me and see if all was oke, told me not to hesitate to give him a shout if there were any problems. when one of the heritage lender bikes got temperamental on me (the chain got poppy), without a blink shawn said 'get a rental from hermosa cyclery [local institution and a great place] and send the bill to me.'
loved having the beach at my doorstep, along with a bike path that stretches from palos verdes to northernmost santa monica, and loved hermosa and manhattan beaches. for my money, it's the real deal -- and this was a great place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dan, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay... and got such good use out of the bikes! (Dan biked all the way to Venice Beach and Santa Monica from Casa Hermosa, and back, a total of about 30 miles). Hope to see you again soon one day. Cheers, Shawn D., Director of Reservations and Customer Service

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a fabulous place to stay!

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

What a fabulous place to stay! The million dollar panoramic view is incredible. We couldn't have imagined a better setup condo on the beach. Being able to keep an eye on the kids from a plush 2nd story living room, while they're out on the beach, is priceless. With the full kitchen, high-speed internet, a plasma TV, and stero... that condo is perfect. With the windows open and the ocean breeze coming through it was super comfortable and relaxing. The private grill, cruiser bikes, boardwalk and patios are icing on the cake. We couldn't have imagined a better location and arrangement. And watching the dolphins swim in the morning was a real treat. We couldn't help but think about what a great place it would be for a romantic getaway too. I spent a lot of time searching for the perfect SoCal beach-spot at a reasonable price, and I know there is no other place out there with that combination of qualify features for a few hundred bucks per night. It couldn't have been better. Thanks Shawn!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

When can we come back?!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The property was better than the pictures showed. The location had everything we needed and more. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Experience

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation. View is awesome & as depicted. Location worked out well for us - wanting to go north & south. We had many nice weather days. The unit is very average in amenities, but it is what we expected. We used the internet connection, but did not get around to using the hot tub. I didn't like the high dining chairs, but my wife says they're in fashion. I was not clear about bikes. I thought in one place I read there were bikes with the unit. In another it said available nearby. The bed was comfortable. Communication with the rental agent went very well. One glitch - the door code was changed from what we were given. The supplied list of local restaurants and stores was helpful. There are stairs to get to the unit and a flight of stairs within the unit (bathroom and bedroom one level & kitchen, living room, dining area up 1 level). The area was quiet and in a residential neighborhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments about staying in our vacation rental in Hermosa Beach. We are continually trying to improve everything and always appreciate each guest who stays with us. We recently updated the lock system to a keypad for convenience for our guests and their safety.

We hope you will return whenever you are back in the Hermosa Beach area.

The Strand House Vacation Rentals

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Would Not Recommend

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed here during Thanksgiving week in November. The description of this property is not accurate at all. When we pulled up to the house, we were literally shocked at the condition of the property. There were sheets covering some of the windows, the place was totally run down. I wanted to just leave without even stepping inside, this is how bad the property looks from the outside. Once inside, it wasn't too bad. The view of the ocean was absolutely beautiful! Other than the view, nothing else was worth the money. The bathroom sink had a leak that leaked all over the items we put in the cabinet. I literally had to get a pan from the kitchen and place it under the sink and I had to empty it every day or it would have overflowed onto the bathroom floor. There was a very nice fireplace in the living room - but couldn't use it because there was a nest of birds living in it. I would not recommend this place at all. I tried calling the broker a number of times, but never heard back from them. When I arrived home, I sent an e-mail describing how awful this rental was and the response I received was "I will let the owner know." Really not good enough!

Owners response: We are the owners at Casa Hermosa. We are sorry to hear about the experience described above. We want all our guests to have a positive experience when they stay at our vacation rental (our second home), and we always do what we can to make our guests happy. We love our property, and most of our guests leave our vacation rental with positive memories. We count on that for repeat visitors who come back year after year. As we write this, one of our guests who has already rented with us three times, just booked her fourth stay! We were surprised to read the above note, since we did not know about the bird's nest during the guest's stay, and when we learned about and offered to fix it that day, the guest said it was not urgent, and we could attend to it after their departure. Since the guest's departure, we took their advice and have made a few improvements to the property. We changed the bathroom cabinet, sink and faucet, all brand new, and we painted the living room. As for the pigeons, we closed the hole so the pigeons can't get in. For any future guests who are uneasy after reading the above comment, please see our website for an online slideshow of entries happy guests have left in our Guest Book.

Sincerely,
John and Aurora D. of Hermosa Beach, CA : )

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review