reviews for: listing #407592vb - Montezuma, Costa Rica rental

Jodokus Inn Vacation Guest house in Montezuma Jungle
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 60 - $ 300 / night
    $ 299 - $ 1,800 / week
    $ 900 - $ 5,750 / month
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Amazing, perfect holidays!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

We stayed at Ype s house for a week in July.We had such a nice time there. It s really quiet and peaceful. You are surrounded by nature and fruits trees. Ype is so helpful with everything! He took us every morning to the town. He is the guy who makes you really comfortable. We had some nice talking, really nice time. He even did some shopping for my boyfriend in Cobano because he wanted to have some fishing gear. He has few dogs in his property. They are very friendly. It was really nice to have them around! Ype is a really kind guy who really takes good care of their guests! I definitely recommend this place. I will recommend it to all my friends who are going to Costa Rica and definitely I ll go back one day. My boyfriend and I had such a great time over there. It s just what we were looking for. Also, the room was really clean and all the house as well even with dogs! So, don t wait to book at his place!;) you will not be disappointed !;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sarah

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

My stay with Ype was amazing!! He was beyond helpful and accommodating. The house is like a jungle paradise that is beyond relaxing and perfectly set far away enough from the town and close enough to get there when you want. If you are looking for a time away and quiet space this is the spot for you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

The house is big, with a great kitchen full of everything you need to cook. The owners are so friendly and kind. I definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Surroundings!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

It's a bit of a trek into Montezuma but the tranquility and view make up for it. The pool is cool and refreshing. We spent 3 nights at Jodokus and truly appreciated all the extra effort Ype extended to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house and owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

Jodokus inn is an awesome house, the pictures really don't do it justice. It is large, open and melds indoor and outdoor very nicely. The grounds are gated and very safe. Our room had a great shower with solar hot water (works really well). The room was fine but really you have access to most of the house, porches, patios, kitchen, trails gardens, it is very nice.
When we arrived there were howler monkeys in the trees, not in the distance, right in front of us. We could hear them every morning and evening.
Ype is a great guy, he knows a lot about the area and speaks several languages. We found him a great host and an interesting person to talk with.
If you are going to the Montezuma area this is the place to stay. It is very quiet and peaceful yet only a 5 min drive to the Montezuma restaurants and beach.
Thanks Ype,

Matthew and Peggy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful and beautiful place to stay

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

Great place to stay out of the mayhem of Montezuma but accessible to it and the beaches.
Great grounds
Clean and quiet place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

Awesome experience, the house was really nice and the view was great. great people and good vibes. all around was great and would definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place !!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Beautiful property,close to everything.
Roads manageable with 2 wheel drive.
You will enjoy your stay there.
Great value.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HOME AWAY FROM HOME....AMAZING!!!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

I stayed at Jodokus Inn for 20 days...absolutely amazing experience! Super comfortable room, breath-taking views right outside my room -ocean views from the terrace! lying in the hammock with a good book and a cup of coffee, peacefully enjoying the beautiful landscapes was one of my favorite things to do. surrounded by palm trees, mango trees, lime trees, looooots of green everywhere I looked! buganvillia flowers all over the property, postcard worthy colors and sights really. Howler monkeys visited every afternoon! never seen them before in the wild! I got full nature-outdoors experience with all the facilities and commodities I enjoy at my own house. The owner and the staff at the house are the friendliest people I met in Montezuma -they went above and beyond to ensure that I had a great time. super kind, willing to help at any time. Also, I totally fell in love with their doggies, since I have dogs back home as well. I enjoyed playing with them, and sometimes they even came with me for my morning walk down to the river and waterfall only 10 minutes away from the house!
I felt at home during my stay. I came looking for a nice relaxing holiday, and Ype, the staff, the beautiful landscaping, peaceful environment, perfect weather, views, wild-life, and the cleanest air, did the trick!
Just got back and can't wait to be there soon again! Jodokus Inn was my home away from home. Great time, Great place, Great friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Affordable luxury accommodations in Montezuma with ocean view

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Ype is the perfect host. He's exceptionally nice, accommodating, and helpful. He will really come through for you, His property is also exceptional. If you are looking for a spacious, secluded, and safe place with a view of the ocean, Ype's place is perfect. It has all the creature comforts you need. Large rooms, big beds, lots of hot water, access to the kitchen, towels, clean sheets, etc. It's close enough to the center of Montezuma (and even Santa Teresa) that you're a short ride away, but far enough that you don't have to deal with any nightlife spillover and can feel safe. Great place for traveling families and groups as well as couples who desire a bit more luxury and privacy at an affordable price. My experience was quite positive and I would recommend this as the first place to look for your Montezuma vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect stay

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

My fiancee and I were staying a couple of nights at Ype's wonderful house and we didn't want to leave. Ype is the perfect host. He gave us a warm welcome and makes you feel comfortable.The place is perfectly calm, surrounded by the jungle and a beautiful garden. The wooden rooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Everything is very clean and light. The house is an oasis where you want to spend time. It is preferable to have a car to get to the place but Ype was friendly enough to give us a ride to get down to Montezuma and we took a cab to get back. It wasn't complicated. For us, it was the perfect place to stay and we would love to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A relaxing guesthouse in the jungle

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We began our Costa Rican honeymoon with a trip to Montezuma and stayed at Jodukus Inn for 6 nights. This place is a hidden gem. The grounds are beautiful and full of cool plants, fruit trees and wildlife. The accommodations are really nice, clean and safe. The owner, Ype, is very friendly and he did everything to make sure we enjoyed our trip. Jodokus Inn is about 3km outside of Montezuma, which is perfect to access the small town but get away from it to relax at the end of the day. We were backpacking and didn't have a car so Ype would drive us into town on his quads, which was very convenient and also provided an adventure riding on the rough Costa Rican roads. Jodokus Inn provides access to a fully equipped kitchen, a natural springs pool (ask Ype to do a back-flip) and a beautiful large yard overlooking the ocean. We will definitely be staying here next time we are in Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home.

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Jodokus Inn about 10 minutes drive from Montezuma.

We took three of the four available rooms all on the second floor. The rooms are not luxurious but very clean and comfortable. The linens and towels were changed every second day which suited us just fine. Two of the rooms are connected with a shared bath between and the other room had its own private bath. Each room walks out onto the veranda where you have amazing views of the surrounding jungle- and Ype's orchard. When we weren't out hiking, swimming, surfing, snorkeling etc. we were lounging about on the veranda-taking pictures, playing cards, reading, or sleeping.

We were able to cook most of our meals at the Inn. There is a well equipped kitchen that is shared with the host Ype. Better yet Ype is a trained chef and was more than willing to provide helpful information on how to cook things. He was also very generous in sharing the odd missing ingredient. The Inn is situated in the middle of his orchard. Ype encouraged us to help ourselves to the many in season fruits. We started everyday with grapefruit picked moments before eating.

Aside from clean comfortable rooms, a great kitchen and great views there is a small pool that you can use. After a hike on one of the near-by trails a refreshing dip in the pool is a must.

I can't say enough about the great service we received. Ype is a very kind and generous man. He went out of his way to be helpful. He genuinely cares about the comfort of his guests and will do what he can to see that you are comfortable. Tania, Ypes' girlfriend is equally as generous. She took time out to take us surfing, lent her boards and spent time teaching us ( and she is an amazing surfer!)

Jodukus Inn is about 10 minutes from Montezuma by car or ATV. The road is tricky- you need an ATV or 4 wheel drive.

You must like dogs if you stay here as Ype has 7. We like dogs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Host Exceptionally Helpful!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

I paid a deposit to stay at this VRBO, but was unable to complete my plans. The host was very helpful in assisting me with information and negotiating terms. When it became apparent that I could not make the trip after all, he immediately refunded 90% of my deposit. I hope to have another chance to stay at this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful grounds / central to places where we wanted to visit

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Enjoyed two weeks there. Very hospitable hosts. Grounds impecable. Nice open floor plan. Liked the fact that we could do our own cooking, and share the kitchen. Rooms nice and spacious. Close proximity to nearby beaches and town of Montezuma, yet private and lushg surroundings. Owner helpful with what to do and where to go. Wi Fi internet was also a plus. Yes, would definitely recommend to friends and family. Price was great / reasonable .Waterfalls and butterfly farm very close . Lots of monkeys visiting in the am and early evening. Having a quad is helpful, but taxis are only a few mins away. Hilly , but ok for an avid cyclist. we prefered quad and taxi services. If for long stay, would recommend renting a 4x4 vehilce, esp in the rainy season.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful, homely accommodation

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Ype has developed an amazing property that provides a great escape from the realities of the modern world. The property is clean and quiet, and provides for a great getaway.

Ype goes beyond the call of duty and his service is excellent. Also a very interesting person.

Would stay here again. Recommend renting the ATV's that are on the property to get around the area easiliy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review