reviews for: listing #40647 - San Diego, California House rental

2 Bedroom/ 2 Bath Tropical Garden Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Comfort, Roomy and Convenient

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2014

This bugalow was exactly what our family needed! The space and decor was great for our family of four. It is conveniently located and easily accessible to the highway. The neighborhood is quiet and safe and the bike lanes in the area were great for my morning runs. The backyard area was a great size and where we often chose to have breakfast. The owner provided beach chairs and boogie boards, which were an added convenience. One thing that would bring enhance the property is an outdoor grill. When vacationing, I prefer not to stay in hotels and like the comfort of home. This property absolutely provided that!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful, private garden cottage

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

Perfect cottage for 2 people with room for guests and entertaining. Lots of light, well furnished and equipped, comfortable beds (one king, one queen), TVs, DVD player, washer & dryer. Ideal location in attractive University Heights neighborhood, close to Balboa Park with its many museums, good shopping (Trader Joe's and Farmers Market on Sundays), excellent restaurants within walking distance. Easy access to freeways for coast sight-seeing. Very helpful and accessible owner to answer any questions. We plan to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect - A month in paradise.

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful rental. Quiet, clean, beautifully appointed, private, parking, great neighborhood, close to everything, and so much more. Location was so close to freeways and restaurants. Our daughter had major surgery at Rady Children's Hospital and we needed to stay for a month. The owner was wonderful and helpful: We really felt like we had a home base during our stay. Beds were comfortable, especially the master, which I still miss! The private patio was beautiful by day and with the lovely lighting. We were 10 min from Rady, the airport, the mall, downtown, Sea World and more. I could go on and on. I cannot think of a single negative. Wait, there could be a small TV in the second bedroom, but that's really pushing to find something to be picky about. It was fabulous.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FAntastic location, clean and quiet. Great place to stay.

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

We spent nearly a month in this property while our daughter had surgery at Rady Children's and for her recovery. We highly recommend this property. It is clean and well maintained, as shown in the photos, which are quite accurate. Beds, pillows and linens are great. Master is huge. Great outdoor patio area for basking in the sun. The owner was very helpful but the place is so well thought out and organized you probably won't need him. This place is close to everything. The immediate neighborhood is trendy and vibrant with great restaurants and walking. It takes about 5 minutes to get to the Zoo and Balboa park, and 5 more to get downtown. We had a great Italian meal at Arrivaderci on University. We had such a great experience, made many great memories here, and all this in the context of a very stressful surgery and recovery.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Oasis in San Diego

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful cottage in San Diego. The location is close to everything. The cottage is well stocked, clean, quiet and comfortable. The owner is fantastic - helpful but not the least bit bothersome. I felt like royalty from beginning to end of our one month stay. University Avenue in Hillcrest was our 'hangout' with every restaurant you can think of plus coffee places, Trader Joe's, Whole Foods and more. Easy access to Hwy-163 and I-8 make everything in the area at your fingertips. Parking was safe. Patio was awesome. Neighborhood was great for taking a walk. We will stay again for sure!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful and relaxing cabana/cottage

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

We stayed three nights here recently - and wished that we had been able to book more vacation time at this relaxing, comfortable property. I agree with the other posted reviews - it's spacious, welcoming, casual and contemporary, and centrally located - so easy to get around to other areas. The only thing is that the place is so nice and relaxing, you're tempted to stay and enjoy it as opposed to going out and about. The neighborhood has several coffee shops, restaurants, and bars - with a great mix of friendly people. We would love to stay here again next time we're in San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the Cottage

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My husband, myself, my son and his girlfirend spent a week at the cottage in San Diego and we absolutely loved it. The cottage was clean and comfortable with all the amenities. It was relaxing to come back after a day at the beach and sit out on the patio. I especially enjoyed the hummingbirds that would come and feed off the Palm trees. The cottage was very spacious for 4 adults. Since we were staying in a house we went to the grocery store to buy breakfast items. On the keys to the house there was a card to swipe at Ralph's Grocery Store which we took advantage of and were able to get some great buys. The cottage is in a great location close to all of the attractions and downtown San Diego.I would highly recommend the cottage if you are planning a vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Secluded Getaway in the Heart of San Diego

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

The cottage was in a quiet suburban neighborhood, nicely secluded in it's own area. The residence felt spacious, clean and new. The owner stopped by to check in and could not have been any nicer and more accommodating. It feels as if you are truly secluded, with a beautiful outside patio to further enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. The location was great- all major attractions are within a 10 - 15 minute drive of this area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful experience!

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

My boyfriend, myself and another couple rented this cottage for a long weekend in San Diego. We were delighted with the cottage! It was adorable, comfortable, and very conveniently located. Our favorite part was the outdoor courtyard area. Oh, and the HUGE master suite. The cottage is close to Balboa Park & the zoo, 10 minutes from downtown and the beaches, although I would recommend staying in the area and walking to Hillcrest or Park and Adams Ave for a more authentic San Diego experience. I would highly recommend this property and it will certainly be my go-to place to stay in San Diego in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

We spent six nights here - family of three with an 18 month old and it was absolutely perfect. The bungalow is centrally-located, extremely well-appointed and private. I can't imagine staying any place else.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best little hideaway in sunny San Diego

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

This was a fabulous little hideaway for the week of Thanksgiving. Very nicely appointed, great little kitchen (did an 18 lb turkey will the trimmings for 12 people!). The decor we would describe as IKEA modern, but very nicely crafted with beautiful stonework in both bathrooms and extremely comfortable. The hidden patio behind was a great place to hang out in the warm weather. Totally private and a very neat, quiet older neighborhood not 5 minutes from all of the great shops and restaurants in Hillcrest, 10 minutes to the zoo and airport and easy freeway access in all directions. Use the Vons grocery west of the 163 Fwy in Hillcrest, on Washington. Best burgers in the world in Hillcrest on University at 5 Guys Burgers and Fries. Arrivederci Restaurante (John also recommends) in Hillcrest is also very good. Have a great time, you won't regret it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great bungalow

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. I was in La Jolla for work and wanted to spend a few more days in the area before heading home. After pricing hotels in SD, we decided to rent VRBO for our 9th time. It was a great decision. The home was immaculate and updated. The furniture and bed were very comfortable. Having a washer and dryer was very handy as we had been traveling for a week. Hillcrest is a 2 minute drive and the strip had good restaurants from which to chose. Downtown was also a quick drive. The neighborhood is very quiet. I have no criticisms of this property and would recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

VERRRRY nice

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Tres chic! Sharp, stylish, modern, spotless, nice walkable neighborhood with several markets/coffee shops. off street parking, full kitchen appliances. couldn't have been better.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just a lovely gem, tucked away...completely private and accessible.

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We were thrilled with these accomodations and yes the listing photos are accurate. It was spotless and bright and we would highly recommend it. There is a lovely patio that is private and our only request/concern is that there is not a BBQ. We rented a car so I am not sure what the public trans system is like in that area. The driveway can easily hold 2 cars. Street parking is ample as well. All major tourist areas are accessible from this spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sharon (Waukesha, WI)

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

What a great place to spend a month. Our daughter and son-in-law live only a short distance from this lovely bungalow. After we spent last year there we booked it for this year before we left. Loved the private patio and large master bedroom. I don't think anyone would be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Such a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

This cottage is so lovely and comfortable for a family of 4. We ate our meals outside on the very private patio surrounded by palm trees and we all slept very comfortably. I only wish we had more time to explore the neighborhood.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

My wife and I spent a week in San Diego while I attended a class during the week. The rate was slightly higher than a hotel suite in the same area of the city. We enjoyed San Diego and were more than pleased to return each evening to the clean, private, well appointed property in a great neighborhood. There's space to park a car, yet only a short distance to public transportation, shopping and restaurants. This will be the first place I would look for available lodging when returning to San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fit to a "T"

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

We are an elderly couple in our seventies, who felt extremely secure at all times.
The unit was precicely as advertised. It has been newly rennovated in a modern decore, with all the necessary amenities; a huge master bedroom, clean and in a quiet neighborhood...easily accessible to highway routes in any direction and just minutes away from Whole Foods and Trader Joe's and Henry's grocery stores, restaurants, shopping malls and many of San Diego's important tourist attractions.
We highly reccommend it and plan to use it again on our next visit to San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Modernly luxurious with a convenient location

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

My family of four adults and one infant stayed here in October 2010. It was easy to find, about 10 minutes from downtown San Diego, and was a pleasure to come back to at the end of a day full of sightseeing.

The directions were clear to get into the property, and everything was just as it appeared in the pictures. The courtyard is lovely, and we spent time out there in the morning, enjoying coffee. The larger of the two bedrooms have french doors that open out to the courtyard, which was a nice surprise.

The whole house was very clean, and well-appointed. The bathrooms were stone and modern. I loved it! The one parking spot was large enough to fit our mini van with no problem and we had no run ins with neighbors the whole time we were there.

The kitchen is small, but efficient. Gas stove was wonderful to cook on, and the kitchen was well stocked with all the basics you would need.

The living room area is a bit on the small side, but was enough room for us for 3 nights.

The second bedroom is small, but still felt roomy with the sleek, white colors and clean lines.

We would definitely stay here again, if traveling to San Diego with the entire family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply Divine

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

Highly recommend this divine cottage for those who appreciate great design and love staying in chic spaces!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

My family stayed here on a trip to San Diego and we loved it! The house was modern and well-appointed, had everything we needed and was centrally located. I highly recommend this for anyone! We'd definitely stay here again and again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

absolutely perfect

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

when i travel i like to stay at beautifully designed homes that reflect the character of the area. this place was absolutely perfect. great location and very chic. i would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a perfect get away

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bungalow in University Heights

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here during Comic Con and it was especially nice to be away from all the mayhem of downtown, yet so close. We took the trolly almost daily to everywhere we wanted to go that we couldn't walk to with the trolly stops located just a short drive from the cottage.

The cottage is situated in a lovely quiet neighborhood and a short walk to Trader Joes, Whole Foods, etc. for grocery shopping. Fantastic restaurants 3 blocks away...especially Parkhouse Eatery for an outstanding breakfast. Also enjoyed a fantastic dinner and happy hour at Lei Lounge. One day we crossed the pedestrian bridge into HillCrest and walked to Balboa Park, which made for an especially nice "urban hike".

The cottage itself was perfect. Very quiet and secluded, so if you enjoy privacy this a perfect choice. Only the 2 of us traveled this time, but easily would have managed 2 couples. Nicely decorated and very comfortable furnishings. We did have a bit of trouble with the wi-fi, but the owner John responded promptly to our call and was able to give us quick solutions.

Overall, I would most likely look no further than this home again when looking for a place to stay on our next visit to San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

This place is adorable! It is in a great location and super comfortable for 4. Definitely a home away from home. It is very spacious, decorated comfortable contemporary, very clean and bright. It has a great courtyard and good parking. The kitchen is small but works well with full size gas range & fridge, mini dishwasher. Both bathrooms are very nice with granite and tile, full size W/D in hall bath came in handy. It sits back off the street on the alley side and was very quiet. We rented bicycles and were able to ride everywhere we needed. Super close to great restaurants. The owner John was very helpful and accessible. Overall very comfortable and will stay again when in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review