reviews for: listing #40694 - Keaton Beach, Florida House rental

Gulf Front Sunset
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dekle Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $200 /nt
    $850 - $1,150 /wk
    $2,600 - $2,600 /mth

sort by:

Gulf Front Sunset

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 14, 2014

Love this property....it is so homey and we can tell that the owners love their home, with all the personal touches they put into it. Our grandsons, ages 15 and 13 had a blast. They had their frist experience with kyaks, and enjoyed it tremendously. There is every amenity you can ask for there. There are virtually no street lights that interfere with being able to see the beautiful night sky. We will definitely be asking to rent again, and were able to reccomend the property to other family members while we were there for the family reunion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I loved that you mentioned the night sky. A star and planet observer's joy. Thank you for such a nice review. Grandsons enjoy the nature and kayak adventure. Thank you so much. Martie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly relaxing gulf house

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

This place was accurately depicted in the rental description. Martie called me immediately and was very nice. It is well kept and very clean. It had everything we needed for the week. We made a stop at wall art in Perry for our groceries the first day, then it was relax time for the rest of the week. All of the appliances are new and work fine. I will definitely being staying there again in the next year when we make another trip down to Florida. Oh yeah the homemade lift system was awesome. We didn't have to carry anything up and down stairs. The fish cleaning table is perfect too. The view of the sunrises and sunsets is more than perfect from either deck.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review! It gives a good report on the amenities of the house, especially the hoist. What a relief to not lug groceries up and down the stairs! Just one of the many perks at the Gulf Front Sunset. Martie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Want to see the old Florida, this is it!

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 14, 2014

Hi Martie, we certainly had a great time at your place. Everything was clean & all the appliances were top of the line. Both beds slept great. The binoculars were a real plus. I got to follow the skimmers as the glazed over the water. Before I had only seen them in the air or on the beach. It was really special to have crabs & horseshoe crabs right at our landing. It is mating season & all the horseshoe crabs were in pairs. We enjoyed Keaton Beach. Talked to such nice family people out having a day of fishing. Had a super chili dog at the beach. We checked out Dallas Landing & think we would like to fish or take our kayaks there. In all we feel if someone wants to see the old Florida, this is the place. The sunsets & the moon were beautiful! I am really glad I brought my bike. To ride along the coast & ride toward the coast, as I went down the dead end street was what I have always wanted to do. Even with the rain I got in 17 miles while there. Gary saw one large ray over by the bridge. Of course the hoist went great and was a life saver for me and saved many trips up & down the steps. I really lucked out. I had packed all the groceries in canvas bags with straps. We love this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stress free month from the cold!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

We stayed at this charming (5 star) house for the month of Feb. 2014. Very
clean home with all the amenities you could possibly want, right down to
fishing gear, kayaks, and binoculars. This is a very safe area at any time
of the day or night and the neighbors are friendly. If you want a
stress-free vacation then this is the place to be. There few cars, trucks,
or noise from a busy city. It is very relaxing to have morning coffee on the
deck watching the sunrise, listening to the birds, and watching fish
jumping. You can sunbathe on the deck which runs around the house(can always
find sun), and the sunsets can be beautiful . We travel with our 2 small
dogs who are welcomed in this home. When walking the dogs they were
comfortable. They felt safe and loved laying on the deck with their bellies
to the sun. There is a nice sand beach and fishing charters 10 minutes away
in Keaton beach. Major grocery shopping is 20 miles away in the town of
Perry but there are convenience stores/gas within 10 min. For large mall
shopping, you have the capital in Tallahassee at 55 miles away. Marti, the
owner, was a pleasure to deal with. We would not hesitate to book this house
again and would highly recommend it to others. Thank you Martie for a
providing us a wonderful place to spend our trip south!

Thanks again and take care,

Barb & Greg Campbell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breath taking Sunsets

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

This place has seriously spoiled me, I am leasing for a longer period and I have always wanted to feel that beach or gulf front life. It has been absolutely outstanding watching the sunset every afternoon and the smells and the breeze is awesome as well. I recommend to anyone who wants peace and quiet, a hidden get-away please contact the folks and get down here, trust me you won't regret it.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the full on positive review. You just have to see it and experience it to believe it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great local folks

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

We had the most amazing and relaxing
long weekend at the McLean's Dekle Beach
home. I say "home" because that's how
it felt, cozy and comfortable with
everything you could need... like we
were staying with friends. Everything
you need to have a wonderful time is
there. The fishing was awesome!
Michael caught some beautiful trout and
our doggies loved playing in the water.
The people in the area are truly "salt
of the Earth" - kind and extremely
helpful as we learned when we had a
little truck trouble- it seems strangers
came from everywhere to lend a helping
hand and we were able to get our truck
fixed by a local.
If you truly want to get away, relax,
fish, read a book in peace and spend
quality time with the ones you love-
this is the place to go.
Oh, And how could I forget the
sunsets... the amazing sunsets!!!
Thank you for your hospitality!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Dekle Beach

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We found this rental at the last minute and the owners were very nice to deal with. The sunsets were amazing! The house was clean and well furnished, especially the kitchen. We were able to search for shells right in front of the house at low tide. We kayaked all over the place. We did some fishing out of Steinhatchee-about 20 minutes away. There is a grocery store plus other shopping facilities in Perry-about 20-30 minutes away. The owner was very helpful with that information. We have rented this house again next year! Oh, also, there are some very good restaurants in Steinhatchee and we also drove through a State Forest Preserve, and did some sightseeing in Perry. There is a National Forest Museum in Perry, as well. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for quiet and comfortable lodgings.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Dekle Beach Getaway

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Great place for families and retirees alike. Quiet community with a unique and interesting history. It is an adventurers paradise with many marinelife activities to engage in....and the sunsets were amazing too! During our stay we scalloped within wading distance of the rental and obtained our limit on most days. There is good redfishing just to the north where the various creeks let out into the Gulf of Mexico. The owners were very accomodating and easily accessible but email or phone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much and glad you caught your limit and a red!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Relaxing Place

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

My husband and I wanted a quiet weekend and that is exactly what we got, we loved it. You will not regret staying here. The house is very comfortable and clean. If you are looking for a charter boat service, do not use scales and tales just FYI. We are looking forward to coming back soon.
Amy and Larry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome sunsets!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

We love our Gulf Front Hideaway with its awesome sunsets. The vacation home is very inviting and comfortable. This was our second stay and it was even better than the first. We will be back next fall, if not earlier! The Shumans

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Rate on waterfront rentals

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We looked online for the best rate on waterfront rentals and found this Dekle Bch one to be the best rate of all. Not only did it have a great view, but it was also very comfortable and roomy inside. Nice area surrounding it too. Very quaint and quiet.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I am a travel agent!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

I am a travel agent and travel all over the world. This was one of our best vacations because it was so relaxing! Since my husband and I are dealing with the public on phones all the time, we enjoyed the peace and quiet. It reminded us of how Florida was when we were young. We loved going out in the kayaks and viewing all the nature. Even our teenage daughter who at first freaked out that it wasn't a "REAL" beach enjoyed the nature and kayaking. Thanks Martie & Billy, we hope to come again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend at the Gulf Front Sunset at Dekle Beach and we were not disappointed. This is truly the Forgotten Coast of Florida and is one of the most peaceful and serene places you will ever visit. While the house is simple, it was clean and extremely well appointed with amenities, including a beautiful flat screen television and new stove. The house is perfect for anyone who loves the outdoors and the beauty that is "old Florida." It is a treat for nature lovers and people who want to get away from the large crowds of that one usually sees at Florida beaches. The area is perfect for wading, kyacking and fishing. My husband and I hope to return to this quite paradise in the near future! Thanks Martie and Billy! :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

What a great place! I happened to stay there during a storm, and I still had a wonderful time. Beautiful sunsets and much privacy. My interactions with the owner were very professional and she was pleasant and extremely knowledgeable of the area. My experience was so great that I will definitely rent from this owner again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Photographers' paradise

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Positive I am a photographer and a writer and this place is one of the last undeveloped places on the coast where you can enjoy birdwatching, catching a perfect sunset, crabbing during low tide, fishing the flats for redfish or kayaking on a perfectly calm Gulf in the morning. There is no traffic
or city sounds....only the gentle breezes of the Gulf to hypnotize. It is great for a quiet retreat or a family gathering on the mezzanine for frying up the catch of the day. I have been rejuvenated many times by the charm and serenity of this place. Get healed with a perfect Gulf front sunset. I have taken hundreds of photos trying to get the perfect one and there are too many to choose. Please enjoy this part of Florida while you still can. Developers want to take away its unique, paradise nature. Enjoy!
Monte , Ocala,Fl

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hi McLeans

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

Hi McLean's:
My husband, myself, Buddy and Annie (our dogs)
want to say wow! and thank you. Thank you for the
opportunity to experience the most relaxing
vacation we have had in years. We are
grandparents so we have had quite a few vacations
in our 36 years of marriage. We both work in
Atlanta and our jobs can be somewhat stressful.
The commute in Atlanta traffic is enough to put you
over the edge! When we arrived at your house we
noticed first how quiet and peaceful. We knew we
had made the right decision. As far as the house, I
loved the kitchen/dining area. So spacious and
bright. We stayed in every night and cooked
instead of going out to a restaurant. That was a
first for us on vacation. We sat on the deck,
talking, talking, talking over our morning coffee
listening to the wind blow and the birds flying by.
We took tie outs for our dogs and hooked them to
the large deck and opened up the french doors.
They just layed around on the deck keeping a
watch on the sea gulls and an occasional air boat.
Every morning and evening we took a walk down
the dirt road enjoying all the sights and sounds of
how Florida was years ago. Thank you Billy and
Martie for a great experience. Bruce and Susan
(Atlanta, GA)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 15, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

We love our Gulf Front Hideaway with its awesome sunsets. The vacation home is very inviting and comfortable. This was our second stay and it was even better than the first. We will be back next fall, if not earlier! The Shumans

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We looked online for the best rate on waterfront rentals and found this Dekle Bch one to be the best rate of all. Not only did it have a great view, but it was also very comfortable and roomy inside. Nice area surrounding it too. Very quaint and quiet.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

I am a travel agent and travel all over the world. This was one of our best vacations because it was so relaxing! Since my husband and I are dealing with the public on phones all the time, we enjoyed the peace and quiet. It reminded us of how Florida was when we were young. We loved going out in the kayaks and viewing all the nature. Even our teenage daughter who at first freaked out that it wasn't a "REAL" beach enjoyed the nature and kayaking. Thanks Martie & Billie we hope to come again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 28, 2009   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend at the Gulf Front Sunset at Dekle Beach and we were not disappointed. This is truly the Forgotten Coast of Florida and is one of the most peaceful and serene places you will ever visit. While the house is simple, it was clean and extremely well appointed with amenities, including a beautiful flat screen television and new stove. The house is perfect for anyone who loves the outdoors and the beauty that is "old Florida." It is a treat for nature lovers and people who want to get away from the large crowds of that one usually sees at Florida beaches. The area is perfect for wading, kyacking and fishing. My husband and I hope to return to this quite paradise in the near future! Thanks Martie and Billy! :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

What a great place! I happened to stay there during a storm, and I still had a wonderful time. Beautiful sunsets and much privacy. My interactions with the owner were very professional and she was pleasant and extremely knowledgeable of the area. My experience was so great that I will definitely rent from this owner again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

04/03/09 Positive I am a photographer and a writer and this place is one of the last undeveloped places on the coast where you can enjoy birdwatching, catching a perfect sunset, crabbing during low tide, fishing the flats for redfish or kayaking on a perfectly calm Gulf in the morning. There is no trafficor city sounds....only the gentle breezes of the Gulf to hypnotize. It is great for a quiet retreat or a family gathering on the mezzanine for frying up the catch of the day. I have been rejuvenated many times by the charm and serenity of this place. Get healed with a perfect Gulf front sunset. I have taken hundreds of photos trying to get the perfect one and there are too many to choose. Please enjoy this part of Florida while you still can. Developers want to take away its unique, paradise nature. Enjoy! Monte Adkison, Ocala,Fl

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 12, 2009

Hi McLean's:My husband, myself, Buddy and Annie (our dogs) want to say wow! and thank you. Thank you for the opportunity to experience the most relaxing vacation we have had in years. We are grandparents so we have had quite a few vacations in our 36 years of marriage. We both work in Atlanta and our jobs can be somewhat stressful. The commute in Atlanta traffic is enough to put you over the edge! When we arrived at your house we noticed first how quiet and peaceful. We knew we had made the right decision. As far as the house, I loved the kitchen/dining area. So spacious and bright. We stayed in every night and cooked instead of going out to a restaurant. That was a first for us on vacation. We sat on the deck, talking, talking, talking over our morning coffee listening to the wind blow and the birds flying by. We took tie outs for our dogs and hooked them to the large deck and opened up the french doors. They just layed around on the deck keeping a watch on the sea gulls and an occasional air boat. Every morning and evening we took a walk down the dirt road enjoying all the sights and sounds of how Florida was years ago. Thank you Billy and Martie for a great experience. Bruce and Susan Fowler (Atlanta, GA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review