reviews for: listing #39910 - Hiawassee, Georgia Chalet rental

'Mossy Oaks Lodge' - Great Mtn Top Views, HT, Pool Table!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $155 - $175 /nt
    $930 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

Our big family enjoyed a spectacular weekend at Mossy Oaks Lodge. Beautiful home...fantastic views. No one wanted to leave! We would highly recommend both Mossy Oaks Lodge and Manor. This was one of our BEST mini vacations EVER and we hope to return again and again! Marylou is a delight to talk with and we feel like we have a new friend in Hiawassee!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Rally in the mountains

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

The home was spacious and the view spectactular. The home was clean with the following exceptions: needed bedding for the futons downstairs, needed more attention to the downstairs bathroom and ceiling fan in the loft for dusting).
We attended a Rally for Motorcyclists and the main complaint with this home would be the driveway. We had people fall due to the gravel and steep narrow curve at the top. The driveway has some pavement and lots of potholes and gravel.
Also when cars are going up or down there is no place for a motorcycle to go but down and over. I would recommend this place if you are driving a car but for motorcycles it became very treacherous especially after the rain. It was a major stress when needing to leave or return to the home. There were about 18 bikers on the hill with 9 bikes with the same consensus regarding the driveway, mis-represented by the owner, who does not ride so really would not know. The lawn guy rode up and down and said it was fine, not sure if he rides a dirt bike or tour bike, makes a big difference.
We all survived the driveway, having a wonderful experience staying together in Hiawasee. The town has lots to do and the surrounding area has wonderful shops and places of interest, the riding was faboulous.
I would not recommend this particular house for bikers due to the driveway, but anyone one else would have a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hello, Judith. I’m so glad you were able to enjoy yourself here in spite of all the problems you seem to have had. To be fair though, of the 3 exceptions to “cleanliness” that you’ve noted, only one really had anything to do with cleaning issues and that was dust on the fan in the upper loft; clearly an oversight on the part of housekeeping. It should be noted, however, that this is the first complaint we've ever had regarding housekeeping, as cleanliness is something we have always prided ourselves on at all our properties. Point taken and we apologize for this, but the fact that you didn’t find extra bedding for the futons stems from the belief that with only the 8 persons (4 couples) you declared and with 5 bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa on the loft and an additional bunkroom with 2 bunks, we didn’t anticipate you’d be using the futons as well.

And while it would appear that your comment about the lower bath was a cleanliness issue, in truth it was not, as your husband had called just yesterday to report that the shower curtain liner in that bath had a tare in it. Those liners are replaced routinely as it was after your departure today, but it was nothing more than that, a tare, which may have occurred when cutting open the packaging it came in.

Finally, while I’m dreadfully sorry you had difficulty navigating the drive going up the mountain and concede that perhaps others should be warned in the future that it might be too challenging, I do take exception to your claim that I had “misrepresented it”. From the start, I said that I cannot give you personal assurance, as I do not ride a bike, but I did as I promised and asked our 2 yard men, both of whom you spoke with, to check it out for me on their bikes as well as a 3rd party (our maintenance man) and all assured me that it was perfectly safe. I will grant you that all 3 of them are from here and they are used to riding up and down roads such as this, where others may find it more difficult. All things considered however, I am inclined to agree that it is not worth taking a chance on renting to others who may have the same concerns. I felt that I had done due diligence in having it checked out, but perhaps that was just not enough; please accept my apology. I hope you and your husband will come back to visit again some day when you’re feeling better and stay in one of our ‘flat-lander’ properties so you can fully enjoy the beauty and recuperative powers of our beautiful mountains.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Mossy Oaks Manor

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

The Mossy Oaks Manor was beautiful, excellent taste in decorating and so accomodating for our group of 14. We had everything we needed in the kitchen and the house was very clean. The guys enjoyed the game room as usual. Marylou was nice to meet us prior for us to view property, sent directions prior, and called day of arrival to make sure everything was good for us. I would recommend this property for a family group, girls weekend, or couples outing. We also had a person that was handicapped and with ramps, we provide, was able to get him in the house and the king size room was excellent for he and his wife and easy to get around in the house plus could go out on deck to see the view.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

stay at mossy oak

Review submitted: October 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

the lodge is very accomidating for large group that we had, gathered for daughters wedding. lodge very relaxing great views enjoyied game room.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Stay at Mossy Oaks Lodge

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

The lodge was wonderful, warm, and roomy. The property was as described in the listing. It more than exceeded our expectations. The property was well kept and very clean. The views were awesome. The location was assessable yet allowed plenty of privacy. There were no problems of any kind encountered during our stay. The manager was very helpful to us. We would highly recommend this lodge to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review