reviews for: listing #40053 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Serene Spanish Home w/ Garden - beach 8 blks!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Carlsbad Village
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,400 - $1,600 /wk
    $2,800 - $5,300 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

This house is the perfect place in Carlsbad-just off the beaten path enough to be very quiet and private, yet close enough to everything to be very convenient. Very clean and comfortable; nice windows and natural light; great living space and yard. The owner was great to work with. I would definitely go back and recommend to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carlsbad Vacation

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

This was a lovely, comfortable place to stay. We were there for just over 4 weeks and were able to settle in right away. It is a very convenient location, close to the park, beach and village. The home was full of light and had lovely gardens which were so very relaxing. Because of its size, we were able to have several family gatherings and seat everyone comfortably. Carlsbad is one of our favorite places to visit as it has such a beautiful beach, shopping and great choices in restaurants. We loved that the house had a garage for our cars.

Sherrie (the owner) was wonderful to work with!! We have stayed in Carlsbad for extended stays often, and this was by far our best experience! Sherrie had called me once we had moved in and I asked about a reception issue on the TV in the bedroom (asking, not complaining). She called me the next day to say she was buying a new TV for that room. I sure didn't expect that!

I would definitely recommend this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Carlsbad in July

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Staying in this charming home in Carlsbad was like visiting an old friend. Everything you could ever need for a week is supplied, and I don't mean just pots and pans. It is equipped with all that and more - the linens, towels, books, CD's, DVD's, magazines, string, paper clips - on and on. I think it is the kind of place that each guest appreciates so much they want to leave something for the next person. The neighborhood is nice and quiet and the location is close to everything provided you have a car.

The owner was very easy to work with and accommodating. The house was immaculate and the outdoor areas well-maintained. I would highly recommend the place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Holiday

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

After staying in this beautiful home I never want to stay in a hotel again. Our stay was more wonderful than we could have imagined. The home is in a lovely, quiet neighbourhood, yet close enough to everything that we usually chose to walk to the beach and restaurants instead of drive.

The home is very clean, spacious and very beautifully decorated. The yard was amazing, so nice to sit outside and eat dinner, or just relax on one of the patios and watch the hummingbirds.

I have been to San Diego many times in my life, but this was my first time to Carlsbad. Now I can’t imagine wanting to stay anywhere else. Carlsbad has everything we were looking for, gorgeous beaches, golf courses, restaurants, shopping, but still has a small town feel.

I would not hesitate to recommend this home to anyone. The owner has really thought of everything, This home was perfect for us. We had an amazing vacation. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staying in a home is so much nicer than a hotel room. Owner was very nice!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Retreat in the middle of Paradise

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

This home is just that - "a home". With the first step through the entry gate a sense of peace is taken in. The inside is wonderfully decorated and well taken care of. The outside gardens are a peace of heaven. Beautifully manicured with ample seating to relax and take in the scenery. There is easy access to Carlsbad Village with great places to eat and walk around and for those that like the beach this is the place. We definitely look forward to a return stay next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just Like Home

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely home, which by the 5th day felt just like home. Everything was perfect and the owner was a delight to work with from reservation to checkout. The courtyards with running fountain and backyard was a delight for someone from the "desert." This home is perfect for family visits, close to town and no worries with parking! Thank you for sharing your home. We will come back in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely home!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Our family really enjoyed this lovely house. It was well decorated and spacious. We especially appreciated the pretty garden to lay down in the sun. The owner was very helpful. We definitely recommend this place.
Eric M.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

So Much Better Than a Hotel!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

The location was perfect and the house was immaculate. The layout was just right for us and the quiet neighborhood was beautiful. This was our first time to stay at a home instead of a hotel. I cannot imagine what we were thinking not doing this sooner! The homeowner was helpful, kind and very fair and honest with us. I would recommend this home anytime and will stay there again, if its available, when we return to San Diego area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect "home away from home"!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

This home met all of our needs so comfortably. It's a great setup, with two separate master bedrooms, each with full bath. The "toys" and amenities included made the time there lots of fun. The garden is breathtaking and a great place to sit out and unwind. The unit was very clean and in good repair. The landlord was very accomodating and helpful. All in all, a great place for couples or families. Near the beach and the village, but in a quiet location. I highly recommend it, and only wish it were available for our upcoming trip! Shea

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Exceeded My Expectations!

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

I am a businessman requiring that I work in the Carlsbad area and wanted to be near the beach since I bicycle and run.

The reason for writing this review, however, is my surprise at the beauty of the home, professional service, cleanliness, and attention to every amenity honestly surprising.

And, more…..

The décor was very tasteful and matched the quiet feeling in the house. The furnishings and the windows, with the patios, all framed your amazing gardens everywhere I looked.

I found the gardens and patios so peaceful and relaxing... It was very pleasant to be around the garden areas after a long day.

Carlsbad itself is very pleasant; I hadn't known much about it. In the busy California world, Carlsbad seems to be a village with excellent restaurants, and proximity to the beach, hiking paths...really like it!!

This is a longer review but I think anyone reading this should know your property is a stunning, well-managed, absolutely perfect vacation home in what I think is one of the most beautiful areas of the country.

Thank you, and wish to return as often as my schedule allows....

Best Wishes!!

Michael.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great time!

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We had a great time and a lot of fun and we enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. Everything is so convenient and the information sheets so useful! Especially my kids love this house!!!!

Oh, so sad to go, we would love to stay longer...thank you!!!
Best regards, Helena K.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect vacation home in Olde Carlsbad!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

We had a delightful stay in this Carlsbad home. We loved the way it was decorated inside and out, the comfortable furnishings and beds, adequate supplies, everything one could want in a home. Carlsbad offers many wonderful attractions and we especially loved the beaches and shops in the Village. Would not hesitate to recommend to others. The owner was very easy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the gardens

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

"We really enjoyed our stay in San Diego. Having your place as a retreat was a big part of it. My wife and mother-in-law enjoyed the gardens. I am going to save your email for future reference." - Matty & Mary D.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will come again!

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

"We had a wonderful two month stay. The house is roomy and comfortable and has easy access to wonderful eateries in nearby Carlsbad Village. The beaches are beautiful and close by. We look forward to using this location again on our next visit" - Tom M.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review