reviews for: listing #40069 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee House rental

Black Bear Lookout
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $119 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

I would recommend this house to anyone...and already have. It's 3-4 minutes from the strip in Gatlinburg and just outside the national park. The house could probably sleep 10-12. We brought a large family and it was great. Plenty of room for everyone. The hot tub was perfect after a long day of hiking. Kitchen was perfect and the owner could not have been better. Don't waste your money on a hotel. This house is WAY better than anything you will find.
The house is up on a hill with a view of the mountains and forest behind it. Perfect spot to stay for your trip to the Smokeys!
Thank you Rodney for letting us stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Place

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

My family stayed here the first week of July 2013... This place is awesome... To be out of hustle and bustle of life and out in the country... The view from the front deck is great. We really enjoyed our stay here.. We met the neighbors across the street... The owners are very nice and helpful people. It was very neat and clean and had ample room for everyone... To be just a mile out of Gatlinburg, you would never know there was a town anywhere near so the feel of country was amazing... Thanks Rodney.. This was an amazing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great deal

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

nice place ,great price, no problem ,this place is good if you really looking for a place just for something to stay and refresh ,not for other things that you expect like view and luxury .anyway our group is always on the go everyday so it doesn't matter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your review. The house overlooks downtown Gatlinburg with a great view of the space needle and Ober of Gatlinburg in front and the Great Smokey Mountains in back. During the summer that view is obstructed by the leaves on the large oak trees that surround the house on the Mountain. We offer a great price for a cozy home away from home feeling without the "luxury" that most would not use but pay much more for. When not rented, we and our four children enjoy it throughout the year. Great place for a Great Price!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

An absolute perfect find! This house fit our family of 6 better than our own home! The bedrooms were perfect size, there was plenty of relaxing room, the kitchen had everything we needed and the hot tub was a perfect end to a day of hiking and site seeing. Food City was only a mile away as well as downtown Gatlinburg. The drive up the mountain was a bit confusing at first, but one time going up and coming down we got the hang of it. We will definitely be back our next TN visit! Thank you so much for sharing your personal vacation home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Spring Break in the Smoky Mountains

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Our family of 5 had a very nice time in the Black Bear Lookout. The house is very clean and is equipped with everything a family might need. There is enough room for everybody. A large grochery store is nearby which is very convenient. The views from the deck and the front porch are picturesque. The owner was very responsive. We really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Smoky Mtn vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

The place was nice, comfortable, and good for the price. The road to the property was a little challenging but still manageable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We rented this house for the week of the Fourth of July and are very happy to have done so. The location was perfect. We got to experience the best of down town Gatlinburg and The Great Smokey Mountains. We are used to driving on flat roads, so the initial drive up the mountain to the house was a bit intimidating but after a short trip or two up and down the mountain we felt comfortable. We also recommend using the owner's hand made map for your initial arrival to the house; it was very helpful being that the GPS was not reliable up there. Some of our family also found it helpful to sleep with foam ear plugs (if you go to bed early) being that 4 of the bedrooms are on the lower level of the house. Over-all the house was clean and very accommodating. The owner was also extremely kind and very helpful. We are thankful to have found such a deal during a holiday week. Also….. if you plan on doing any hiking we recommend you pick up a walking stick. The gentleman that lives across the street makes beautiful hand carved walking sticks and was selling them for a price of only 5$! Oh and one last thing, if you want a delicious steak dinner, you must try The Peddler. We confirmed with several locals that it was the place to go for a 5 star meal. If possible ask for a seat near the window, the view is amazing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Gatlinburg, TN

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

This was a great place for a family get together. We had family from California, North Carolina, and Minnesota. The house afforded everything we could possibly need. We even saw a black bear walk up the road and go into the back yard of the house. The kids thought this was the best part of the whole week in Gatlinburg. If we were to go back to Gatlinburg, we would definitely want to rent this home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review