reviews for: listing #40131 - Coronado, California Studio rental

Charming Spacious Carriage House
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,400 - $4,100 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Rental!

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We were so impressed with our stay here. This was our first time booking a vacation through a vacation rental website and I am confident we will do it again - we look forward to coming back to this same great little carriage house! Compared to staying in a hotel - there is no comparison!! This is so much better and more relaxing. The pictures on the website are accurate but they don't completely depict how charming this litte studio rental actually is. We loved relaxing in the generous outdoor living spaces (one in the shade, one in the sun). The owners were so accomodating and thought of even the smallest details to make our stay truly memorable. The grocery store and main street in Coronado are just a few blocks away, as is the beach. We enjoyed walking along the beach and stopping by the Hotel Del Coronado to watch the sunset and enjoy a drink outside. I really can't say enough about how great this rental is! Great location, comfortable bed, outdoor grill, quiet surroundings. We will be back!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Find

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Our stay at the Carriage House was memerable. From the moment we meant Dave and Gayle, we knew our time spent there would be special. They are very warm, gracious host, who have thought of every comfort for their guest.
The location is close to everything wonderful about Coronado. What we didn't walk to, we rode the provided bikes.
Thank you, Dave and Gayle for sharing your beautiful Carriage House with those of us not fortunate enough to live in beautiful Coronado!
P.S. We're booked for two weeks next year, one wasn't enough! See you next year...Marilyn and Keith

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST rental in Coronado!!!

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

I agree with every one of the other reviews.....and more!!! This is THE only place I would rent in Coronado - my favorite was how spacious it felt with the 2 outdoor spaces - the sleeping porch and the upper deck - it felt like a home more than a carriage house - the back entryway is cozy and inviting and safe - the space is bright and sunny and happy - I just can't say enough!!!

Dave and Gayle have thought of every amenity - so many thoughtful details to make your stay easy-breezy comfortable - and they are wonderfully warm and friendly hosts!!!

I will be back again and again :)

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect apartment, perfect hosts! Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Well what can we say!

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right decision in chosing this apartment (last minute!).

Everything you could possible need is waiting for you, down to a bottle of chilled wine!

Dave and Gayle have evidently gone to much trouble with all their finishing touches to this beautiful apartment - they have definitely paid great attention to detail, and it was very much appreciated and enjoyed by myself and my partner for the 10 days we stayed here (we did not want to leave!).

You cannot fault this apartment: clean, well equipt, cosy and very comfortable (you will love the adjustable mattress too!). We also had full use of the washer/dryer which was of great help to us.

You are only a stone's throw from the beach and shopping area, so plain sailing all the way! :-)

Thank you so much Dave and Gayle for a wonderful stay - you are wonderful hosts (we only wished we could have stayed longer, but hope to return very soon!).

Alan & Bridget Jan 2012

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful hosts, location, and apartment

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

This studio apartment has our highest possible recommendation. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment is very near the beach and also not too far from the village. The physical layout of the studio apartment worked extremely well, but we especially enjoyed the exterior of the unit including the covered porch with daybed, lower deck, and elevated deck. Everything in the apartment, from kitchen appliances to bedding to furniture to blinds, was absolutely first class. Our hosts had obviously given thought and attention to every detail and even included some unexpected extra perks. We had total privacy, but we knew our hosts were available if we ever needed them, which given their thorough preparation for our stay, we never did. Our interaction in terms of the rental contract, payment, and security deposit was straightforward and professional. We highly recommend this apartment for anyone looking for a first class rental unit with great location on Coronado.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful vacation getaway

Review submitted: February 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation in this lovely studio apartment. The owners have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. The kitchen is complete, the living room has a wireless connection and the bed assures a good nights sleep. The outside deck demanded reading the paper coffee in hand while feeling the sun on our faces. A real treat. The location was just a few blocks from the ocean which meant including beach walks into our daily routine. The owners were gracious answering all questions and then retreating until called upon. The pictures on the website do not do the apartment justice. The apartment is amazingly spacious. It really was a delight to stay there and we recommend it without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Blown away by our stay

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

This was our first time renting a vacation home and the Watson's were very generous in their patience with our many questions regarding the process, their home and the area. Their graciousness continued during our stay as they perfectly balanced the line of being there when we needed anything but not looking over our shoulder.

The unit is well appointed and we've copied some of the interior design features in our own home. The bed is very comfrotable (a Sleep Number mattress), the TV is huge (and includes a DVD player) and the kitchen is fully stocked (mini fridge in the unit, full size in the garage). The best part of the unit is the two-tiered deck that includes a covered daybed (great for afternoon naps and reading), a BBQ, and a propane powered heater for the cool nights. We spent many nights on the upper deck playing cards, drinking coffee and listening to the ocean waves crashing on the shore.

The unit is located less than 3 blocks from the ocean. Any trip we took to the beach was by foot - so the distance is a comfortable walk wihtout the hassle of trying to find parking on the weekend. Orange (the main retail/restaurant street) is a bit of a walk, but very doable for anyone in average shape. We also enjoyed lots of runs on the beach, bike rides around Coronado and along the strand and tons of tennis on the many public courts. Between our bikes and walks, the car stayed parked throughout most of our trip. There's dedicated storage room in the Watson's garage for your bikes, suitcases, etc and a parking space in the alley behind the unit.

My wife and I (mid-30's) both felt like the rental and the Watson's far exceeded all of our expectations and, of our many vacations to date, this counts as one of - if not THE - best. I can't imagine anyone would be less than impressed by this rental and the Watsons as landlords. One note - the unit is above the garage, so if stairs are an issue for you, this unit may not be a good choice. Other than that - you can't go wrong.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review