reviews for: listing #40290 - East Hampton, New York House rental

East Hampton, Heated Pool, Private beach. Full/part season
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Clearwater Beach
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1 /mth

sort by:

Far from the Maddening Crowd !

Review submitted: December 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

My husband and I and another couple from the UK stayed at this house last summer. It was our first time in the USA and the house was recommended to us by a friend of the owner. It is located on a quiet, peaceful avenue with very little traffic, in the most idylic woodland setting. We loved everything about the house, the refreshing decor, the ample and very relaxing furnishings, the huge master suite and the well fitted kitchen with sliding patio doors leading to the decking and the perfect pool. Despite our plans to go to the gorgeous private beach every day, most of the time we just lazed around the pool and cooked on the BBQ. The linens and towels are top quality and the house was spotlessly clean. Dealing with the owner was a pleasure;there were no problems with anything in the house it was just as stated in the listing on vacationrentals.com but it doesn't say there just how good she is at making you feel welcome and how she is always on hand to give advice on places to visit, restaurants and events etc. We spent 4 days sightseeing in New York it was amazing but we really looked forward to returning to the house; it was the most peaceful place to come back to and unwind after the hustle and bustle of the city; far from the maddening crowd ! We would not hesitate to recommend this property it is special and was part of the reason why we had such a fantastic holiday.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best summers ever in this house

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Our family (three adults, three kids, two dogs) rented this wonderful house three years in a row. The house is sunny, bright, well-appointed, and convenient to East Hampton and the Springs General Store, right around the corner from Jackson Pollack's house. It has three bedrooms upstairs, one downstairs - so plenty of space for family and guests. We spent most of our time in the kitchen and TV room, but also on the shaded porch by the pool.
The pool is excellent, by the way, with a GREAT heater (my wife likes the water warm). The master upstairs is HUGE, has a nice sitting area as well as bedroom, walk-in closet, and bath. There is a desk and table there, which was helpful for me when I elected to work from there instead of going into the city. Then there are two queen bedrooms and a single, one with an en-suite bath.
The grounds are well landscaped and kept neat. Lots of shaded parking. And there's everything you need for a great summer rental: BBQ, pool toys, etc. To note, this is a rental property, as opposed to a house that someone lives in and leaves in the summer for rent -- we liked that it was thoughtfully furnished but did not feel like we were living in "someone's house" (i.e., not full of family pictures, linens, etc.). Finally, the landlord is wonderful -- really really sweet. We had heard horror stories of LLs who intentionally look for problems in order to hang onto security deposits. Not the case here -- she is thoughtful, but never intrusive. If you need her, she's nearby and effective at getting any problem fixed quickly, with a great string of service providers. She manages a number of houses in the area, so she's always around to help if you need her. A great place to rent for the summer -- highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic week

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

The house is great (nicer than pictures suggest), the area is beautiful, and we had a great time. The kids loved it. Thanks, Deirdre!

EQ

Owners response: Thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed the house. We hope you'll come stay again! Best, Deirdre.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Best Vacation Beautiful House!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful relaxing week at this property and we cannot stop raving about it. We arrived to find a warm welcoming home with everything we could ever possibly need or want for a great vacation. The pictures are accurate but the house is much more charming and lovely in person. We appreciated the little touches that you would find at any four star hotel like beautiful bed linens, plenty of towels and pillows and a fully stocked large beautiful kitchen. The house is in a great location on a quiet street just a few minutes by car to East Hampton Village. The pool was wonderful and we found ourselves staying at the house most of the day floating in the pool and soaking up the sun and getting some much needed down time. Even better than the house itself was our experience with Deidre the owner. She made us feel very welcome with a handwritten note a bottle of prosecco when we arrived and she was and a dream to work with from start to finish. We were sad to leave such a wonderful house and look forward to when we can return for another week sometime soon.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

Hello Deirdre,

We are packing up and I wanted to tell you that you really have a lovely home and you put so many nice personal touches in the house. We really appreciate it. If you did not have renters coming, I would have extended my stay. You will be hearing from us again, because we would love to rent your house again in the future.

C.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

Hi, Deirdre!
We had a WONDERFUL weekend at your beautiful home! We hated to leave! The weather was spectacular, and we actually completed the half marathon!!! Mom had a great time, as well! Thank you, again, for the opportunity to stay in your home! You are the best!
Best regards,
Joanne!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review