reviews for: listing #40467 - North Padre Island, Texas House rental

Beach N Bay Bungalow * Private Garage * On Canal
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Padre Isles
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,600 /wk
    $1,500 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Beach N Bay

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

The house was very nice. It is a perfect location for going to the National Seashore and the 4 wheel drive areas to surf fish. The local restaurants were all very close and had good food. The new Mexican food restaurant was excellent, especially for breakfast. Doc's had the best shrimp. Our only dissappointment was the West facing backyard and no grass, only rock. But this is understandable for ease of maintance. We were very glad to have the garage for parking our truck and security. Yes I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at at the beach. The house was very nice, lots of room for everyone. We loved fishing on the canal in the back of the house. Our kids had a great time, and they caught lots of fish. The beach was close to the house, which made it easy to go often. We had great weather the water was very warm. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay, we plan on returning again next summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Beach Vacation Get Away

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

This is the best beach rental I have experienced. The house sits on the canal with plenty of jumping fish to be caught and in the middle of town. In fact, there is a beach right across the highway so close it takes only a minute or two to get there. Very quiet neighborhood and the home itself is nicely decorated with the amentities of home and very clean. We liked it so much we used it twice within a month span being there in August as well. And will continue to go there when we need a little piece of heaven at the beach. With the beach, restaurants and shopping nearby make it the best place to stay on the island. Port Aransas is a quick 20 minutes down the road as well. I highly recommend the property! If you don't try it at least once to see what I am talking about so you can judge for yourself, you are missing out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Close To Nice Beach

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

This home is in a great location, very close to the beach, and Bob Hall pier. The owner (Sharon), is very nice and easy to work with. We had our deposit returned promptly with no issues. I was surprised upon arrival to see the rental includes paper towels, toilet paper, trash bags, and dishwasher soap. I didn't expect this, so it was a nice surprise. The rental was OK. It is on the older side and is in need of some updating. The home was mostly clean. The rug in the living room had a lot of black pet hair on it, and the hallway bathroom bathtub had small bugs in it when we arrived. The main reason we rented this home was to fish in the canal. The first night myself, hubby, and two kids sprayed lots of mosquito spray and had two citronella candles burning when we went out to fish, within minutes we were all covered with approx. 15 bites each, and thats with spray on. This of course is not the homeowners fault, just beware of the terrible mosquito problem North Padre Island has. We had a great time at the beach, but we probably will not rent this home on our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: This property is our personal vacation home for our immediate family that we have rented out for the past 6 years when we are not using it. We take great pride in making sure the home is clean and well kept.
I was surprised to read about the issue of the pet hair and small bugs as this was not brought to our attention until this review. There was no mention of it upon arrival or after departure or by the subsequent renters. Had we been notified we would have sent someone out to look at and take care of any problem mentioned. I have since spoken with the tenant and while we had a nice conversation and there were kind words about me and the property, I would have liked the opportunity to discuss and remedy this situation during their stay. During my conversation, the tenant said that the small bugs washed down the drain and never came back, but it will still be checked into now that it has been brought to my attention. This is not acceptable in my home. We had just stayed at the property and had not seen any issues.

As for the mosquitos, it is on the Suggested Items to bring Mosquito Spray. Unfortunately that is an issue in all of South Texas after a rain. During the day when my kids fished in the canal we did not encounter a mosquito problem. We have been down since this review and also did not encounter a problem. At night I sprayed bug spray on the kids and we fished until dusk and all was fine. Mosquitos are just a given anywhere in Texas. But, we have never encountered them at the beach.

If anyone has any questions I hope that you will contact me. We truly do take great pride in ensuring our home is clean and ready for your stay or ours. We want everyone to enjoy their vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mens week of leisure

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

A great house in a great location , close to everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Good Place to Stay: Beach N Bay Bungalo

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Beach N Bay Bungalow for five months (Nov 2011 - Mar 2012) and we were very comfortable and happy with the property.

The property is well maintained and clean, welcoming and attractive inside and out. There were sufficient towels, linens, etc., and the kitchen is well stocked with pots & pans, utinsels and everything needed to cook and bake. There are so many amenities that one cannot even begin to name them all: internet, washer/dryer, garage, local phone, cable tv, etc., etc.

The property has enough light and we felt we were in a secure neighborhood. Everything works and if there was ever a problem or question the owner was easily accessible and prompt in responding with a solution.

I would definitely recommend this property to family & friends. The beach is very close; we walked on the shore nearly every day. There are lots of restaurants on the island and many nearby tourist attractions.

We had a pet (Siamese cat) with us and we were comfortable leaving her tied up outside for short periods of time.

This was a good value for the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

Our stay at the bungalo by the canal was wonderful. The description of the property, amenities and location were accurate and helpful. I came with my family and parents to celebrate my anniversary and my son's birthday. Everyone with in our party of five was pleased. The amenities were exactly what we needed and more, which cut down the number of trips to the store. The owner is friendly, honest and includes information on nearby beaches. Some beach amenities were also available, which made it nice for us, especially my son. We have already recommended this place to several friends who are interested in staying at North Padre Island. We plan on returning again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach/Bay Bungalow

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

House was minutes from the beach, clean and as described by homeowner.

Homeowner was helpful and easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home near beach

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Home was clean and as described, minutes from the beach. Owner was easy to deal with and helpfull giving local options for activities in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

This house was great! It had plenty of room for our family of 6. It was nice, clean, and close to all the beaches in the area. I would have to say the best part was fishing in the backyard off the canal.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Padre Island Respite

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We obtained keys, directions, and other useful info well before we arrived. The owner was quite available, solicitous, and communitative by email and phone. We found the house on a quiet street along a canal with easy access to the beach, fishing dock, restaurants etc. The house was quite clean and accomodating with all the kitchen things we needed. We appreciated and used the internet access. We were glad to find such a nice place so close to our destination. Our deposit was returned promptly when we returned.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Vacation Spot

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We loved staying here. It was perfect for all our needs. It was really nice to have a garage for all the fishing poles, tackle, boogie boards, etc. The younger kids loved fishing in the channel. The older ones loved going to the peir and jetties only a couple of minutes away. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware and dishes. This will be our choice of a place to stay anytime we go to the coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable, convenient, good value

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

The property is located in a very convenient spot --close to the beach and close to other attractions. The property was spacious for guests with small children. The owner provided great directions and detailed information. The property was maintained and clean. Kitchen was well stocked with appliances, dishes, etc. Overall, we enjoyed our time and had a very pleasant stay. Can't beat the value.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Our property is 1300 sf. and one story. That allows for lots of space without tripping over each other. We love to help guests plan their vacation any way we can. Sharon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

My husband and 10 month old son stayed here for a week while I worked at a conference in Corpus. The house was wonderful! We arrived on Sunday and it was just as described- very clean, well kept, well furnished and easy location for getting to and from Corpus and to the beach. Backyard is right on a channel with easy kayak access and nice relaxing way to end a day.
We will plan to stay here again!!! Property owners were so easy to work with and friendly.
AC works great, beds are comfy and living space is roomy :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful time

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

As first-time Winter Texans, we loved the weather, the beach, and lack of bugs. We found the accommodations very comfortable. Everything we needed in a house was provided. Beds comfortable. Showers hot. Very close to beach. Corpus Christi is a nice city. Everything else we needed (gym, groceries, major retail) 15 minutes away. Any medical services we used were convenient and of good quality. People all friendly. Had a wonderful time!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2008

Sharon, I'm so glad we found you and this Beach House. What a relaxing and peaceful place. We were just married yesterday and it's been a pleasure to be here. Last night went to the beach, what a beautiful night. There was a full moon and the sky was clear. The moon was shining over the water as if God himself was pointing a flashlight over the water and a million stars were twinkling in the sky. We didn't want to leave. We ate at Trout Street last night, they make some awesome margarita's! I will definitely be in touch to plan another visit. Many Blessings to you and your family.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Weekend

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2007

"Thank you so much for sharing your home away from home with us. We had a great weekend. The weather was perfect, the water was clear, we had a great time at the beach. The kids caught fish out of the canal and mommy got to take a nap (so nice!). Very relaxing, very fun!"

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach In

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2007

....."We love your place, very peaceful and relaxing. Everything was great!"

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review