reviews for: listing #40100 - Anahola, Hawaii House rental

Favorite Family Vacation Getaway
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $95 - $350 /nt
    $665 - $2,450 /wk
    $2,100 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Myanmar

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

The property was perfect for our families. I brought my adult children, my sister brought her son and daughter-in-law, we had other friends joins us for a night or six. There was plenty of room! The house is a nice size and it is well kept. We thought it was perfect for us!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We're so glad that our Anahola accommodations worked out so well for your family & friends, who traveled from all over the world to our little corner of paradise to be together! It's always a pleasure to know we were able to facilitate a memorable, comfortable reunion for our guests!
It means a lot to us.....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

No view of ocean, but nice home

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

My new spouse and I stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon from November 11 until the 15th this year (2013). The photos on this site are little deceptive. I was under the impression that you could see the beach from the porch, but the only thing you see are overgrown palms and the property manager's home. The house was comfortable and in good shape, but we could not figure out how to operate the oven (there should have been instructions), we had to replace batteries in one of the smoke detectors, and the stove was not super clean (remnants of rice found). I would have used a beach chair, but the ones in the laundry area outside were dirty and pretty rickety and it wasn't clear if any of the equipment in the storage shed was available. The laundry facilities were a bit ghetto and there were even clothes left in the dryer. Overall, however, we enjoyed the house and the location and would still recommend it, especially for those with families (since there was another room/bathroom and even a bunkhouse below).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The property description of our Anahola vacation home does not claim to have an ocean view. There used to be one, but neighboring foliage now blocks that view, so that is no longer mentioned on our listing. Our property description states that there is a view of Anahola Mountain from our lanai...and that is equally lovely! As for the oven, it is a standard operating appliance that had no issues when checked. We send quite a lengthy, comprehensive packet of instructions to all booked guests in advance of their arrival to avoid having little notes posted throughout the house, which is an annoyance in our opinion. In that packet is listed all the beach gear that is for their use, and the other parts of the property that are for the owners' use only. The instruction packet also describes the outdoor laundry facilities in detail and that they are indeed shared with our on-site caretakers' family. And finally, our guests are encouraged to check in with our caretakers, who live right next door, for any questions, repairs, or recommendations, during the booking, to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. Both our caretakers and ourselves hold a high priority for personal service to all our guests. It's a tremendous pleasure to provide a wonderful, memorable experience for each traveler!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

our family reunion

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

the house was great re. space, necessities, and location not far from kapa'a and minutes to anahola beach. the process of making the arrangements to stay at the house was smooth and friendly. connie and jim and jen, the caretakers, were great to work with. would recommend this property for everyone from honeymooners to family/group vacationers. we had a wonderful time and plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Connie,

We had a wonderful time! Thank you for being so supportive through the whole process. Jimmy and Jen were just lovely and were on top of everything. Thanks for making our vacation so wonderful.

Christie - Cotati, California

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Hi Connie,

Just wanted to report in that we are back in Houston and already homesick for your lovely house. We had a great time and really wanted to just move in and stay forever. Kitty Chon was the perfect pushy pet. He hung out with us a lot and made us smile. You have done a terrific job making the house a home. I loved the bathrooms, especially the showers. You might want to get a 2nd squeegie so that both bathrooms have their own.
Although the master bedroom is beautiful, that bed was a little too soft
for my back; the single beds were very comfortable. We found everything
we needed in the kitchen, and when it got a bit chilly (we seem to have
hit an unusually cold week), Auntie Jen gave us an extra blanket. She's
a sweetie. We loved the proximity to Anahola Beach Park and wandered over there almost daily. We really felt like we were in our own little world there, far away from the "tourists."
I'm so glad we found you through VRBO. Thank you for the perfect
vacation.

Joanna - Houston, Texas

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful & Pretty

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Thank you, Connie. We had a great time. The neighborhood was peaceful and pretty. We were so happy to be in a place removed from the hustle of the tourist crowds and where the Aloha spirit continues to thrive.

Best,
Kim & Friends - Davis, California

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Winter Getaway

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 11, 2011

Connie,
We all had a fabulous week in Anahola and enjoyed staying in your home very much.
Thanks,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in Kauai

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Hi Connie,

So we're back in the snow :( The rental was great. We felt very much at home there. It was nice to be away from the hustle of the towns. Thanks so much for your help and hope you had a great Christmas and New Year.

Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second Visit

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

Hi Connie;
It was a wet vacation this time, but it was still wonderful!. I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed getting to know Jimmy and Jen. We joined in several bible studies during the time we were there and it was very special for Bret and I. They are a wonderful couple and the Bible Studies, worship service and speaker was awesome! It is a good work they are doing. There was definitely a good turnout of young people for the bible studies, which is so encouraging, along with other folks from around the island. Very cool!
Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know how much we enjoyed our stay!
Take care!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Getaway

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

Connie,
We all had a fabulous week in Anahola and enjoyed staying in your home very much.
Thanks,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Break from the Snow

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Hi Connie,

So we're back in the snow :( The rental was great. We felt very much at home there. It was nice to be away from the hustle of the towns. Thanks so much for your help and hope you had a great Christmas and New Year.

Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second Visit!

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

Hi Connie;
It was a wet vacation this time, but it was still wonderful!. I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed getting to know Jimmy and Jen. We joined in several bible studies during the time we were there and it was very special for Bret and I. They are a wonderful couple and the Bible Studies, worship service and speaker was awesome! It is a good work they are doing. There was definitely a good turnout of young people for the bible studies, which is so encouraging, along with other folks from around the island. Very cool!
Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know how much we enjoyed our stay!
Take care!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Welcome Large Families

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

We loved this house, and we loved that big families are welcomed. There were 18 of of us and everyone had a bed. There was more to the bunkhouses then the pictures show. The beach is just a short walk away. The caretakers Jimmy and Jennifer live next door, they are the nicest people. They actually enjoyed our four small boys and all the noise they bring. We have already recommended this house to other people and can't wait to return ourselves. My dad said he really liked that the stairs didn't squeak when he was sneaking out early in the morning to get Loco Moco. Thank You Connie for making this a easy rental and always getting back to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great house and location

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation here. The house was clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We enjoyed that it was in a neighborhood and very close to a beautiful beach and park. We could see the top of the Anahola mountains from the lanai and hear the ocean from the house. There are a lot of chickens all over Kauai so bring ear plugs no matter where you go if roosters crowing way before the break of dawn will wake you. The location is excellent - centrally located to the north and south coasts. The next door neighbors are the caretakers and are very friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review