reviews for: listing #4049 - East Hampton, New York House rental

East Hampton Beach House - The Perfect Spot
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East Hampton Private
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,050 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Port Washington Gang

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay in East Hampton...the pool, BBQ's, watching sunsets from the beach, shopping in town and local sight seeing kept us very occupied. Friends with young kids, relatives and our adult aged children visited at different times during the week and all had lots of fun. Our dog especially loved walking down the block to the beach. The house was exactly as described in the write up and pictures, the property clean and well maintained. The owner was helpful, responsive to our inquiries and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this property to others for a great get away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, beautiful house, a place to relax

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and 21 month-old son and we were joined by another couple. We had a great time. The house is wonderful, the area peaceful and quite private. The walk on the beach every morning and enjoying a cocktail at sunset on the beach, was my favorite part of the vacation. The pool and outdoor shower was my wife's favorite part. It's a very short drive to Main Street in East Hampton and not too much farther to Bridgehampton, or the other way to Amagansette. I hope to definitely stay here again.

On top of all of this, my experience with the owner, was great. He was responsive and helpful throughout the entire process. I definitely hope to stay here again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We spent two relaxing weeks at the beach house last summer. Our itinerary: sitting beside the pool, floating in the pool, enjoying dinner prepared on the barbecue, watching the deer go by, enjoying the sunsets, or watching the stars at night- everything was wonderful. The location to Gardiner's Bay beach is a 2 minute walk where you can see the great sunsets on the private beach. There is a sandy beach under two blocks away. This house has everything you need to enjoy a week away from home. The town of East Hampton is close by where you can spend a day shopping and browsing through the shops. You can spend the day at the spa if you really want to pamper yourself, the spa has a wonderful saltwater pool. If you do not feel like cooking there are many restaurants close by. We will return again this year to this wonderful relaxing Zen-like home. It’s always great time for us, to get together, eat well, be active and enjoy life.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven on earth!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I can't say enough about this location. The beach is private, quiet and beautiful. I was able to walk and swim my labradors at the beach. The home itself is perfect. Beautiful decor....15 minute ride to Montauk....whale watching cruises available. Sit on the deck in the peace and quiet of nature...or sun yourself at poolside.....you must visit this home!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Do Not Recommend

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I cannot recommend this property. The main photo shows a picture of the beach, but this house is located in an area that does not have direct access to a useable beachfront. You have to walk through a narrow, wooded path to get to the water's edge, and there is nothing but shells and rocks on the shore – there is nowhere to spread out a beach towel and get some sun. The house is well equipped, but the house was not clean. There was leftover spoiled food in the refrigerator, which made me wonder if the rest of the house was clean. The worst problem was a mildew smell throughout the house that was coming up from the damp basement. The location of the home is heavily wooded and everything was always damp. It was also too far away from the main attractions of the area – 20 minute drive to the shopping area in East Hampton. We also had trouble operating the dryer - it would not run if the clothes were too wet and heavy.

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

Owner did not return deposit

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this property. For the most part, we did have a pleasant stay at this small but clean saltbox house. The photos are accurate, and the location is as described (roughly 15 minute drive from town). The pool is not heated, which was not a problem for us, but might bother others.
The problem is regarding the owner's communication. After our visit, he did not return our security deposit, as promised -- and declined to reply to numerous emails or calls (eventually, a bank investigation was commenced and found in our favor).
It's a shame because the house would otherwise be a good choice for those looking to enjoy the beaches of East Hampton in a quiet location.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review