reviews for: listing #39972 - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina Villa rental

Luxury M.B. Villa, Sunset Red, sleeps 20, email for specials
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Myrtle Beach Villas II
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $142 - $571 /nt
    $1,000 - $3,997 /wk

sort by:

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We had four families staying at the villa so all of the parents had a king size bed and en-suite bathroom. The kids shared the various futons and pullouts as well as the other two king beds. All in all we were very comfortable and could all eat at the same granite table. We’ve stayed in places like this before and have never seen such nice touches as fresh sheets over the comforters like the better hotels do, a table as large as this so we can all eat together and blackout curtains. Overall a very nice property and we’ll definitely revisit if we choose Myrtle Beach again for a family get together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Andy - I just wanted to tell you we had a wonderful time at the condo, everything was perfect! Thanks so much!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Advertisement a little misleading

Review submitted: July 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

I'm a little frustrated and disappointed that we didn't get our complete deposit back, but that is to be expected. The 2 pool sticks had obviously been broken before as they broke in half when my nephew hit a ball. My sister in-law did not call the property manager as it was 9:00 on the night before they checked out and had a plane to catch the next morning. Her 10 year old son was worried he would be in trouble and placed them back in the rack. Decent, sturdy sticks don't fall apart when hitting a ball in a normal way. Oh well, someone else tried to hide their mistake, and we will pay for it. As far as the missing remote....Who knows? If we had accidentally packed it, we would have sent it back to you. Stealing it? Really?

We had a difficult time with the sleeping arrangements. The king beds were all awesome and very comfortable. However, the futons were not. The one on the lower level had a big dip in it and the one on the second floor had a very uncomfortable rod in the middle of it. None of our children could sleep on them. Your advertisement is a little misleading when it says "Additional large comfortable futons"

We did not find the traditional couch sleepers, only the little mattresses that slid under the couch and sat 2 inches off the ground.These little mattress pull outs would only fit a toddler, which we did not have. Again, a little misleading on the advertisement, "Additional queen sleepers in the main living area."

The 6 king beds are a good idea for 6 couples, but not for single sleepers. My adult kids were taking turns sleeping on the couch and then going into a bed when someone woke up.

My recommendation would be to have at least 1 or 2 rooms with 2 full beds in them rather than kings. My single brother had a king to himself and my mother had a king to herself, while our kids were trying to find other places to sleep since the futons were so uncomfortable and the queen couch sleeper were not really beds.

I wasn't going to complain about the sleeping situation at the condo. However, now since we are not getting our full deposit back, I feel the need to write my review expressing disappointment with the false advertising about the futons and queen sleeper beds.

Owners response: Dear future guest please note the very first sentence of this review. The guest complaining broke two pool sticks and hid the damage and stole/left with/broke and hid a TV remote so they had a security deposit deduction. I contacted this guest on the issues and she stated that they didn’t play pool. Then, later, she said she left before the end of the stay. Then finally she said the children broke the sticks.
I can absolutely guarantee that if you stay with us you will receive 100% of your security deposit back if you don’t break (or steal) anything. I have two separate licensed and bonded companies that check inventory immediately before check-in and immediately after check-out. We just simply cannot run a business without charging for loss and damage.
Back to the pool sticks; both companies stated that they checked the pools sticks before this guest’s check-in and they were fine.
Regarding the sleepers; the corner sleepers have a section that pulls out and rises up to ***create a pullout 61x82 inches***. From Wikipedia, a North American queen is 60x80, so our sleeper is slightly larger than a standard queen bed.
Please, if you can’t operate a pull out, or expect not to be charged for stuff you steal or break (or your kids if you don’t supervise them), then we politely ask that you look for alternative accommodation.
For everyone else, we refresh these properties regularly and try to stay as ahead of the curve as possible with upgrades like commercial black out curtains, commercial grade carpet, and new 32 inch flat screens for all bedrooms for 2014.
Regards
Andy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual Golf Trip

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

Just want to thank you again - both places still immaculate and a real pleasure dealing with you and the on site gal

We'll most certainly be back next year

Hope you are well and had a great Easter - talk soon

Bart

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Tidy, Great Location

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

The owner emailed me and asked if I would review the property. We visited Myrtle Beach for the annual fall run and were looking for a large property for us all to stay. We needed six bedrooms and as many showers as possible. This property had five bathrooms. The guys also liked the game room and pool table. The experience was easy from start to finish with good communication from the owner and helpful staff locally. We asked for some more glasses and the local manager brought some for us. The property was well kept and smelled fresh and clean. Linens and towels were also provided and the beds were made up. We have stayed in Myrtle Beach before and have had to make our own beds when we arrived. It was only a short stay in fall but the price was very reasonable and the property was clean tidy and well equipped. If we come back next year we’ll definitely use this property again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MB Golf

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Asked to review. Place was great. We rented this one and another from someone else. This one was better. Don't know what Mr. Syracuse is on about. Something else going on there. Andy was fine with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Andy asked if I would read the review posted and write one of our vacation. I read the review. I don't know how someone can be allowed to post that. Me and my sister rented this villa and the blue one next door both were great. We were in straight after this guy and property was clean and tidy with fresh linens. I only give the Red one 4 stars as the TV's are not as good as the Blue one but everything else was great.
-Sarah

Owners response: Thanks Sarah.

You are correct, the Blue one did have better TV's but we have six new flat screens for 2014. Should be in there March 1.
-Andy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Run as fast as you can

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This place was horrible! It was extremely dirty and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. My family of 18 had to try and clean the place just to use the restrooms after traveling 13 hours to get there. I have so many pictures and videos of how filthy this place was since I turned them over to my attorney. The AC was leaking so bad that it pooled all over the dryer and created a massive puddle. The pillow were old and had brown stains all over them. There were bugs all over the place. There was pee on the floor in the bathroom. The couch had old coins and hair all over it. I could go on for days. Two ladies come back to try to clean the villa and they were so embarrassed by what they found. They were there until 9:30 the day we arrived almost 7 hours after we were there to check in. They must of apologized about 25 times. They certainly didn't have anything good to say about the owner. We called Andy and he was very rude and said he had received other complaints but he hadn't been up to visit the property for a while. I simply asked him for a refund and we would go about our business. He refused even though he knew his property was not in good shape. What an owner! He has been hiding ever since but he will be hearing from my attorney real soon. My family ended up paying for a totally different property which was fabolous and the owners you could tell really cared. I'm serious when I say you should run and run fast!

Owners response: What actually happened was Kevin assumed he was renting a single family home and when he arrived he discovered the property was part of a complex – MBVII.

I make this perfectly clear on our website and advertising material. Upon arrival he demanded his money back.

Anyone who has ever rented a large property like this, a short term lease usually written months in advance, knows you can’t just show up and demand a full refund because you changed your mind or didn’t do your homework regarding property type or location.

I spent quite some time on the phone with Kevin, all to no avail, as I was barely allowed to speak through interruptions and legal threats. Kevin arrived at 5:40. I had my first written legal threat at 7:20.

This review is designed to harm the business as best he can and is full of lie after lie because I would not give Kevin a full refund for his mistake.

I don’t normally do this, but watch this space as I’m going to email some of the guests that followed Kevin to see if they would be open to writing a quick review of our Villa based on what *they* found when they stayed with us.

Regards

-Andy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

MB Golf

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

Asked to review. Place was great. We rented this one and another from someone else. This one was better. Don't know what the other guy is trying to pull but something going on there. Andy was fine with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

End Summer Vacation

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Great property, good location, helpfull staff, easy booking process! We ALL had a wonderful time at the condo and would most certainly go back. I have been telling all my friends how nice it was.
Thanks Andy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Me and my friends rented this house for our spring break and had an awesome time the condo was great and the beach was right there. We cleaned the house up nice and got our deposit back.
Thanks Andy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Golf Trip

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We just got back from our annual spring golf trip and had a fantastic time. The villa was awesome. Thanks Andy!
Pete

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

New Years Eve

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Hello Andy,

We stayed in the sunset-red condo for New years and it was great! I wanted to tell you thank you so much. Your condo was very clean and we were well taken care of by your property manager. He was extremely nice and helpful. Thank you again. We will be in touch for another trip to your wonderful condo. Hope you had a great New Years!

Morgan

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fall Golf Trip

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Just wanted to say thank you for the use of your wonderfull condo. Our party could not have asked for any more. The accomodations were great and the location was perfect for getting around to the various golf courses. I would like to thank you again, and we would love to utilize your amazing facility again in the future.

P.S. I finished 4th in our tournament thanks to being well rested and relaxed from your condo each night.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

We highly recommend this property for all vacationers - all family types. It's perfect for families with kids of all ages or groups that are traveling together. The only downfall is that the floors could've been a little cleaner other than that it was a perfect vacation getaway, and we look forward to returning to the same rental unit next year. While there we compared it to three other units across the street and we still preferred the one we chose to begin with.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dayna,

Thank you for the review.

Regarding the floors, they are mopped after every guest but it’s still an uphill struggle to keep the floors as clean as you can at home. This is purely because of the sheer volume of people a large property such as this caters for. Having said that, we genuinely believe we do as good a job and hopefully much better than our completion. The guest indicated this by viewing other properties and still preferred ours. If you knew our cleaners you would know how much of a thorn in their side I am over floor cleaning. Also, on a semi frequent basis we acid wash the floors to strip back any buildup.

Regards

Andy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had 12 adults and 4 children staying in our group at this condo and had a great time. The property was clean with fresh linen and towels included in the price and had lots to do in the condo as well as close by.
The kids spent a lot of time with the games in the game room while we hung out in the living area and round the huge table.
The kitchen was well stocked for when we did stay in and cook but most of the time we ate out in the local restaurants.
The beach is right across the street with the Board Walk a few blocks north.
We all had a great time.
Thanks Andy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Husbands Birthday

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We normally go on vacation with just our family and typically fly somewhere but with the economy we decided to get together with the rest of our immediate family to celebrate my Husbands 40th birthday and drive instead.

The condo is down town on Ocean Blvd with the beach just across the street. The beach is very wide with lots to do. There were all kinds of things available for rent. We even did some paragliding behind a boat. The older kids loved the jet skis.

Familiy Kingdom is next door Broadway at the Beach close by for evening entertainment if you don’t like the local restaurants. There are shops and restaurants all round within walking distance. Myrtle Beach’s boardwalk starts just a few blocks north of the condo and continues up the coast which is a very pleasant walk. There is also a fishing pier right where the boardwalk starts where the guys did some fishing while the girls walked along the shore.

We didn’t spend a whole lot of time in the condo but everything is just like the pictures. I was a bit wary of ‘Bait and Switch’ but the condo we stayed in was exactly as appearing in the pictures. We did have some rain blow through so we did end up having some time entertaining ourselves inside and this is probably one of the best places you could rent for keeping the teens and kids quiet. There are electronic games, pool table and foosball table in the game room which is for exclusive use of this condo.

We did have one problem with the garbage disposal but we called the owners local manager and he came right round and fixed it for us. My sister did comment that this was quite unusual as a lot of these condos are owned by out of towners and they don’t have local staff. She has rented condo’s before and seemed quite impressed.

There was a group in the other building that was a little loud one evening but the complex also has its own security and they visited with the group and successfully quietened them down. Again, my sister said this was great and definitely not the norm from what she had experienced in other condo’s elsewhere. Often times you are left to your own devices, but not here.

All in all we had a great time and would definitely come back if we do Myrtle Beach again. If you are used to paying for hotel rooms, or even flying somewhere, you’ll find driving to somewhere like this very good value. The quality was good too with nice beds, furniture, electronics and appointments.

Definitely recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review Paula.

Also, thanks for pointing out some of the features where we try to do more than our competition, like having security and maintenance readily available just in case there is a problem.

-Andy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

My sisters and I decided to get together with our families and rent a place at the beach for our summer vacation. We have stayed in the area before in a large condo, but not in the center of Myrtle Beach. Our previous place was quite a ways from town and it took a lot of effort to get everyone into Myrtle Beach if we wanted to go out. This place is right in the middle of Myrtle Beach close to everything. There is much more going on at this place than where we have stayed in the past. The lazy river, kids play area, BBQ area are all things we didn’t have before. Plus there is a security guard to keep an eye on things.

Andy’s condo is also very well done sleeping 4 couples and 8 kids. All the couples had king size beds with en-suite bathrooms. The kids loved all the games and TV’s, while the guys enjoyed hanging out in the game room. This is also the only place where we could all get round one table, the place has this huge granite banquet table – perfect if you have a large family with you.

Family Kingdom is right next door and the beach is just across the street. Plenty to keep the kids quiet while we kicked back a bit.

Great trip – we might be back at Christmas or Thanksgiving to take advantage of that table!

Thanks Andy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Conference Event in MB

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We were five couples looking for somewhere in the center of Myrtle Beach close to the conference center for an event and spotted this property on line. Working with the owner was very easy and they also had excellent local staff that made sure everything was kept up to spec in the condo. One of the games broke during our stay and was replaced the same day. The villa is located in a great spot right across from the beach with easy access to some of the widest beaches in the area. Also, Family Kingdom is right next door if you like water parks. We had a good time being kids again on the big slide next to the beach. The villa was great inside with plenty of equipment in the kitchen, a large granite table for us all to eat at and we all had our own king bed and bathroom. There was a pool table and a foosball table in the villa for our own use so the guys could kick back and relax while girls went shopping in the mall. Very nice break – we’ll definitely be back if we head to Myrtle again. Thanks Andy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are welcome Tom!

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you ever visit Myrtle Beach in the future.

Regards

Andy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion/Summer vacation

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Excellent property. Everything in the pictures was in the condo – granite banquet table, Nintendo WII, Playstation 3, Xbox, pool table, foosball, flatscreens, six comfortable king size beds etc. The pool area, which is fenced off for use by the guests at the villas only, was a great hang out area, our kids really liked the kiddy pool. There is no large pool for swimming but there is a lazy river we enjoyed floating around in. We looked at another condo some friends were staying in at this facility, and trust us when I say this, try to snag Sunset Red if you can, far more inside and in much better shape. Andy and William (Andy’s local manager) made everything happen very easily.

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your trip to Myrtle Beach!

Please bear us in mind if you visit Myrtle Beach in the future.

Regards

Andy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't do it!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

The unit was dirty, and in some places down right disgusting. One fridge did not work and we lost food due to spoiling. The owner, had some reason/excuse every single day that no one could fix it, someone was going to the next day, it wasn't really broken, on and on... and on day 4 someone came but never fixed it. The fridge repair man stated to us directly that the fridges (both!) needed replaced but the owner wouldn't foot the bill to do so or to even pay to properly fix, oddly enough the owner's version was much different, that seemed to be the theme of the week. It is not a family oriented complex, with partying and screaming going on until the morning (like 7 am) Other guests were peeing off the balconies into the pool, on the furniture, throwing beer cans all over. We did get to see 3 people having sex on the balcony in plain sight across from us -- for free!! There is no security on the premises, hence 15 cars getting broke into in one night. Parking was a nightmare, and more often than not, you must park away from the complex and walk (less than ideal with a family) regardless of having a permit to park in the parking garage. The a/c went out for 24 hrs, it turned out to be a breaker issue that needed to be to replaced (days later) with a more powerful one which the repair man stated to us directly that it had been a known issue that was on-going that the owner had known about it for some time. The dvd system didn't work and the "maintenance man" said it was dead and needed replaced, but never was. The blinds in one room were made of just a few slats so you could see directly into the room and needed replaced, eventually the "maintenance man" show up to replace them on about the 4th day but they fell out of the wall so we gave up on those working. Eventually we just got tired of dealing with the owner and the lack of providing what we had paid for.

On the positive side, the space was nice and easily accommodated a large family. It was across the street from the public access beach and was walking distance to a number of attractions. The beds were nice.
The website looks nice. (Our pics look much different.)

If you are looking for a place to party and puke, this is the place to be!

Owners response: In response (I have 2500 characters only so apologies for the brevity):
>>>
The unit was dirty…
<<<
Bad prior group. Called me Monday 6pm, re-cleaned to their satisfaction Tuesday.
>>>
One fridge…
<<<
Called Monday 6pm. Arranged for a service call the following day. A licensed and bonded repair company repaired the refrigerator, checked the air temperature to be OK, turned the fridge off to defrost and told the guest to turn the fridge on in 24 hours. There is a second fridge. The repair man observed significant condensate in both fridges indicating the guest was leaving the fridge door open.
>>>
It is not a family oriented complex…
<<<
Guest did not contact me about other guests’ behavior. A security company was hired at the beginning of June. I realized still problems. Fired this company and hired a replacement. I had the new company evict 2 groups that evening.
>>>
15 cars…
<<<
Only 4 cars ‘broken’ into all from same unit - based on police reports. No forced entry observed. Insurance fraud suspected.
>>>
Parking…
<<<
4 parking passes on a first come first served basis. Enough spaces for 3 cars per unit 100% occupancy. Looking at offering additional parking on facility land. Looking at policing 3 passes instead of 4.
>>>
The a/c…
<<<
Breaker tripped on 1 unit (there are 2 units, guest did have AC) during prior week – once. Tried to talk guest through resetting the breaker – flip off, flip on. Was unsuccessful. AC tech showed them. I called to confirm they could repeat. I asked the AC tech. to check if a larger breaker is within code. AC did not fail again. Larger breaker installed regardless.
>>>
The dvd…
<<<
DVD’s played through PS3 system not the Philips Radio/DVD. The Philips system is not connected to the TV. Demo’ed and explained to guests.
>>>
The blinds…
<<<
Guest called Monday PM (day 3). Clips holding slats were sprained allowing some slats to fall out. Rail replaced. Not clipped securely and fell. Guest failed to mention it was fixed within 30 minutes after re-clipping correctly (Tuesday – day 4).

Unluckily, there were 4 issues with the condo: AC, fridge, blind, walls marks, all of which were fixed within 24 hours – if they would have been in another property and would have had similar problems I’d be surprised if they would have had a faster response or better service.

Regarding the facility, I’m optimistic our new security has everything in hand.

Sincerely

Andy (owner)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Labor Day Vacation

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Andy,

I just wanted to say thank you for the wonderful experience you gave us during our visit to Myrtle Beach.
The condo was just as advertised and there was more to offer than we expected.
We had a fantastic time down there and I wanted to personally thank you again for the wonderful experience.

-Steve

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

My group of 14 (4 families) found our 2010 vacation was the best that we took in the last five years. The Myrtle Beach Villas II, Sunset Red Condo satisfied all our needs – great location to the beach, very nice pool, perfect number of rooms for everyone to have a good night sleep and to sit down and enjoy each other’s company as well as guaranteed parking. I would recommend this condo to any large group. You will never be bored – walking distance to the boardwalk, to local specialty shops, and night clubs, plus much more. The Condo was great! Well supplied which allowed our families to pack and travel light. Thank you for making our vacation enjoyable.

Holly and friends

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback Holly!
-Andy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Our stay at Myrtle Beach Villas II was a great experience. Ten of our family stayed very comfortably and had plenty of room to have privacy or to be together. The grandkids really liked the splash area and everyone lounged in the lazy river. We liked having the Wi, pool table and games available. The large TV with plenty of seating was very good, as well as the large dining table. The two refridgerators were well used and we cooked almost every night with plenty of dishes. After crossing the street we had public access to a very well guarded beach (all the lifeguards were very attentive and there were a lot of them all along that area). Any concerns we had were answered and resolved immediately. We were very close to shops, grocery, attractions and Krispe Kreme Donuts!!!
Andy (the owner) was always friendly and upbeat and had great communication. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Myrtle Beach with the family, or a golf group.
Joe, Carole and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Our stay at Myrtle Beach Villas II was a great experience. Ten of our family stayed very comfortably and had plenty of room to have privacy or to be together. The grandkids really liked the splash area and everyone lounged in the lazy river. We liked having the Wi, pool table and games available. The large TV with plenty of seating was very good, as well as the large dining table. The two refridgerators were well used and we cooked almost every night with plenty of dishes. After crossing the street we had public access to a very well guarded beach (all the lifeguards were very attentive and there were a lot of them all along that area). Any concerns we had were answered and resolved immediately. We were very close to shops, grocery, attractions and Krispe Kreme Donuts!!!
Andy (the owner) was always friendly and upbeat and had great communication. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Myrtle Beach with the family, or a golf group.
Joe, Carole and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Golf Trip

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

Hi Andy,

Just wanted to thank you for everything - working with you was a pleasure - and the place was fantastic.

Safe to say we will be working with you for years to come.

We are already talking about next year, let me know when you want the deposit for sunset red - I may even hand deliver it :]

Thanks again, I'll be in touch soon.

Kindest regards,

~BART

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Down town Myrtle Beach Vacation

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

My friends and I rented the Sunset Red Condo in April 2010. We brought our kids down during spring break and needed a big enough place for the kids to have their own space as well.
This condo is terrific! We had so much room and never ran out of things to do. When we arrived, I was having trouble with my directions and had to call William, the property manager. He was so helpful and professional. He stayed on the line until we got there and made sure we were satisfied with the condo. He also recommended places to go and told us if we needed anything to call. You don’t find that often when renting from big condo’s/houses.
The condo was very clean and spacious. The beds were so comfortable. Everyone commented on how well they slept. We had 11 people with 5 adults and 6 kids ranging from 9 to 17. We never had an issue with space or the kids being bored. The best part about the condo for me was the kitchen. We shared nights cooking then sitting down to the HUGE dining room table and having a wonderful meal together. The location was perfect because you are on the strand but it didn’t seem loud or busy when you are on the deck of the condo.

I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a wonderful home away from home. We plan on coming again next year!

Candis

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanksgiving gathering

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

Andy,

Thanks for sharing your vacation home. It is a great place! We had a great time. William was very helpful and attentive to the condo and our needs.

Thanks,
Rhonda

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual Golf Trip

Review submitted: October 26, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Andy...

Just wanted to pass along the sincere thanks from the group. We had a fantastic time during our golf vacation in Myrtle Beach...of which your accomodations certainly played a large part. Excellent place...we'll be back!!

Thanks again,
Dave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Annual golf trip...loved Villas II

Review submitted: February 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

My pals and I have planned an annual golf trip for a few years now and are always looking for a rental than can accommodate our group (up 10 16 at times), is well located to golf, food, and entertainment, and is within the average budget.

We were very impressed with this unit and would rent again without hesitation. Above the accommodations, perks (tv's, games, poker chips, pool table, etc), the management team was very responsive and highly professional.

I'd recommend this rental/team again and again...
THANK YOU!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: February 19, 2009   Date of arrival: February 15, 2009

Our family rented this unit in February 2009 for a family reunion consisting of 14 people from all over the country. The unit was clean, stocked and ready to go. There was plenty of room for all and the kitchen/dining area was perfect for entertaining. We spent most of our 4 day/ 5 night stay inside the unit, as the weather was a bit cold. Even in that, we never felt cramped or ran out of things to do. The kids (and the adults) had a great time with the Wii, the playstation and the upstairs game room. The bedrooms were comfortable and private with extra linens/pillows available. The unit exceeded our expectations in every way and we recommend it to others without hesitation. One last thing to mention...the owner of the property, Andy, was gracious enough to allow our family to "adopt" a ceramic pig that belonged to the unit and sat on the outside patio. This family reunion was very special as we have not seen each other in many many years and even had a few members just meeting for the very first time. We will continue our reunion tradition each year with the pig as our family mascot. Myrtle Beach 2009! Thank you Andy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Condo Rental in Myrtle Beach

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 10, 2008

This condo is everything as described and more. We rented in December for a special family event and could not have been more pleased. Although we did not have nearly 20 people, the condo is truly set up for accommodating at least 20.

The dining room table is just awesome. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with two refrigerators and I've never seen so many dishes, glasses, utensils in any large accommodation we have rented over the years. We hosted a dinner party one night and this condo was perfect for our needs.

Everything is in new condition. Everything is in working order. And everything you could want or need to be comfortable is provided.

Bathrooms (5) were stocked with amenities and plenty of towels. Each of the 6 bedrooms had a bureau, closet, television, phone and alarm clock - I believe there are 8 televisions total. Extra blankets and pillows were in the closets.

Besides the pool table, there were video game players upstairs and down, stereo and surround sound downstairs, board games -- honestly, I cannot name everything that was available because there was no time to use it all.

The keyless entry was invaluable with several people in and out each day. Parking was in the garage right below the unit. You could come up by elevator and stairs.

The two balconies were well-furnished so that there was room for everyone to enjoy.

The beach is directly across the street - a one minute walk from the unit.

We checked into many other accommodations in the area at much higher prices and there was no comparison.

Andy was awesome to work with. He answered all of our questions, helped with anything we asked for, and ensured that our stay with enjoyable.

Of everyone who stayed, or was in the condo for the dinner party or just a visit, there was not a single critcism. In fact, every person was blown away -- you cannot go wrong with this condo.

We hope that people continue to treat it well because we do want to return in the future if we are fortunate enough to get availability again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our family vacation

Review submitted: August 31, 2008   Date of arrival: August 16, 2008

We rented the condo in mid Aug for a family vacation...ages 17 - 51 a total of 15 people....the location and condo was everything we needed. Very safe community, walking distance to the beach, and stores..there are endless activites for the kids of all age groups.The condo was well supplied, all you need to bring is your clothes and sunscreen..everything else is provided.( when we arrived on the saturday we did a walk through as recommended and good thing we did the playstation and xbox was missing..the kids were a disappointed about that but when they saw the ocean I think they forgot about it.)
The pool table was a big hit and made up for the loss of the other game systems. The condo was clean, and perfect size for all of us....We would go back in a heart beat to the same location and condo...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Keswick Tourist (and future Vacationers)

Thank you for the positive comments.

Unfortunately, during the condo cleaning immediately prior to “Keswick Tourists” arrival the Playstation 3, handsets, keyboard, mouse, Xbox 360, power supply, headsets and handsets were stolen! This is the first time this has happened to us. Needless to say, we have “cleaned house” and that cleaning crew are now unemployed. Our local manager replaced the electronics during “Keswick Tourists” stay.

We use electronic locks with new codes for each visitor. Codes are not shared with cleaning staff only our trusted local manager.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Location

Review submitted: July 27, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

We have been going to the Myrtle Beach area for a number years now on a family vacation. This was the first time we have been able to accomodate the entire family of 18 adults and children in one location and it was really nice. We could all eat at the same time as the dining area was large enough for all of us. There was plenty of entertain things for the kids to use as well as the adults. The only thing that could be considered a negative was the condition of the carpet as it was heavily soiled for a unit that was new. However, the owner acknowledged he was aware of it and was going to recectify it. While one cannot do anything about other renters, the first few days were very unpleasant as family above our unit were very noisy and inconsiderate of other vacationers in the complex. The kids were in the pool until after midnight each night and after that they would be in the apartment above us running all over the place and moving furniture etc until 2 or three o'clock in the morning. Once they left in mid-week, the remainder of the experience in the complex was fantastic. We do look forward to returning to this location, hopefully next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are constantly fighting the dirty carpet issue and have had it professionally cleaned several times since new. We try to get our guests to clean up spillages as they occur but not all guests are as diligent as they could be.

Unfortunately, the developer, from new, put the cheapest carpet they could find in the unit which is light cream and it shows every mark – it’s probably not as dirty as most hotel carpets, it's just because it's light cream and hotels use darker commercial grade carpet they don’t show the marks as much.

We are going to get the stair carpet changed between guests in the next few weeks to a darker commercial grade, and then re-carpet the rest of the unit in September (2008) already blocked out on the calendar. The stairs are the most marked area of the carpet.

We are also adding some larger TV’s and extra games (Nintendo Wii) so please check back with us before you book for 2009. We will have the carpet issue, wall scuff issue (not mentioned but common in vacation rentals) corrected, and extra games/TV’s for our upcoming guests.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Place

Review submitted: May 5, 2008   Date of arrival: April 24, 2008

We (a group of 18 guys) stayed here from April 24-28 and I can't say begin to express how great we thought the place was. The description of the place was everything that it says it was. Easy access to the beach, airport and Broadway at the Beach area.

The owner of the place was also very accommodating. When we got there we realized that the xbox360 was broken. We called him to let him know and he came over the very next day to drop off a new one.

I would certainly recommend this place to friends or anyone else who wants to spend some time in MB. In fact our group has already started talking about doing this vacation again next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great condo, but use caution with the owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2008   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

We stayed at this condo for our Spring Break April 5-April 12 with a group of 5 adults and 9 teenagers. Had a great time, condo was very spacious, with ample room for all, amenities very good (plenty of TV's, large nice eating area, etc.), comfortable living area. Close access to the beach and central Myrtle Beach area. No complaints at all--until we were assessed what we thought was an excessive portion of our security deposit for moving furniture back to original locations. We had to leave early a.m. on our day of departure, notified the owner, and skipped our walk through with him. Big mistake--take your walkthrough on departure, and don't touch the pool table--he says we moved it--we don't believe we did. Too bad, because otherwise we liked the place.

Owners response: Dear potential guest,

In response to Michigan Visitor’s (MV’s) review:

MV’s party stayed in our condo between 4/5/08 and 4/12/08. On 4/5/08 my Father and I were in the unit adding additional handsets and headsets to the game boxes in the unit. While I was adding the new equipment my Father spent some time cleaning the pool table cloth and checking it for level.

On 4/12/08, during the exit clean, our local management noticed that the pool table had been moved and was out of true. This is easy to detect, as the pool table should be centrally located under the lights, and the indentations in the carpet where the pool table normally reside were now visible a foot or so away from where the feet were currently sitting.

Additionally, the MV party had left two toilets stopped up (in 36 groups of guests we have never had a stopped up toilet), moved beds and bed-side cabinets, and moved chairs from one room to another. They did not take the time to replace the furniture back into the rooms where it was originally located. Furthermore, our local management recommended to me that I not rent to this party again due to the general shoddy condition they had left the unit. This is only the second time my local management has made such a recommendation.

In order to return the unit to its prior condition I had a professional company relocate and level the pool table for our next guests. The charge to me was $125. I also incurred a call out charge of $50 for our local management company to go to the unit and manage this process. I therefore deducted $175 from MV’s security deposit. I did not deduct any other monies for extra work he had caused both my local management and myself. Regardless of whether he had attended his exit walk through or not I think it only fair to issue the charge back to return the unit to its original state.

We are not in business to cause friction with our guests but occasionally we do have to issue charge backs to repair damage guests have done to the unit or refund expenses guests have incurred toward us. We ask each guest to sign a contract stating that this is acceptable, which MV did. Unfortunately, he now appears to be upset because he incurred us an expense and we charged him back for that expense. The alternative would have been to simply drag the pool table back to its original position, not risk a bad review here, and allow subsequent guests to live with an out of true pool table.
Sincerely
Andy (Owner)

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review