reviews for: listing #39987 - Coldwater, Michigan Cottage rental

Long Lake, South Coldwater Chain, MI
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Volkmer Landing
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $150 /nt
    $600 - $600 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Cozy, met our needs.

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We were happy, the 'cottage' met our needs, and were certainly more comfortable then camping, as we needed to be close to a siblings on another lake nearby for our family reunion. He had the boats so we didn't use the dock. Our only complaint was the hot water supply in the kitchen was scalding, yet, my sister in law waited an hour after the rest of us showered, and she had no hot water, not even warm. She didn't wash her hair the water was that cold. Other than that, we found it more than accommodating, and we are talking of returning for a full week next summer. Thanks Joyce.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the review. We are looking forward to accommodating you next year again. We are in the process of checking the water heater out. Thanks again - Joyce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, comfy!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay, and are contemplating booking again for next year, for a full week. Thanks so much Joyce, you were very nice, and showed us everything up front. Here's to 2013!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review, Joanne. It is our goal to be very cordial with everyone we rent to. Looking forward to seeing you again next year and have a great rest of the summer. Joyce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

bad choice for rental

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

I give this a very critical appraisel property not as ad shown rental is not a house it is a travel trailer w/attachment access to back bedroom only 16-18 inches wide bathroom is so small you can't change clothes in it. There is little to no hot water and cold water is undrinkable.Washer and dryer do not work must travel 7 miles to do laundry.Unit is made up of several mismatched levels so you constantly stub your toes.Lake access consists of a dock where the bottom of lake is all muck and large size rocks abound no beach available therefore no swimming unless you take a boat.Total experience not worth it--landlords more concerned with visiting relatives than fixing problems.Many signs of substandard wiring also wall in bedroom leaks right above electric plug for a/c unit.

Owners response: The cottage is not a travel trailer, it is a mobile home with a large Florida room attached. The bathroom is 5x6 1/2 feet, and you can change clothes in it. There is ample hot water. We have had families of 4-8 people with no complaints of not having enough hot water. We do not advertise as having a washer and dryer, therefore, you can expect to launder elsewhere. There is dock space comes with the rental, and there are places to go swim if you have a boat. The dock does not have rocks, and yes most of the channels on this chain of lakes are mucky. We were only gone the last day of their rental, as we had a granddaughter made it to the International Soap Box Derby competition and had the right to leave for one day to watch her compete. The leak he is referring to was a small stain which was there when we bought the property. There also had been all new windows put in, which was were the leak originated from. The roof had also been repaired. The mismatched levels he is talking about is one step down to the Florida room and about a 4 inch raise going into the kitchen, which the mobile home which we live in, also has the same raise going into the kitchen, and that is the was they were built. The access to the back bedroom is not an attachment, it is part of the mobile home. They are boating and fishing lakes and 17 miles of lakes connected by channels. We do not advertise as having a beach area to swim in. There are public beaches, if you are boater. I am sorry this person was unhappy with the rental, but this is the first bad review we have had in 8 years of renting it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

weekend getaway

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

i was looking for a place to get away and relax with my 33 yr old son, my 12 yr old son and two of my grand daughters. we found the place to be a perfect little getaway with lake access. Jim and Joyce greeted us upon arrival and answered every question we had and then some. we felt as though we were staying with friends. i would recommend this property to anyone looking for the perfect place to fish,swim or go boating, as it has access to all of the chain of lakes. Thanks again to Jim and Joyce for the long overdue R & R.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind review. We are very cordial to all of our renters and try to make them feel welcome to the area. Our goal is to make renters comfortable and enjoy their vacation away from home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review