reviews for: listing #4033 - Rosemary Beach, Florida House rental

Highlands By The Sea
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waters Edge
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $550 /nt
    $1,200 - $3,200 /wk
    $4,800 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

More than we expected!

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This was our first time to the Rosemary/Seacrest area and we couldn't have been more pleased. We chose the house in December (before renovations) because of its great location to the beach and two master bedrooms. We thought it was a great value then, and to our surprise, the house was renovated in February! We have stayed in several beach houses with other families throughout the years and one set of adults always had to stay in a "lesser" room. I would say the best feature of this house was that both master bedrooms were equally large (both with king beds) and both bathrooms were the same size and very nicely updated. The bunkroom was great for our 3 16-18yr old girls and we were actually surprised that the 2 boys (ages 16 and 18)were very comfortable in the bunkroom "closet"...we think they slept the latest because the room was totally dark when the doors were closed. It's not often 5 teenagers have nothing to complain about!

Accessibility to the beach was fabulous. Just a quick few steps (4 houses) out the nice path and then down the boardwalk to the sugary sand beach! As we exited the gated neighborhood, we had Rosemary Square to our right and Seacrest Village to our left. We had already rented bikes for the five teens when we realized how everything was in walking distance. However, we quickly realized this was a very friendly biking community and the kids (and adults) had fun biking up and down 30a on paved walkways in the surrounding areas.

I cannot say enough about this lovely property and hope to return next summer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location with nice updates

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 week stay at Highlands by the Sea. The house was a wonderful location South of 30A and next door to Rosemary. It was an easy walk to Rosemary activities and Charlie's donut truck in Alys.
It was nice having 2 master bedrooms with one on the first floor so the grandparents weren't bothered with noise from the bunk room. The renovations to the kitchen and bathrooms were well done and all rooms are a nice size. While the pool is a little small we enjoyed playing in it at the end of the day.
The owner was easy to deal with and very responsive with any questions/issues we had. House was clean and well maintained. We hope to stay here again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easy Breezy by the Seasy...

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Fantastic location along the pristine Emerald coast. The house is open and spacious with two large master bedrooms and a delightful kids bunk area. The feeling is very relaxed with upgraded appliances and amenities. Our family spent a lot of time on the beach and having only a short (non-road crossing) walk was great.

The small pool is not heated and the lack of direct sun makes it largely unswimmable outside of high summer. The property was very clean and the access to Rosemary Beach and Sunset BEach was perfect. The Geoff Wilder enclave feels like a small island community, quiet with a cosy atmosphere.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Stayed at Highlands By The Sea with my family over our spring break.

To our delight - the home had been extensively remodeled since the time of our booking. The floors / bathrooms / carpet / beds / kitchen - very tastefully done with top quality materials yet maintained a chic "beachy" feel. The two master suites and plethora of bunk beds would be ideal for two large families to stay...it was actually too big for our little family...we never even turned on two of the five large flatscreen TV's. It was immaculately clean. We didn't need anything from the owner during our stay - but leading up to the stay he was extremely helpful and responded to any of our questions very promptly. Had we encountered any problems - I am confident they would have been quickly taken care of.

Highlands is the fourth or fifth house from the gorgeous white sand beach on a very quiet and safe street...maybe 100 or so steps to the beach...there is a nice little path from the rear of the house. The houses are arranged so that the pools are opposite of one another (front to back) - so although close to one another - you maintain quite a bit of privacy. Don't bother packing your beach gear - their is a company that will set you up with two (2) nice teak beach recliners, side table, and umbrella for $22/day.

It is a 2 minute walk to downtown Rosemary Beach , a 5 minute walk to Alys Beach, and a 10 minute drive to Seaside if you feel like changing up the scenery. There are too many great restaurants to list...but some of our favorites are: Georges (Alys Beach), La Cocina (Seacrest), La Crema (Rosemary), Bud&Alleys (Seaside), The Shrimp Shack (Seaside)...and you can't beat Charlies Donut Truck and a cup of coffee from the Fonville Press in Alys Beach.

We look forward to another visit to "30A" and a stay at Highlands by the Sea in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved our stay!

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

This home was so accommodating for all seven of us. We brought five kids and they all slept comfortably and used the upper room as a "play room". Everyone had their own bathroom and their own privacy. It is so close to the beach and the boys had fun with a frisbee, basketball, and football right outside the front door. The washing machine came in handy, along with the DVD and pool. The house manager was so helpful and allowed us to have medication mailed to her house. She hand-delivered it once it arrived. We are not wanting to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highlands By The Sea

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

This house and the area were perfect for our family. We've stayed in resorts nearby, but never this close to the beach... we loved how convenient everything is! Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking or bike riding distance. The house is very comfortable and spacious with everything you could need. We were pleasantly surprised that it even had useful items for our children... booster seat, baby gate, games, etc. Sea Oats Beach Service made it even easier on us, by providing chairs, umbrella and a cabana at a reasonable cost.
Can't wait to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location, Lacking Amenities

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

The property is perfectly located on a beautiful beach with many great spots to eat and shop within walking distance. However, it was lacking basic amenities and needed some maintaince.

Each bathroom had one roll of toilet paper, no extras in the house. Not much for a weeks stay! Baths only had one tiny bar of hotel soap. The towels were awful! Very old and worn out. We ended up buying (and leaving) $4.00 towels from Walmart that were of better quality. The sheets in the upstairs master had holes with the first floor master not too much better.

The house needs some attention. Mold in the first floor maste bath, walls needing paint, dusty base boards. A good cleaning and basic maintaince would go a long way.

For the rate, type of home and location it was underwhelming. Our family has rented less expensive properties that were better appointed.

I can only speculate that the owner has not been there in sometime as he was kind, professional, quick to track down the property manager and return emails.

Owners response: Upon receiving this review from Sandi J, I immediately e-mailed and called her to speak with her about her stay so that I could address her concerns. She never called or e-mailed me back. I never once received a complaint by phone or e-mail about any of the items she listed in her review at the beginning or during her stay. We have a property manager that lives in the area and she also never received any of these complaints during her stay.

It is true that we only provide starter rolls of paper goods (toilet paper and paper towels), as well as starter bath soap, and dish washing detergent. We have varying number of guests in this home from time to time and we could not possibly be expected to supply an unlimited amount of paper goods. Most guests bring their own groceries and pick up additional paper goods and soaps as needed. Since I have listed this home on vacationrentals.com I have never once had a guest complain about the paper goods or soaps.

The other negative comments made by this guest are simply not true. I have had this home listed on vacationrentals.com since 2004 and have never once received any negative comments from a guest...not once. We pride ourselves on quick and professional customer service and our track record speaks for itself. We have also not raised our rates since 2004 as we try very hard to provide value for our guests. This home has also rented 34 weeks in 2011, most of which are repeat customers. If we weren't providing value for our guests, they would not be coming back.

Unfortunately Sandi J has made negative comments about our home and not given us any courtesy to address her concerns during or following her stay. If a guest does not communicate with us, we cannot possibly fix something that is or might be wrong.

If any potential guest would like references from prior guests or vendors, I would be more than happy to provide them.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

I just wanted to say our vacation was awesome. The location to Rosemary, our own pool and the proximity to the beach were the best. We hope we can book the place next summer or perhaps next October. I hope we left the place in good shape when we left. Thanks again. Steve

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review