reviews for: listing #40281 - Kapoho, Hawaii House rental

Kapoho Beach Lots Ocean View Pualani Tropical Dream Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Beach Lots
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $180 /nt
    $895 - $1,100 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful house close to world class snorkeling

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Pualani Home in February. The handsome house was perfect with all the ammenities, and very clean. The owner was great with all our questions, and replied immediately. The snorkeling nearby in the Kapoho Tide Pools was possibly our very favorite snorkeling spot ever! Swimming through thermally heated tide pools now out-ranks the Cayman Islands for us. The location was good for excursions to the volcano and Hilo too. We highly recommend the Pualani Home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always so happy when guests enjoy our home and the Kapoho area as much as we do! We hope you can come back sometime! We always offer discounts for repeat guests. We also think that the snorkeling is absolutely fabulous there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Funky, comfortable, spacious house for 4 adults

Review submitted: April 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

We choose Pualani for the excellent snorkeling at Kapoho , locally known as Waiopae, just minutes away by bike or car, through the gates and left into neighbouring Vacationland. Also visited Volcano Park, Hilo and other attractions one hour away or less. Stress-free booking as Pat was quick to respond to every inquiry, provided detailed information as soon as we booked and the security deposit was returned the day after we left. Glad we came out to experience this unique and tropical part of the island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love happy guests! It is always my goal to be sure that guests are well cared for - from the booking experience to the vacation experience! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We should have stayed longer!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 17, 2014

This place was wonderful in so many ways. We spent 10 days on the Big Island, but only 4 nights in the Pualani House. Our plan was 2 nights in Kona, then 4 nights in Kapoho at the Pualani house, then ended our trip with 4 nights south of Captain Cook. The tourism was insane in Kona. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. In hindsight we should have stayed longer in Kapoho. The house was comfortable and offered everything we needed. Bicycles, wi-fi, snorkel gear, washer/dryer to name a few. Being so close to the tide-pools was a huge feature. The hot tub was a plus! Being away from the hustle of Kona made it a real vacation. The funky little town of Pahoa which was nearby gave us everything we needed. The volcano is close and also Hilo a short drive away. It's the perfect spot to visit the Big Island, unless you want to hang out with the crowds in Kona.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: These are my sentiments too! Every so often we take the drive to Kona, only to be disappointed by the tourism and traffic. We love the slower pace and beauty of Kapoho. Once people find out about this special area, they love to come back!! The home is well equipped, and the drive to the funky town of Pahoa is scenic and only 8 miles up the hill. You can find pretty much anything you might need in the little town. I hope you can come back sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable, Lovely, Clean, Charming!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We loved this sweet hale in Kapoho!
The house was clean, well-stocked, and comfortable.
The wrap-around Lanai was our favorite thing... coffee in the mornings, listening to the sounds of the birds and the ocean....
The house was a beautiful place to come home to at night. We loved listening to the sounds of the coqui frogs and the rain pattering.
The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had all we could ask for, and the upstairs great room was a wonderful place to hang out, play games, eat dinner, and just relax. The bonus of the downstairs room was fun - I did yoga there or in the yard every morning. The bikes were a big plus too. PLENTY of towels, and the washer/dryer came in super handy!
There were also boogie boards and flippers. We didn't see masks/goggles, though, so we got some at Target in Hilo.

Couple of things you may want to take into consideration when coming here!
Stop in Hilo for groceries - there is a Safeway and Target right off the highway. Super convenient and easy access. Pahoa has a small market and a drugstore, but for the big stuff, stop in Hilo.
Also, realize that Hilo is about 40 minutes away from the house.
There is LOTS to do in Pahoa/Kapoho are, so you don't need to drive up to to Hilo for your fun, but just to be aware that it is a little bit of a drive.
The Lava Tree State Park is really interesting and beautiful. It is a few minutes from the house, and worth the stop! It is free, and takes about 20 minutes to walk through. We spent a good hour there and really enjoyed it!
Also, the town of Pahoa is just charming, and the people were so friendly and welcoming!

Two things we weren't clear on from the description, but neither is a big deal...
The upstairs bedroom is more of an "alcove" from the great room, as opposed to a separate room. There is a screen for privacy, but not a door. No biggie for us, but if couples are traveling and want complete privacy, they may be surprised. =) Also there is no direct water access from the house. It took some searching for us to figure out how to get to Champagne Pond, (which, by the way, is AWESOME and so worth the visit!!!) so be prepared for that.

Overall, the house and grounds were immaculate and comfortable and so lush and gorgeous....
Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!!
We loved this house!!
Thank you, Pat, for your lovely home.
Mahalo nui loa!!!

Owners response: Thank you for your detailed review! Although shopping in Hilo is advisable, we find that the Malama Market in Pahoa to be quite sufficient for daily needs and it is only 8 miles from the home and prices are comparable to the bigger stores. Combining the Malama Market and the local farmer's markets, you will have no problem being well fed! The upstairs of the home is an open air design and is perfect for a couple or a family when the kids will be downstairs. This home has beautiful ocean views, and is just a short bike ride or walk from the ocean accesses in Kapoho Beach Lots and nearby Wai'Opae. There are masks and fins in the downstairs closet, but not sure we will have everyone's size. I do provide detailed maps for Champagne Pond and the nearby ocean accesses. This home is perfect for one couple, two couples, or a family of 3 or 4.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pualani was a Lucky Find For us!

Review submitted: December 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

We loved our stay in the Pualani House. This is our first time to Hawaii and the Pualani House gave us a perfect base from which to discover the East side of the island. Our only regret is we were so busy snorkeling, hiking past the 'End of the Road' and across a volcanic crater and, in addition, enjoying two farmer's markets in Pahoa, that we didn't have time to relax and enjoy the ambiance of the Pualani House. We loved the interior warmth created by all of the woodwork. We only hope we will be able to find a similar home to purchase as we search through the islands.

We both agree that Pualani was a lucky find for us. We have been in Hilo the last several days. Tomorrow we hope to go to the top of Mauna Kea as we travel to our new home base in Kona.

Mahalo and Happy Holidays,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely, relaxing time

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

We have had a wonderful relaxing time here. It felt to us like a home abroad - a nice change on our "round the world trip." We are sad to leave this place -- and that means something since the next step on our trip will be Fiji. I wonder whether Fiji can compete against snorkeling in the tide pools....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Close to the Best Snorkeling on the Island!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We ended our lovely Hawaiian vacation in the adorable house! We loved all the turtle-y furniture and other aquatic and Hawaiian knick-knacks you have in this house. Champagne Ponds were fun but we really enjoyed the tide pools just to the south called Kapoho Tide Pools - they're like an aquarium (minus the sharks). It's definitely the BEST snorkeling on the islnad. We also loved the toilet seats in this home - they are so cute!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Hawaiian Christmas

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We had a wonderful Hawaiian Christmas at your beautfiul home. I'm so glad we came to this area of the Big Island. It's really low-key and relaxing. We loved swimming in the Champagne pools and my wife enjoyed the pool in Pahoa. We hope to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Home will go to the Top of our List!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We've stayed in many places in the islands, and this home will go to the top of our list. It's very spacious and comfortable here. We loved listening to the frogs and night and the doves first thing in the morning, and in the bakcground the sounds of the rolling surf. There were too many places to explore and too few days. Our favorite place for snorkeling and for just being unique were the tide pools. I hope visitors will take care to treat them respectfully and try not to step on the coral. No where else in the HI islands have I seen such a variety of healthy specimens-just wonderful. Like swimming in a fish tank! We took a 7 mile guided hike to the lava flow and got to poke the oozing stuff with sticks. I can cross that off my bucket list now. That hike was pretty tough over a very uneven surface -- and it was tricky landing your feet just right at night, even with a good strong headlamp. We were so glad to have the jacuzzi that night! This has been a lovely trip!! What a paradise you live in!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home, location & amenities!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Wonderful home, location and amenities. We cooked every day and enjoyed the comforts of your house, especially the mornings filled with the sounds of the ocean, winds, birds,, and occasionally frogs. We did a fantastic night hike to the flowing lava. Memorable...but not for the "hiking light" crowd. After staying here, we will never go back a renting a condo. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay at Pualani!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

We loved our stay at Pualani! There is so much to see and do and taste here that it was hard to make time to relax. But we did our best. Loved the snorkeling at the tidepools and Champagne Pond. The bikes were a fun bonus!! It was quite cool and rainy during our stay so we were glad to have the hot tub, too. We went star-gazing on Mauna Kea and volcano-gazing at Halemaumau. Enjoyed a beautiful sunset with the turtles at Punalu'u Beach. We need to finish up all the wonderful fruits from the farmer's market and fruit stands before our flight. We won't be getting any rambatans for a while. Thanks for a wonderful visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true home away on our round the world trip

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

While being en route on our round the word trip, Pualani was a real home to us.
Thanks to Pat's preparations and directions we've made it in the dark all the way from Kona Airport to Pahoa. (we booked flight before we found the accommodation)
Quickly turned out that it was worth the drive. We especially loved the windows and views from the lanai to two sides of the ocean including a constant breeze. There is a full equipped kitchen with all necessary things which was very important for us. The attention to detail in the house really made us feel as if we were at home: The bikes, snorkelling gear, beach towels and even reef shoes provide a perfect set up to enjoy the small and big wonders that surround Pualani. We liked snorkelling in the tide pools (just a short bike ride) and the lava tree park. Also very near is the „end of the road“ pretty young lava that run over the 130 highway. The two volcanoes aren't far away either.
We didn't make use of the hot tub though – weather was far too hot during our stay ( and for those concerned: there is less rain than in Hilo area :-))
Thank you Pat for a wonderful week in Pualani. A special place that we often like think about again.

Owners response: It gives me much pleasure to know that a couple who is traveling around the world can feel like they have everything they need for a relaxing, topical, vacation!! If you want to be close to world-class snorkeling, and also be just a short dive to the recent volcano activity, you can't find a better place! The home is fully equipped because it is our home away from home too!! But love sharing it with others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House was Just Perfect!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

Dear Pat

A few weeks have past since we stayed at your Pualani Home. We traveled on
to Japan, China and Cambodia and are back in Switzerland working and kids are back
in school since this Monday.

I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to stay at this wonderful
place on Big Island. We had a great time there and have difficulty in describing
the Puna setting to our family and friends as it is such a different world from
what we know around here.

The house was just perfect and sleeping there with the open windows felt like sleeping
outside. We could only hear the frogs from far away if at all and it was no problem at
all. We realized when we ate dinner at Kaleos in Pualani that they could be loud, it seems that they have a lot of coquis around there.

We loved the wai ope ponds where we went every day by bike and snorkeled there for hours.

Road 137 till the end is another great experience, the trees, the lava, the coast line and black sand beach (I thought I left this Hippiestuff behind me, and my beard was deffinately not long and white enough...).

So ever since we left we where wondering how you could possibly live somewhere else when you own a place in paradise. But please don't answer, we have a place in the mountains and understand that there are many reasons.

If it was not so incredibly far away we would be back next Year!

Thank you again for the hospitality and best regards

Peter and family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Open-air, beautiful views

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

The views from the house were lovely. We enjoyed the bicycles to travel around the area and to Champagne Pond (for swimming). We could have also used them to go to the tidal pools outside the gated community - the highlight of our snorkeling experience on both the island of Hawaii and the island of Kauai. Also, this is a convenient location for indulging in volcano activities (Lava Tree Park is also lovely). We visited the park and hiked across a lava field to poke molten lava with a stick and see it pour into the ocean. The house was great and we enjoyed the hot tub one evening. We also enjoyed the gecko show at night, however, they did perch on our fruit bowl and poop around the place. But we liked them. This area and this house was one of our best experiences on the island. We wished we could have spent more than 5 nights here.

Owners response: The open air feel of the home makes this a true tropical experience!! We love that aspect of the home. Geckos keep the insect population down and fortunately I have excellent housekeepers who deal with gecko "poo". But geckos are certainly better than some of the insects in the tropics. It is best not to leave any food out because they will go for it! Our favorite thing to do there is ride our bikes to all the different ocean accesses in the area - we have our favorites and love to share them with visitors. Once people discover this area of the Big Island, they love coming back. I have many repeat guests who love and respect the home and the area as much as we do! I always offer discounts to repeat guests. I agree that five days is not enough but it is long enough to get a "taste" of tropical Hawaiian living. Hope you can come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream vacation in eccentric, beautiful Kapoho/ Puna

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Dear Pat,

Sorry this review arrives so late. We spent a wonderful 4 weeks in your beautiful home in Kapoho and had the holiday of a lifetime! We come from Norway, so Hawaii was a big adventure for us (a family of two adults and two small children). And Puna really is an adventure! The relaxed atmosphere, the welcoming, often slightly eccentric people, the rainforest / lava landscape, swimming in warm ponds, the snorkelling, the live volcano with lava flows into the ocean (what an AMAZING experience!), the farmers market... I could go on and on, the memories are so wonderful and many!

The Kapoho house itself worked really well for a family with two small children who cooked at home most days, did laundry most days (!), spent some days just lounging around the garden / hot tub / house but most days out exploring the island. We especially loved the upstairs living area, with its high ceilings and airy atmosphere. The Hawaii decor was a great touch and made the place feel like home to us very quickly. One of my best memories is waking up in the upstairs bedroom seeing the sunrise coming through the windows and the ocean out far.

The standard of the house is sort of "lived in" but in a cosy way that worked for us. Ocean-side living means that things get salty and damp quite quickly, but the place was kept very clean for us by Pat's wonderful housekeeper, who even fixed us up with a babysitter! For our family, who live in a city, we spent an unusual amount of time in our car. The Kapoho area has no shops or kiosks so you can't pop our with the kids for an ice cream down the street or anything like that. The house is also a bit far from Champagne pond or other ocean access points to walk with small kids, so we ended up driving. But the bikes at the house will do the trick if you have older children!

All in all, we had a great stay in the house and will remember it for the rest of our lives. If we did not live 26 hours by plane away (!), we would definitely return! We loved the Puna district. It has a special ambiance, a special authenticity, that we did not find elsewhere in Hawaii (we also spent two weeks in other islands). Puna is much less touristy than other islands and maybe that is why people are extra friendly and welcoming.

Thanks for a great stay!

Kristin K and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: It is always our goal to keep the home comfortable and well maintained for vacationers, even those who want to stay longer than just a few days! Staying a month at this home really enables a person to appreciate the beauty of Kapoho with it's ever changing skies, listening to the birds in the rain forest, and the best part to me is sleeping in this "open air" feel home and hearing the waves gently roll across the reef. And during the day, you can ride bikes to all the fabulous snorkeling spots! This is my dream home too! And I love to share with others looking for a less touristy Hawaiian vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home close to world class snorkeling!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was our first time using VRBO and we were not disappointed. Pat was accommodating in every way. Home was a breeze to find in the dark with the super directions. The kids had their own level, their own beds and even a private bath.

Sunday Maku'u farmers market had everything. We had a great breakfast talking with the locals. The home is everything, just as it is described. We just have to find a way to come back!

A must is the lava boat tour, just five minutes down the road. We were wide awake while those that drove over from Kona were still half asleep because they had to leave their condo at 2am to make the sunrise tour.

We had an amazing time, Mahalo Pat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed our beautiful Pualani Home! There is so much to see and do in this wonderful tropical environment. Please come back - always discounted rates for repeat guests. And I have quite a few that keep coming back over the years. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A charming cottage in a great location

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

My two friends and I spent five nights/six days at this location. The accommodations are great: comfortable beds, a fully equipped kitchen, washer & dryer, hot tub & outdoor shower, wonderful views from the upstairs rooms, tastefully decorated with a turtle/ocean theme. The bikes were nice for exploring the local area and since the cottage is in a gated community, traffic was very light and easy to avoid. There is an excellent snorkeling spot just south of the community (Wai' Opae Tidepools Marine Life Conservation District) where we saw lots of colorful fish and other marine life. The rental provides some snorkeling gear we could borrow (we brought our own snorkel & masks but were glad we could borrow the fins). There were plenty of beach towels for our use. We loved being in a quiet, rural area that was close to many of the features we wanted to see: the lava pouring into the ocean near Kalapana (be sure to go with a guide!), Hilo's farmers market, Hawai'i Tropical Botanical Garden, Volcano National Park. The owners of the rental mailed us a thick packet of really helpful information about good places to eat, hear local music, a list of activities, grocery stores, etc. so when we arrived, we already had a good idea about what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go. We had a minor problem while we were at the rental but the local property manager helped us resolve the problem almost immediately. It was nice having someone available nearby to answer questions even though we just needed to contact them once. All in all, I can't recommend this rental enough. It was clean, comfortable, and in a lovely location. P.S. I was worried that the coqui frogs might make too much noise but we only heard a couple of them while we were there. They were far enough away that their calls were actually pleasant and not at all obtrusive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hawaiian Adventure

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

When we arrived, there was a nice bouquet of fresh flowers on the dining table,that was a very nice welcome. My husband and I spent 4 wonderful nights here. We had never stayed on this part of the island before. We had all of our own snorkel gear with us and put it to good use. The marine sanctuary tide pools were wonderful-the fish were as curious of us as we were of them. We rode the bikes everyday and loved riding through the KBC-Kapaho Beach Community. The neighbors here are very friendly-one woman even spent a bit of time chatting with us and sharing where we should go explore. The rains at night were wonderful to listen to and the sound of the surf lulled us to sleep. I really loved this wonderful part of Hawaii-definitely off the beaten path. I would come back again for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This guest loved the home for the same reasons we do! It is not touristy, neighbors are friendly, and the snorkeling is superb! We love the weather - rarely is it too hot - always quite comfortable with the welcome showers to keep it green and clean!! This is our paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quite comfortable and lots of fun

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Wow this place is awesome... there are surprises galore, and everything you will need, including supplies. The location is quite, secure, and the home is super clean.. and has all the basic amenities, and supplies to boot. The tv is tiny and it is not a four seasons, if that is important to you. The bicycles were a fun addition. The owners instructions were perfect, though it took us a bit to to figure out how to get the keys.

Let the kids loose, walk to the tide pools, watch the sun rise, snorkel... we had a blast.. we did all of the east side from this location... and are sure to go back...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best trip we have ever had!

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Pat,
Thank you very much. We loved the house and really enjoyed our stay. The house was the perfect place to get away from it all. We really appreciated the little things around the house that aren’t typically in vacation rentals that made our stay easier and more comfortable; like: dish soap, cleaning supplies, laundry detergent, big island guide books, music, cooler, etc. Thank you again and we hope we get the opportunity to visit you again. Thank you for letting us use your amazing house, it was the best trip we have ever had together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tropical, sounds of doves cooing! Magical!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Thank you for everything and for returning my deposit so
promptly. We had a wonderful time. I can't stop thinking
about how relaxing it was to wake up in that comfortable
bed, surrounded by views of tropical trees and the sounds of
doves cooing - magical! It was hard to leave it, except
that there were so many things to see and do.

BTW, I loved the quilt on the bed upstairs. Do you remember
where you got it?I really appreciated how understanding you were when my first check didn't arrive right away. You were very patient, giving the check at least two extra weeks to arrive. Even though I don't know you personally, I felt like I wasn't just another client for you, but someone that you cared about. Mahalo for making our whole experience so special!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very enjoyable week!

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Nice laid-back digs comfortably far from the crowd, amazing volcanic geology, tide pools, biking, snorkeling.... The view is nice nd near the ocean, there are power-lines and you can't get to that shore but better ones are a walk or bike ride away. Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for enjoying our home as much as we do!! The views from the home of the ocean are beautiful, and you used to be able to walk to the ocean down Wainini until a house was built at the end of the road on the ocean, but it was never a place where you could actually go swimming. Luckily, it did not disrupt the view and you can't see the house from the Pualani Home. All the other ocean access areas in the subdivision I show guests on a map - very easily accessible by a short walk or bike ride. And it's just a very short bike ride to the Wai'Opae Marine Sanctuary for fabulous snorkeling. I think my Pualani home has the best of both worlds by being in the gated subdivision so you can access the Kapoho Beach Lots ocean accesses and Champagne Pond, but it is also the closest street to Vacationland for a quick trip over there for more swimming and snorkeling options! We love the rural, tropical, feel of the home and the superb snorkeling in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1st Timmer

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

The house was clean. Every thing was as stated at the property. The view of the ocean was fine.
The location was excellent. We were able to walk to all the tide pools and warm pools in 5 minutes.
I would recommend this rental to any one, great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Jennifer! It is always our goal to have a clean home and you just can't beat the location for accessing the tide pools - just walk either south to Vacationland or north to Champagne Pond and the other ocean accesses. Glad you enjoyed it and hope you can come back sometime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tropical Splendor

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Kapoho is an area of Hawaii that we didn't know exsisted and we're very happy to have stayed! Tropical stormwatching, sound of the ocean, the wind in the palm trees, songbirds, and the occasional frog all added to our entertainment. We enjoyed riding bikes to the many warm swimming areas nearby. Overall the home is clean and comfortable, but, bugs are a problem, we couldn't turn bright lights on after dark. Be sure to buy BBQ briquettes and ALL basic supplies before you come because the cupboards were bare upon arrival.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We came to the Big Island many times before we discovered Kapoho on the Eastern tip of the island. We immediately fell in love with the house and the area! Truly our Hawaii Dream house coming true! We are at our home now and haven't noticed a bug problem, but it is the tropics and there are bugs! We do not supply our home with the charcoal briquettes for the bbq, but we have lots of other amenities like a hot tub, fully equipped kitchen, lots of linens, snorkel gear, bicycles and more! The kitchen has all cooking utensils, but we do not supply condiments - only some spices. There are coffee filters, but no coffee. We love sharing our home with others who are looking to find a more "restful" tropical experience. I just snorkeled at the nearby WaiOpae Marine Preserve. Fabulous way to start the day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

When it is raining everywhere else

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We only had 4 days here but enjoyed them enormously. Wish we had longer, will return in the future.
The Kapoho (Waiopieo) tide pools were the highlight.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thank you for choosing Pualani in Kapoho! We love it there too and our favorite spot for snorkeling is the southern cove at the Wai'Opae Marine Preserve. I often hear guests say that they wish they had stayed longer! I think people should try to stay at least a week if possible to truly get a feel for this beautiful, tropical area of the Big Island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Home away from home

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

My husband and I just spent five nights at Pualani House and it was absolutely the highlight of our two-week trip to Hawaii! I can't say enough how much we loved our stay. The house is in a secure, gated community, with only a few homes on the same street, so it felt remote and private yet safe. This subdivision is home to the famous Kapoho TidePools, which include several natural lava-stone pools that are naturally heated! It is truly breathtaking!
Pualani House was extremely clean, well-cared for, and had all the provisions you might need: beach chairs, coolers, snorkel gear, five bikes, tons of kitchen stuff, loads of sheets and towels. Washer-dryer was very convenient (especially nice that there was detergent, unlike some other rentals). The wrap-around lanai is one of my favorite parts of the house, as well as the outdoor hot tub!
I would highly recommend this house to independent travelers who are looking for a unique place to go on the Big Island.
Kapoho is on the Hilo side, but the area is very sunny, not rainy like much of the East side. It was gorgeous every day! Pahoa town has a lot of good food choices and supermarkets. It was also a convenient place to go to Volcanoes, about an hour away.
LOVED IT! Can't wait to go back!
Reba and Johnny

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Mahalo! I love it when guests appreciate the home and the area as much as we do! We sure hope you can come back soon and stay longer, and I always give discounts to repeat guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Time at Pualani

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

Hi pat!


Just wanted to send you a quick Mahalo because we had such an amazing time at Pualani! I was really sad to leave, and am totally jealous that it is your house! I absolutely love love love the big island, must come back! It is big! We didn't even make it to the Kona side, but we had such a great time, exploring the tide pools (wai apoe is incredible) and volcanoes park was truly breathtaking. Puna district is peaceful and wild and has a whole character of it's own. Loved every minute. Can't wait to come back! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, comfortable spot for exploring Puna

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

My wife and I (in our late 30s) stayed at Pualani in Kapoho for five great coqui-filled nights. It was a great spot to stay and relax while enjoying the Hilo side of the Big Island. We explored the volcano and lava flow, the various tide pools (including Champagne Pond which is in the development Pualani is a part of), and even made a trip to Mauna Key observatory (long drive but worth it). Highlights for us were the volcano rim hike, walking down to Champagne Pond each morning for a swim (after having some Kona coffee, fresh Hawaiian fruit and Portuguese sausage), taking a tour of the lava flow from a local who lived in Kalapana (one of the coolest things I've ever experienced), having dinner in Pahoa at Kaleo's, and after dinner wrapping up at a fun bar that I believe is called Black Rock. The house is bright and airy. The wrap-around deck is great and the kitchen, living room and bedroom were all more than comfortable. Great spot for staying and exploring the Puna district and we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha & Happy New Year, Doug! I am so happy you enjoyed Pualani as much as we do. Please come back soon - I always offer discounts to repeat guests. Thanks again for choosing Pualani in Kapoho while visiting the east side of the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful views, comfortable bed, extremely clean

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We had a great time exploring the Kapoho area for 4 wonderful days. The Pualani house made a great home base for us. We really enjoyed falling asleep each night to the singing of the coqui frogs, which are, admittedly, an invasive nuisance on Hawai'i. The house is close to fantastic snorkeling in the Kapoho tidepools, hiking in the national park, and restaurants in nearby Pahoa. There are no stores at all in Kapoho, so you must do your grocery shopping before you arrive. Pat is very good about listing all the grocery stores you will pass by on your way to the house. She is also very good about providing maps and directions, so you do not have to worry about getting lost on your way to the house the first time. One thing to keep in mind if you intend to snorkel at Champagne Pond, a lovely aquarium spot to snorkel: there is no public parking. You must walk or ride bikes to the access point, which is close by but still a walk, perhaps a bit too far for toddlers or folks with mobility problems. The Kapoho tide pools do provide public parking spots. Be sure to eat at Kaleo's in Pahoa. Although a bit pricey, which is usual for even casual dining in Hawai'i, the food and service were outstanding. I'd return to the area just to eat a meal there again!! Also, be sure to stroll through the magical Lava Tree State Park, which is just up the road. We practically had the entire park to ourselves on the day we visited. It's unusually beautiful. Although the Pualani house is not directly on the ocean, you will enjoy the ocean view from the lanai. Crashing waves framed by palm trees. What more could you ask for?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Sara for choosing our Pualani Home in Kapoho and we are so glad you enjoyed it! It is our primary goal for guests like you to have a positive experience. I try to send as much information as I can so that you have a positive experience! We love Kapoho and love sharing it with others. We hope you can come back some time! Mahalo - Pat & Andy Starkie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

This home and its owners reflect the aloha spirit that make our getaway extra special. It's like living in a breezy, glass home but with privacy as well. Nights are quiet other than brief rain passing through, neighbors are extremely polite and the wi-fi is ripping fast to stay in touch with family and friends (especially when we had an earthquake and a hurricane at our house while we were away). The porch that rings the 2nd story is particularly nice as well as the multiple jalousie windows and screens that let the tropical breeze flow right through the home. The kitchen is sufficient to cook as much or as little as you would like. There's plenty of snorkel gear, boogie boards, pool noodles downstairs that keep you from buying one-time-only equipment here (nice). And, bicycles for getting out and about in the neighborhood and beyond. Excellent place. We would stay here again. Thanks Pat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love it when guests enjoy the Pualani Home as much as we do! Kapoho is such a special place and the design of the home really puts you at one with nature! It is very enjoyable to be there! Our recent two week stay was not long enough, but we are so happy to share the home with others, and try very hard to keep it well equipped so that you can have a Hawaiian home away from home. Hope you can come back - discounts for repeat guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great ocean view!

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We LOVED the Kapoho home and we enjoyed sharing it with the resident geckos! Such a beautiful home that was well-kept, had tons of amenities, and a gorgeous view of the ocean and surrounding greenery. We loved listening to the frogs and the ocean at night.

We just got home at 2:00 this morning only to find that your refund check for the security deposit was already in our mailbox! Thanks so much, we really appreciate the quick refund and are very impressed with how you run your business.

Thanks again for sharing your vacation home with us, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Mahalo,
Nicole and Michael

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you enjoyed the Pualani Home. That is our goal - to have happy guests who may want to return some day! Mahalo a nui loa, and please come back again! Pat & Andy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great ocen view!

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We LOVED the Kapoho home and we enjoyed sharing it with the resident geckos! Such a beautiful home that was well-kept, had tons of amenities, and a gorgeous view of the ocean and surrounding greenery. We loved listening to the frogs and the ocean at night.

We just got home at 2:00 this morning only to find that your refund check for the security deposit was already in our mailbox! Thanks so much, we really appreciate the quick refund and are very impressed with how you run your business.

Thanks again for sharing your vacation home with us, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Mahalo,
Nicole and Michael

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having happy guests! That is our main goal!! Please come back sometime - reduced rates for repeat guests too, and I am getting quite a few returnees!! Mahalo a nui loa!
Pat & Andy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to visit

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

We have just returned from 8 days at Pualani. It is a marvelous house in an excellent setting. It has everything one needs and more. The bikes are a great extra. There is lots of place to ride and explore on foot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Chuck & Judy! I am glad you enjoyed the bikes. We love riding to the nearby snorkeling spots, and then coming back and relaxing in the yard or hot tub. We do our best so that guests have everything they will need to enjoy themselves! Hope you can come back, and we always offer discounts to repeat guests. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Stay at Pualani House

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

My wife and two teenage children had a wonderful stay at Pualani House on the Big Island. The house was very comfortable with plenty of room for all of us, a great view of the ocean and nice breezes. The easy access to the Champagne pools is a real bonus. The Puna area has some gorgeous spots with easy access to the Volcanoes. It's a great get away from the crowds in other parts of the islands. We'll be back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We love our getaway from the crowds in Kona, Maui, Waikiki, etc. This is truly the Hawaii of "yesteryear." We always give discounts to repeat guests and I get quite a few returning guests, so plan early!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PARADISE FOUND

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

We had never explored this part of the island before. We have been on the Big Island at least 10 times so the idea of exploring this section was intriguing. We were VERY SURPRISED/ LOVED IT! Just a true paradise. The ponds were really fascinating. Saw a turtle in one of them. The weather was great. Sunny during the day and if it rained it happened at night. We loved the little town of Pahoa. Some really colorful people there. You can hang there all day and just talk the day away. The lava tree park was so beautiful and that stretch of highway that leads you to it is so beautiful with the canopy of trees, vines and ferns. There is a great point to see the sunrise just a short walk from the house (There is a home being built there now (Bummer!) but if you get there before they are finished you just have to walk out there. Magical sunrise. We also stumbled on the tide pools just off of the Kapoho Kai street. AMAZING. We then drove to Kalapana - so worth it to see the black sand beach coming back and don't forget to take a coconut to plant into the sand. Bringing back Kalapana to its original look (Pre lava flow) one coconut at a time. I really should not be writing all these great things, this may mean that it will be booked more often, leaving me high and dry. We look forward to coming back and staying longer than 3 days. MAHALO NUI LOA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I had been to the Big Island about 10 times before I discovered Kapoho too! And I am so lucky I did, and I love to share my home with others who appreciate this truly tropical and magical area of the Big Island. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pualani Home in Kapoho

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Ocean View Pualani Home. The check in process was simple and the house was very clean. It was stocked with everything needed to make it a home away from home. My husband was especially pleased with the coffee grinder and espresso machine.
We loved riding the bikes to the champagne ponds. The snorkling was awesome. The water was warm and filled with colorful fish.
The Makuu farmers was close and we purchased wonderful fresh fruits and vegetables there. Pahoa had some great restaurants, for those days when we didn't feel like cooking.
We had a truly relaxing vacation and hope to return someday. I would definetly recomend this rental to family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oh my gosh! Your Pualani Home is So Awesome!

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

Aloha Pat!
Oh my gosh--your Pualani Home is so awesome! Thank you so much for sharing your home. We all loved our stay at your house and had such a good time. If we make it back to Big Island your place would be our 1st choice. The tidal pools were our favorite since snorkeling was the #1 activity. There are so many wonderful activities to do in that area of the Big Island. It was also fun to just relax at the house. I loved the way you decorated the house - it was very homey. I'm also about ready to download my pictures and do some digital scrapbooking in the next couple of weeks so we'll have a lot of wonderful memories.
Thanks a lot,
Kay and Lowell

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very relaxing and enjoyable vacation home

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

First off, dealing with the owners is first rate. Pat is so helpful and makes it all so easy. The home is easy to find, well located, very clean and comfy, and stocked with everything you need for a wonderful stay on the Big Island. The people in the area are very nice and always willing to chat.
Can't say enough about how easy Pat made it for us. We appreciated that. Mahalo Pat.

Be sure and hit the Safeway in Hilo on your way down.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is my priority that guests enjoy their stay! I am glad you enjoyed it, and hope that you can come back sometime! I stock the home as best I can since it is my home away from home too!! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Satified Customer!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

My husband and I spent 1 week on the Big Island. We spent 3 nights on the Hilo side and 4 nights on the Kona side. We were pleasantly surprised with this home. It was exceptionally clean and had great ammenities, including bikes, snorkeling equipment and anything you could need for the kitchen. The owners are outstanding to work with and willing to help in any way with your Hawaii vacation planning. I would also like to recommend the book, "Hawaii-The Big Island Revealed." This made our time in Hawaii so awesome because we knew just what to do and how to get to some of the Hawaiian "gems" and we would have missed without this book.

The location of the home is unique, about 35 minutes from Hilo, but 10 minutes from Pahoa, which is a very cool little town with anything that you may need. We loved being amongst the people who live here, instead of tourists. The gated community was quiet and very nice. Pahoa has very good resturants. We tried a Thai resturant called Nings and a Mexican resturant called La Quinn's. Both were very good. The pizza at Boogy Woogie Pizza was spectacular and very reasonable. We also visited Pahoa Village Cafe for "Open Microphone" which they have every Thursday night. This was an experience-awesome musicians and very interesting!

There are several things to do close by the home. The tide pools are very cool and I suggest going in the morning. There are two warm ponds in the area which are fun, too. Lava Tree State Park is a beautiful place and only a few miles from the home. We would also recommend driving South on Hwy 137 until the end of the road and see the new black sand beach that has formed at the end of the lava rock that has taken over the old black sand beach. There is a great resturant here as well and we would recommend the coconut ice cream which is fabulous! This home is about 35 minutes to Volcanoes National Park as well.

We could have easily spent more time on this side of the island. We didn't have enough time to sit back and enjoy the home because we were out on adventures the whole time. I look forward to returning to the Big Island and would definitely stay at this home again and will recommend it to anyone!

Thank you to Pat and Andy for a wonderful home and making our visit to the East side of the island an amazing experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Angie & Jon! Please come back and stay longer!! You covered a lot!! We love to just kick back at the house!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pualani was highlight of the trip!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

Hi Pat
Thanks. I received the refund a few days ago.
I absolutely loved your place in Kapoho. It was definitely the hilight of the trip for me.
It was extremely humid (sometimes we could see our footprints on the floor). I had never experienced anything like that before. I loved it. The days were sultry in a lovely way. I even enjoyed the crazyness of the coqui frogs at night. (though I think they might drive a person mad eventually...but probably in a good way)
My favorite part of the day was waking up to the wrap around window view of the palm trees and the ocean and watching the light change.
We also discovered snorkeling there! How amazing and easy. During the rest of our trip we snorkeled at several other places but we both preferred the tide pools. (they are even better than Captain Cook)
We walked there everyday...it was a lovely walk (we didn't use the bikes at all as it turned out)
And of course the market north of Pahoa was amazing! an abundance of inexpensive tropical flowers and fruit and clothing etc.
Sadly our stay was too short. We didn't even have time to use the hot tub.
Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous home with us.
Donna and Stan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt more like invited guests!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Thank you so much! We thoroughly enjoyed your home & that part of the island, wish we'd stayed there longer! Felt more like invited guests than renters with the bikes & that lovely quiet neighborhood. Not as happy in Capt Cooke, partly with the rental & partly with so much driving to do almost anything! Wish we'd rented from you again on this side! Thanks again for your great communication & generosity, it's greatly appreciated!
Kathryn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highly recommended!

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Hi Pat:

Thank you for a wonderful stay on the Big Island. We had a great time. Your home was the perfect location for our stay although we were on the go most of the time. Thanks for sending our refund so promptly.

It has been a pleasure coordinating our stay with you. You can be sure if we travel to the Big Island again, or know of anyone planning on visiting, we will recommend your home.

Sharon

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

relaxing,beautful, sounds of the ocean

Review submitted: February 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2008

Thanks Pat for a wonderful vacation at your home. We really enjoyed the house and it's location next to the ocean and the marine sanctuary. The snorkeling there was super.. actually saw more fish there than on the Kona side. We also loved the local farmers markets, and found some great deals on food and local crafts. The Volcano was so interesting, we hiked around and got some great pictures. The driving to get to the Kona side was a little intense, but when we realized the Saddle Road was an option we cut off at least 40 minutes of driving time..
Very peaceful in your neighborhood and we love the resident geckos.. riding bikes in the early morning in the neighorhood was fun and a good way to see all the tidal pools. What a treat to have such warm water and clean refreshing air!
Aloha, Smiling









s

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love the location of the house as well! Close to the marine sanctuary, yet in the gated community with access to Champagne Pond. Many guests comment that they wish they had spent more time in Kapoho and less time in Kona.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pualani in Kapaho is amazing

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

I absolutely loved your place in Kapoho. It was definately the hilight of the trip for me. It was quite humid (sometimes we could see our footprints on the floor). I had never experienced anything like that before. I loved it. The days were sultry in a lovely way. I even enjoyed the coqui frogs at night.
My favorite part of the day was waking up to the wrap around window view of the palm trees and the ocean and watching the light change.
We also discovered snorkelling at the tide ponds. We walked there every day.
And of course the market north of Pahoa was fabulous! an abundance of inexpensive tropical flowers and fruit etc.
Sadly our stay was too short. We didn't even have time to use the hot tub or the bikes.Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love the wonderful sultry days in Kapoho too - it's not TOO warm, just right! The floor to ceiling windows and the sunrise coming in during the morning hours is really lovely, and of course the sounds of nature all around. With the wrap around deck, you can always find sun or shade (unless of course it is raining - but the lanai is covered so you can even sit out when it is raining!) We love it!! And we love to share the great part of the island with others! We also love the snorkeling at Wai'opae Marine Sanctuary, a very short walk or bike ride!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 16, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

Hi Pat
Thanks. I received the refund a few days ago.
I absolutely loved your place in Kapoho. It was definitely the hilight of the trip for me.
It was extremely humid (sometimes we could see our footprints on the floor). I had never experienced anything like that before. I loved it. The days were sultry in a lovely way. I even enjoyed the crazyness of the coqui frogs at night. (though I think they might drive a person mad eventually...but probably in a good way)
My favorite part of the day was waking up to the wrap around window view of the palm trees and the ocean and watching the light change.
We also discovered snorkeling there! How amazing and easy. During the rest of our trip we snorkeled at several other places but we both preferred the tide pools. (they are even better than Captain Cook)
We walked there everyday...it was a lovely walk (we didn't use the bikes at all as it turned out)
And of course the market north of Pahoa was amazing! an abundance of inexpensive tropical flowers and fruit and clothing etc.
Sadly our stay was too short. We didn't even have time to use the hot tub.
Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous home with us.
Donna and Stan
ps I have attached a photo of our tropical bouquet on your deck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of fun at the Pualani House

Review submitted: October 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Pualani House. It is a great get-away. No traffic, no commercialism, just us, the house, the water and the beautiful island. The boys loved going for walks to the water and snorkeling in Champagne Pond. We swan with two turtles! One of the many hi-lights of our trip. I was worried about not having A/C, but it was not needed even in the middle of August. The breezes itself were plenty enough. The view from the house was lovely and we loved looking for the Geckos every day. It was nice having the second bedroom and bathroom. It was truly a home away from home. We hope to come back and stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love happy guests!! And we love the slower pace in Kapoho like you said - just the house, the water, the breeze! We think it's paradise too! Please come again!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Hi Pat:

Thank you for a wonderful stay on the Big Island. We had a great time. Your home was the perfect location for our stay although we were on the go most of the time. Thanks for sending our refund so promptly.

It has been a pleasure coordinating our stay with you. You can be sure if we travel to the Big Island again, or know of anyone planning on visiting, we will recommend your home.

Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the Pualani house!

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 29, 2009

A friend and I recently stayed at Pualani for 2 full weeks. We truly enjoyed our time there and would highly recommend this house. There is a nice ocean view, as well as the sound of the ocean at all times. The location is great, and having bicycles made it easy to get all around, to the Champagne pond and even over to the Marine Sanctuary. The house is comfortable, and provided for our needs. It is clean and fairly well-appointed. I would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Gina & Barbara! I am always pleased when guests actually get to stay for longer periods and really enjoy the surroundings! Most people who only stay for 2 or 3 nights comment that they wish they could stay longer! Repeat guests always get a discount! Pat

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pualani Paradise

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We had a wonderful time at this home. It had a beautiful view of the ocean, and we could always hear some lovely, rhythmic sound to lull us to sleep--rain, waves, wind, frogs. It was very well equipped; we could ride the bikes to the natural thermal pools, or down the red road, or around the neighborhood. Though we expected that it might be too warm for the hot tub, when we returned from swimming it was a welcome soothing temperature. The kitchen was fully equipped, we rented movies to watch on the DVD player, and were most comfortable lounging in the living room. The neighborhood was quiet and safe. Pahoa and even Hilo were easily accessible, but it was so nice to come home to this off the beaten path paradise. My husband, teenaged daughter and myself had room for both privacy and congregating, and it would easily have held at least one more adult. The owners shared all sorts of water equipment, shoes and snorkels and the like. Tidepools were a short hike or bike away. The situation was nothing short of perfect for our relaxing vacation. We were very sorry that we had not planned to stay longer, we were in heaven & there is much beauty on the lesser populated side of the Big Island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kathryn,

I am so happy you enjoyed the Pualani Home. I love the natural rural beauty of the area, and I hope you can come back for a longer time on your next trip! We make every effort to ensure a comfortable home for a relaxing vacation experience! Mahalo!

Pat

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Pat,

Thank you so much! We thoroughly enjoyed your home & that part of the island, wish we'd stayed there longer! Felt more like invited guests than renters with the bikes & that lovely quiet neighborhood. Not as happy in Capt Cooke, partly with the rental & partly with so much driving to do almost anything! Wish we'd rented from you again on this side! Thanks again for your great communication & generosity, it's greatly appreciated!
Kathryn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two week winter getaway

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: February 19, 2009

We spent two weeks at this place, from the 19th of feb to the 5th of March. The place was beautiful, well maintained and the beds and furniture were comfortable. We could see the ocean from our livig room and all you heard was the sound of the waves at night. Great way to go to sleep. Quite surroundings,laid back and no noisy traffic. There is a town in close proximity to the place that has all the groceries you need. There is also a farmers market where you can purchase fresh fruit and vegs and all sorts of island made articles. Cool breezes blow at nite which adds to a good sleep. Twenty minutes from Hilo, a lot of great places to eat and shop, and more farmers markets. We have been to evere island and I like this one the best.The people that own this place are good and honest people to deal with. We did all of our arranging on the internet and everything went according to Hoyle.Thank you for the holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

Definately a unique home to rent if you're looking to get away from the typical Hawaiian tourists. Convienant
to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo...not
a bad drive to southern beaches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

Pualani is a wonderful get away from the cold of Pennsylvania. Loved the view of the ocean. Weather was delightful. Convenient location to snorkeling. Bikes were fun. We had great weather. Enjoyed Pahoa & Hilo. Thai food & good pizza in Pahoa tops. Pescatore in Hilo top-rate Italian food - recommend highly. Take a night trip to view lava - amazing.

Mahalo & Aloha!
Loretta Supplee

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 31, 2008   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

Thanks for sharing Pualani with us Pat & Andy. We had a great experience! I'd always dreamed of this kind of place where the breeze blew right off the ocean and into the house. And the location is ideal for touring this part of the island. The lava flow was awesome, Champage Pond a magical experience and Hilo a delight. Ning's Thai is one of the best I've ever been to (and that's a lot). We counted 5 geckos and loved their company. and the rain on the roof made sleeping peaceful. We hope to return soon!

Greg & Jeri Sowell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 29, 2008   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Hi Pat & Andy,

Thank you for letting us use your wonderful house! The kids loved collecting fallen coconuts in the garden, and the spa was great to get warm after a long hike on the volcano in the sometimes heavy rain. The short distance to the recent lava flow at Kalapana allowed us to there twice -- both at day time and time time - Marvelous! We hope to get back here some day! Loved the geckos!

Sincerely, Lotte, Peter, Margreth, Dante, Tobias

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 14, 2008   Date of arrival: August 14, 2008

Thank you Pat. I can’t explain how much we enjoyed ourselves and your home. The people there are wonderful, it was so nice to see real Hawaii. We had such a good time my sons want to go back next year. Guess I’ll have to start saving.Thanks again,Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

Pualani was a perfect home base for our adventures with sea turtles, volcanoes, bromeliads and so much more. Champagne Pond was also a great treat. Thank you for sharing your home with us and I'm sure our vacation will be remembered for a long time to come. Mahalo from the Paulot family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 6, 2008

Thanks Pat, we did enjoy our stay!! In fact, we loved it! Kona side was fun for the start but then we were glad to escape the vog. We zoomed all around on your bikes, loved Champagne Pond as our last evening stop each night, and really loved a couple of spots north of Hilo (one where there’s the rope swing into the river and another where we boogie boarded all day). We got lucky with the weather I guess, never had rain once! We feel like we did it all and had a great place to come “home” to at night. My husband wishes we could have some geckos in our house too! Thanks again so much, it was a great vacation!Valerie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2007   Date of arrival: November 30, 2007

Aloha, Pat! How are you? I've just got back from Hawaii last night.It was great to stay in Pualani! Thank you so much for sharing! We enjoy it very much!! Our stay was just great! I love the Big Island! I'd love to visit
again and stay in Pualani again too! I'll recommend my friends to stay in Pualani if they want to go to the
Big Island! Mahalo! and take care.

Best,
Natsuki Hayashi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 7, 2007   Date of arrival: October 7, 2007

Hi Pat -
We just got back this evening from the Big Island. I just wanted to thank you again for accommodating us in such short notice. Your Pualani Home was so wonderful. . .it was the real "Hawaii". I love the open wood beam ceiling and the veranda that surrounds the upper floor is a great feature. The view, the sound of the ocean, and all the comforts of home helped make our stay so pleasant. Your home is so perfectly situtated. . .Champagne Pond, Kapoho Tide Pools, surf spots like Isaac Hale and Pohoiki. . .I can go on and on. I just wish we had discovered Pualani sooner. . .I would've love to stay there the entire 11 days! You are lucky to have such a great find! I will be sure to pass on a good word to all our friends. We hope to return soon.

Mahalo,
Alice

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 8, 2007

Hello, Pat

We just returned Sunday, after our stay at Pualani house, and then almost 2 weeks on Maui. We had a great time everywhere, and after staying in Kehei, REALLY appreciated the peace an quiet of your area of the Big Island. We wish we had decided to stay a bit longer there, but next time ................

Anyway, I got our vacation mail today, and opened the refund check. Mahalo, for everything !!!!

Ed Murphy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2006   Date of arrival: November 29, 2006

Hi Pat,
Thank you very much for letting us stay at your beautiful home in Kapoho. We enjoyed our stay very much and had lots of fun at the hot springs and the steam caves. It was so convenient to the things we wanted to see yet lots of privacy and away from the hustle and bustle of Hilo. I received the deposit refund yesterday. Thanks again for everything.
Mahalo,
Paul and Yasuyo Ledford

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 7, 2006   Date of arrival: November 7, 2006

Aloha Pat,
We really enjoyed our stay at Pualani. It was cozy and comfortable. All the gadgets and facilities were in good condition and the ocean view was excellent. We explored the entire east coast of the island. Especially liked the hot pool on 137, black beach with hike down the lava rocks, the tropical vegetation, tidal pools and swimming area near the house, etc. We saw lot of colored fish and other marine life. We also enjoyed cooking with the unusual tropical vegetables (have heard of frsh drum sticks for soup?) with spices. The pine apples, papaya and the small banana were also fantastic. I read two of your books, in addition to the books we brought with us.

I also want to thank you for letting us hang at your Aloha house on Sunday. Diane really liked the 180 deg ocean view and the fantastic breeze outside. We saw sea turtles from the lava rock backyard.

Thank you for sending us the deposit back.

We were expecting a lot of rain to dampen our vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to see that it rained at night and occasional down pours during the day lasting only for short periods.

It was a long trip back to Boston, but this vacation was worth all the travel.

We hope to come back to Hawaii soon.

Mahalo

Murthy and Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2006   Date of arrival: August 17, 2006

Hi Pat,

We had a great time at the Pualani Home. Thank you for having us,

George

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2006   Date of arrival: July 23, 2006

Aloha Pat and Andy - Thank you for returning the $100.00 deposit. We really enjoyed your lovely dream house and surrounding area. Our time in Kapoho was a very special part of trip to the islands. We might return some time without the kids. If we do we will certainly get in touch. You really do have a beautiful home in Kapoho and we will share pictures with friends who might be looking for a nice out of the way place in paradise.

Mahalo, Tom and Lucy Wells

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2006   Date of arrival: January 25, 2006

Hi, Pat – I received the refund on our security deposit in the cute fish motif stationary. Mahalo. I have been meaning to email you to tell you we really enjoyed the place, just everything about it was super. We snorkeled in the pools and saw lots of turtles, which was so great. What a unique and cool area of the island. We also loved Pahoa and had a GREAT Thai meal in the funky restaurant furthest east of the two. We would recommend your place to anyone. It was nicely decorated and well equipped, too.Thanks for all!!!--Cathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2005   Date of arrival: September 23, 2005

Aloha Pat!Unfortunately we are home! We had the time of our lives!! Words can’t express how beautiful Kapoho (and the whole island really) was. We seriously did not want to leave. If we didn’t have 3 dogs and 3 cats at home waiting for us – we might have actually stayed. We went to the Kona area after we left your wonderful home…it was nice but we definitely prefer the Hilo side of the island. We brought several real estate publications home with us and are brimming with ideas of how exactly we can change our lives and move there. I bet that happens a lot. We definitely hope to be able to go back and stay at Pualani again!! And also would recommend it to anyone who asked. We will put a glowing “review” on one or more of our websites. Mahalo Nicki

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review