reviews for: listing #40440 - Long Beach, California House rental

Ocean Front Luxury Duplex w/ incomparable views & amenities
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,000 /nt
    $3,000 - $5,000 /wk
    $12,000 - $19,000 /mth

sort by:

Trip of a lifetime!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

My family and I rented the entire house for my graduation and we had a blast. The kids spent the entire time in the game room and the adults enjoyed the view under the heaters on the deck. Everything was clean and perfectly maintained. The set up of the bedrooms was a little challenging for the break down of our family but we made it work and there were more than enough beds/pull out couches to go around. I would highly recommend this place!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We Hardly Wanted To Go Outside!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

I rented the top part of the house for Spring Break with my teenage kids (15 and 17 yo). It was amazing and provided so much to do and room to breathe since we were together for a week. The game room is just fabulous--the air hockey game is my favorite. The kitchen has all Viking appliances, I enjoyed making huge breakfasts. The two balconies look right on the sandy beach, no obstructions. We watched the ships coming into the Long Beach and LA Harbors, kitesurfers, bikers, walkers, joggers, everyone was active. The birds eye fourth floor was mine for early morning coffee with my book and a glass of wine to watch the sunset.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rolly Uclaray

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

First I would like to say Thank you to Mike (Owner) for everything.

I organized a group of dancers from Las Vegas, Nevda to take part in a dance competition in Southern California.

This home is beautiful, four levels of space, it was perfect for large parties. When we arrived, WE could not believe our eyes. The house was very clean, everything in order, fully furnished, safe and just over all Amazing. It had a full size kitchen which made it so easy to make meals instead of eating out. The best part was the "GAME ROOM" everyone had blast playing with the all the different games.

Another great thing was the beach was just across the street, easy access and not to mention one of the most beautiful beaches I have been to.

As the sunrised the last morning before check out, I told myself "I will recommend everyone and anyone to Mike" because not only was he such a genuine guy but he made us feel very welcomed. If I had to sum it up in one word of our over all experience and stay at this house, the word would be...PERFECT!! Thank you again Mike and hope to see you next year!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

FANTASTIC

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

Had a great time is this amazing property. It is everything you see in the pictures and more! The accomodations are better than any hotel and the location is just perfect! Thanks for letting us bring our employees, they loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Definitely exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

This home is fabulous and in a great location. It far exceeded our expectations and so did the Long Beach area. The home is equipped with everything you need but it was the extras that make it so great. The decks all have speakers outside as well as overhead heaters for cooler evenings. The owners were very accomodating as we required a late check in and a late check out. There are a million things to do to keep everyone entertained but hanging out on the deck was the best. We had a party of eight, rented both sides of the duplex and had plenty of room. The large kitchen in the bigger unit was the perfect gathering spot. The game room was a huge hit with our teenage children. My husband used the fourth floor lookout tower as an office which was perfect. It was out of the way and he had a fantastic view of the ocean while he worked. The beach across the street is spectacular and the views are breathtaking. If you are a walker/runner this is the perfect location as the walk/run/bike path runs the entire stretch of the beach. We had a great time watching the people and all the kite flyers as well. If you are looking for an active vacation or just a relaxing getaway this is the perfect place. There are restaurants, a grocery store, bars, and shops all within walking distance. After eight days we hadn't come close to doing all the things we planned or could have done and truly wished we could stay longer. We would definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beck Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

A quick note to thank you for our fabulous stay at Oceanhouse. The views were so incredible! We lived on the decks! Your home was the perfect location for our stay. We had room for relatives and our friends. The set-up was perfect; the kids had the upper level game and bunk spaces, the adults had separate areas to converse, cook and sleep. Most of all we loved the big deck and sliding doors!! It's so wonderful to see the entire beach. We watched the kite surfers every day. We appreciated the bikes in the garage too. What an easy ride to the grocery store. We loved Belmont Shore. It is the perfect place to stay. The beach, the shops, the restaurants...all within a few blocks. We hardly used the car. That made out trip so relaxing. We knew everything we wanted was close by. My folks really enjoyed the lower duplex. They had their own apartment, yet could come up and visit any time. The elevator made it easy. Looking forward to next summer.
Sincerely,
The Beck Family

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

Absolutely exceptional 3 months spent in your home. We loved having enough room for everyone to stay with us when they visited. Your "outdoor living room" was THE hangout. Incredible views!!!! We lived on that deck.

Living on the beach and around the corner from downtown was key in choosing your home. It was so convenient to walk out the front door to the beach and around the corner for coffee or dinner.

The kids really enjoyed the game room. They thought it was cool that the doors to the big deck would open all the way and they could watch TV and movies outside.

The grandparents appreciated having their own deck to watch the ocean traffic, beach activity and have some quiet time. FYI: your elevator made their visit possible.
Having the bikes in the garage was handy. The kids liked riding up to the grocery store for me and cruising on the boardwalk bike lanes.
The cooks in our group loved the spacious kitchens. We could feed the entire crew easily. The big Viking stove was wonderful-I want one.

Thank you for your activity suggestions. We did just about everything. The Gondola ride was a hit with everyone. I may try the kiteboarding school next time. Our family and friends are "suggesting" we plan next year's trip already.

Warmest regards, The Beck Family

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

comfortable like home

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We rented the house for a whole month. Clearly, not having it seen in person before, we were a bit concerned about the reliability of the description and the photos.
Nothing to worry, the house is brand new, well appointed and with lots of space. Some if the items we particularly enjoyed:
+ A separate and comfortable space on top of the house (with amazing views of the beach) where I could work without feeling segregated to a corner of the house .
+ Modern and well equipped kitchen with plenty of room for guests.
+ Music and TV everywhere
+ Great terraces
+ Great light through the house
+ A BBQ right outside the kitchen
The house has two bedroom and I would not suggest it for more than four people. We were two and enjoyed quite a bit. The added game room is a bonus but not necessary considering the beach right across the street.
Mike (the owner) is very helpful and available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

5/5Perfect in every way
adaptive1 Long beach Ca
Review Submitted: May 27, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009
Beautiful home where our Salzburg Austria staff stayed while overseeing American Idol text voting finale. home is beautiful, full ocean views from two floors. Marble, dark hardwood floors, and extremely well furnished. Favorite's were the HD TV's and the extensive game room with air hockey, video games, table tennise, etc. the owner even furnished bikes, including a 3 wheeler for bring home the groceries from the nearby Von's gourmet market. the house faces on the beach, but is only 3 short blocks from 2nd street with its multiple restaraunts, coffee shops, stores, etc. Also, Belmont Shore is centrally located for all of LA and well as the OC. I have never seen anything this nice and I have lived nearby in the Shore for 20+ years.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

at a wonderful experience. The place exceeded the images on the web site. The home is in beautiful condition. Thanks so much my clients loved staying there. Mike was amazing with his service and professional positive attitude throughout.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

Beautiful home where our Salzburg Austria staff stayed while overseeing American Idol text voting finale. home is beautiful, full ocean views from two floors. Marble, dark hardwood floors, and extremely well furnished. Favorite's were the HD TV's and the extensive game room with air hockey, video games, table tennise, etc. the owner even furnished bikes, including a 3 wheeler for bring home the groceries from the nearby Von's gourmet market. the house faces on the beach, but is only 3 short blocks from 2nd street with its multiple restaraunts, coffee shops, stores, etc. Also, Belmont Shore is centrally located for all of LA and well as the OC. I have never seen anything this nice and I have lived nearby in the Shore for 20+ years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

What a wonderful experience. The place exceeded the images on the web site. The home is in beautiful condition. Thanks so much my clients loved staying there. Mike was amazing with his service and professional positive attitude throughout.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Excellent vacation spot

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

My friends and I had a wonderful stay at this beautifully designed and decorated condo. The view alone from all levels is enough to come back and the location is prime, within walking distance of great shops and restaurants. We took the bikes along the beach path, flew kites, went boogie boarding, and had breakfast on the patio. The tvs, game room, elevator, and nice kitchen were all bonuses, although we did not spend a lot of time inside. The owner suggested great ideas for day trips as well as nearby beaches, attractions, and restaurants. I also especially enjoyed the steam shower and jacuzzi and would definately recommend this to any friend or family member!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 30, 2008

My friends and I had a wonderful stay at this beautifully designed and decorated condo. The view alone from all levels is enough to come back and the location is prime, within walking distance of great shops and restaurants. We took the bikes along the beach path, flew kites, went boogie boarding, and had breakfast on the patio. The tvs, game room, elevator, and nice kitchen were all bonuses, although we did not spend a lot of time inside. The owner suggested great ideas for day trips as well as nearby beaches, attractions, and restaurants. I also especially enjoyed the steam shower and jacuzzi and would definately recommend this to any friend or family member!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely the Best!

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

What more could you ask for? Wake up and enjoy an early morning walk or ride on the beach on provided beach cruisers, spend the afternoon wind surfing and the evening watching the sunset. There is no need for a car. A three minute walk takes you to 2nd Street which is lively with outdoor restaurants and shopping. We spent many days walking through the neighborhood looking at the architecture of the multi-million dollar homes. The house is fabulous with a very well equipped gourmet kitchen. The surround sound and big screen TV's were perfect for watching the Olympics. The beds are very comfortable and the steam shower and jacuzzi tub were just like a spa resort. The owners helped us arrange for a private charter to visit Catalina Island and also a cocktail cruise through the canals of Naples Island. They also provided a welcome basket with wine and snacks and personal recommendations as to favorite restaurants and activities. We are already planning a longer visit next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

What more could you ask for? Wake up and enjoy an early morning walk or ride on the beach on provided beach cruisers, spend the afternoon wind surfing and the evening watching the sunset. There is no need for a car. A three minute walk takes you to 2nd Street which is lively with outdoor restaurants and shopping. We spent many days walking through the neighborhood looking at the architecture of the multi-million dollar homes. The house is fabulous with a very well equipped gourmet kitchen. The surround sound and big screen TV's were perfect for watching the Olympics. The beds are very comfortable and the steam shower and jacuzzi tub were just like a spa resort. The owners helped us arrange for a private charter to visit Catalina Island and also a cocktail cruise through the canals of Naples Island. They also provided a welcome basket with wine and snacks and personal recommendations as to favorite restaurants and activities. We are already planning a longer visit next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review