reviews for: listing #40262 - Southwest Harbor, Maine House rental

The Napier Cottage
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Southwest Harbor
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $3,200 /wk
    $5,800 - $13,000 /mth

sort by:

Sanctuary by the Sea

Review submitted: August 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 16, 2014

This is a perfect vacation sanctuary in a quiet setting with a warm and cozy atmosphere. The owner went above and beyond to make our stay extra special. From the freshly baked treats upon arrival to the refrigerator stocked with basics, to the fresh cut flower arrangements, music and lighting we knew we were at "home". The kitchen is extremely well equipped. New washer and dryer came in handy. The deck and gazebo provided great sunny space. The puttering of lobster boats in the harbor added a pleasant touch. The location is great - within walking distance of town and Beal's Lobster. Great place for a family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly our home away from home!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

My family has been vacationing at Napier Cottage for some years. Anne is always so welcoming and has outfitted the house perfectly for our needs. The house is fabulous inside and out - from the comfortable bedrooms and living spaces to the deck and outdoor gazebo overlooking Southwest Harbor. We especially appreciate the fact that it is beautifully arranged for both our comfort and for entertaining - we have an extended family in the area, and it's great to be able to cook and enjoy meals together in the house. This year Anne provided us with an extra special surprise - a guest's garden with herbs and vegetables we could cut and use. Which we did! Nothing makes a place feel like home to me more than an herb garden. Thank you, Anne! We have already made our reservations for next summer. This is the perfect location for us, and the most wonderful environment - truly our home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation experience!

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

My family rented the Napier Cottage for a week: four "parents," two kids in their 20s. We found the house itself spectacular. Nothing was missing. The kitchen is up to date, well-stocked. The bedrooms are large and comfy. Bathrooms modern. Kitchen all you could want. The deck, the yards, the gazebo, and the view---all fabulous. And there are great restaurants and stores just a few minutes' walk away from the front door. We hiked along Acadia's pink granite ledges for day, also on the pleasant and family-friendly "carriage roads" laid down by John D. Rockefeller. All of it and much more are a short drive from Napier Cottage! Then there is "the landlady," who provided all the information we needed to explore and enjoy the area. We would recommend the Napier Cottage to anyone seeking a real vacation along the north coast of Maine. Wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in your home. It was a great location and loved the neighborhood setting. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and 2 toddlers. We enjoyed the yard and flowers for running and playing, dining and scenery. It was pleasant to walk to town, to the ferry, the bus, the lobster pound (and run to Long Pond!) Thanks for all the information on hand.

You made us feel at home with fresh flowers and bread, wine, cheese, and stocked kitchen. Thank you so much for your welcome and even more with your kindness after our mishap. Even though we spent much time at MDI Hospital, we came back here to a comfortable house and you were so helpful at every turn of events. Thank you for your kindness.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved Napier Cottage!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful hospitality, Anne! We all loved your beautiful home. Our grandchildren had a marvelous time getting to know each other, and our family enjoyed this special time together. The children loved their gifts, and we appreciate all the special touches you provided. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you, thank you!

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Thank you, Anne, for your hospitality. We enjoyed your home and gardens.The kids loved your gifts, thank you so much! We had a great stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonerful!!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Napier Cottage for the month of July as we did last year and it was every bit as wonderful as last year. Everything we loved about it last year was still there, from the warm inviting house which is stocked with every amenity you could want, to the perfect Southwest Harbor location it was truly a wonderful month. The owner truly loves this house and it really shows in everything she does from fresh flowers upon our arrival to home baked cookies and doggie treats for the four legged guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

My family and I were at Napier cottage for the month of July and all I can say is WOW! The house and gardens are beautifully maintained and so well stocked you need to bring only t-shirts and toothpaste for your stay. We were provided with outstanding service from an owner who truly loves the house and loves seeing her guests enjoying themselves. The location was great, quiet enough for morning coffee in the gazebo but close enough for swimming and hiking in Acadia and fun shopping and dining in Bar Harbor. I would recommend this home to anyone who wants to spend some time enjoying to beautiful Maine summers. My family will return again and again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Home

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Napier Cottage is a lovely, large, former sea captain's home in the town of Southwest Harbor. We hosted a family reunion there this summer, and it was perfect for such an occasion! Lots of space, both indoor and out, an incredibly well stocked kitchen and dining room, an easy walk into town (for ice cream!), and in a nice, quiet neighborhood with other inns but also private homes. The home is well kept, very clean, and very comfortable. The bedrooms are nicely appointed and ample in size (except the "kids" room which is small, but cozy and perfect for young kids with its built in bunk bed). There are toys, puzzles, books, and movies for all ages. The owner/host makes guests feel very welcome. We enjoyed fresh flowers, home-made cookies and muffins on our arrival. And the owner/host worked with me in advance to meet some special needs our family has regarding wheelchair accessibility. The owner loves the home and it shows; guests feel welcome and relaxed.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Shelly

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

What an incredibly wonderful week in Maine! The time was way too short. Gorgeous weather, amazing fall colors, so much to do. Thank you for sharing your fantastic home with us. The time here and the many activities will be etched as great memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Faye

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

My third year at the lovely Napier Cottage. What a joy to spend time here. with each year, this home continues to express the love its owner gives to each and every guest. Thank you so much for this wonderful place and sharing it with others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Barbara

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

How restorative our time here has been. 9-9-09 was our 9th wedding anniversary--our gift to ourselves were these gorgeous sun-filled days in your beautiful home. We have felt so "held" in the warmth of all your personal touches that are so tastefully done in every wonderful room. WE SHALL RETURN!!! Until then....

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lynn

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

I just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay and the house. We really appreciated the little extras that you keep available. We cooked all our meals, and found it quite convenient--especially the lobster pot!! There was lots of remeniscing and of course, lots to do, so found Mount Desert Island a wonderful place for a get-together. Thanks again for contributing to a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Joe

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

The ......Family Reunion was a great success, thanks to a great place, a wonderful community, and a good hostess. Thank you, Anne. We are looking forward to coming back to Maine.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Doug

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

Ah! To be back in Maine again in the Cottage for 2 wonderful weeks! Thanks for the gift of this home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Barbara

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Thanks so much for sharing Napier Cottage with us this summer. We all had a blast. The kids particularly enjoyed fishing off the pier everyday after 5 PM, and the croquet tournaments in the front yard. we've had fabulous weather and a wonderful vacation. Thanks again for your little touches to make us feel welcome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Audrey

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We truely enjoyed this peaceful town and area. The children loved the croquet and video selection. Everyone picked "their" room even before we got here by your on-line photos. Hiking was wonderful--we did all of the difficult ladder and rung trails at Acadia. We also enjoyed many lobster boils while at home. What luck we could walk to two wharfs to get our fresh lobsters for the boils. The kids also want you to know they like your "small door" between the parlor and kitchen. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mary-Elizabeth

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

What a beautiful home and state you have! You've been a most gracious hostess. As I look out at this view in the morning, it is beautiful, peaceful, trees, water, boats, I've had a wonderful time, to remember and love for years.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mary-Elizabeth

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

What a beautiful home and state you have! You've been a most gracious hostess. As I look out at this view in the morning, it is beautiful, peaceful, trees, water, boats, I've had a wonderful time, to remember and love for years.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Family Friendly Sanctuary

Review submitted: September 5, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

Our family has stayed here twice and we look forward to coming back. This house feels like home. It is a mixture of beautiful antiques and comfortable surroundings. The screened in gazebo is our family gathering spot for sunrise breakfast or afternoon reading. The house is well stocked and convenient to everything. The owner is very helpful and accommodating. Great selection of books and videos, cable and wireless. Backyard is large and great for kids to run around. (use mosquito spray). Only downside is that we only got one week here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

A lovely place to stay for a vacation. The area is beautiful with so many things to do. I especially enjoyed the bird carvings museum and a local garden tour. Be sure and ask Anne where to go for the best ice cream cones and places to eat lobster right on the pier where the fishing boats dock. And try the mussels as well. I did with some trepidation. They are yummy. As to the Napier Cottage, what can I say. Spacious, airy, with beautiful views and large sunny windows. My favorite rooms were the dining room and the master bedroom. What a delight to wake up to the sun streaming in the windows. House is large enough to easily accommodate 8 and the kitchen even has a pass through to the living room for snacks; where the library is also located. Nice when you want to curl up with a good book and some yummy nibbles. Oh yes, and the gazebo...the perfect place for morning coffee or evening libations when you opt for other than the dining room. The grounds are large and spacious; just right for a game of croquette or badminton or just a game of tag. There are 2 full bathrooms upstairs and a half bath downstairs. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking utensils, dishes, etc should you desire to cook, though I chose to eat out more than cook. Having a washer and dryer on site was a big plus. I didn't mention this when talking about the gazebo, but there is a wonderful deck that opens from the dining room and runs the length of the back of the house to the gazebo. It too has many places to sit and enjoy the yard, or read a good book. Another plus is the separate media room so that those who want to watch tv or videos can do so without competing with those who want to read or just talk.The house decor is warm and inviting through out. Would I recommend this place for a vacation? Absolutely. In fact, I plan to come back.Sincerely,Mary-Elizabeth MurrayNote: Last time I vacationed at the Napier Cottage was the end of May of this year. Tulips were in bloom and the lilacs just starting to open. Weather was lovely; chilly a couple of days, warm the rest. A lovely time of year to visit. Mary-Elizabeth Murray, Los Alamitos, Ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

A lovely old home in a wonderful setting. The house is warm and welcoming with plenty of elbow room and character for seven adults. Kitchen well furnished. Bedrooms large and comfortable with great views with exception of the one children's room. Deck, patio and gazebo definite pluses.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SW harbor house

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

House is well maintained and well documented for things to do. Everything as described in the web listing. Very close to two working piers which provide a excellent source for fresh seafood. Quite side of the island but close to SW Harbor downtown which was nice. About 20 minutes from Acadia. Owner very accomodating and provided lots of videos, books and games which kids will enjoy. Only negative was some minor pet odor which my wife noticed in one room. I'd recommend this property!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review