reviews for: listing #40507 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

This is the one !
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lakeshore Woods
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $320 - $500 /nt
    $1,600 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Relaxation at its finest!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

This vacation property was so much more than what one may gather from the pictures! My stay was for a Young Professionals networking weekend. The home provided the perfect feel for everyone to immediately become comfortable. Medical professionals, Entertainment professionals, and Fashion professionals were among the guest. They all could not agree more that this home lends to a much needed feeling of escape from their hectic everyday lives. The home was so spacious I almost got lost each time I went to my room. The landscape was spectacular! Multiple areas to sit quietly and unwind near gently flowing water. The gazebo's lounge table conceals a fire pit as well as the stone fireplace in the same area! The chill of being in a heavily wooded space was perfect to light a few fires and enjoy late night conversation in the hot tub in August. As I create this review, I'm thinking of more reasons to have a vacation here in the very near future! The property had a warm, lived in feel. It was like visiting home! Beautiful just beautiful! Now I've read other reviews and wondered why some reviewers gave 4 stars in a seemingly great review, so here's why I give 4 stars instead of 5. When I arrived (earlier than the guest), it appeared that a group may have left just before our scheduled check in time. The management didn't seem to have enough time to fully survey the home before preparing it for our arrival. There was a human fecal left in the basement toilet and other bathrooms had human hairs in drawers, floors etc. Linens were provided (for a fee) and some did not match or did not fit the mattress it was left for (I brought extra linens just in case). The oven had baked on foods and would smoke terribly when used, so with lots of elbow grease, I scrubbed it fairly clean. There is evidence of live mice (droppings in the oven drawer, under furniture etc throughout the home (field mice are to be expected in such a rural area though). There were a few dirty dishes in the dishwasher. Yes, the water through out the home plumbing is rust colored (bring bottled for consumption, cooking, rinsing, even laundry if you choose to do that). Even with these issues, the experience was not ruined and the guest were able to thoroughly enjoy themselves. That was the goal and it was truly a success. I plan to return for a personal, adult family vacation stay! I can not wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxation at its finest!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

This vacation property was so much more than what one may gather from the pictures!
My stay was for a Young Professionals networking weekend. The home provided the perfect feel for everyone to immediately become comfortable. Medical professionals, Entertainment professionals, and Fashion professionals were among the guest. They all could not agree more that this home lends to a much needed feeling of escape from their hectic everyday lives.
The home was so spacious I almost got lost each time I went to my room.
The landscape was spectacular! Multiple areas to sit quietly and unwind near gently flowing water. The gazebo's lounge table conceals a fire pit as well as the stone fireplace in the same area! The chill of being in a heavily wooded space was perfect to light a few fires and enjoy late night conversation in the hot tub in August.
As I create this review, I'm thinking of more reasons to have a vacation here in the very near future!
The property had a warm, lived in feel. It was like visiting home! Beautiful just beautiful!
Now I've read other reviews and wondered why some reviewers gave 4 stars in a seemingly great review, so here's why I give 4 stars instead of 5.
When I arrived (earlier than the guest), it appeared that a group may have left just before our scheduled check in time. The management didn't seem to have enough time to fully survey the home before preparing it for our arrival.
There was a human fecal left in the basement toilet and other bathrooms had human hairs in drawers, floors etc. Linens were provided (for a fee) and some did not match or did not fit the mattress it was left for (I brought extra linens just in case). The oven had baked on foods and would smoke terribly when used, so with lots of elbow grease, I scrubbed it fairly clean. There is evidence of live mice (droppings in the oven drawer, under furniture etc throughout the home (field mice are to be expected in such a rural area though). There were a few dirty dishes in the dishwasher. Yes, the water through out the home plumbing is rust colored (bring bottled for consumption, cooking, rinsing, even laundry if you choose to do that).
Even with these issues, the experience was not ruined and the guest were able to thoroughly enjoy themselves. That was the goal and it was truly a success.
I plan to return for a personal, adult family vacation stay!
I can not wait to go back!
McCoy

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: McCoy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house and that it was a successful trip for you and your guests. Our goal is to provide a relaxing, quiet, private getaway for our guests and I can see that your party was able to achieve just that.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, the cleaning crew and property managers have been informed of the additions to our cleaning processes so hopefully this will prevent any further issues in the future.

Sincerely,
Carol Jones

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Return Trip

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 29, 2012

I have been to this house so often, and it never lets me down! (Before
this visit I was here for a weekend 10/19 and will return again in
January). My repeat visits should tell you everything you need to know.
The house is so serene and beautiful. Plenty of space for group activites
with just as many places to 'escape' for rest, reading, and time alone.
The movie theater is always a complete winner. There is lovely gazebo with
fireplace where you can sit and enjoy the outdoors and beautiful water
feature. I can't recommend this house highly enough for a 'girls getaway'.
PS This visit the house was decorated for Christmas and got us right into
the Christmas spirit! Thank you again for sharing your lovely home!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Seeing is Believing

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This is the one - is the BEST name to give this home! The photos don't do it justice at all - I was expecting decent accomodations and got resort like ones! Its roomy enough to gather for group fun or go off on your own and find complete peace and quiet. Everything is well appointed with great personal touches all around. Every corner of this home had some place to unwind and relax. The owner and staff were helpful and timely with addressing any issues. Everything was within minutes of the home if/when we ventured out. The only complaint was the unexpected brown water from it being a well watered home. Once we figured that out there simply isn't anything but great things to say about this place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our Recent Stay

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The home was very spacious and well decorated; the theatre room was a huge hit.

However the home needed a moderate amount of routine maintenance, i.e. many walls were in need of painting, some outside trim was either deteriorated or coming loose, some shower handles were either worn out – or backwards (hot was to the right), the dishwasher on the main floor and gas grill were very tired, and performed poorly. Also, there were far too many throw rugs throughout to maintain. The gazebo was a great place to hang out during the evenings - however a working fan would have made it more delightful. We also discovered later in the week there was a live mouse inside the house during our stay.

Also worthy of notation, this is not a water front home, the boat launch and pickup areas were 6 miles each away.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful property

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

This is a remarkable house!! The inside is beautiful and spacious. The outside is serene and wonderful. Two kitchens, loads of bedrooms and best of all, your own personal movie theater!! We couldn't have had a better time. We will absolutely book this home again and again! Thank you, Carol and Rick for a memorable long weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

This was our best family vacation yet. This home is wonderful and fit our needs perfectly. The home was spacious, clean and was just as described in the rental ad. The kids loved the media room. There is lots of outdoor space. The gazebo was a hit with the adults. Everything you need will be available in this home. Carol is wonderful to work with. She worked well with me when I needed to reschedule our dates due to my mother being diagnosed with throat cancer. We are looking forward to our vacation next year. We will use this house for our yearly vacation. Thanks Carol for everything

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely amazing!!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

Just got home and I must say this house was totally amazing. We couldn't have felt more at home. The owners are great to work with. The theater was a huge hit with the kids and adults. The outside gazebo was a great place to relax in the evening. The wildlife was also a hit. More frogs in one place than I've ever heard. We saw a deer on the way into the driveway and also a snake in the pond area. Tadpoles in the pond kept the kids interest peaked. Thanks Rick and Carol for sharing your wonderful home with us.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great House for a wonderful getaway

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We had a great time at this house. We thoroughly enjoyed the amazing movie theater and outdoor fireplace. There was plenty of room for everyone and the house was beautiful inside and out.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review