reviews for: listing #39911 - Hiawassee, Georgia Chalet rental

"Mossy Oaks Manor" - Favored Gathering Place - Great Views!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Jeff and Inez 5th Anniversary

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

The house was very clean. Thanks goes to the housecleaning staff, everything we needed was in the home. The Renee at Century 21 made the celebration of our 5th anniversary a success. The cake was the perfect touch. My husband unlocked the door to the house, he came back outside and said "we have the wrong house someone got a wedding cake in there". We all started to laugh and say "happy anniversary". Wonderful!!!!!! couldn't have been a better place. The house was spacious and comfortable for everyone. Thanks again,
Inez

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Inez. My staff strives to make each guests visit a pleasant and memorable experience. When we help make a "speccial occasion" a success, it makes our job rewarding. Thanks for making memories at Mossy Oaks Manor. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Magnificent Mossy Oak Manor Weekend

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This home was the perfect family getaway place for our family! After experiencing the loss of our beloved grandmother just days before our planned weekend, we all needed time away as a family. Mossy Oak Manor was just the ticket. The home is beautiful, spacious and yet cozy. We spent time at the home and in the surrounding area cooking, hiking, playing pool and board games, rummaging thru Alexanders, and enjoying the hot tub. We cooked every meal except one and had everything we needed in the spacious kitchen. We had 12 of us ranging in age from 8 to 71, and there was something at Mossy Oak for every age.We even roasted marshmallows at the outdoor fire pit. We would definitely return to Mossy Oak Manor.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Borders Family Reunion 2011

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We had an awesome time @ Mossy Oak Manor! The house exceeded my expectations. All of the older adults had there own rooms and the younger ones had the basement. The kitchen was great, it had everything we needed to cook. We ate every meal except one lunch at the house. The dining room said sets 14 but there was only a table for 8. Make sure you bring extra toilet paper and paper towels. We ran out. The satellite did not work all weekend, but we were told when we checked out they could not guarantee the tv to work. Make sure you bring DVDs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Georgia Paradise

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

Everything about this rental was WONDERFUL. Marylou was very helpful and kind. The location is incredible. We went to Georgia for a friends wedding and everyone that rented cabins elsewhere wished they were staying with us! The cabin had a perfect layout and was big enough that all 5 couples had their own space. It was very homey and cozy. It's definitely a place I would love to go back to year after year.

I would definitely recommend having all your friends/ family read the guidelines binder at the beginning of your stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Tara, thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. We join you in encouraging those who book to be sure their friends are familiar with the guidelines and policies, but most folks don’t need to be told not to light a fire in the fireplace when it’s 89 degrees outside. Not to worry, though, you’ll still be welcomed back any time, just not with those particular friends. You were very sweet and I appreciate your understanding and cooperation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

No place better to stay

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

This was our second time staying in Mossy Oaks Manor. This is an absolutely beautiful house in a quiet setting close to town. Plenty of room where eveyone is comfortable. We will stay here every year!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Michele, Thanks so much! We're flattered and honored to have you as "Regulars". A good percentage of our guests are ‘Returning Guests’, such as yourselves whom we enjoy and look forward to welcoming back each time. You're 'tried and true' in our book and both appreciative and respectful of the properties as well. You may be interested to know, we've started something new at Vacation Rental Services recently; Each time we receive notice of a favorable online review, each of the housekeepers receives a bonus in her paycheck as our way of saying, "Thanks for all you do". They always strive to make us look good anyway, but this is a little added incentive and everyone needs to be appreciated. Yours makes 3 bonuses for them this week and we're all celebrating. Thank You! - Marylou : )

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Youth Retreat!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

The week we went there was an ice storm in Georgia and we almost called it off. I am so glad we didn't. The roads cleared up just in time and it was a great weekend. The crew even cleared the driveway for us making it possible to get one of our two vehicles up to the house. (Note: Do not even attempt to get a 15 passenger bus up the hill!)
We took a group of 15, including 11 students and the accomodations we perfect. All the kids stayed downstairs and the adults got the masters on the main floor and the loft. We did run into a couple of maintenance issues including bathroom doors that wouldn't lock and a tub that was clogged, but we brought those to the attention of the broker and I am confident they will be addressed. She was great, by the way and worked with us on several issues before we even got to the property. Overall, it was a good experience and exactly what we hoped for when we booked the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your online review of "Mossy Oaks Manor". And thank you too, for calling our attention to the fact that the bathroom doors are not locking doorknobs. This is a perfect example of "Who Knew?". . . one of those things that never come to light unless a guest points it out to us. I'm just surprised that no one has ever mentioned it before this. We have since changed out all the doorknobs & replaced them with knobs that lock. The tub that was slow in draining has been fixed as well and again, thank you for taking the time to make up aware of those conditions. We do appreciate your input and also the good faith in coming ahead, even in the face of uncertain weather conditions. Please do plan on coming back and visiting again whenever you can, you'll always be welcomed to stay with us! - Marylou

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

White Christmas at Mossy Oaks

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

This house was the perfect setting for a white Christmas. The home was mostly comfortable. The main floor tended to be cooler than the other 2 floors. The fireplace was a wonderful asset to the snowy setting. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space for all eleven of us. If you plan on visiting this property during a winter weather warning, make sure you have enough food to last since getting down the mountain can be precarious. The views are breath-taking. Several members of my party said that this was the best Christmas ever, and I know that was mostly to do with the comfort of the house and the snowy views.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Darlena, thank you so much for taking the time to review Mossy Oaks Manor and I’m so glad you had fun and enjoyed your stay. You surely did have a rare and unexpected White Christmas up on top of the mountain and while it was beautiful and fun, it did make travel difficult no matter where you stayed. With less than 24 hours notice we were glad that we had stockpiled rock salt and we sent our crews out to clear and salt down the road going up the mountain first thing in the morning, but it had snowed all night and was still coming down faster than anything we’ve seen in years! It wasn’t just up on the mountain though; there were cars in ditches all along the highways and byways as well. It was a real challenge for even the most seasoned motorists in 4 wheel drives. But I want to thank you for your positive attitude and for reminding all of us that ‘When life brings you snow . . . you make snow angels’! You never complained but just settled in and made the most of it. We so appreciate your being such good sports and we sincerely hope you’ll come stay with us again soon! Wishing you and yours a very Happy New Year! - Marylou

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Vacation

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

Had a great time, the place is everthing you will need and plenty to do.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful House and Wonderful Views

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

This house is perfect for a large group, because there are so many places for people to either be together or have some quiet time alone. The views of the mountains are stunning, whether it is morning, noon or sunset. We especially appreciated the kitchen as we love to cook for our friends and the large dining room made it easy to have our meals together.

The house is easy to get to, located close to town if you want to go there, but secluded enough that you really feel like you are getting away from it all. During our visit, when we weren't enjoying the beautiful house, we went hiking, visited the winery, went horseback riding and golfing.

The rental service is delightful and this is our third year using them. We will definitely come back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Pine Hill Baptist Church Mens Retreat

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

First of all, the management, was a joy to both talk and deal with! They comes highly recommended by family members who live and work in the area. We found them to be most cheerful and ready to make our stay as enjoyable as possable. We wish to thank them for thier efforts!
The Manor, is set in the most peaceful surroundings in the North Georgia mountains! It has beautiful views, with Lake Chatuge in the veiws from the main deck. When you get out of your vehicle the first thing you see is a magnificant mountain top, which we decided was a directional marker pointing straight to Heaven. BREATHTAKING!!!
If you are planning a trip for fun or relaxation that gets you within an hour or so drive of Hiawasse Ga. you would be well advised to rent this Property.
We fully intend to make this the destination of at least our next outing, and many took the contact information for thier own personal use.

The Men of Pine Hill Baptist Church
MIKE N. Church Trustee

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

This is the second year we have stayed at Mossy Oaks Manor for our annual family reunion. It is is perfect place for a family gathering, with TONS of space, and a most beautiful setting! The renting agents are also lovely to work with -- very accommodating and most helpful as they managed to find an item I had lost. I searched for it and could not find it, but they did and graciously mailed it to me. We will most definitely be back. If you rent this property, you will NOT be disappointed.

P.S. We also traveled with my niece who is in a wheelchair. The house is very friendly and accessible to wheelchairs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful Views

Review submitted: November 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 21, 2008

This property exceeded our expectations. We were on a fall trip and the color and views were extremely beautiful. There are views of the mountains, from every window of the house and from the decks. We had all of the ammenities needed. The agent was extremely helpful and provided good directions. There are tons of activities, within short driving distances, (though lots of winding roads to get to them). There were 9 of us and all were comfortable. The house was clean. We found all utensils that we needed in the kitchen and towels were plentiful.

We had the entire mountain to ourselves, as the other property wasn't occupied, during our stay. It was very peaceful, secluded and beautiful.

The only negative that we had, was no TV/Movie area on the main floor, so if you have any elderly or physically challenged adults - they will not be able to watch TV or movies. We made the best of it though, with board games and conversation !!! (So that may be a plus). There are large comfortable viewing areas on both other floors.

The sunset, sunrise and "mountain mist" pictures taken from the decks are breathtaking !! The pictures shown on the web page, don't do the place justice !!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review