reviews for: listing #40571 - Strawberry, Arizona Cabin rental

'Blue Olive' Cabin - Summer Rates starting at $145
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $175 /nt
    $700 - $850 /wk

sort by:

Awesome Time!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

This was an AWESOME VACATION!! My family was happy excited and we had so much fun. The snow was much welcomed, due to came from Texas. The property was cleaned and well maintained. Katy & Jim came by to visit us and they were extremely nice. The one drawback was I could not get cell phone reception, but that's okay. We took in a movie and ate @ one of the Mexican restaurant in Payson. The antique shops were so much FUN!! We had a fabulous time. I would recommend this cabin to friends. This is on the list as a "KEEPER" for this family.

Again, thank you Katy & Jim!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

This was my third visit to the Blue Olive in the last three years. That alone should tell the story but more importantly it has also been a great place for relatives from the midwest and phoenix friends to meet. This was also their third visit. During our first two visits we probably spent more time taking in the all the great spots that the rim country has to offer and perhaps taking the cabin and surrounding area for granted. This last visit we did less sightseeing and truly made the cabin home--enjoying all the comforts and amenities inside and out--day and night.

To add to the above, the owners did everythig possible to make our visit as comfortable as possible.

Hope to make visit four next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great summer getaway!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

We were celebrating our son's 5th birthday, and wanted to get away from the heat of Phoenix! We had 6 people total in the cabin, and felt that there was enough room for all. The cabin was very nicely maintained, and very clean.

With two boys, we spent a good amount of time outside. There were many activities in the yard as well as in the area. The large yard was perfect for letting the kids do their own thing. We also brought up our quads to ride in the area and found tons of trails close to the cabin. Being in the spring, the weather was perfect as well.

We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

The perfect high country getaway!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

The Blue Olive is a delightful high country get away. Whether you’re looking to escape the heat of the Valley or discover the beauty of Arizona for the first time, this is the place to stay!

The Blue Olive itself is well equipped and comfortable. The floor plan is perfect for two couples, or a family. The Master bedroom has a deliciously comfortable king size bed with lots of cozy blankets, and a convenient half bath en suite. The second bedroom, located around the corner for the right amount of privacy, is bright with a queen bed. The full bath located next to the second bedroom has a full sized shower with good pressure. The kitchen has everything you’ll need – just bring your groceries!

The Blue Olive has a wonderful yard with a creek (that tends to be dry in the late summer months) in the back. It’s a big yard on a low traffic street, perfect for kids or dogs to run around. The tall trees shade the property so you can spend hours relaxing, enjoying the fresh air or playing a game of ping pong.

If you decide to leave the comforts of the Blue Olive, Strawberry is a great place to play. The town of Strawberry is very small, and offers ample opportunity for walking and hiking. Don’t forget to visit the historic school house and pet the baby goats at the Fossil Creek Creamery (and pick up some fresh, delicious goat cheese and fudge!). Further afield, the neighboring town of Pine has a fully equipped grocery store, gas station, several restaurants, antique and craft stores and a historical tour. For day trips, take a hike down to Fossil Creek, row your boat on the Blue Ridge Reservoir, hike the Mongollon Rim, see the world’s largest natural travertine bridge at Tonto Natural Bridge State Park, or enjoy the attractions of Camp Verde, all located within a comfortable drive of the Blue Olive.

Once you stay at the Blue Olive, you’ll be so relaxed and renewed that you’ll be able to face the heat of the Valley again…while dreaming of your next high country escape to the Blue Olive!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Blue Olive

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

We loved this little cabin and definetly would and will go back. We went for nieces 18th birthday. The cabin had everything you needed for the 3 nights we were there. The yard area is just wonderful. My two grandsons age 6 and 2 played outside the whole time and I felt comfortable in letting them run around out there by them selves. The 6 year old went wading in the little creek behind the house. Us adults enjoyed playing cards out side on the nice big patio table that was provided, also enjoyed reading outside watching the grankids. I would recommend the Blue Olive to everyone who would like to get away from the Valley for a weekend for a nice relaxing weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review