reviews for: listing #40730 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Condo rental

Fall Special $99 /nt, plus tax, plus cleaning
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kuilima Estates
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $109 - $149 /nt
    $763 - $1,043 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

burdock property

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

thank you. appreciated the clean condo and enjoyed the art colletion.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lcir

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

Great property great price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful relaxing 'staycation' for 3 nites

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Great location and pet friendly too! We had a great time there, perfect for the 2 of us and our 'Yorkie', "Yoji"... I think he enjoyed it more than us.
Very cool tradewinds, (no need of any A/C) and on the golf course. All amenities were wonderful, although we didn't use any of the 'boards' or other stuff there. We brought our own grill, as the one there was a small propane one used for camping (not sure if there was any gas remaining). The sofa was very worn in the middle, (from someone sleeping on it too often), but all else was great. Would definitely return, as owners were very helpful and responsive to my questions. Very smooth check-in, and short drive to the North shore's shrimp shacks (Romies da best!) and fruit stands...

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, value, beautiful resort, secure...

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

First of all, the condo was clean, well kept and the grounds were fantastic. There was never a time when we felt uneasy or unsafe. We are making plans to return already and will request the same property and condo. The beds were very nice and comfotable and when keeping the front door open and the front door screen closed and the back door open and the screen closed, there was NO need for anything except the ceiling fans. A light breeze traveled through the condo at all times. Of coarse with all vacations there are mishaps. When we arrived we discovered that the clothes washing machine was not working and we had traveled light. The clothes dryer worked fine, so we made do. Some of the amenities were not great. Do to no fault of the owners, the snorkel gear had been misused and most was unusable. Therefore, we purchased 3 new snorkel set's (masks and snorkels no flippers) and left them behind for others to use in the future. I would also ask the owners to perhaps upgrade their BBQ grill, but we still used it just fine (need travel size propane tanks). We never had an issue parking at the resort. However, if you arrive on a Sunday as we did be prepared to purchase groceries on your way from the airport. This property is near Hawaii's BYU campus and almost everything is closed. Although we did not use the "Turtle Bay" public beach, we later learned that it's name means just that, the bay is where you may get your best opportunity to swim and snorkle with the sea turtles. We enjoyed all the activities we had planned to include; The "Cultural Center" (close by) their luau and fireshow. The Oahu stadium flee market (great for gift buying) the Pearl Harbor "Pass Port" and the rainforest hikes. Bring a GPS you will need it. In five days we put over 500+ miles on our rental car. Also, when you see the make shift shrimp truck/restaraunts, don't be afraid and go for it! the food is fresh and great (be prepared to stand in line!). We have already recommended the Turtle Bay resort and specifically #40730 the Burdick's condo to our friends. Thank you for a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Staycation

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We had an amazing stay, and I was so thankful to have found a place that allows pets. My dog Bailey also had an amazing stay! We just live on the other side of the island (Kaimuki), but staying out here felt like a vacation on another island. Super relaxing and enjoyable. The condo has everything you could possibly need and more! The only trouble we had was that the fins in the drawer do not fit the SUP above the murphy bed. However, the SUP laying next the couch already had fins, and we had a great time with it! We also enjoyed riding the bikes around the resort, and making Kona coffee with the french press everyday. Thank you so much for everything, and we can't wait to stay out here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, cozy unit, a bit noisy

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

This is a cozy 1 bdrm unit right on the 17th fairway of the Arnold Palmer course at Kuilima. This is a pet-friendly unit due to the owner, but also the tile floors and throw rugs. The unit is tight, specially in the bathrooms, but there was enough space for the 4 of us (plus Bella) to cook, relax or prepare for the day. There were plenty of bath towels (BYO beach), there were some little (hotel) bars of soap, and a small supply of tp. The kitchen was well stocked w/pots, pans, cutlery and lots of electrical cooking devices. There is a dishwasher but we didn't use it. The unit was just fine and everything worked and was clean. This is a nice unit for a small family. Kuilima seemed to have more locals staying there than tourists (who were over at the resort).

There are 2 cons to the unit. The first is that the area, not just this unit is kinda noisy. The sprinklers that go off at some point in the night are really loud! I guess if you lived there you'd get used to it, just local noise, but it woke me up both nights in our stay. There are also trucks that service the area w/back up beepers, and of course this unit is downstairs so you get noise from folks above. The other is that of security. The unit has wooden jalousie windows (a week point) and a sliding glass door off the back end to the small porch. The sliding door is on the outer track so you can't even put down The Stick. It has only the simple latch which we didn't trust at all. Finally just due to the nature of a rental condo, we assumed there were countless keys in the hands of people we didn't know. So we took it upon ourselves to hide our laptops and not leave our valuables in the unit. Perhaps a little 'set your access code' safe might be a nice addition.

Bottom line, great location (best beaches on Oahu), pet friendly, plenty of stuff to do, nice clean unit, owner was courteous and ez to work with, but it is a bit noisy and you have to take responsibility for your valuables.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Happy Honeymoon Stay

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We stayed there for our honeymoon and it was a great little jumping off point! So nice to save a little money on food :) Really nice pool, 10 minute walk to the Turtle Bay Resort and the beaches there. I wish we could have walked from the condo to the beach, but the golf course was in the way, oh well. Very close to Shark Cove, other North Shore beaches, and the Polynesian Cultural Center. And still only about an hour drive to Honolulu too! Don't let the air conditioner surprise you; it works great but sounds like rocks are tumbling around it in. The condo itself was basic, but everything you need, super comphy pillow-top bed! We couldn't find the fins for the surfboard so couldn't use it, but took the paddleboard out for a spin, fun! And Tom was great, very responsive and answered questions quickly. I hope we can stay there again one day!!! Thank you!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Condo for North Shore Adventures

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

I stayed here on my honeymoon. It was the perfect place for exploring the North Shore. I really appreciated all of the little touches in the condo. It was clean and the owner had bikes and beach chairs for us to use. The location is wonderful. You are close to Shark's Cove, Turtle Beach and the Polynesian Cultural Center. I would certainly stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Turtle Bay condo

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This unit is very cozy and relaxing, but could use some updating. The mattress on the bed especially needs to be replaced. The location was great and the snorkeling at Turtle Bay was amazing.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha,
Most people love our mattress. We have a memory foam mattress topper from Macy's, and a down topper. We love it more than our mattress at home. It's like sleeping on a cloud. We have recently painted the walls, and we remodeled the kitchen and baths 5 years ago. So it has been recently upgraded.
Mahalo, Tom

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a Great Place!

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

We just spent a long weekend with our dogs and it was the best! The place has everything and is very comfortable. It is true gem to be able to rent!
Thanks Tom!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything you need + a peaceful, quiet, and relaxing environment!

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Everything I thought it would be and then some. I recommend this prized getaway to anyone who want a relaxing, spacious (for two- or more) getaway. There is Ola, a restaurant that is in walking distance. This restaurant is on the beach. Where can you get a lobster dinner with your feet buried in the sand, and the hypnotic sound of the surf? Maybe Leilei after golf maybe the ticket for you? Leilei is located in the golfing area. A quite dinner in the well equipped kitchen in your condo may better suit you? What ever you do at Turtle Bay, I am sure you will have a time to remember.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good "homebase" for fun on the North Shore

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We had a blast and loved the location of the condo. Enjoyed the typical Shrimp trucks and loved the burgers at the Kahuku Grill. If you're lucky, you visit on a day when they make their banana-nut bread sundaes.

The condo was clean and nice, although I personally killed 3 cockroaches in the kitchen. I realize they are typical in that kind of climate and can be expected if you leave food out on the counter at night, but it still caught me off guard.

The bed was very comfortable and the combination of AC and fans kept us very cool. It was very helpful to have the wi-fi which was quick enough. I was also able to print off my boarding pass on the printer, which was great.

My only frustration was that the surfboards mentioned in the owner's description as being "a unique benefit to the unit" do not have the fins or leashes. They were pointless and I wouldn't advertise that the unit includes them if you don't have the complete boards to use. That was part of the draw to the unit to us, so we had to rent boards. The bikes were fun for cruising around the resort and the snorkeling gear was okay.

We had a great time and the unit worked well as a place to come sleep, do laundry, and cook.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: We have never said that we have surfboards available. We have Hum Bug Hawaii spray for bugs once a month. If you leave food out, bugs are attracted. We let our guests use our bikes, masks and snorkels, golf clubs, tennis rackets, beach towels and toys. Our unit is professionally cleaned and has everything you need. Our strategy is to offer a very nice unit for a very low price. This is the worst and only negative review we have ever had.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A wonderful vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

We just returned from our stay-cation (we live in Hawaii Kai) at Hale Maluhia (means house of peace, quiet, security, tranquillity, serenity; safety and it was exactly what it was. Even with the crazy stormy weather and lightening on our 2nd day (record rainfall) the condo was very comfortable to stay-in on a rainy day, like that. It's very convenient with all the amenities you'd need. Beaches, horseback riding, hiking, eating & shopping, you name it, it's right there. I also loved owner's DVD collections, too! My family and I think that it was the best vacation, ever! We ARE coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Why would you stay at the resort...

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

This condo had everything we needed plus some. This unit was quiet, private and the air conditioning made it very pleasant. I say that because another couple had a condo across from us that didn't have air conditioning and they regretted it. The bikes were great and got a lot of use. We had a few people stop by that were staying at the resort and were upset they didn't book a condo instead. They paid $250 a night and one said the view he had was looking at the top of another building. Tom thank you for making our vacation so comfortable. P.S. Haleiwa pronounced Holly-Eva is a must see beach town especially on the weekend when the shrimp trucks are there and Waimea Falls is diffently worth the hike... Mahalo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Summer Vacation at the North Shore July 2010

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We spent the week before 4th of July 2010 and left the day after. We had a fantastic time with friends that we met with all day at the near by beaches, and returned to the comfort of the condo. Our sweet 9 lb maltese poodle was able to come with us for the first time on a vacation that was pet friendly, she is 3 yrs. and a service dog in training, we were able to walk her every day around the property on a leash and take everywhere we went. We cooked, baked, and had lots of laughs in the living room. One day I road the bike to Turtle Bay and had it valeted then met a girlfriend for a massage it was the best way to go the Turtle Bay REsort. Barbeque while viewing the golf course was also incredible, with the quiet breeze and wrestling of the palm trees. Security was excellent. Some of the neighbors actually live in a condo units so it has a very neighborly feel. We hope to spend time again in the future. Without a doubt we recommend this location to anyone who wants to experience the prestine North Shore of Oahu.

aloha
christina & lii
kaneohe, hawaii

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

This was a perfect place for my family to stay. It was clean, cute and relaxing. Wish I could say the same for the plane ride. Had everything we needed and more. So much less exspensive than a hotel, and so much better. We will be returning just as soon as we can. Thank you Tom! We love your magical place on the island. we really appreciated you letting us stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful vacation accomodation

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

The accommodation was neat, quiet and very relaxed. It was far enough out of the city to be rural and yet a 40 minute drive saw you in down-town Honolulu. Amenities were mostly all provided. The only thing missing was that it offered a phone but no cords with which to use it. Bit of a bummer when you have a phone card and are wanting to assure family overseas you're ok. Other than this we had a fantastic time with everything at our fingertips. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: November 11, 2009   Date of arrival: November 11, 2009

We just returned from a one-week stay here. The condo was great. It had everything we needed, and many extras like bikes and snorkel gear. The condo is close to the pool and a short walk to the beach. The location is perfect for a quiet and relaxing vacation. We hope to stay here again when we return to the North Shore.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Just got back from the islands and had a wonderful
time. The condo had everyuthing you needed to feel at
home and then some. Had so much fun riding the
bikes. grilling out, and just sitting by the pool.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 10, 2009   Date of arrival: June 10, 2009

Last year we spent a week and loved it. We were able to take our dogs out there and they enjoyed our early morning walks on the links pathway. Everything we needed was there. We returned this year for a weekend and call it our respite from the city.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2009   Date of arrival: March 4, 2009

The condo was wonderful! Very comfortable for a family, esp. nice to have 2 full baths. The complex was very nice and the views of the golf course and mountain were great. We are looking forward to our next stay there!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2008   Date of arrival: July 11, 2008

Tom,
The condo was wonderful, and we really enjoyed the time we spent there. When we get back to Hawaii, I will be calling to spend another week there!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2008   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

Welcome to Hale Maluhia, It is with great pleasure that we offer you our wonderful unit at Kuilima. I have had some of the best times of my life here. I have always found tremendous peace here, and I know you will also. Enjoy!!!
Tom

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 9, 2008   Date of arrival: May 9, 2008

It was very nice and we enjoyed the condo a lot. If we were to come back and stay on the North Shore I think that is the way to do it. It was clean and had everything that we needed for those couple days.

Thanks again for the place.
Michael Kollen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review