reviews for: listing #40172 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Luxury Waterfront Lodge:Hot Tub, Private Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $395 - $495 /nt
    $2,300 - $3,100 /wk

sort by:

stunning, peaceful retreat

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We have stayed at many VRBO houses and this was by far the nicest and true to the description property. The view was awe inspiring and the weather was perfect. The house was very clean and first class. Thank you Mary for all your communication and for providing a once in a lifetime time vacation for our two families. May God bless you really well, sue in pa

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect... Beatiful... Quiet... Tranquil

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

I looked at the pictures of this house for days before inquiring about a booking. I am so glad I did. In fact, some of the pictures don't even do it justice. It was perfect for a weekend getaway. The hike down to the private beach was certainly worth it as well. We made a point to walk down daily.
The house was very warm, inviting, and cozy.
The kitchen had everything we needed. The snacks that were there for us were a welcome treat as we walked in.
The view from the hot tub was fantastic.
We loved it so much, we are heading back later in the year for a longer stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you and appreciate your feedback. Your feedback makes our efforts to create a warm and friendly environment, worth the effort.

Warmest Regards,

Mary

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing Weekend in this Stunning Home!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

From the pictures and reviews I saw and read before we arrived, I was expecting this home and property to be gorgeous. It did not disappoint! What did surprise me is how wonderfully maintained EVERYTHING was and well organized the house was. The kitchen was very easy to navigate when cooking, the bathrooms had tons of towels, extra toiletries, etc. and everything was really just perfect.

No complaints! The beds were super comfortable (really rare for a rental) and the cost was really afforable because we stayed with another family. Our children are already talking about wanting to go back, and all the adults agree - fantastic weekend in Whidbey at the Soaring Eagle Lodge for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments. Everything is so hectic in our day to day lives these days. We try to create a special place where our guests can simply feel pampered. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fabulous Five Star luxury Hone

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Five girlfriends from Minnesota visited Whidbey Island for a fall trip. We stayed four nights at Soaring Eagle Lodge which was the highlight of our trip. The home was amazing from the moment we turned in the driveway we were in awe. From the outside, the grounds were very well maintained with beautiful landscaping and breath taking views of the sound. There are multiply outdoor sitting areas both on the front porch, back patio and the outdoor hot tub area. Inside the home is fabulous and very well appointed. The kitchen was huge and has anything you could possibly think of for cooking just about anything. We picked up some salmon and dungoness crab and had a wonderful feast. The den area off the kitchen was a cozy room for sitting by the fireplace to have morning coffee and planning our days activities. The three story great room with it's fireplace and breath taking views was our gathering space in the evenings. The master suite on the main floor had a wonderful bed with luxury bedding and yet another fireplace. The bathroom in the master suite was very spa like, with a large jacuzzi tub, separate shower, double sinks, heated ceramic floors and walking in closet. Also located on the main floor was a large office with a sleeper sofa. Upstairs were two more beautiful bedrooms and another fabulous bathroom. The entire property is very well maintained and if you need anything the caretakers live on sight in their own separate living quarters. I can't say enough about this property. I would highly recommend it. Whidbey Island is a beautiful place to visit with plenty of shopping, wineries, nature and outdoor activities or just rest and relaxation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great house; great location

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We stayed in the house with my parents and kids (ages 6 and 3). The house was very nice & the kitchen well-equipped (with my son's food allergy we cook a great deal instead of eating out). The view of Mt. Baker across the water was absolutely beautiful. The kids loved playing in the yard, hiking down to the water (steep but could do it with help), and enjoyed watching for bald eagles. I would return without question.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Most Awesome Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Beautiful setting, beautiful home. We love the Northwest and this home brings out everything wonderful about the Northwest. The view is spectacular. The quality and comfort of the lodge well exceeded our expectations. The owners were wonderful to work with. Our family vacation was filled with great memories and many included just being at the lodge. We highly recommend this property to those who are looking for a beautiful, peaceful place to make memories. We look forward to going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Impressive All The Way Around

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Words can not do justice to this property, the owners, caretakers or all of the little details that made this place so unique. Our jaws dropped as we drove up the driveway...the house looks great in photos, but it is simply stunning in person. Upon entering the lodge we were blown away by the view and all of the amenities that are provided in this house...extra coats in the front closet in case you forgot yours, a dozen or so lawn games, blankets to use outside at the firepit, games, books, movies, generous fixin's for breakfast and snacks, toiletries in case you forgot anything...even extra swim suits! And in case you have a question about how to turn on the fans, lights or make coffee, there is a handbook of information neatly organized, along with local tourist info, restaurants, etc. They thought of EVERYTHING.

The kitchen is a dream come true...there are practically two of everything...microwaves, dishwashers, sinks, even two full drawers of cutlery and every professional cooking gadget, pot, tool you could wish for. We even enjoyed the grill one night, as well as a crab boil of local dungeness crabs.

And then there is the amazing property complete with nesting eagles! We enjoyed watching the parent eagles sitting in the nest and flying around. Gorgeous. There is also a crazy staircase that takes you down to the beach...a bit of a hike, but there are two places to sit and take in the scenery along the way. Our 4 year old had no problem navigating, but you do need to take your time. There are lounge chairs, rockers, plenty of places to spread out and relax.

Overall, this was the nicest, cleanest, most thoughtfully arranged lodging I have ever stayed in and I say this having traveled extensively through Europe and the US staying in many fine hotels, B&Bs, vacation homes, etc. You will not be disappointed with this property. It feels like you are visiting a friend's home.

I recommend it for groups who want to hang out and visit but not be stepping on each other. There is plenty to do for kids and teens. With the master suite on the first floor, people can avoid stairs if needed. There are also lots of things to do/see in the immediate area.

Can't say enough good things about this place! Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so glad that you enjoyed yourself!! We try to make the lodge feel like a mini resort for our guests. I incorporated all the items which I thought were missing from hotels and vacation rentals in our own personal travel. Thank you for taking the time to notice!
Best Regards,
Mary

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A secret I can't keep .... Soaring Eagle Loge is fantastic!

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Although a part of me would like to keep Soaring Eagle Lodge my little secret, there's another part of me that would like for everyone to experience it. The accommodations, caretakers, breakfast foods/coffee, etc. at Soaring Eagle Lodge were all absolutely wonderful, and exceeded our expectations.

Watching the eagles from the hot tub was a favorite, but we also enjoyed the spaciousness of the lodge, the surrounding area, and the view. Very well done!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

We used our trip as a quiet getaway and the lodge did not disappoint and it's a beautiful home inside and out. Attention to detail is obviously important to the owners, including little touches like the treats and breakfast provided when we arrived. We felt at home from the moment we arrived and didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back! Thank you Mary! You blow the competition away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Get-a Way

Review submitted: October 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 22, 2010

We had a wonderful at the Eagles Nest Lodge. Part of the time was spent celebrating our ten year anniversary w/ my husband. And the other half was spent w/ extended family. You can't help but to relax when you come to the lodge. Everything is provided for even down to the little details like bathrobes, movies, and snacks. I loved the view, sleep number bed and the master bath soaking tub. But most of all I loved the memories we made as a family while staying at Eagle Nest. We would definitely return given the opportunity!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful retreat

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We had a great time at Soaring Eagle Lodge! We have had rentals in the past that looked good on line, but were a let down in person. Soaring Eagle Lodge was even more beautiful in person than in the photos. And the owners made it feel like a home away from home - the kitchen was stocked for us with breakfast fixings, snacks and drinks, along with everything you need to make full use of the gourmet kitchen. The house is bright and airy, so even on a drippy day, it feels warm and light. And the house was scrupulously clean. The kids had a great time playing soccer on the lawn, poking around at the beach, and watching the eagles.
In short, we had a wonderful trip and look forward to returning!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Soaring Excellence!!

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Where to begin?

Soaring Eagle lodge delivers far more than you could ever expect in a vacation rental. Every last detail has been thought of, and put into place long before you arrive in this incredible home. We visited as part of a multi-generational family retreat, and everyone from our 22-month old daughter to grandma/grandpa had a memorable time. Since we were traveling with two small children, we didn’t venture away from the lodge much…, which was perfectly okay with us. We could have easily stayed a second week, and probably a third, and beyond… just taking in life at the “lodge”. We enjoyed everything from preparing meals in the well-appointed kitchen, to hiking down to the beach to look for washed-up treasures. At night we roasted marshmallows and drank wine next to the crackling fire. During the day we curled up next to a fire one of the fireplaces, went on nature hikes or just hung out in the lawn watching nature in front of us. The baby eagle was a wonderful bonus, but beyond her (assuming it’s a “her”) the rest of the wildlife & nature was amazing and fun to see. It was beyond peaceful. It was beyond relaxing. It was perfect for what we wanted and needed.

I’ve traveled to nearly every single corner of the globe, staying in some of the top luxury hotels that can be found. Soaring Eagle Lodge is right up there with the best!! Additionally, I’ve rented many homes on vacation rental websites (including Home Away), and this is positively my favorite home yet. It provides you with everything it promises, and the descriptions are beyond accurate. You can be confident in what you are going to get when you make a booking… and it will deliver more than you see online.

Regarding the hosts. I cannot say enough about them. Yes, they do live on property. I have to admit that at the time of the booking I was a wee bit apprehensive about this… and wondering if it was going to negatively impact our trip. But NO, it never felt “weird” once we arrived on-site. They actually enhanced the visit with their presence. They provided so much information and detail, along with a genuine appreciation of sharing their special home that you left feeling like you’ve made long-time friends.

We will certainly return. And if you decide to visit… I am certain to guarantee that you will also desire to book a return visit to Soaring Eagle Lodge in your future.

I wish that I could call this place mine forever.

Thanks Mary & Al!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible Vacation Property

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

This is a wonderful vacation rental. The pictures and the description were accurate, and the property was spotless and meticulously maintained. Georgous views, comfortable furniture, and very gracious hosts. We had plenty of room for our family (7 people), and Mary had suggestions for activities and attractions on the island. We took the ferry to Port Townsend, and toured the downtown area and the Lighthouse. We also visited downtown Oak Harbor, and enjoyed the local shops. The eagles nest was of great interest to us, and we all took turns on "eagle watch". My sister and I especially enjoyed cooking together in the kitchen, which is fully equipped and set up for multiple chefs. The weather was not ideal while we were there, but it was of no consequence. The kids made use of all of the games, the adults played pool, and internet access was also available to us. It was very comforting to know that Mary and Al were immediately available should any problems arise, and once again it should be noted that they were very gracious hosts. We have been renting vacation properties through VRBO for several years now, and I would have to rank this property as one of the best at which we have stayed. If we have an opportunity to go back to Washington, we will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best long weekend ever

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

My husband and I were not disappointed in our stay at the Soaring Eagle Lodge. The house was even better than we thought it would be. You have to be there to truly understand and appreciate the beauty of this home and the location. We enjoyed playing pool and horseshoes, sitting on the patio, looking at the view from the chairs in the lawn and from the inside of the house. We have never been more relaxed. Sitting in the jetted tub and the hot tub was helpful in reaching a relaxed state, as well as sitting by the fire in the house. Mary (the owner) was so generous in providing snacks and breakfast fixings.
Mary was kind enough to help us obtain tickets for a boat ride at Deception Pass. It was a very enjoyable outing. Otherwise, we just stayed at the home to enjoy eachother and the peace and quiet of a romatic getaway for two.
We have recommended this rental to friends, co-workers, and family members. We will definitely be staying again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Getaway

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Soaring Eagle Lodge and couldn't have been happier. We loved the location, beautiful setting, and incredible accomodations! Mary and Al made our stay absolute perfection, and we truly couldn't have asked for better hosts...the perfect balance between attentiveness and sensitivity to our privacy (and the goodies were fabulous).

Whether one wants to get away with that special someone, or enjoy a group vacation, the soaring Eagle Lodge is a great choice for a variety of needs and desires. You will not be disappointed in this choice of vacation rentals!

Thank you, Mary and Al. We really loved your place!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

My sister and her family came in from Missouri and I wanted them to experience a true Washington getaway. We were amazed at the beauty and like-home feeling we felt here. The house is gorgeous, the grounds are beautiful and the beach just a splendid adventure. The kids were in heaven looking for things on the beach. You couldn't ask for a more spectacular view! Mary and her husband thought of everything when they built this place. They made our stay comfortable and welcomed. We will stay here again and again and again. Thanks Mary.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

This home was by far one of the most well equipped and beautiful homes I have ever stayed in. It was immaculate! I use vacation rental homes quite often and I have to say this home was the best. It was everything it was said to be and more. Al and Mary have put great thought in to it and the minute you walk in you feel right at home! The breakfast on your first morning is such a great idea and yummy! The eagles provided great entertaiment and it was exciting to watch them throughout the day to see what they were going to do next. I highly recommend this home for anyone who wants to get away and just let the stress go. It was a short trip in to Oak Harbor for groceries and the information book that was put together was very detailed and a great help so we would not get lost either on the road or in the house! Thank you so much for a great weekend retreat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Soaring Eagle Lodge - Amazing

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The house is incredible inside and out. Great place to relax and enjoy the view with a fire outside. Mary also makes delicious cookies and leaves snacks for her guests. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone planning a weekend on Whidbey.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Favorite place we've ever stayed. . .

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

We had an amazing time at Soaring Eagle Lodge. I would recommend it to anyone. Mary is a wonderful hostess who has attended to absolutely every detail to make your vacation the best possible. Words can't describe how beautiful it truly is. We've rented numerous houses through VRBO and I can say that this has been our favorite house we've ever stayed. The house is absolutely beautiful and the area is peaceful and relaxing. We came with three teens and three younger children and everyone had a great time. The pool table was a hit with the boys. My daughter loved cooking in the kitchen---it is a dream and has every ammenity you'd ever need. I loved playing games by the cozy fireplaces. The beach was beautiful and we even found a few starfish. What more can I say? It couldn't have been any more perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Lifelong Holiday Memory

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

Our family will always remember celebrating the 2009 Christmas holidays in this beautiful lodge. Although it is large in size it is cozy and comfortable with many ammenties. We began each morining having coffee in the greatroom with a spectacular view of Mount Baker. We ended each night with a trip to the hot tub after a rousing game of pool. The warm cinnamon rolls and homemade cookies along with other snacks satisfied our cravings when we arrived. The huge kitchen was a favorite hang out as we made meals together with plenty of room for the whole family. The property is perfect for hiking and walks on the beach. Our sons are rock climbers and they found oppoutunities throughout the island. When we left we knew that this was a lifelong holiday memory.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

We had a family retreat here - my husband and I and our two kids with their significant others and one infant grandchild. It was perfect for all of us. The house is magnificent with big grounds and everything top quality. We had a hard time leaving. And Mary is great - lots of fresh homemade goodies. We would definitely return. It's best for just hanging out. The beach is accessible but hard to get to down a steep path. We set up the croquet set and had fun family games. It's a good jump off for visiting the rest of the island, but no one really wanted to leave the house - it was so comfortable. It is one of the places that is actually better in person than on the website photos.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The majority of our guests love the beach trail, however it is not suitable for guests with disabilities. Infants will need to be carried.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Ever

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

We recently spent four days at the lodge and cannot begin to recommend this place more completely. We were 100% satisfied in every way. A true luxury property with commanding views, every modern convenience, and an attention to detail that rivals our own home. The owners at the lodge were completely accommodating and made sure out stay was everything we hoped it would be. If you are considering a trip to the San Juans this is the place to go! Easy travel to Vancouver, Victoria, Seattle... it's awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

July 2009

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

We were very comfortable here with 2 families (4 adults, 4 teenagers). Lots of space for all of us. Some of the highlights were the huge and well-equipped kitchen, the hot tub, and the pool table. We were also lucky enough to be there when an eagle chick was in the nest and we enjoyed watching it. The property is beautifully landscaped and furnished, and really feels like a home. We would be happy to come back anytime. The only complaint I have is that the wireless internet is only accessible in a small part of the home, so that was somewhat inconvenient.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have added a repeater for wireless. This allows access to the wireless all over the lodge.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Owners have thought of everything!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

From the moment you pull into the driveway, you know you've made the right choice! The property must be seen to be believed... the outstanding views, the wonderful amenitites, the owner's thoughtfulness, and right down to the homemade chocolate chip cookies, my visit could not have gone any better. The pictures online are what attracted me to the property, and I was not disappointed. Yes, there are actually soaring eagles at Soaring Eagle Lodge!! The Lodge is grand, has plenty of room, yet feels cozy and comfortable at the same time. A view of the water can be seen from throughout the lodge. Everything was exactally as described, clean and in fantastic condition. I highly recommend this beautiful spot for your next gathering whether you are celebrating an anniversary , on a family vacation, or planning a "girls" getaway, this is the perfect place to relax and have fun!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded expectations on all fronts

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

Our group thoroughly enjoyed the weekend we spent at the Lodge. Our accomodation was so beautiful. The breakfast fixings for the first morning were ample and then some. The kitchen was a delight to cook in with anything that you would ever need available to us. Mary's recommendations of things to do and places to see were perfect. Our group enjoyed watching Canada win against the US in the final hockey game of the 2010 Olympics, I'm sure the walls are still resounding with our rendition of O Canada. Thanks Mary, we hope to return sometime soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review