reviews for: listing #40438 - Hood Canal, Washington House rental

Hood Canal/Puget Sound Beachfront Home
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $250 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,525 /wk

sort by:

Wonderfully!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

Wonderful winter get away!
Beautiful place, inside and out. It's great , great views of Hood Canal, wild life, east to get oysters and clams right at the door step....
Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks very much and hope to see you all soon again.
Hasse

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our 2nd trip... and not our last!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We had another amazing getaway at this rental! Nothing tops fresh oysters from your own beach and a cozy home to just relax and unwind. Hasse is a great owner to work with. Very easy to get in touch with if you have any questions. The 2nd bathroom and futon in the living room were nice additions from last year. Overall, just a great weekend retreat. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sure nice to have you at the Hood again. Agree, the oyster are really special.....see you soon again.
Hasse

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent Retreat!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

I have travelled extensively & stayed at many vacation properties, & I loved this place! I highly recommend this lovely 2 bedroom beach house to anyone who wants to get away from it all, yet be close to all amenities.

Located directly on waterfront on an abundantly rich oyster & clam filled beach…you just need to step down from the deck, & dinner is literally at your feet! We enjoyed them in a variety of ways, but grilled in the shell was so fresh & delicious! During low tide, enjoy a leisure walk up the beach..(be sure to bring your aqua shoes or just your sneakers) the water was warm & very clear.

I really found it to be the perfect place to unwind, breathe deeply, truly enjoy being in the moment, while taking in the whole relaxing scenery. I especially enjoyed the delightful deck swing, where the combo of sea air, beautiful breeze, & sounds of the seagulls, was perfectly located for a lazy afternoon nap, catching up on some reading, & also enjoying some wine while watching the sun set.

Literally from the first minute you step into this home, it's quite clear that you've made a good choice coming here. The home itself surpassed my expectations...I was delighted to find it to be so clean & contemporary. It certainly felt a lot larger than what I expected. The kitchen was awesome & well equipped, the family room was cozy with a big couch, nice comfy chair with ottoman, & a wide screen TV for movies, etc. it even has some games to enjoy if you’re in the mood for them.

The whole place is well laid out, & flows very easily. Besides the stools at the kitchen counter, the dining room could seat 6 very comfortably while gazing out at the water. The bedrooms were quite roomy & I loved my bed..it was so….comfortable…it had a lovely feather bed, goose down quilt, & wonderful crisp cotton sheets, I could barely read a couple of sentences of my book before sighing deeply into a heavy sleep.

Also, the owner, Hasse, a nice man, was very accommodating and easy to work with. He listened carefully & was very helpful.

If time permits, I will be returning soon…

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the warm feedback, and very happy you had a relaxing long weekend. Will be nice to
see you at Hood Canal soon again,

Hasse

Helpful votes: 13 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

Thank you for allowing me to enjoy your home. It was a peaceful and relaxing week-end.
I hope to come back again.

Helpful votes: 13 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks you again!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

My family thoroughly enjoyed your home. Although it was only a few day's, my wife thinks it was the best family vacation we've had in years. Your beach front is amazing. We've never seen such an abundance of oysters and clams in our lives. Everything at your home was just perfect for our needs. Thanks you again for allowing us to spend the weekend at your wonderful beach home.

Helpful votes: 15 / 17

 

An Oyster Lover's Paradise!

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

What a perfect weekend getaway! The home is right on the beach and the house itself was bigger than we expected, after seeing the pictures. The very best part is walking out everyday and collecting your own fresh oysters! It was literally too easy. We ate them raw, steamed, rockafeller, baked.... it was magical. :) The kitchen is great for all that oyster cooking. (or whatever else you may want to make)


The owner, Hasse, is very helpful... and quick to respond to any questions via email.

I would highly recommend this rental for any season!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks very much, and hope to see you out there very soon again,

Hasse

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

This place looked amazing when we first arrived on the property! The house is right on the beach and has a huge deck for family gatherings. The view of the Olympic Mountains and Hood Canal were breathtaking! The house is very clean and uncluttered. The beach is filled with oysters, and clams, and we enjoyed hunting them up on more than one occasion for a meal. However there are some things that are in desperate need of attention. The beds don't have mattresses; they are actually stacked foam pads and comforters. The living room couch is broken down and extremely uncomfortable. The shower spews water everywhere and leaks unless it is set on hot and the shower switch is pulled up. If these things were fixed it would be an excellent place to stay! Fortunately we were able to look past these details and enjoyed ourselves. In the hopes that these things will be eventually fixed we would defiantly rent this house again. We were able to get a discount stay because of the dates we picked, but would have been very disappointed if we would have paid full price for the house in its condition. With a new couch and some new mattresses this would be well worth the money!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: The master bed room, has a box spring bed, more or less new, and very comfortable. The second bedroom got 2 single beds, with proper foam mattresses. The beds can also be used as a king bed, with an additional mattress topper, on top of the foam mattresses.
The living room, dark green leather sofa, with feather filled cushions, is very comfortable for both seating and sleeping.
The new bathroom, wrapped in marble tile, with new fixtures is a real treat. The bathtub fixture, when set properly is really nice. To use a comment from a quest: "quite comfortable, specially the beds".

Hasse

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice!

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We all really enjoyed your home and hope to return someday soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great winter weekend!

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

Just before New Year's, we and another couple from Seattle got a crazy idea to get away for the long holiday weekend. Finding a good place in a fun location that was available last minute was going to be difficult enough...but we were also traveling with our two dogs. No small feat...Luckily, we found Hasse's listing! He was quick to respond and we worked out the details. Upon check-in, Hasse greeted us at the house with some goodies and a bottle of bubbly to ring in the new year.
The house was better than expected - very clean and uncluttered, and the photos don't do it justice. Great views, and lots of natural light during the day; and the thoughtful lighting design gives you options for bright light where you need it, or soft ambient lighting at night.
The lot is very attractive with a grassy lawn and fencing and plantings at the edges offer privacy from the neighbors. The deck is great, too. At high tide you feel like you're right on the water. Having dinner around the picnic table would be most pleasant in good weather (maybe next time!). The highlight for me though, was walking out at low tide and getting our own oysters. What a treat!
The furnishings were quite comfortable, especially the beds. We enjoyed waking up to the view out of the sliding doors right at the end of the queen bed in the canal-side room; and our friends said the king in the back bedroom was extremely cozy. Another plus is that the bedrooms are at separate ends of the house.
There's just about everything you need, and all in like-new condition - a rare find in a rental home, from our experience. The spacious kitchen with new appliances was a pleasure to cook in; although we could have used a bucket for oysters and a few more serving pieces.
There's a small collection of movies and books; but if you like to play cards, games, and do puzzles like us, bring some along. The TV is small, but has good picture quality.
Other things to note: on our visit, cell reception was spotty, and there wasn't internet (ok if you want to get away from it all). Also, the house is off a main road and not fully fenced, so we kept our adventurous dogs on-leash. (Tip for dogs: check out Howe Farm County dog park near Port Orchard. Worth the drive!)
All and all we had a fantastic cozy weekend here, and look forward to our next visit. The drive from Seattle is easy, and it's a great location for exploring the area.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review