reviews for: listing #40039 - Old Orchard Beach, Maine Apartment rental

Nautical Point
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $675 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Excellent for family and friends-close to beach :)

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

My family and friends loved Nautical Point. This year was our 2nd stay, We have stayed at Nautical Point now 2 times, each time we traveled with family and friends who stayed with us and we plenty of room and were very happy to find it clean and welcoming. The homes are just super short walk to the beach, has pretty much everything you need, including pots, pans, dishes towels and more. Our Kids loved the large driveway for riding their scooters, campfires at night in the firepit and outdoor cookouts on the deck but especially how close we were to the beach. The walk to the beach is so short you can comfortably leave the beach go back to the home, have lunch and be back to the beach in no time!
If you are looking for a warm cozy place that will not let you down, you should book Nautical Point, the owners told me many stay as guests but most become friends for life, I can say that is 100% truth, we have already booked our week for next year!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great to be able to meet you and your friends during your 2nd stay with us at Nautical Point. We are excited about your stay with us again next summer and look forward to seeing you and your family again. We do live by our motto "You are a guest of a night and a friend for a lifetime". So many of our clientele are repeat customers for many years. See you next summer "friends".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

repeat customers

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

Love the location of this rental house, across the street from the ocean and 10 minute walk to the boardwalk! Large deck on front of house to relax after a day at the beach and watch the people walk by. this was our 5th stay, my husband and I go up and the kids and friends end up coming for a few days too. Clean and pleasant, even some fresh flowers in vase when we arrived. Owners are very accommodating. Kennebunk Port is about half an hour away for a daytrip. Love sleeping with the ocean breeze! Will be back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your 5th stay with us at Nautical Point. We have put a lot of thought and care into our home and want our renters to enjoy it. It is a great house with a great location. Only 75 yards to the beach and less than a one mile walk to the the center of town. Glad that you and your family will be coming back again for another wonderful vacation with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeat Customer

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

My friends and I have been renting at Nautical Point for the past 5 years or so. We have tried all three Units and enjoyed our experience every time. The location is great! It has plenty of parking, directly across from the beach, and about a mile down to the pier. It's also kept very clean and has everything you need to enjoy your vacation. For the price, you can't beat it - would definitely recommend!

Owners response: Thanks Bernie. I think you have to stay there to truly appreciate how nice it is. Most of our customs are repeat tenants like yourself. Best wishes and look forward to hearing from you again.

John and Marta

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cottage Nautical Point

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

Just came back last week from our wonderful week in Maine. The description on the website was accurate, the cottage clean. My Son recommended this little cottage as he has been there twice. My Husband and I were very pleased, and being pet friendly was a bonus. The living room area was large, bathroom large and the bedroom more than enough room. So close to the beach to bring a coffee in the morning, and the little deck perfect for sitting out, and BBQing in the evening, if you are not eating lobster!!! It seems private sitting back, and the trains did not bother us at all. Anyone who has been to that area knows the trains go by there and I found it quite pleasant without being bothersome at all.Such a short walk to the beach, and in September, the weather can be lovely which it was. Short walk to the pier on the beach or the road. Considering that many rentals do not allow pets, it was wonderful that I could bring my dog, but took care to make sure that I left the place as I found it..just like I would at home. Highly recommend, and hope to be back soon!!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Most Relaxing at the Cottage!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We finally found the most relaxing spot on Old Orchard Beach. The cottage was private yet the location was great. We spent the days on the beach and walked downtown in the evenings. The owners were very nice, allowing us extra parking to invite family for an afternoon get together. We are hoping to stay again in 2014!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The upstairs unit

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

I had a wonderful time. My family rented the upstairs while a friend and her family rented the downstairs. The yard is big enough to have the kids play and still be able to cook and get things together for meals. The fire pit was a hit with s'mores. the short walk to the beach was perfect enough to enjoy the beach and still come back to the unit to go the bathroom or get snacks. Being across the street from the beach is one of the things I like the best. We have privacy without having people walk by looking in the windows. The parking was plenty, even had enough room for friends to come up for the day.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Adorable Cottage

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The adorable cottage was located in a sweet spot. Close enough to downtown you could walk there in 15 mins or so yet far enough to not get all the noise from central OOB. The accommodations were wonderful. The king size bed was comfy; however the pull out sleeper was uncomfortable for my daughter. There was a full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and living room.

I would go back there in a heartbeat. The owners have been awesome to work with and I trust them as what they told me is exactly what I got. My only recommendation to them would be to spend some money on pots and pans as the ones there were scratched and are unhealthy to use. Other than that, the location was great.

You cross the street to the beach (5 mins walk. The beach is not too crowded or uncrowded there. It was a perfect balance as the Friendship Motel is right on the beach so it give the feel of people on the beach without being crowded.

We even watered the plants they had in pots outside by the porch. The hose was wonderful to wash off sand from the beach as not to track it indoors. The neighbors were all wonderful from the house rental. The parking was great. The train did wake up my husband everynight, but not me. With the sun all day, being relaxed and the ocean breeze, I slept like a baby.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW! Loved our stay here!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the adorable yellow cottage apartment! This cottage has everything we needed in it, it was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was huge, the king size bed was very comfortable and the pull-out sofa bed was perfect for our children! We had the best vacation we could have asked for! I would recommend staying here to anyone who wants to have a wonderful and relaxing vacation. One of the best parts of the vacation was meeting the owners, John and Marta. They are very gracious, attentive, and positively wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with them! The walk to the beach was just out the door and a very short walk down a side road and there you were on a beautiful and NOT over crowded beach and the pier and restaurants are right down the road, everything was very conveniently located. We knew the moment we opened the cottage door that this was a place we would be returning to and sure enough we booked next years vacation before leaving. Thank you Marta and John for such a wonderful experience! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful time

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

I rented the adorable upstairs unit last September and had a wonderful time. I was pleasantly surprised by how cute, clean, and charming the apartment was, and loved how close it was to the beach. The only small problem I had upon arrival was immediately taken care of by the owners, and I couldn't have been happier. My girlfriends and I loved sun bathing on the deck and going for strolls on the beach and nearby pier. We've already discussed renting this unit again this summer and are just working out the details. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a great vacation at a great price...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Not sure who this is but thank you for your review. It validates us and we truly appreciate it.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Uncomfortable, At Best

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We rented all three units and were very surprised by the condition of the house based on the description and pictures posted on the site. The website claims the units were newly renovated, however, the bathrooms were falling apart, the units were filthy upon arrival, and the odor was unbearable. This is false advertising.
We did not call the owner during our stay, as these were all issues that could not be fixed during our stay (ie. broken windows, non-working kitchen appliances, etc.), and we planned on addressing these issues after our stay. We requested a partial refund due to promised amenities that were not provided, but was flat out denied because we did not contact him during the week. Again, this is ridiculous as these are issues that could not be solved with a simple phone call.

Unit 1: Bad smell, broken dishwasher, broken vacuum, broken bathroom tiles, heat was not connected, most light-bulbs were missing or burned out, bugs, missing screens for windows, windows that can't be opened or fully closed.

Unit 2: Bad smell, broken oven, broken coffee maker, light-bulbs were missing or burned out, bugs, missing screens for windows, windows that can't be opened or fully closed.

Cottage: Bad smell, TV was short circuiting, no instructions on how to turn on heat, bugs.

In addition, we were charged for three full sets of linens for the units, and received miss-matched sheets with no fitted sheets. Also, all three units were filthy when we got there, and contrary to the owners claims, we left the units cleaner than when we arrived.

These are issues that are clearly the result of negligent owners, and untrustworthy employees.

Owners response: First off, it is unfair that anyone can post a review that damages a business owner without a screening process. This tenant was the filthiest person ever to rent my property in 7 years. I was originally called regarding a heating issue that I addressed within 24 hours. The propane had been turned off without my knowledge. I called to ensure the issue was resolved and never heard back again. The cleaner originally complained only of the cottage referencing trash left all over the property, dirty dishes, and outright filth. He has cleaned for me for 3 years and spent 5 hours cleaning the mess the tenants left.He normally spends that time cleaning 3 units. My wife and I spent 4 hours Thursday and 6 hours Friday cleaning up what was the worse mess I had ever seen. We actually threw away one couch because the dog hair on it was so bad, it turned my stomach. I also washed a futon sheet full of dog hair and excrement. The cleaner arrived and advised me that the tenant had left chicken bones with meat on them under the couch. I went to the dishwasher only to find a full and filthy load of dishes never cleaned when in fact the dishwasher worked fine.I was never advised of the issue during the stay. All lights were working and unlike the tenant's claim, there was a working stove in unit 2. As with heat, it is wise to turn any elecrtric device in the "on" position if you expect it to work. The cleaner also advised that there were multiple animals in the units that were not approved. I have never been more insulted and defamed in such a manner and the fact that 70 % of our renters are repeat tenants is a testament to our service. Further, ironically enough, the tenant immediately agreed to pay an extra 50.00 dollars for the additional cleaning as well as a 20.00 fee for linens which was due at the time of occupancy and never paid. I know I would not agree to such a penalty unless I was guilty of something. I am asking that any rental owner in OOB reconsider renting to people such as this as reviews are arbitrary, capricious, and without a "check and balance" system and without authentication. What a shame that one person can attempt to ruin a business when in fact the problem lies within themselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Cottage Rental

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nautical Point cottage. It was so close to the beach, the pier and stores it made for a very relaxing and enjoyable location. Everything was within walking distance. I would certainly recommend staying here. The cottage has a huge king sized bed and a pull out couch. Although there were only two of us, we easily could've fit another 2 people comfortably. The only 'negative' thing I can say is that I couldn't get Wifi access - but I kind of expected as much being up in Maine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Wonderful place to stay......

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

This was our second time renting the cottage. There were 4 of us and we fit perfectly! The cottage was very clean, lanscape beautifully maintained and the cottage had all of the amenities of home. We were able to cross the street and be on the beach as well as walk to the shops and restaraunts. The owner of this establishment was staying nearby and was very sweet to check in on us and offer anything we may need. The bedroom having a king size bed and air conditioner was a real plus! I will return again and again and refer all of my friends as well. This was a top notch vacation spot!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Disappointed

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We rented the cottage and we were very disappointed. There were a few things that were just unacceptable to me. First is that there are train tracks that are located approx 10 feet from the house. There are freight trains and Amtrack trains that run by the house all day and night and are so close that they actually shake the house. The next issue that we encountered was the door to the house was so difficult to open and close that my husband even had trouble getting the door to unjam. The third thing was that there it smelled terrible! There was a strong odor of cat urine in the house which was only made worse when it rained outside and we had to close the windows.

The only reason that I gave this place 2 stars was because after we had left early and emailed the owner that we had left he did say that we could stay in a different unit, but by that time we were already home, and that unit would still be very close to the train tracks which woke us up at night.

Owners response: Let me begin by addressing the train tracks. The property is located on East Grand Avenue which runs north to south for about 7 miles and is parallel to the ocean. Thousands of hotels, motels and condo units are located the same distance as our property is. In short - if you want this close proximity to the ocean (75 yards) you will hear trains. They do not run all day - maybe 6 times during the course of a day and they are far more than 10 feet from the track as indicated. In fact, many renters tell us the trains create a cultural ambiance that reflects the beautiful and historic history of Old Orchard Beach.
With respect to the sliding glass doors- when it gets humid like it was the week the renter stayed, the door does swell and can be difficult to open. I have since replaced the door with French doors at the cost of 700 dollars. Finally, and most bothersome to me is the absolute false statement regarding an odor. Two weeks prior to the renters visit, I had all rugs steam cleaned and no one else has complained since that cleaning. Perhaps the smell renters claim to exist was from her two dogs that she failed to mention in her review. Upon hearing of her disappointment , i offered her a much larger unit but she declinef. She never addressed the concerns until after she left. Ironically, this review was posted after we were unable to locate a phone charger she apparently left in the cottage. In closing, I am disappointed that people are able to slander a property with hurtful comments, many which are exaggerated or downright false. As a point of interest, 75% of our customers are repeats and we are booked through the summer.

Owner

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We (my boyfriend, his 7 year old son, and I) just returned from a perfect long weekend stay at Nautical Point. We stayed in the cottage and couldn't have asked for anything more. Everything was clean and tidy. The owner was very accommodating and the property manager was helpful as well. It's a 1 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute walk to the pier and downtown area, which in my opinion was the perfect location, any closer to the pier and the beach was extremely crowded. I will definitely recommend this to friends and family, and am looking forward to returning next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Awesome Vacation Stay!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We had a great time staying at Nautical Point. It was very clean and very cozy. The unit we stayed in also has a really nice deck, where we barbequed, hung out, and loved watching all the people go by! The only thing that didn't cooperate was the weather for the first two days, cold and rainy! Not a big deal though, we rented movies and shopped for those days. The last three days the weather was great! We went up to Portland one day and went lobster fishing… pretty cool! We walked across the street to the beach and had a great time. We also walked to the boardwalk, where our three kids had a great time at the amusement park. We ate at four or five awesome restaurants right on the boardwalk, and also did some more shopping there. We will definitely be back! Looking in to dates already!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

great family vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

Third year in a row and we will come back again. Very close to beach and 10 minute walk to boardwalk. Great for families, especially teenagers. Units are very clean and spacious. Great deck to hang out on in unit two. Owners are very accomodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Rental!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This is a wonderful place to rent from especially if you are looking for a cozy spot right near the beach! Very clean and the owner was very accomodating to us on our 4th of July weekend stay. The cottage had everything we needed and was very neat and tidy. As soon as we arrived we felt right at home and enjoyed the easy walk to the beach and local shops. This is right on the strip of stores, restaurants, and about five minutes from the pier and amusement park area. There was a firepit in the yard also which made for relaxing evenings by the fire enjoying each other's company. We loved it so much we have recommended this to our friends and family and have also made sure to book for next year already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This is a wonderful place to rent from especially if you are looking for a cozy spot right near the beach!

Very clean and the owner was very accomodating to us on our 4th of July weekend stay. The cottage had everything we needed and was very neat and tidy. As soon as we arrived we felt right at home and enjoyed the easy walk to the beach and local shops. This is right on the strip of stores, restaurants, and about five minutes from the pier and amusement park area.

There was a firepit in the yard also which made for relaxing evenings by the fire enjoying each other's company. We loved it so much we have recommended this to our friends and family and have also made sure to book for next year already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

3rd year in a row, great place!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

My family will be renting this property for the 3rd year in a row. Great location, right across from beach. We have stayed in both the 1st & 2nd floor rentals and both were clean and nicely decorated. Great location and great price!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

disappointed! place had dead mice

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Upon arrival, we were pleased with the location, but soon found out the toaster oven and microwave did not work. The dishwasher was bolted shut and the sofa bed was broken. The Frig froze all our produce, we had to throw it out. And the place was infested with mice, one we found underneath the bed the 5th day into the vacation. I called several times, I was never able to get anyone to speak too. Once I did recieved a voicemail and left a message for John, but never recieved a call back.

Unsatisfied!!!

Owners response: This is truly an unfair review. The frozen produce was a result of the temperature being placed at the coldest selection. The toaster oven and microwave were connected to a inoperable receptacle which has since been replaced. The dishwasher is brand new so I cannot understand that comment. It is my belief that the tenants created the mouse problem as the cleaners advised the tenants left the place very dirty. In any case, we have never had a problem before or after and the property is treated monthly by Orkin. I would suggest potential renters look at other reviews and not place any true value on this isolated situation.

Helpful votes: 19 / 22

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review