reviews for: listing #40029 - Big Bear Lake, California Cabin rental

Big Bear Cabin with Spa in the Woods - Wintergreen Cottage!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $75 - $400 /nt

sort by:

Nice place few complaints

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

The cabin was nice and the area was a great get away. Our only complaint would be that we did have to clean the kitchen some when we got there, most of the towels were still in the dryer so we folded & put those away, and there was trash in the outside can that we should have reported to the owner when we arrived. We did take our trash to the dumpster area in town but we were charged for the trash in the outside can.

Overall it was pretty clean. We did not use the hot tub while there. You may want to bring your own cooking supplies such as pans & knives if you plan on using the kitchen.

While there we went for a nice hike at Castle Rock Trail and went Kayaking at Boulder Bay. Next door to the kayak rental is a restaurant call Blanca & Pierre's give it a try, you won't be disappointed especially if you have the homemade apple dumpling. For Breakfast we ate at Grizzly Manor Café. It is a small place with big food and just a fun place to eat. We shopped in The Village and had tea & cupcakes at the Copper Q which we loved as well. The fireworks over the lake were phenomenal.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Hello Lise, Eric Morgan here. We had a wonderful stay at your lovely home! We really enjoyed it. We can't think of any way in which you can improve on the experience. Your home is just as you described; it is in great condition, yet cozy for the 8 of us.The information packet clearly relayed everything we needed to make ourselves comfortable... One could only imagine how even prettier it would be with a blanket of snow covering, but maybe that could be for the next time?? ;) Thanks for everything! Eric

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 21, 2009   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Nice, spacious and cleanRebecca157 (San Diego, CA)Review submitted- December 18, 2009 Date of arrival-December 10, 2009This was our first time staying at this cabin. We found the location (in Moonridge) to be terrific and the owner provided excellent directions. We arrived on the cusp of ski-season and we did have snow. The drive-way and stairs were plowed as promised. The spa is well-maintained - very clean. The cabin is also very clean, lots of pillows and blankets and the upper-lower floors are conducive to napping and different folks maintaining opposite hours. Our party was six people and, although they allow pets, we did not bring ours on this trip. The kitchen is well-equipped and the fire place is a nice added touch. Several smaller hills are in the immediate area, good for little ones doing some sledding without having to drive elsewhere. Easy to get to the slopes, shopping, and churches. The owner is very responsive and a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely stay at this cabin again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice, spacious and clean

Review submitted: December 18, 2009   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

This was our first time staying at this cabin. We found the location (in Moonridge) to be terrific and the owner provided excellent directions. We arrived on the cusp of ski-season and we did have snow. The drive-way and stairs were plowed as promised. The spa is well-maintained --- very clean. The cabin is also very clean, lots of pillows and blankets and the upper-lower floors are conducive to napping and different folks maintaining opposite hours. Our party was six people and, although they allow pets, we did not bring ours on this trip. The kitchen is well-equipped and the fire place is a nice added touch. Several smaller hills are in the immediate area, good for little ones doing some sledding without having to drive elsewhere. Easy to get to the slopes, shopping, and churches. The owner is very responsive and a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely stay at this cabin again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 31, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

I would just like to thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cabin.We visit Big Bear once a year and this was the best place we've stayed at.It was peaceful,nice and relaxing.Wish we could have stayed longer but we'll be back! Enjoy your Holidays :o)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 16, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

We spent a wonderful family weekend at Wintergreen and it was perfect. Cabin is cozy and well appointed for a rental. We felt right at home. Great neighborhood, local to village and town but secluded enough to feel really woodsy. Owner was super cool. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 19, 2009   Date of arrival: January 19, 2009

Thank you for a Great weekend in Big Bear. This was an excellent way to spend my husbands birthday. Overall the cabin was really nice and cozy. It wasnt quite as big as it appeared online, but it fit us just fine! The hot tub was great!The kitchen was well stocked, and the fireplace was super cute. Our only complaint is that the stairs were not shoveled properly and it made it very difficult to carry our bags up to the door. It was VERY icy. Also, we could only enter and exit through the sliding door because the path to the front door was not shoveled at all and extremely icy. We couldnt even open up the front door. It worked out okay for us because we are young and athletic, but if you are older or have children, I would verify that this is done completey because it could be a real safety hazard. I wouldnt be bothered by it if there was bad weather when we were there, but it was beautiful and this had obviously been around for awhile. Like I said before though...other than that...it was great!

Owners response: Thank you. Last season we had over 6 feet of snow! When there is snow, there is a possibility of snow melt causing icy conditions. Our snow removal service is good, but when it snows a lot the demand is so high they certainly cannot get to every single home right away so guests are often responsible for shoveling the deck. Snow is one of the "hazards" of going to the mountains, but of course, this is one of the main reasons we go there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2008   Date of arrival: October 20, 2008

Those 2 days spent at the Wintergreen Cottage to celebrate my birthday were amazing and unforgettable.Easy to find (thanks to the well explained directions), we arrived there on Friday night, and didn't left the cabin until Sunday morning.And I assure you it's not what we wanted, but the reality calls every Sunday afternoon : work on Monday .Welcoming, cosy, full of charm, quiet, the perfect getaway. I'm sorry to have too few adjectives in my vocabulary to describe the awesome time we had there.Relaxing in the Jacuzzi at night waiting for shooting stars, watching movies in the living room, playing guitar or sipping a drink with a bright fire in the chimney. In four words : Thank you so much.Bertrand

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

Your cabin was perfect for our getaway. Private location with lots of nature. Very comfortable and cozy inside with the perfect mountain ambiance. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 7, 2008

We had the best weekend ever. This was a nice home with everything you could need...we can't wait to get back up here again! For anyone who wants a nice, relaxing place this is it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2008   Date of arrival: September 22, 2008

Could not believe how perfect our weekend was. The cabin was clean, cozy, had everything we needed. Amazing view, nobody was around... Just a perfect weekend. Did not want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2008   Date of arrival: September 11, 2008

Beautiful place, quiet neighborhood in the forest. Jacuzzi was excellent. Perfect weekend getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2008   Date of arrival: September 11, 2008

We enjoyed the beautiful, cozy cabin, with everything we need!It's a very nice place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: August 10, 2008

(Entered in our Guestbook at the cabin): Enjoyed the cabin. This is our 3rd season coming to Big Bear. We had a very enjoyable time. Best of all was the 2 hours on the lake!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

(Entered in our Guestbook at the cabin): Thank you...we are having a great time. We really needed this family retreat! Thanks for helping us build memories! Also, we took a chance and went to Jasper's for dinner on Sat. night. There were 6 of us...we were incredibly satisfied with all aspects of food and service. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 6, 2008

(Entered in our Guestbook at the cabin): We really appreciated the fans! We needed a cozy retreat to share with family and friends and your home provided a much needed respite, so....Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 11, 2008

(Entered in our Guestbook at the cabin): We had a wonderful family retreat here. A very clean, quiet and lovely place. We would love to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review